Hurling Predictions 2015

Kildalkey4 I would happily bet my salary over the next ten years that Wexford won't win all ireland. It's actually unfair on them how overrated they are. Give em a chance to develop. Maybe in three or four years.. Certainly not this year I'm afraid.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 09:12:34    1685355

Oldtourman

Simply since 2000 no other Leinster team has appeared in an All Ireland except Galway. No Under 21 or Minor All Ireland was won by any of the those counties either in that period. That hardly supports your argument

Your argument was that winning the provisional was a hindrance. You've gone a bit off track. Kilkenny have won 10 All Irelands since 2000. One through the back door. My argument was that winning the provincial is not a hindrance as Kilkenny have proved. Galway were unfortunate that the year they won Leinster they met Kilkenny in the final. They'd of beaten any other team that day they drew. KK just don't know when they are bet.

As for minor and under 21, we might not of had winners but Wexford, Kilkenny, Dublin and Galway have all been to finals.

I'm actually not sure what your point is at this stage.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 22/01/2015 21:57:53    1685689

disillusiondfan, I disagree that Limerick are better than every team in Leinster except Kilkenny. That's nonsence to be fair and based on no logic. Dublin, Galway and Wexford all have better under 21 teams than Limerick. I certainly wouldn't bet my house on Limerick winning any of those games either at senior level.

Limerick are a decent side, that we agree on but even in the semi this year when KK were as poor as we've ever seen them Limerick still couldn't get over the line and they gave 150%. I still rank Limerick as 5th favourite for the all ireland and even that's at a push. You can't put Limerick ahead of Tipp because you bet them in the first round of Munster. If you bet Tipp in Croker when it matters then I'll accept they are better but until Limerick start beating teams on the big day they certainly won't be in my top 5 anyway.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 22/01/2015 22:04:29    1685692

Disillusioned, the last two meaningful games Dublin and Limerick played were an All Ireland quarter final and a Division Two league final. Dublin won both of those games. So I am not quite sure on what basis you think Limerick are better than Dublin, or Galway for that matter.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/01/2015 08:30:54    1685695

blackspot91
County: Limerick

Kildalkey4 I would happily bet my salary over the next ten years that Wexford won't win all ireland. It's actually unfair on them how overrated they are. Give em a chance to develop. Maybe in three or four years.. Certainly not this year I'm afraid.

Funnily blackspot91, I would think that Wexford are as likely as Limerick to win one! And equally funnily I would have used overrated tag on Limerick also! I know we collapsed against Limerick last year after 4 games in 4 weeks but we are producing top U21 teams now and are a match for anyone.

Not in the next 10 years? Do you see something different to what I do in underage hurling in Wexford, or what is your basis for that claim? Do explain.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 23/01/2015 08:48:45    1685702

For me you can't look past Kilkenny or tipp yes its true one of the other I suppose 4 can win the all irl but if I was a betting man I know where my money would be.Anyway its a long way off till the championship and anything could happen between here and then.From my Limerick point of view i'm just glad we are one of the contenders in a more meaningful way than past yrs when if we were to be honest we had no chance.

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 23/01/2015 09:12:37    1685712

league tipp
leinster galway
munster tipp
aa ire clare(second choice limerick)

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 23/01/2015 17:48:34    1685913

Faithful that is the first time I have heard anyone describe kilkennys performance as poor in last years semi. As for as poor as you have seen they not going to be any better without JJ in my opinion. As for saying that Limerick are not better than wexford were you not watching last years Ai QF????

Pinkie I agree that no one can say that wexford will not win in 10 years but I think it is really clutching at straws to say Wexford were tired last year. Most punters (not just me Im afraid) agree that if it was tiredness that caught Wexford they would have competed for at least 40 minutes and then fade away. Since they were beaten from the throw in I think it is more productive to concentrate on bridging the gap rather than making excuses (an indulgence I believe has done us no favours in the recent past).

