GAA matches clashing with rugby

but where is the big rugby fanbase down there lately now that the munster bandwagon has been abandoned?...back to the issue at hand is that the irish rugby team does not represent irish society accurately as most are from private schools and affluent backgrounds...most of the team is not from limerick you realise?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 25/02/2015 17:32:46    1696846

hill

you must be joking haha
take it you dont use the owl train too often as iarnrod eireann wouldnt give you a cent back haha.
any dublin supporter travelling by train would be mad not to have booked their ticket over the last few days online
as you get it for half the price in advance
where as on the day its about 70 euro return to killarney
so id imagine anybody going by train has it booked already

Ha fair enough, nah I don't use the trains at all, last time I got on a train in Meath it left me in Sheriff street so I said feck that, never again! :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/02/2015 18:28:15    1696869

So Navan is being anti national as well Hill !!! Perhaps they will beam the rugby onto the jockey's silks :-)

I( included the 'anti national' bit as I heard one of the furry tricolour top hat brigade who - would get emotional about the Irish tiddlywinks team if it was on TV and he had a few cans handy - suggest that the Dubs were being unpatriotic by playing on Sunday!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/02/2015 18:47:27    1696879

htaem
Ha fair enough, nah I don't use the trains at all, last time I got on a train in Meath it left me in Sheriff street so I said feck that, never again! :-)

haha you sure that wasnt trim haha
on a sidenote you would imagine iarnrod eireann would reopen the navan to dublin rail line
surely there would be plenty of buisness in it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/02/2015 19:27:14    1696887

hurlingdub

So Navan is being anti national as well Hill !!! Perhaps they will beam the rugby onto the jockey's silks :-)
I( included the 'anti national' bit as I heard one of the furry tricolour top hat brigade who - would get emotional about the Irish tiddlywinks team if it was on TV and he had a few cans handy - suggest that the Dubs were being unpatriotic by playing on Sunday!

its disgraceful the rugby should be moved to friday night anyway
that way they can only clash with the late late show
but what would tubridy do?
no rugby guests? the show would shut down at that rate haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/02/2015 19:29:39    1696889

25/02/2015 17:07:05 hill16no1man
you must be joking haha take it you dont use the owl train too often as iarnrod eireann wouldnt give you a cent back haha. any Dublin supporter travelling by train would be mad not to have booked their ticket over the last few days online as you get it for half the price in advance where as on the day its about 70 euro return to Killarney so id imagine anybody going by train has it booked already
I bit that train is a hoot of a journey. hahahaha
Why do you think he is joking? Why wouldn't it be in the interest of Iarnrod Eireann to have customers who want to change the time of their departure to change their ticket?
25/02/2015 17:32:46 fabio8
but where is the big rugby fanbase down there lately now that the munster bandwagon has been abandoned?...back to the issue at hand is that the irish rugby team does not represent irish society accurately as most are from private schools and affluent backgrounds...most of the team is not from limerick you realise?
Munster weren't a bandwagon and they haven't been abandoned. Irish team does represent irish society. Most are not from private schools and going to a private school doesn't automatically make you from an affluent background

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/02/2015 21:41:43    1696931

Rugby chaps seem sound enough I have to say. Still have lingering prejudice against Dublin rugger types which I cherish despite BOD :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/02/2015 21:51:54    1696941

how many are not from a private school??...munster rugby are probably the most well known bandwagon in this country due to the munster by the grace of god stuff...you seem to know all the players ormond so why dont you post the 23 for the england game and the schools they attended?..would find it interesting as the consensus is they are mainly from private schools and do not represent irish society...it wouldnt be the first time recently where you tried to claim a minority represented the majority

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 25/02/2015 21:53:38    1696944

dont see the irfu trying to change the game to 4 to accommodate the NFL fixtures
there is still alot of rugby snobbery in this country where they look down on the peasents of the gaa and the soccer supporters of this country no organisation should have to change their fixtures to suit another unless it makes logistical sense changing games to allow people to go watch on tv doesnt

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 26/02/2015 08:46:35    1696951

fabio, rugby is not a bandwagon anymore..it has put down real roots and its present day popularity is real and enduring. Some people think because they remember a time when you would be lucky to get a thousand people at a Munster Leinster rugby game that this represents the norm and that the 50,000 you now get for a routine match between them, is a temporary phenomenon but they are wrong. The professional game has changed that.

