George Hook Newstalk

That wasn't entirely what he said though royaldunne - he said rugby was a superior game to football, soccer etc because it requires "the character, courage and commitment of men". He is entitled to that view of course, and anyone is entitled to agree with him, but there is no doubt that his view is intended as a slur on other sports because tin his view hey don't require such attributes. You can speculate whether he is winding people up or not, if he is you would have to say its a disappointing way to spend your 70s (and taxpayers money). I don't think much of many of his opinions, including on rugby and on this I completely disagree with him, as would the Irish womens rugby team I would imagine among many others.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 25/11/2014 21:46:30    1674938

I don't bye the Hook is just winding people up, you need to have a fine intellect and some subtlety for that to work on radio he possesses neither qualities hence my haste in shifting the dial. What we have here is the unhealthy Irish "cult of personality", we really do waste a lot of time with these types. Hook is an accidental WUM (its totally unintentional), a snob, his grasp of sport (including Rugby), politics and history is a lot like his manners and is tailored/formed by what others think. Just like his ties he thinks wearing rubbish is been "different" when its just stupid. I can't say I have ever met a single person who actually takes him seriously and in my line of work I meet a heck of a lot of people.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/11/2014 08:08:55    1674942

arock

Hook is an accidental WUM (its totally unintentional)

Haha no come on, if nothing else he is an intentional WUM a lot of the time, that part is not up for debate, case closed.

As for the rest of your post, well it all just equates to the fact that you don't like George Hook which is fine but I think criticizing his dress sense or reasoning for it is just petty to be honest. Especially considering we're talking about his radio show here, if a radio presenter's tie is bothering you (or even someone's tie on tv for that matter) then you must be very highly strung!

Anyway you don't like George Hook so you don't listen to him, that's fine, that's your choice but I love listening to him because I think he's a bit of craic, whether he's trying to be funny or not is irrelevant to me. We all have our personal preferences, I'd rather listen to someone scraping a chalkboard than listen to Ray Foley, Ryan Tubridy or worst of all Mario Rosenstock etc etc but yet a lot of people seem to love them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/11/2014 09:47:27    1674950

royaldunne

I don't like tea actually the smell of it makes me wretch

I always had a feeling it was you who threw that cup of tea onto the pitch in Parnell Park, that post just confirms it ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/11/2014 10:02:09    1674954

to my meath and Dublin friends - I live in Co. Armagh but work in the south - and have done for a very long time... so i pay my taxes....
my question is relevant in relation to RTE - he didn't play at the highest level, yes he was asisstant coach for the USA but many would say it was eddie O'Sullivan brought him along because he was out of work......
But the highest level!!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 26/11/2014 13:17:08    1674997

Htaem

royaldunne

I don't like tea actually the smell of it makes me wretch

I always had a feeling it was you who threw that cup of tea onto the pitch in Parnell Park, that post just confirms it ;-)

Haha. I've finally been caught. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/11/2014 17:03:22    1675057

Htaem

So you like the guy, I dislike him, you stated your opinion, but its not a debate. Two words "case closed" is about the max anyone could come up with to defend his show and acting performances on RTE, he wasn't a good coach, nor was he successful at catering, nor are his ties a hit. If you really think that the guy possesses an intelligent engaging mind fair play to you for dragging that out. The Irish disease "the cult of personality" is paying his wages, but as the song says "what a price to pay for devotion".

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/11/2014 18:44:43    1675076

Arock I think you will find George's program is very much on the rise. Look I don't want gaa on tg4 , I find it mind numbing but most seem to like it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/11/2014 19:34:14    1675085

arock

I never said I thought George Hook "possesses an intelligent engaging mind", I listen to him for light entertainment, especially when I'm not too busy at work and or when I'm driving home. acrock do you think there's a possibility that you're reading way too deep into George Hook's popularity?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/11/2014 20:17:58    1675091

some valid point arock....

I go to as many other sports as possible, soccer, rugby etc..... I appreciate the atmosphere, skill, tactical awareness etc... I always try and find something from other sports which i can bring into coaching either the football/hurling or camoige....
Sport at the highest level is to be appreciated. I enjoy them all and respect them all. I once attended a World Cup Cricket semi-final between India and Pakistan - a crazy atmosphere, the atmosphere at Wimbledon fortnight is unreal and should be experienced by everyone.... I have been to FA/SFA/IFA/FAI Cup final/ Champion League games, ice-hockey, hockey in the old Wembley, the Irish/English Derby, Grand Nationals, American Football etc.... But i believe they are all wonderful in their own right but nothing compares to an All-Ireland Final, County Final, The Ulster Final ..or even the thrown in for this Sunday's Ulster club Final... the parade, National Anthem, the ball being thrown in....
BUT George Hook doesn't just build up rugby ( waffles) he discounts and belittles all other sports including GAA...

He didn't play at any real level..... Can you imagine on the night of the All-Ireland Final we have J. Murphy a Junior D footballer from Dublin/Meath/Armagh ridiculing the game or players.... that why as a tax-payer I find it a joke!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 26/11/2014 20:24:52    1675095

I agree with cuchulainn and arock.Although i listen to his show when hes talking about news,politics and current affairs,he can be quite rude and abrupt with his guests,constantly interrupting them mid sentence.Lacking in the basic manners department.However,his constant eulogising of the oval ball game and his indifference and denigrating of GAA and soccer is pathetic.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/11/2014 20:35:09    1675098

cuchulainn35

He didn't play at any real level..... Can you imagine on the night of the All-Ireland Final we have J. Murphy a Junior D footballer from Dublin/Meath/Armagh ridiculing the game or players.... that why as a tax-payer I find it a joke!!!

You make a valid point, he didn't play to any real level but then again you're talking about his punditry, I have very little time for punditry anyway and I know I'm not alone in that, it's filler tv as far as I'm concerned. We're talking about his radio show, he's on air because a lot of people like him and I'm afraid you're just going to have to accept that, plus he's in his 70's now so he won't be on air for too much longer, rest easy.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/11/2014 20:39:18    1675100

Great live broadcast from Cork last night on Off The Ball.The sheer love of sport,and the interest in all games was great to hear.Dave Barry,Joe Deane,Cork City manager Coughlan and Billy Morgan told some good stories.Each guest had a keen interest and love of soccer,hurling,football and rugby.And a lot more id say aswell.Certainly no jealousy,snobbery or favouritism of one sport to the detriment of another.Good to hear.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/11/2014 10:52:26    1675297

Maybe because Off The Ball is a sports program and it highlights different sports ?

Hook's is not a sports show, he can talk about what he likes and he talks about rugby. He has a section called songs of the 20th century which, for some reason I cannot fully explain, I like. Like hearing the history of some tumes.It's also untrue that he denigrates GAA and soccer. Denigrating is running something down, not mentioning it is not the same.He talks about them , although not often, referring to the old days when there was more honour and less money in soccer and he used to watch the Cork hurlers when Ring played for them. He talks a lot about cricket too, more than GAA and soccer. Just because some of us prefer soccer to GAA or Rugby to cricket doesn't mean that radio or TV should reflect our likes. I wish there was sports radio 24/7. Unfortunately there isn't so I listen to Talksport sometimes. You can please some of the people all of the the time. I'd rather that than the Joe Duffy woe is me stuff. If you don't like it switch it off. My Mam is 73, says she won't listen to Hook. Calls him an ignaramus. I see her point entirely as I see them here. But he has more plus than minus for me but everyone has their own taste. Who do people like listening to ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 28/11/2014 11:11:27    1675303

Okay cuchullain, perhaps I exaggerated the level at which Hook operated in rugby!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/11/2014 15:27:15    1675358