Hurling Predictions 2015

I dont fourth it.Whats the problem talking about Limericks chances for a change?Or any other county for that matter.Its a hurling thread after all.Im interested to hear what other posters think of all hurling counties pros and cons for the year ahead.Dont see a problem with discussing Limerick.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/01/2015 14:32:56    1686916

Back on topic....

Leinster championship has never been more competitive but it will still take a bit of doing to dislodge the cats. Dub, Gal, Wex and Laois are all there or there abouts.

Munster championship is back to its best. Any one of Clare, cork, tipp or limerick could win it. Waterford might be a bit behind.

It will be hard to know how much the retirements will have affected kilkenny. There are some big characters/leaders gone and as a result you would think that even training sessions must be different. The AI will be hard earned this year. I am going with JBM and Cork. Hopefully wexford can scare kilkenny in Leinster too.

the_post (USA) - Posts: 184 - 27/01/2015 14:36:07    1686919

Anyone mention Limerick yet? ;-)

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3350 - 27/01/2015 14:42:40    1686925

More interesting than taking about kilkennys chances! :P

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 27/01/2015 14:50:20    1686937

Yes but there's a difference between discussing one teams chances and others feeling sorry for themselves because they think we don't like Limerick for whatever reason. Whats gone is gone and whats won is won.
Emotion plays a part too but its gone into overdrive it seems.
Making clear here I have nothing against Limerick , , I work here , have lots of family there , I go out in Limerick to socialize & have many friends there.
I've no problem taking part in an active discussion where hurling is the topic but where some posters have a gripe over past remarks made or things like that is just a pure waste of time. That's why I stated the thread had gone off topic in a certain way.
If the rest of this thread for the whole year is about Limerick hurling fair enough but no cry babies please.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/01/2015 15:38:02    1686975

If wexford can up it a bit they are a big physical team and could trouble kk I still would expect kk to come out on top but wexford are improving.Dublin for me under Cunningham might up it as well, lads all in all compared with the last few yrs when it was all kk and tipp there's a fair amount of teams that could beat each other in this yrs championship, both leinster and munster look like minefields.

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 27/01/2015 15:59:05    1686995

I don't think Wexford will trouble Kilkenny in Leinster but I would not be surprised to see Dublin win Leinster.
I think they will get a "bounce" from the new management set up. I still fancy Kilkenny to get to AI final though.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 27/01/2015 16:09:07    1687003

I don't think it's fair to say nobody rates Limerick. I do feel limerick are slightly over hyped(much like ourselves). Limerick are certainly contenders but many are making it out like they're solid top 3. I don't believe that's the case. If it was they wouldn't still be in 1B. Realistically Kilkenny are still top dogs and there's very little to chose between the next 5/6 teams in line. I certainly hope 1 will rise this year. I picked cork last year and they were brutal. I'd be happy if it was Limerick. My own county are still 3/4 players and some experience short at the minute.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2683 - 27/01/2015 16:30:28    1687018

Westfester

Why did you even need to say that ?? Of coarse kilkenny are favorites. Wexford will trouble them. Anybody would be crazy to EXPECT a Wexford win but we're every bit as good as the Dublin team that won it in 13. Don't forget they stumbled out of Wexford park with a questionable goal before beating Kilkenny and Galway.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2683 - 27/01/2015 16:33:51    1687022

If the Kilkenny v Wexford game was on anywhere bar Nowlan Park i would give Wexford a fighting chance.Home advantage all but eliminates any chance of an upset.For me i dont think theres a harder place to go and win in World sport.Anywhere.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/01/2015 16:45:43    1687035

I dont think people as a rule have anything against us. My post more or less said we should all shut up if people dont respect us there is only one answer and that is on the field of play. I personally have zero interest in trying to persuade anyone to respect us on a shagging forum and I would like it left at that we should do our talking on the hurling field and move on.

