Hurling Predictions 2015

Disillusioned, Clare WON the All Ireland in 2013. It doesn't matter that they didn't beat the Cats. They would have done in my opinion had they met, but that is neither here nor there.

Limerick put them to the pin of their collar in one of best games I have seen in years and I can assure you that I was shouting for Limerick that day.

Dublin had poor year last year although it is not that long since that even staying in Division I and beating Wexford would have been regarded as a great year! So it is all relative I suppose.

Anyway, as last post says, it is all pre season chatter to keep us occupied. We will find out soon enough. Our immediate task is to beat our old friends Laois next Sunday.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/01/2015 21:23:38    1686357

mike03
County: Limerick

Laois must be serious contenders for the All Ireland after easily beating that great Wexford team....

How did Limerick fare against them in the league last year? And where has anybody said Wexford are great? Wouldn't belittle Laois by coming up with excuses as think it is great for hurling of they too are competitive. If you read my posts above I said Laois away is a very tough game. But dont let that get in the way of your cheap January shot....

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/01/2015 21:30:45    1686361

Hurling Dub
Wexford did not beat KK in the last ten years.2003 is twelve years ago. Galway beat them in 2005 and 2012 but when an Ireland was at stake they collapsed as they have done consistently against KK. Anyway how can you consider Galway is a Leinster team since your own County Boards refused to allow them in to your U21 and Minor competitions. When they were down here in the sixties we allowed them participate at all levels and were not afraid to take them on unlike our Leinster counterparts. I give Galway about three more years in Leinster and they will throw their toys out of the pram like they did here and run back to the West and in this case I would not blame them. The arguments I put to faithful still stands. Since 2000 Limerick and Clare alone have 7 U21 All Irelands while Wexford Offaly and Dublin have a total of zilch at this level between them

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 25/01/2015 21:35:08    1686362

Well Pinkie
Well now they often gave us plenty of it but they did beat not us by three goals. I have great time for Wexford but this was a poor enough result but I do think you have a coming team there. I am looking forward already to March 8th in Wexford Park.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 25/01/2015 21:43:05    1686365

Ya I wasn't trying to have any jabs at Wexford I just think it's too early for them to be considered contenders. Like I think this Limerick team when they first started there development in 2011 were at least as good as Wexford are now.. It takes time!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 26/01/2015 08:28:22    1686380

1B will be a humdinger this year. Other than Antrim and probably Offaly if yesterday's poor shows were any indication, any of the teams could potentially win it, and fact that four will reach play offs means that teams will get more good game time before the championship. No doubt the gurus will come up with some other change at Congress!

A good league for ourselves would be to finish in top four and make it at least to semi finals.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/01/2015 09:09:01    1686389

Excellent POST Fulgrim. I cant believe some of the comments from my fellow county men on here. The arrogance we are showing makes us like Tipperary supporters.

Fulgrim
County: Wexford

Some subtle digs at the quality of this Wexford team, coming from a county that hasn't won an All Ireland since '73. We're talking about a county who have developed a serious skill at bottling games in Croker in recent history. Genuinely thought a county that deals in so many moral victories would have a little more humility and not run their mouths about others. I really can't wait to see this Wexford team, which is very young, mature and with any luck make you eat your words.
That said fair play to Laois on beating Wexford, fairly comprehensively, even at this time of year.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 26/01/2015 09:25:26    1686395

Limerick need to get out of 1B looking forward long term this is the most important thing. No point Limerick reaching semi finals and thinking they have reached the top table. Will hurling in 1B do anything for any of them young minors, I think not. Real progress will be getting out of 1B for a start. This year is massive for Limerick and need to reach a all Ireland final now, let's hope they don't become the Waterford of 2002-2009

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 26/01/2015 09:34:23    1686397

That's getting pretty out of hand. laois had they're best 15 out. i can safely say that no more than 2 of those Wexford players are guaranteed starters.It's onloy January lads.

Also i haven't seen a single Wexford poster claim that we're capable of an all-ireland this year. WE'RE NOT!! I just want to make another 1/4 final and give a better account of ourselves. Find 2 or 3 more players and don't get hammered by anybody. that would mean progress for me.

