NFL Division 2

An impressive win for Down today. That's three away wins out of three in the league for us. Two remaining home games vs Laois and Meath. Win either of these and we're promoted to division 1. Not a bad start to Jim McCorry's era as Down manager. The players are adapting well to his system of play, however, there is still a long way to go before we can be considered as a serious outfit. Kildare in serious trouble at the other end. Very tight in the middle of the division. No doubt a lot of twists and turns ahead in division 2.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 15/03/2015 18:58:50    1702983

It has to be said Down are motoring along nicely . Meath and Laois in the final two games really should be winable although both games should be tight affairs . Down will fancy themselves this summer .

Poolbeg (USA) - Posts: 24 - 15/03/2015 19:02:18    1702990

Meath threw away the game last night, we will get a result in Hyde park (providing its playable) then its down , could be a tricky one, don't know what's happening to Galway.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/03/2015 19:38:29    1703032

hard to look past Down and Roscommon for the top spots, the other end of the table is looking very interesting

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 15/03/2015 20:32:22    1703076

suckvalleypaddy

hard to look past Down and Roscommon for the top spots, the other end of the table is looking very interesting

Don't think its that hard to look past roscommon in all fairness. They're level with meath who they are yet to play

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 15/03/2015 20:37:15    1703082

ya I agree,Down pretty much have it,I expect Rossies to go with them.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 15/03/2015 20:37:26    1703083

square ball

You would expect the Rossies to beat Meath at home

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 15/03/2015 20:38:45    1703085

Disappointed with galway,Meath didn't look like a potential div1 team last night.Down. a an Ross to go up

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 182 - 15/03/2015 20:42:22    1703090

Square ball would totally agree if we had a new face on sideline. But we don't. I still would expect a result in ros but it won't help. Our problems all stem from sideline.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 15/03/2015 21:23:14    1703138

lads it was a terrible performance from galway
fair play to cavan they were the better team in second half

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 15/03/2015 21:23:22    1703139

Well we will quote you today Mr. Pundit as you are so anxious to be quoted,
ROSCOMMON TO BE RELEGATED"
Am I quoting you correctly?
royaldunne is just a p taker everyone knows that but you try to be a serious poster, drop that roscommon bias if you want to be taken seriously.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 15/03/2015 21:30:56    1703142

Ziggy you might expect it, i don't. Meath still second and win next week against a blanket defense and we will be in pole position,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/03/2015 21:32:58    1703144

I still fancy Galway to go up, and would say they, along with Down, are best equipped for division 1 football. I was impressed by them last week in Newry, they look like a very polished side who are well managed. Granted today was a poor result, it wouldn't surprise me if Galway win their last two games and finish in the top 2.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 15/03/2015 21:50:26    1703155

Roscommon scored 24 pts today away from home
now that's impressive stuff
I thnk they will take some stopping

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 15/03/2015 22:00:11    1703164

RD we will eat ye like a pack of tayto after 8 pints
Bring it on

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 15/03/2015 22:00:24    1703165

RD

I think you are been very disrespectful to Roscommon to be honest.Plus you are setting yourself up for a massive fall.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/03/2015 09:51:28    1703201

The biggest game for laois could be down v meath. A win foe down will see them promoted, and could see them resting players v laois in last game. The same thing happened last year and we beat down to stay up

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 16/03/2015 11:22:50    1703274

Having seen most of the teams in this division, Down are without a doubt the best served to cope with division 1 football. Looks like Kildare will be plying their trade in division 3 next year, what a fall from grace for them in the space of 24 months, back to back relegation well and truly on the cards.

Roscommon to join Down in division 1 because I think Cavan will beat Meath who have a woeful record against Ulster teams. As for ourselves, I'm perfectly happy to stay in division 2 for another year as we are nowhere near ready for division 1 football.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 16/03/2015 12:56:33    1703335

When did being ready for Div 1. football suddenly become an issue? Westmeath were never going to compete in division 1. but still got promoted in 2013. Predictably enough they got tanked in most games and came straight back down on zero points, but I'd imagine if you asked any westmeath player if they'd have rathered spending another year in the middle of Div 2 instead, you'd get a quick "No" as your answer.

Its similar in the hurling, Kerry, Carlow, Westmeath etc. are fighting it out to get promoted to 1B next year to play among the self apppointed "traditional hurling counties". Whoever gets promoted from 2A is almost certain to get immediately relegated again the year after, but it doesnt stop them trying and being disappointed when they fail to go up.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 16/03/2015 14:50:50    1703413

Agree completely. Every team would love to get promoted and if any manager says they are not ready for division 1, then it will just be an excuse for not making the top 2. With the way its shaping up there could be 5 strong Ulster teams in the division next year, so if you think it is a dog fight this year, it could be twice as bad next year. Im sure the likes of Roscommon and Cavan would jump at the chance of promotion despith the huge challenge it will be.

peterglancy (Roscommon) - Posts: 1 - 16/03/2015 15:05:11    1703422