As an aside, what a totally pretentious prickly sort this Ormond poster is, making a song and dance about others shortening his nom de plume to "Ormo". That really does take the biscuit! By the way, everyone here has my full permission to call me "sturgie" or "pooly" or any variation of it that they like because I do have a name of my own and I also have a life!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 26/02/2015 09:02:24    1696959

Fabio I would say of the likely 23 on Sunday maybe 13 will have gone to private school. The Ulster players generally go to fairly exclusive grammar schools but they are not fee-paying, with a few of the Munster lads and Henshaw having gone to state schools.
Pooly, I am not so sure about the claims of it not being a bandwagon. There were a little over 40000 at the RDS for the Leinster/Munster game this year and that was with all sorts of ticket deals. Munster claimed Thomond Park was a sellout for the return fixture but anyone at the game could see large sections of empty seats. Ulster is the only province where attendance figures are consistently high, and rugby certainly is a big deal in some of the community up there. Of course every province has a hardcore element of support, but I would suggest the days of 50,000 at a routine game will be very rare.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/02/2015 10:22:55    1696995

ormond
I bit that train is a hoot of a journey. hahahaha
Why do you think he is joking? Why wouldn't it be in the interest of Iarnrod Eireann to have customers who want to change the time of their departure to change their ticket?

I wouldnt go around biting trains if i was you!
and because iarnrod eireann are miserable they wouldnt give you the steam of their engines

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/02/2015 10:27:28    1696997

Munster wasn't a bandwagon is the funniest statement ever. You had a few hundred at Munster matches until 2000 bar the odd touring match and then it started with people going to matches who were never inside a rugby ground until they were 30. And even at that they have only ever seen European rugby, never a club game. They can't even fill Thomond Park now. A 26,000 capacity stadium and they can't fill it between 6 counties. Limerick would bring 26,000 on their own to a big championship match. That's not an opinion. That's fact.

If you want a bit of craic, just ask a random Munster "supporter" what club each player is from. You will gets answers ranging from isn't Munster his club to what's a club.

They have jumped off the bandwagon as quick as they have got on it.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 26/02/2015 10:49:16    1697013

Where the rugby players went to school is irrelevant. No-one chooses into what circumstances they are born. If they happen to make the best of their advantages then good luck to them.

It is a problem for rugby in general that they do not have the sort of pick that GAA and soccer do, so will always be constrained for numbers. Indeed the composition of the professional clubs rosters, and increasingly the international teams would indicate that in the future Ireland will be represented by many players not born here. I doubt that will boost support for the national team. They might have to resort to some weird version of the granny rule like the soccer crowd :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/02/2015 10:54:22    1697015

Here is a list of schools attended by the Irish squad - Excluding the S Africans and N Zealanders - who hardly repesent anyone:

Judge for yourselves - Munster born playwers can hardly be called bastions of privalage. But then again the Dubs!!