As a neutral I've always felt sorry for Limerick but some of you lads are making that really hard to do. reading some of those comments I'd be happy to see them destroyed in munster and not get anywhere near croke park for the annual bottle show.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2682 - 26/01/2015 10:59:02    1686419

In fairness wexdoyler it's not Wexford lads saying Wexford will win the all ireland it's neutrals.. Also I think every County has there annoying fans.. That's just gaa! I used to like Galway till I lived there!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 26/01/2015 11:11:17    1686424

Oldtour, EVERY team has collapsed against the Cats, including yourselves on the biggest day of all. It is hardly a shame to any team so it is not much of an argument against Galway or Wexford or anyone else. Indeed every team in current Division I has given and taken hidings off all the rest in recent years with the curious exception of Dublin and Cork who have never been more than 3/4 points either way.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/01/2015 11:17:08    1686425

Clubgaa ye are now worse than Tipp supporters!! The gloating around Limerick at the moment is deafening!!
Talk of an AI already I'm gonna get sick!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/01/2015 11:17:37    1686426

Also I don't know if you were referring to me there but I just give my opinion like everyone else on this. Limerick are constantly written off here. Would you prefer if everyone just said ah Wexford are great young lads fair play..?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 26/01/2015 11:19:56    1686427

If I could interject it is obvious that fans from other counties have little or no respect for limerick. As hurtful as that is for us I suppose we do have to accept people's right to have that point of view. The only way to have respect is to earn it. We have had 2 victories over tipp ( one unfairly discredited) a win over cork also discredited a good performance against Kilkenny not discredited until faithful and corner back did so on here. We simply have to go out and win it and then hopefully we won't be so easily dismissed. It is fair to say though that we do need to earn respect and as yet we obviously haven't done enough. I think 2013 semi did untold damage to our rep.

As for wexford I think they have been a little overrated on here but it is fair to say that it is not wexford fans by and large who have done the over rating. As for the Laois cheap shot it comes from a poster who is known for cheap shots even against his own county. I would ask wexford lads not to paint us all with the one brush and am sure that most limerick ppl wish both Laois and wexford the best for 2015.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 26/01/2015 11:58:49    1686440

Doylerwez, laois did not have their best 15 out..... Missing a good few.

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 26/01/2015 12:03:00    1686442

Limerick and Wexford men,holy moley lads,take a step back and cool the jets.No need for this pre season war of words.Doesnt matter when the last time either won the All Ireland or how many finals yeve lost - for me anyway ye are both proud hurling counties with a rich history.We dont have too many hurling counties dining at the top table,and Wexford and Limerick always have,and always will be integral members of hurlings elite.We,ll put this down to pre season jitters.Some of ye lads are above this nonsense.
This is going to be some year i feel.Im sticking with the banner men for the big one,although ive tipped Cork for the League.Jimmy Barry is trying out a lot of new players and has the blood and bandage moving well already.Ive tipped Cork to win an All Ire in next 2/3 years.They may do it this September.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2015 12:11:16    1686446

here here cuederocket

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 26/01/2015 12:21:04    1686454

DF who has discredited Limericks win over Tipp in 2013 & 2014 ?

Ye were the better team on both days and I for one would not take any victory for Limerick away. Both were just reward and in 2013 ye won a Munster. Should that be discredited because Cork had 14 men. No way IMO.

Limerick are a coming team but be too dissapointed if no one is giving Limerick the credit they deserve in late January cos believe me come July a few of us here could have smiles on the other side of our faces.

You now have another game in the Waterford Crystal Final and that should brig on the young players again. Some of them already have taken to the Senior set up like ducks to water.

Danger team of 2015 will be Limerick mark my words.

I do feel that Limerick need to be in at least an All Ireland Final in 2015 and get out of 1B.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/01/2015 12:22:48    1686456

Jesus wild pundit I don't know where in limerick u were but real limerick hurling men are not talking about winning an AI. Hoping certainly but not expecting. How could we given our record. It is fair to say that we are excited. This looks like best senior team we ever put out of course we could also say that bout last years minors. Cautious optimism I'd say

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 26/01/2015 12:24:27    1686459

Go back to posts on here after 13 game hugely discredited mistly by tipp and Clare fans. Cork game was also discredited mostly by Clare fans as well especially after they won AI. It's on record just go back and check

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 26/01/2015 12:32:59    1686464