Frankie Dolan still has it

Great price for brigids. I was at the game on Sunday. Franky was superb and in my opinion Seaman kilbribe is the best forward in the province.

sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 21/10/2014 21:38:27    1665983

while frankie is a good forward to compare him to dessie is a joke . dessie dolan in my opinion has been the best westmeath player along
with martin flanagan that i have seen . frankie is a great club player and nothing more

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 22/10/2014 11:53:13    1666060

Rubbish Mick Frankie is a better footballer then Dessie. To say that Frankie is a good club player only shows how little you know.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 22/10/2014 20:10:25    1666276

Frankie was a very good footballer and is still quality. But his own disciplinary problems surely let himself and his county down. Is a club or county not better of with a less talented but more disciplined and dedicated player who puts his life on hold for the jersey? I know in Roscommon he not only divides opinion but even within Brigids supporters. He's a loose cannon.

Is he a more talented footballer than Dessie? Absolutely.

But Dessie worked hard, not only are Westmeath people proud of him, surely every GAA person is. Like comparing Gazza and Beckham. The less talented player made the most of what he has, carried himself well an ambassador for his sport. The other achieved less. Didn't address his dusciplinary issues, wasn't always a team player. Will surely think it could have been much better if he copped himself on years ago.I hated Frankie playing against us but I loved watching him play. I hope he has settled down by now.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 22/10/2014 20:35:35    1666287

I'd agree that Frankie was more talented than Dessie, but talent is worth little if you dont use it.

As a footballer Frankie doesnt come close to Dessie, its like division 1 compared to division 4.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 22/10/2014 21:17:38    1666306

Frankie and Dessie Dolan were good players in their prime but Joe was better than the two of them

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/10/2014 08:23:50    1666323

Green and red. ]Frankie was a very good footballer and is still quality. But his own disciplinary problems surely let himself and his county down. Is a club or county not better of with a less talented but more disciplined and dedicated player who puts his life on hold for the jersey? I know in Roscommon he not only divides opinion but even within Brigids supporters. He's a loose cannon.

Is he a more talented footballer than Dessie? Absolutely.

But Dessie worked hard, not only are Westmeath people proud of him, surely every GAA person is. Like comparing Gazza and Beckham. The less talented player made the most of what he has, carried himself well an ambassador for his sport. The other achieved less. Didn't address his dusciplinary issues, wasn't always a team player. Will surely think it could have been much better if he copped himself on years ago.I hated Frankie playing against us but I loved watching him play. I hope he has settled down by now.

Green and red you have a number of points which are wrong. I am well aware Frankie is no angel and was not easy managed back then but there are two sides to every story and the manager we had at the time has to take a large part of the blame. There are plenty of current and former inter county players who have a bad disciplinary record as Frankie or worst, one player for example is a shoo in for an all star tomorrow yet as a worst record on and off the field then frankie, yet i am sure if he wanted to go to Mayo you would welcome him with open arms. A number of people who have worn the Mayo jersey were not all angels either. Dessie was a very good footballer but he was no angel either been involved in incidents both as a player and as a coach of a school team.

There is not a player in Ireland who if you went to there home counties you wouldn't find someone with something bad to say about them, any Roscommon gaa person can see wht a class player he is. Anyone i know from Brigids has only great things to say about him and anyone who does not would need to look at themselves, as brigids would not have won near amount of the trophies without him Or Ballymahon would not have won the county title without him. The very fact that he is still in great shape and is a key player at 36 shows that he has put his life on hold for Brigids. He has always been a team player often playing in the play maker role for Brigids. Roy Keane was no angel yet utd and Ireland would badly do with him still playing.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 23/10/2014 12:34:34    1666464

Ban your post is a load of nonsense

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 23/10/2014 12:35:20    1666465

ROS1

Is there a basis to the fact you think my comment is nonsense?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 23/10/2014 19:17:46    1666669

Franky has 10 county titles, 3 Connaught club title, 1 senior all Ireland club title. I am not sure about his inter county record. But this comparison between chalk and cheese, ye are not comparing like with like. Regardless of their disciplinary record, I would pick Franky 10 out 10 times if I had the choice between each.

sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 23/10/2014 20:12:58    1666686

I gave up on this thread when the poster insulted a great club from Clare, silly thread.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 23/10/2014 20:21:00    1666689

ROS, your definition of a team player is different to mine. Sorting out his disciplinary problens and therefore playing more games for the team makes for a good team player.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 23/10/2014 21:07:20    1666706

TheFlaker

What I wrote was not an insult, did I actually say anything bad about Cratole?? No, I made the point that a club from Clare who have never won a munster championship are ahead of St brigids in the club all Ireland betting based on solely winning a clare senior football championship. It is a Joke. Surely you cannot disagree with that logic. They got some publicity as they did the football/hurling double (fair play to them and I am not saying they are a bad team they most probably are a very good side) But I would put my house on Brigids absolutely ruining them if they played

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 24/10/2014 09:03:15    1666745

A very good player who despite his antics in the past, I was glad to see win the Club All Ireland. Maybe its a pity for him he was playing for Roscommon during those turbulant years where off field activities got the better of them. If he was coming into his prime now in a more settled, mature and hard working Roscommon team he might have been better placed to make a bigger impact on the inter county scene.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 24/10/2014 09:08:43    1666748

why write of cratloe ? ...because they play football in clare ??

dont forget where bridgets play there club football !!!!!!!!

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 24/10/2014 10:06:54    1666759

Green and red he has missed very few games for brigids because of been suspended so that point is ridiculous, he has had one red card in a long number of years. Hurleronthefence i think rosfan point was brigids are a lot more proven then cratloe, Brigids are aiming for there eight Connacht final in 10 years, have won 4 Connacht titles including 3 of the last 4 and have been in 2 of the last 4 all Ireland finals. As for what county the play in the have beaten quite a few Mayo champions along the way. I hope a team from outside Kerry/Cork win Munster and if that is Cratloe then good luck to them.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 24/10/2014 13:59:41    1666867

Frankie Dolan is no where near Dessies level. The only games people mention are 2 qualifiers when he scored 10 points and then 8 points(5 more in extra time but that's not a fair comparison). Dessie performed in the biggest day ever for westmeath in the leinster final, and his all ireland u21 medal. And even an All-Star. But sure Frankies a great club player...

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 24/10/2014 18:20:25    1666960

Frankie is a fine talent, and at it a long time.

But to be honest the 12 points against Offaly and 13 against Kildare came at a time when both those counties were absolutely useless. Hence the reason he didn't get an all star.

Great scoring still, but he didn't score them against a top team.

The same could be said for the likes of Mattie Forde. Maybe if they had played in teams that won a couple of titles over a couple of years they'd get more recognition.

Mattie Forde used to kick ridiculous scores from crazy angles.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 24/10/2014 18:26:41    1666963

Square ball frankie was a key part in ros winnoing a under 21 Connacht and a senior connacht title. Roscommon also got to 3 divison 1 semi finals around that time, he played in an all ireland junior final for Ros. I would suggest you would look at his point to win the All ireland for brigids it might make you stop talking rubbish.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 25/10/2014 14:52:40    1667099

Jay p to say Kildare and Offaly were useless is rubbish, that Kildare team were the most successful Kildare team in the last 80 years with some of the best players that has ever played for Kildare, the had narrowly lost the Leinster final which was there third final in four years. That offaly team of that period were the most successful team of the last 30 years with some of there best players of that period and had drawn with the eventual Leinster champs Laois. You also forget the six points he scored against Cork or the 1-3 against Kerry. It was a disgrace that he was not given an all star that year, especially when you see players to did not have a good of a year as him getting an all star Declan Browne for example. Declan was a great player but he got an all star due to his higher media profile and the day Frankie was beating offaly, Browne played in a game in croker where Tipp got hammered out the gate in the first half and Donegal eased off in the second half and scored a number of scores but Donegal still won by 10 points. Tipp played 4 matches that year the only games the won were against Waterford and Carlow.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 25/10/2014 16:02:40    1667105