Best - Tandragee Junior High School, Portadown College - Fee
Bowe - Royal School Armagh - semi/Fee
Cave - Sullivan Upper School - Private
Copeland - Kilkenny College - private
Croinin - BCS Ballincollig - public
Sean Cronin - Ardscoil Rís - public
D'Arcy - Clongowes Wood College - Private
Earls - St Munchin's College - Public
Fitzgerald - Blackrock College - Private
FOLEY - CBS Highschool Clonmel - Public
GILROY - Methodist College Belfast - Private
HEALY - Belvedere College - Private
HEASLIP - Newbridge College - Private
HENDERSON - ????
HENRY - Wallace High School - Private
HENSHAW - Marist College Athlone - Public
JONES - St. Andrew's College, Dublin - Private
Moore - Castleknock College - Private
Mc Grath - St Marys College - Private
MCCARTHY - Sedbergh School, London - Private
MARMION - kirkham grammar school - Private
MADIGAN - Blackrock College - Private
Keatley - Belvedere College - Private
R Kearney - Clongowes Wood College - Private
D Kearney - Clongowes Wood College - Private
Murphy - Blackrock College - Private
Murray - St Munchin's College - Public
O'Brien - Tullow Community School - Public
O'Connell - - Ardscoil Rís - public
O'Donnell - ????
O'Mahony - Presentation Brothers College, Cork - Private
Olding - Belfast Royal Academy - Private
Reddan - Crescent College Comprehensive - Public
Ross - St Colman's Community College, Fermoy - Public
Ruddock - Millfield High School - Public
Ryan - Gonzaga College - Private
Sexton - St Marys College - Private
Toner - Castleknock College - Private
Zebo - Presentation Brothers College, Cork - Private

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/02/2015 11:13:11    1697025

25/02/2015 21:51:54 hurlingdub
Rugby chaps seem sound enough I have to say. Still have lingering prejudice against Dublin rugger types which I cherish despite BOD :-)
Thats the thing. Too many here are prejudiced for bull reasons and the pathetic goes at rugby are sad and delusional. Why are so many on this forum so insecure about rugby that they have to dismiss it at every opportunity. You don't see that on any of the rugby forums do you?
25/02/2015 21:53:38 fabio8
how many are not from a private school??...munster rugby are probably the most well known bandwagon in this country due to the munster by the grace of god stuff...you seem to know all the players ormond so why dont you post the 23 for the england game and the schools they attended?..would find it interesting as the consensus is they are mainly from private schools and do not represent irish society...it wouldnt be the first time recently where you tried to claim a minority represented the majority
You really love the word bandwagon don't you? Support has to begin somewhere. Munster by grace of god is marketing. Whats the point in posting the schools they attend it doesn't prove anything. There is more and more from non fee paying schools at top level year on year but you'll still find some way of having a pot shot at rugby

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/02/2015 11:47:03    1697044

26/02/2015 08:46:35 srgt_slaughter
dont see the irfu trying to change the game to 4 to accommodate the NFL fixtures
there is still alot of rugby snobbery in this country where they look down on the peasents of the gaa and the soccer supporters of this country no organisation should have to change their fixtures to suit another unless it makes logistical sense changing games to allow people to go watch on tv doesnt
NFL fixtures are not huge huge fixtures compared to what is essentially a 6nations title decider. How often do you have any of the provinces playing pro12 games on the weekend of an all Ireland final at same time as the all Ireland especially if a county from that province is playing in the final
26/02/2015 09:02:24 PoolSturgeon
As an aside, what a totally pretentious prickly sort this Ormond poster is, making a song and dance about others shortening his nom de plume to "Ormo". That really does take the biscuit! By the way, everyone here has my full permission to call me "sturgie" or "pooly" or any variation of it that they like because I do have a name of my own and I also have a life!
Whats wrong with looking for some decency from fellow posters and being called by the correct name. I have a life and who are you to tell me I should accept being called something that isn't my name.
26/02/2015 10:22:55 Soma
Of course every province has a hardcore element of support, but I would suggest the days of 50,000 at a routine game will be very rare.
You know able to predict the future then?
26/02/2015 10:49:16 mike03
Munster wasn't a bandwagon is the funniest statement ever. You had a few hundred at Munster matches until 2000 bar the odd touring match and then it started with people going to matches who were never inside a rugby ground until they were 30. And even at that they have only ever seen European rugby, never a club game. They can't even fill Thomond Park now. A 26,000 capacity stadium and they can't fill it between 6 counties. Limerick would bring 26,000 on their own to a big championship match. That's not an opinion. That's fact.
If you want a bit of craic, just ask a random Munster "supporter" what club each player is from. You will gets answers ranging from isn't Munster his club to what's a club. They have jumped off the bandwagon as quick as they have got on it.
Munster barely played any games in a season until the 00s. The interpro series was only 3 games a season until very late 90s, European cup was barely started and celtic league didn't start until 01 so provinces barely played. All players were playing with clubs who got 000s at games.
Limerick play 2/3 championship games a year. Munster play 3 European games at home and 11 pro12 games the circumstances are completely different
26/02/2015 10:54:22 hurlingdub
It is a problem for rugby in general that they do not have the sort of pick that GAA and soccer do, so will always be constrained for numbers. Indeed the composition of the professional clubs rosters, and increasingly the international teams would indicate that in the future Ireland will be represented by many players not born here. I doubt that will boost support for the national team. They might have to resort to some weird version of the granny rule like the soccer crowd :-)
Rugbys "pick" is always increasing. Playing numbers are going up in a big way year on year.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/02/2015 11:55:24    1697046

