Donegal v Kerry

I'm really looking forward to this one.

Jim McGuinness is a genius and rightly gets the plaudits for the job he has done. But what Fitzmaurice has done with Kerry is staggering! To lose a player as influential as Gooch and see a host of great players retire over the past 2-3 years and still get to an All-Ireland final is incredible. I had chalked down Mayo to dispose of Kerry - both times!

The criticism of Donegal's style of play has been outdated for 2 years now and yesterday seems to have finally put paid to the myth that they are about blanket defence. I singled out Ryan McHugh as an All-Star contender before the Ulster Final and now am going as far as to say he is the most talented player I have seen emerge in Ulster in the past 10 years.

Donegal do defend immaculately but it is their attacking power that Kerry now have to worry about. A forward unit containing Murphy, McHugh and McFadden with McBrearty either starting or coming on is a top top unit. Donegal have got the balance right, just like in 2012, and if the can keep O'Donohoe quiet (and I can't think of a team better equipped to do so), I fancy them to win Sam.

Verdict: Donegal by 4.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5028 - 01/09/2014 18:28:55    1646316

What a privilege to play the kingdom in the AI final.I think we can do it but I wouldn't bet on it. Fantastic occasion in store.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 01/09/2014 19:50:57    1646381

kerryrowz

... Mayo fans have a massive chip on their shoulder, maybe if they move on and learn their lessons from their defeats that may beat us and win Sam in future years

and you still don't realise.

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 01/09/2014 20:20:35    1646395

Think kerry are going to go ultra defensive for this game! Donegal do damage on the counter attack, we have a massive weakness when teams run at us, aidan o shea caused havoc and that galway goal is ethlched in the memory! I think if we sit back against donegal keep the game low scoring, we have a great chance of coming out on top! Wouldnt be the most entertaining final but just getting back winning all irelands is all that matters first and foremost and we can build from there!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 01/09/2014 20:45:19    1646415

cavanman47

I'm really looking forward to this one.

Jim McGuinness is a genius and rightly gets the plaudits for the job he has done. But what Fitzmaurice has done with Kerry is staggering! To lose a player as influential as Gooch and see a host of great players retire over the past 2-3 years and still get to an All-Ireland final is incredible. I had chalked down Mayo to dispose of Kerry - both times!

The criticism of Donegal's style of play has been outdated for 2 years now and yesterday seems to have finally put paid to the myth that they are about blanket defence. I singled out Ryan McHugh as an All-Star contender before the Ulster Final and now am going as far as to say he is the most talented player I have seen emerge in Ulster in the past 10 years.

Donegal do defend immaculately but it is their attacking power that Kerry now have to worry about. A forward unit containing Murphy, McHugh and McFadden with McBrearty either starting or coming on is a top top unit. Donegal have got the balance right, just like in 2012, and if the can keep O'Donohoe quiet (and I can't think of a team better equipped to do so), I fancy them to win Sam.

Verdict: Donegal by 4.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Really excellent analysis cavanman47! I think you have summed it up really well. Strangely, I would have really fancied Kerry to win the final this time if Dublin had gotten through. They'll never admit it but Dublin would probably have suited Kerry more and the frame of mind is so important. Eamon Fitz has done wonderful job but Jimmy McG is the master and will prove it again.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 01/09/2014 20:59:45    1646429

Kerry have worked very diligently on their puke football this season, and it is safe to make one prediction, they won't leave the gate open for Donegal like Dublin did yesterday. I'd be concerned for Donegal in the final. Going from 7/1 outsiders in semi to probable marginal favourites in the final could be mentally challenging for a proportion of their players. It's often not a good omen to deliver bigtime in a semi too, as Donegal did yesterday. Semis are for winning ugly ideally. It sets up well for Kerry this final imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3502 - 01/09/2014 21:03:44    1646433

@ fire_in_belly - great occasion in store alright. It's a privilege for both our counties to be in the final. I always remember the '92 final. '12 wasn't bad either. While the capital hype built up, Donegal were the team I fully expected to get through the B side of the draw. Ye are going to be a tough opponent no doubt. The bookies odds say a lot but sure let's enjoy the battle on the park.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7922 - 01/09/2014 21:14:30    1646446

Legendz you are some waffler. Cute Kerry Hoorism.

You have spent the summer moaning about Dublin and their resources and you say you fully expected Donegal to win!

Dubs had a bad day yesterday. Fair play to Donegal.

Kerry and Mayo was a foulfest and a poor game. I dont buy into this "wasnt it a great game". Kerry wont get away with that nonsense again. Mind you I'd like to see Kerry win. But reading your comments on here would sway any sentiment neutrals have for Kerry.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/09/2014 21:37:52    1646468

Well done to both Kerry and Donegal at the weekend.

Looking ahead to the AI final in 3 weeks, I suspect this will be a very tight game. It will be a hard game to call, I need to think about this game for a little while.

I was absolutely Impressed by how Kerry muscled Mayo around the middle of the field, and they are defensively very strong this year. Huge credit needs to go to Eamon Fitzmaurice, who has really done an outstanding job. David Moran for me was superb, what a powerful midfielder he is. Quality with a capital "Q" Pat Spillane me aul mucker.