As fro Dubin and Limerick hurling dub. Dublin were v poor last year and were well of the pace. They could be better this yer but based on 14 Dublin were wel of the mark having lost easily to Tipp on the ground where we beat tipp and lost easily to KK on a ground where we give them a scare. Also think Galway could be great this year but on last years performance they are well outside top four. The championship almost always throw up a team who perform well past expectations and that could well happen this year but on all known form KK and Tipp are the rpoven performers and i think lk are the pretenders to the thrown (poss green tinted glasses but I will tell you this the 2015 limerick team will be the hardest Limerick team to mak in my 40 years watching them)

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 23/01/2015 18:34:00    1685922

Disillusioned, Dublin were poor last year and had grown stale, but getting hidings is not uncommon for any of the top teams, including the Cats! I think this year will be very open. Limerick certainly are contenders but I would not predict a winner. Dublin are in new territory with no expectations.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/01/2015 19:22:27    1685941

Pinkie I meant my salary over the next tens years that they wont win it THIS year. Wexford could certainly win a few in the next ten years. Im not doubting that there up and coming all i'm saying is I can't see em having a chance this year and dont see how other people have em as dark horses...

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 24/01/2015 08:50:38    1685994

I think Dublin are more likely to win the All Ireland than Limerick. Fair enough they were poor last year but when they were good they were actually winning big games in Croke Park against big Teams. Clare also have been there and have won on the big day. Cork, Tipp and KK all know how to go and win AIs for sport. I would love to see Limerick win an AI as it would be a great shot in the arm for hurling but until they get away from this mindset of taking the glory from a "heroic semi final loss" they won't. That Semi was there for the taking last year and all Limerick had to do was drive on for it. I think any if the 5 I mentioned above would have had as KK were poor on the day. That's how neutrals see it but as I said it would be great for hurling to have the likes of Limerick, Dublin and Wexford actually winning an AI.

Cornerback1977 (Cork) - Posts: 67 - 25/01/2015 13:17:04    1686193

Comeback 1977 everyone is entitled to their opinion. In the semi final. Kk v lk was a cracking match played in horrific conditions which undoubtablly had an influence in the game . The could have went either way. Kk were pushed to the pins of there collers they certainly not holding back. Cody stated himself it was the hardest toughest match they got last year and stated they were luckly to come out on right side but had to be pull on on there reserves. Both teams played hard physical hurling in line with the conditions. It was not a day were any team could have easily pushed on. Any hurling team would have found playing in those conditions difficult. Also as a hurling person I have respect for cork to state that there performance in the semi final was not a through reflection of were they are at or there capability. but nevertheless it's going to be a difficult defeat for cork to recover from

Limerickgaa2014 (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 25/01/2015 16:06:15    1686228

Laois must be serious contenders for the All Ireland after easily beating that great Wexford team....

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 25/01/2015 19:01:42    1686276

No need for that Mike! Its only early season and I'm sure Wexford like everyone else were trying out new things and new players. Good result for Laois all the same who had a decent year last year, and will be pushing hard in league.

On another note, Antrim proved today why the likes of Watson and others do not want to be on the same team as some of them. I shall say no more.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/01/2015 19:22:35    1686287

Corner back you think that Clare who couldnt beat Wexford over two games home and away could beat KK last year???? Also you think Dublin would have???? Really??? Doubt many would agree if Im honest

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 25/01/2015 19:24:16    1686288

Hurlingdub - what were the Antrim boys at?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/01/2015 19:52:22    1686304

Disillusioned, you have a strange view of history! Dublin, Tipp, Galway and Wexford have all done in last ten years what Limerick have failed to do since 1973 - beat the Cats in the championship!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/01/2015 19:55:07    1686305

Come off it hurling dub do you believe that Clare in 2014 would have beated KK in the AI semi. Surely they would have to be able to beat Wexford before they could hope to beat KK. As for Dublin you will know yourself if u are honest the Dubs were poor in 14.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 25/01/2015 20:27:32    1686322

Lads it is preseason not matter how much the league etc is build up. One really does not know until championship how a team is faring. No need for irrielvant remarks all all sides

Limerickgaa2014 (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 25/01/2015 20:28:30    1686323

Some subtle digs at the quality of this Wexford team, coming from a county that hasn't won an All Ireland since '73. We're talking about a county who have developed a serious skill at bottling games in Croker in recent history. Genuinely thought a county that deals in so many moral victories would have a little more humility and not run their mouths about others. I really can't wait to see this Wexford team, which is very young, mature and with any luck make you eat your words.

That said fair play to Laois on beating Wexford, fairly comprehensively, even at this time of year.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 229 - 25/01/2015 21:22:26    1686356