arock

Wow that's some list.

Hardly representative of the country as a whole from what I can see.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 26/02/2015 12:23:52    1697062

arock
County: Dublin

Here is a list of schools attended by the Irish squad - Excluding the S Africans and N Zealanders - who hardly repesent anyone:

WHO CARES WHAT SCHOOL THEY COME FROM- THEY ARE PLAYING FOR IRELAND - OUR COUNTRY -- I SUPPOSE NO GAA PLAYER EVER WENT TO A FEE PAYING SCHOOL AND IF THEY DID I DONT CARE

mike03
County: Limerick

Munster wasn't a bandwagon is the funniest statement ever. You had a few hundred at Munster matches until 2000 bar the odd touring match WHAT ABOUT THE CROWDS AT AIL MATCHES IN THE 1990 - WHAT ABOUT 6000 AT MUNSTER V SWANSEA IN 1995 ON A WEDNESDAY OR 10000 AT GAME V QUINS IN 1997 OR 4000 AT PERPIGNAN GAME IN CORK IN 1998

THE MUNSTER "BANDWAGON" GREW FROM THE FOLLOWING OF THE CLUB GAME

Limerick would bring 26,000 on their own to a big championship match. That's not an opinion. That's fact.  HOW MANY LIMERICK FANS WERE AT THE TIPP GAME THERE IN 2013 OR 2014 or at quarter finals in 2011 or 2012 IT WASNT 26000 - HOW MANY WERE AT THE FOOTBALL GAMES LAST YEAR

If you want a bit of craic, just ask a random Munster "supporter" what club each player is from. You will gets answers ranging from isn't Munster his club to what's a club.  
HOW MANY LIMERICK GAA SUPPORTERS WOULD KNOW WHAT CLUBS THEY COME FROM

They have jumped off the bandwagon as quick as they have got on it.
DOES GAA NOT HAVE A BANDWAGON - LIMERICK BROUGHT AROUND 12K TO TIPP GAME IN 2013 AND HAD 40000 FOR SEMI FINAL - LOOK AT THE CROWDS THE FOOTBALLERS GOT WHEN THEY WERE GOING WELL

Seems to be the case that some posters are using this thread to denigrate rugby

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/02/2015 12:54:15    1697072

Talking of silly scheduling Munster played Cardiff 2 weeks ago the same night Cork played Kilkenny in NHL - not the way to attract cork sports fans to the game - twas on the same day as ireland played france at 5pm so if you wanted to travel from limerick you had to forego watching the international live - or travel down early

it has happened that internationals have been played at the same time as AIL matches - even in december i was at young munster v clontarf at 230 and then munster v clermont at 5.15 -

dont think having the game on the same time as international will have too big an impact on NFL crowds - lots of people will either record it via skyplus/chorus/ VHS/rte player you can even go to a game a bring the walkman for the international

personally this weekend i will be going to cheer on young munster v dolphin then travel to cork for munster v glasgow on saturday then sunday i will be at limerick v armagh with my 2 wee boys and will watch the england game sky plus when i get home - and try fit in scot v italy , wales v france and dublin v kerry somewhere inbetween (will have em watched before the cricket on monday !!)

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/02/2015 12:57:27    1697077