Donegal too overcame a formidable Dublin team, and shock quite a few people in the process. Excellent tactical display, I genuinely thought they were finished when Dublin went 5 points up. This is a Donegal side who many have accused of not being able to come from behind, but they really showed mental steel. I expected a tanking of major proportions. But in fairness they dug deep, and once they settled and Implemented their game plan, it became a superb contest.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 01/09/2014 21:59:54    1646492

Based on the two matches at the weekend you would have to say Donegal
Based Kerrys record verses Ulster teams in big matches you would have to say Donegal
Both teams play a similar style (defending in numbers and trying to isolate full back lines and hit on the counter) but Donegal have perfected it.
Kerry got very physical with Mayo on Saturday and the ref let them away with it (also cleaned Mayo out at midfield and mayo had no fullback). None of those things will happen in the final and even if it does Donegal won't be beaten physically. Donegal are experts at shutting down a full forward line so your half forwards really have to produce the goods.
Donegals shooting on Sunday was the far better than they have been able to produce all year and Kerrys on Saturday was the worst they have produced all year.
Donegal can be beaten if you are fitter than them but Kerry aren't so its a Donegal win for me.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 02/09/2014 08:59:49    1646518

Think kerry are going to go ultra defensive for this game! Donegal do damage on the counter attack, we have a massive weakness when teams run at us, aidan o shea caused havoc and that galway goal is ethlched in the memory! I think if we sit back against donegal keep the game low scoring, we have a great chance of coming out on top! Wouldnt be the most entertaining final but just getting back winning all irelands is all that matters first and foremost and we can build from there

Not winning THE All Ireland either, plural it is, and after that 'WE CAN BUILD FROM THERE'
What arrogance from a county that play no other GAA game and now heading for 5 in row BLANK years.
No wonder the other 31 counties are sick to death of listening to Kerry's 'who but us' rubbish.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 02/09/2014 09:27:24    1646533

fire_in_belly, ho ho the love in is well and truly underway!

Ha ha, ah it should be a great final and its always nice to have a new combination contesting it, you never know this could be the beginning of a beautiful rivalry!

Donegal are going to be a huge test, but we live in hope. We have been toppling teams rated by 'experts' as better than us all summer. Whatever happens we will give it one hell of a go and the young lads have done wonders to get this far.

As for the Cork 'hurling expert' above, you do realise Kerry (if there was any justice) would be playing in Division 1 B of the hurling next year. And they are the top team in the Christy Ring over last 4 years despite yet again throwing a final away last June!! You seem to be another keyboard warrior spouting tripe without bothering for five seconds to check your facts.

So as a proud Crotta man let me educate you. Kerry hurling has a long and fine tradition and history (highlights include victories against Kilkenny in 1970s, Waterford in 1990s, and All Ireland etc) and the Kerry SHC is probably even more passionately supported than the SFC. The final brings big crowds and huge colour and passion every year, why don't you come down to Austin Stacks in early October to check it out for yourself!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/09/2014 10:10:52    1646569

essmac

Wat a pile of puke you are talking. Still extremely bitter from all the times we beat yous in the last 3 years!

Build a bridge. We beat the unbeatables and Dublin are gracious in defeat. Be a long long very long time b4 Tyrone can win an All Ireland semi final.

dgl2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 02/09/2014 10:45:02    1646601

Hey Jacko, you the same jack murphy that was posting on the Kerry gaa forum incessantly prior to the munster final and then nada, no more postings and now you turn up here, on you postings on the Kerry forum you were thoughtful and objective but here the mask slips, looking forward to engaging with you if you have the neck to come on to our forum again but somehow I don't think we will be seeing you again, LOL.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 02/09/2014 10:46:20    1646603

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Well done to both Kerry and Donegal at the weekend.

Looking ahead to the AI final in 3 weeks, I suspect this will be a very tight game. It will be a hard game to call, I need to think about this game for a little while.

I was absolutely Impressed by how Kerry muscled Mayo around the middle of the field, and they are defensively very strong this year. Huge credit needs to go to Eamon Fitzmaurice, who has really done an outstanding job. David Moran for me was superb, what a powerful midfielder he is. Quality with a capital "Q" Pat Spillane me aul mucker.

Donegal too overcame a formidable Dublin team, and shock quite a few people in the process. Excellent tactical display, I genuinely thought they were finished when Dublin went 5 points up. This is a Donegal side who many have accused of not being able to come from behind, but they really showed mental steel. I expected a tanking of major proportions. But in fairness they dug deep, and once they settled and Implemented their game plan, it became a superb contest.

Kudos to you Gary as being a man who nailed his colours to the mast early on about the semi final & stayed consistent when even Donegal men like myself wavered.

I'll be keeping a close eye on your verdict for the final!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/09/2014 13:29:39    1646769

Really think this could an absolutely great game

No question the two inform teams come head to head

I might be getting a ticket for this one... as a strict neutral.

After both semi-finals you can only sit back and admire these two teams

Apologies Kerry / Donegal fans but this Northsider will be nabbing a ticket!

On the upside if I get an extra one... one lucky HS supporter will be getting a ticket... but you'll have to sit beside me so well...

It's a win / win really...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 03/09/2014 11:46:03    1647390

Absolutely Muckross.

Gary Mc called this way back. Hats off Gary you're pre match analysis was spot on.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 03/09/2014 12:15:36    1647411

Have Donegal peaked too early or will Kerry actually beat a ulster team in a All Ireland Final? Its gonna be a cracker of a game.

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 03/09/2014 12:22:05    1647419

Donegal will find this Kerry team very tough. Dublin's defense was porous but Kerry will be totally switched on. Kerry have All-Ireland winners all over the field and have massive tradition; they are the aristocrats of Gaelic Football. In James O'Donoghue they have a genius of a player. Fitzmaurice is tactically on a par with Jim. For these reasons I feel we will go ultra close but come up just short to a great Kerry team. Kerry by 3.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1323 - 03/09/2014 12:43:22    1647431

Essmac from Tyrone, I assume that's a wind-up or you're seriously jealous of Donegal's success the past few years. Tyrone cannot beat us, 2011, 2012, 2013, and it's tough sitting at home all summer, no doubt.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1323 - 03/09/2014 12:50:14    1647435