NFL Division 2

I thnk the rossies will have a handy 2 points v galway
we have been so bad in last 2 games

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/03/2015 20:53:02    1705386

rhudson with the Corofin lads back Galway will be much improved. We remain inconsistent as we played much better against Down,Kildare than we did today. 2 rounds of games to go should be a very interesting finish in a very competitive division

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 22/03/2015 21:22:38    1705410

Mick O'Dowd really not happy with the ref today,never seen him so angry to be fair!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/03/2015 21:40:50    1705419

Well done to Roscommon who are seem to be getting things together and it would be great to seem them competitive this summer . Laois beat Galway without playing to there best . Laois and Kildare should be fascinating .

Poolbeg (USA) - Posts: 24 - 23/03/2015 08:40:58    1705440

Ziggy he has good reason to be angry, but that doesn't mean much. We had enough chances and made the kick out mistake to hand game away, its called grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/03/2015 09:26:19    1705468

Very poor form that is from the Meath manager O Dowd the man is clearly under pressure though that is no excuse for his sore loser comments. 4 of Meath frees yesterday weren't even fouls so the ref more than played his part in keeping Meath in the game. I can't recall Sean Boylan acting like that after a deserved defeat but I suppose that's why Boylan was so respected.

Very pleasing that we won a key league game without playing to our potential. We kicked alot scoring chances away yesterday 18 in total credit to Meath though they defend in numbers and force you to shoot from distance or under pressure.

Looking forward to our derby game against Galway next Sunday who will have the Corofin All Ireland winners returning. Will be a big test for our young side but they will up for the challenge.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 23/03/2015 11:54:45    1705547

Would agree the analyser the ref did all he could for Meath yesterday. Bar the first few minutes of the second half Royaldunne when did it look like Meath were going to win

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 23/03/2015 21:48:31    1705844

Well obviously neither of you were at the match, ref was extremely biased and gave Meath nothing
. But regardless of that, we had enough chances, gifted a goal probably both , the first one after a clear pick up.
Meath still cant play against blanket defensive teams , so if you want to beat Meath you play puke football which Roscommon did very well.
Anyway it'll be interesting to see how things unfold in next two games, with Gillespie O'Rourke and Reilly back the preparation for championship must now start in earnest, stay in division 2 for another year was not the goal but we are where we are, its all about championship now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2015 08:20:13    1705868

royaldunne

1703855 Sceptical, Cavan isn't even on our radar. So no didn't even think of you and wont either, ill repeat a draw in Newry promotes both Down and Meath once we beat Roscommon

royaldunne, are we on your radar now?

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 24/03/2015 08:34:00    1705876

There is going to be an intersting finish to this Division with everyone bar Kildare still involved in the scrap to go up and Everyone bar Down and the Rossies could still go down??

So hard to predict ....

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 24/03/2015 09:39:21    1705888

Nope

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2015 09:48:36    1705894

I don't often post but I'm a regular reader. Just had to post something as RoyalDunnes nonsense is getting out of hand. Meath played a sweeper against Roscommon and repeatedly had more than one player playing the role whereas Roscommon did not. The claim that Roscommon played a blanket defence is childish and the views of a man clearly not in tune with what is going on in modern football.

TriColour (Roscommon) - Posts: 6 - 24/03/2015 09:50:44    1705897

Brefni nope, after after down game you will be, but why would we look further then the upcoming match?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2015 09:53:56    1705899

23/03/2015 11:54:45
The_analyser
County: Roscommon

Very poor form that is from the Meath manager O Dowd the man is clearly under pressure though that is no excuse for his sore loser comments. 4 of Meath frees yesterday weren't even fouls so the ref more than played his part in keeping Meath in the game. I can't recall Sean Boylan acting like that after a deserved defeat but I suppose that's why Boylan was so respected.

Very pleasing that we won a key league game without playing to our potential. We kicked alot scoring chances away yesterday 18 in total credit to Meath though they defend in numbers and force you to shoot from distance or under pressure.

Looking forward to our derby game against Galway next Sunday who will have the Corofin All Ireland winners returning. Will be a big test for our young side but they will up for the challenge.

Lads ye won the match and fair play, no need to turn on our manager, I thought the ref had an awful game and made bad calls against Roscommon too but ye won. If Roscommon had of been beaten then the ref's decisions against Roscommon would have been highlighted more and I dare say John Evans would have had plenty to say and rightly so, please don't attempt to take the moral high ground here, O'Dowd was certainly right to say what he did as any manager would have been

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/03/2015 10:23:21    1705913

The games between Laois v Kildare ,Galway v Rossies and Westmeath V Cavan have the potential to be terrific derby games and all teams have so much at stake...

There will be no love lost in Portlaoise thats for sure with Laois having a chance to relegate their neighbours.

Galway will be scrapping for their lives against Roscommon who can all but clinch a final spot.

Westmeath and Cavan both know a defeat will mean a big scrap on the last day to stay up ....

3 great games in prospect

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 24/03/2015 10:51:55    1705931

TriColour
County: Roscommon

1705897 I don't often post but I'm a regular reader. Just had to post something as RoyalDunnes nonsense is getting out of hand. Meath played a sweeper against Roscommon and repeatedly had more than one player playing the role whereas Roscommon did not. The claim that Roscommon played a blanket defence is childish and the views of a man clearly not in tune with what is going on in modern football.

RoyalDunne is not in tune with a lot of things Tricolour. Fortunately most people on here realise that they are just his views and not the views of Most Meath people. Well i hope thats the case anyway.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 24/03/2015 11:55:24    1705958

Roscommon defo didn't play with a sweeper against Laois when I saw them in portlaoise in fact neither team did in what was a great game of football for the Neutral

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 24/03/2015 12:05:44    1705963

Royaldunne was clearly not at Sundays game. He was posting away on here during the game and the majority of what he said was what he heard on Meath radio. You only have to see what Roscommon conceded in the last few games to know they don't play a blanket defense and it's the same with Laois Kildare down Westmeath Galway who look to their forward lines more than defense to win them games. Meath since their defeat in salthill in round one have used two sweepers and focused on keeping the scores down.

Laois 13 Westmeath 11 kildare 11 and Roscommon 12 is the amount of scores Meath conceded the last 4 games and from it 5 points has been produced however Laois could easily have won last weekend and Kildare deserved at least a draw so royaldunne should be thankful they got the rub of green as you could be on just 3 points with a major relegation battle on your hands.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 24/03/2015 13:11:30    1706012

Well I was at game and both teams were at times defense minded.
I think rd is winding up the rossies and by looks of it doing a very good job, and he is a ardent fan of micko and anyone saying anything against him is in trouble. Chriscart I find rd posts very insightful and would actually rate him as one of the better posters , although I often disagree with him in particular with current manager.
But some of the stuff rossies have came out with has been absolute bs, now maybe that's in response to rd, and a particular poster who claims to be from us that clearly has a agenda against meath and mayo.
As for the game itself we should have won if subs were used sooner and paddy didn't gift a goal. Down in newry will be very hard.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 24/03/2015 13:27:27    1706020

Well i posted 2 comments on here on Sunday one during game and one after.
Gaalover your radio must be a great one if you can get lmfm in u s, or rather strokestown.
Cause i cant pick up lmfm where i live, btw just for your information i live a hell of a lot closer to Roscommon than navan. So it was a close game for me. If you don't like the way i see things that's your problem, not mine

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2015 15:33:35    1706086