I think it was cue de rocket who said tipp have plenty of cover but I was at the All Ireland last year and they brought on Cahill a corner back at wing forward and Eoin Kelly who is as old as myself at 13. Thats not consistent with have a lot of strength in depth.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 27/01/2015 16:53:49    1687050

wexford usually play well in Nowlan park. I think every wexford fan would take a good showing against KK, winning might be too much to ask.

the_post (USA) - Posts: 184 - 27/01/2015 17:07:25    1687062

Lads Limerick have the same chance of winning the All Ireland as Cork and Clare. And galway if they are the galway we know they can be. Those 4 are on a par with each other. Tipp ahead of those 4 with Kilkenny ahead of the whole lot. That's it in a nutshell.

This rubbish about nobody rates or likes us is just that - rubbish. It looking for a cause or a chip on the shoulder where there isn't one. If All Irelands were handed out for whinging and looking for notice we would be going for 16 in a row!! It would be 21 in a row since 94 but even we couldn't match the whinging of Clare in 98 :)

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 27/01/2015 17:17:06    1687071

I don't think the league matters or gives any indications of where a team will be in championship. I mean offaly drew with Limerick in league last year which cost us promotion. I seriously doubt the result would have been the same had they met in championship! And in 2013 the provincial champs both came from 1b and the ai finalists where the two teams that contested relegation match. I think there's pros and cons of being in 1a vs 1b! And you've the added competitive game of at least the quarter final anyway.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 27/01/2015 19:08:55    1687136

i dont think killkenny are ahead of the rest
jj delaney was still at his best when he left
now he played in a key position at full back
and he was one of the bedrocks of that team
its very much wide open

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 27/01/2015 19:43:22    1687150

anyone who ranks limerick along side tipp and kilkenny and says there is a gap back to the next teams is crazy!! tipp and kilkenny are ahead. but limerick are not a big gap ahead of the likes of cork, clare, dublin, galway.. i think waterford are better than what people say and i think wexford are a lot worse than what people think they are a poor side in fairness - as the hammering they took from limerick last year shows. just going back to limerick - they won 2 and lost 2 last year. it is not as simple as saying that limerick are better than tipp because they beat them, sure cork beat limerick and then tipp beat cork. tipp i think we all know are better than limerick but tipp just take their eye off the ball so to speak or limerick might be a sort of bogey team for them from time to time. similarly with clare and wexford, clare are miles ahead of that wexford but due to discipline and complacency they some how beat clare.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 28/01/2015 18:25:33    1687500

but Hurlingexpert, in 2013, we beat Cork who beat Kilkenny who beat everyone all the time and also beat manage to beat Tipp regularly, same as Limerick, well we beat them twice anyway apart from all the times they beat us..and if that isn't enough last year we hammered Wexford who some people think are going to win Leinster which makes them better than Kilkenny who beat us in 2014 only cos of that feckin storm and 2 soft goals when we weren't ready to defend them. If that is'nt more than enough to point to Limerick going ahead and dominating hurling like we used to do 80years ago(God bless Mick Mackey, feel like i know him personally, i hear his name so often!) then i dont know what the problem is. Or not, i'm confused now. What was the whole point of this thread again?

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1065 - 28/01/2015 20:38:06    1687541

every team can be beaten and every team can beat each other on occasions, kilkenny and tipp just are the 2 best of the lot!!
anyone who thinks wexford can win leinster is crazy, they are a terrible team really. take out lee chin and ciaran mcdonald and they wouldnt beat laois or westmeath or antrim.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 29/01/2015 18:25:03    1687840

Hurlingexpert how can ya make a comment like that,weather your lads were exhausted or not we completely out played Clare in both ennis and Wexford last year,all that kept you's in touch was our wides

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 29/01/2015 18:37:52    1687847

yeah ye bet us fair and square - with a poor team. the reasons we lost i think are; obviously discipline - 3 red cards over 2 games is just not on. and far too many score-able frees were given away. complacency was obviously another major issue - i personally didnt think it would be but obviously we bought into our own hype and took it for granted that all we had to do was turn up and win the game against a far inferior team. its not possible to switch that kinda thing on and off. few issues with team selection - although i would lay much of the blame there to be honest. and as you say exhaustion was another reason. i wouldnt like to say wexford are becoming our "bogey" team because that would just be embarrassing!!
wexford always give it everything, are absolute fighters and can be hard to beat in wexford park. but to say wexford can win leinster?? no chance!! 3 or 4 good hurlers there but teams seriously lacks quality.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 29/01/2015 19:43:49    1687868