Mayo v's Kerry

Enjoyable game, Kerry have some good young talent coming true. Better team over the two games. These two games just what they needed to bring them on, hope they go all the way now

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 30/08/2014 20:39:05    1644836

Best team one. They were the better team last week too so the best team made the final. Now to the ref .... Don't get all the stuff being thrown at him. I thought he did ok in a tough physical game and in the 70 mins I thought was harsh on Kerry but also in extra time was harsh on mayo. But long and the short of it is the better team went through simple as that.....
Now can someone answer me this why were the two mayo supporters not arrested in the end ???? Jasus the fella that broke onto the field during extra time was still on the bloody pitch after the game and one mayo supporter actually attacked the ref. sanctions needed big time. Fellas here talking about banning players ffs

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 30/08/2014 20:42:44    1644842

Moran was immense fielding high ball turning over possession his distribution and foot passing was top drawer. At times today Moran kept kerry in it. When Mayo got the 2 goals in the first half he kept going fighting for every ball when kerry were on the ropes. Maher was in and out of the game. I'm delighted for David I know him personally and he had gone true so much with injuries in recent years. He was always a great talent but great to see him realise his potential.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 30/08/2014 20:43:32    1644843

Kerry were very cynical at the end of the game. Very cynical. But none of their players deserved within the rules to be red carded.
-----------------------
I think you are only seeing what you want. The ref made "some"bad calls,they were critical calls. He got it right too though on many occasions. Thought he let game flow good enough for most part with his use of the advantage especially. Enright deserved to see yellow or black,which would have meant red as he was already on a yellow. It was a drag down that any player would have done,wasn't nasty or malicious,but the new rules say he must walk for it,simple as that.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/08/2014 20:45:08    1644846

6 to 9 steps I agree with, when someone is dragging out of you!!!

Both teams "tackling" was horrible. Ref has some blame in this as he should have made an example of someone early in the game. He didnt...... a foul for all followed.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/08/2014 20:52:10    1644856

Referees play a huge part in deciding Football Games. Occasionally there is a very obvious foul but apart from that there is no obvious tackle. Players pull & jostle, sometimes they are pulled for it, sometimes they get away with it. The only hope is that over the 70 minutes things might even themselves out. I do feel desperately sorry for Mayo, these guys have given so much in recent years it will be terrible to see them end up with no All Ireland. Kerry are Kerry, never ever underestimate them, they will be very difficult opponents in the Final.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 30/08/2014 20:55:50    1644865

its a long rd back for this mayo team dont think they have the stomach for it,it could be a decade before they get close again

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 30/08/2014 21:09:32    1644889

Some rollercoaster of a game. Fair play to our lads for seeing it through. Not many teams in transition make finals. We'll be underdogs going into the final but that's for another day. G'wan the Kingdom :-)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 30/08/2014 21:11:59    1644895

Lads it's Gaelic football not basketball...tackling should be hard and physical as long as there not dangerous, which in my opinion very little were from either team today. To many referees these days are stopping the game for little or nothing which is ruining the game...of course he made one or two bad decisions but no referees in the world in any sport is going to get 100 percent of decisions right. Cillian O Connors kick out in the end was a disgrace and just shows for all the ability he has he still has a lot of maturing to do....

HungryMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 30/08/2014 21:18:14    1644906

I love all the posters been critical of Kerry and the ref Mayo got alot of handy frees today
Mayo had 140 minutes to put Kerry away and were unable to do so they are unable to close out
games IF Mayo had won today they would be classed as a super team Kerry won there classed as a
poor team Sam is going to the south west

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 30/08/2014 21:21:40    1644911

ritchie

Now can someone answer me this why were the two mayo supporters not arrested in the end ???? Jasus the fella that broke onto the field during extra time was still on the bloody pitch after the game and one mayo supporter actually attacked the ref. sanctions needed big time. Fellas here talking about banning players ffs

Wouldn't have happened in Croke Park :)

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 30/08/2014 21:27:07    1644931

Epic game. We had goals, big brawls, big tackles and a man being tackled by 5 stewards at the end while his daughter watched on embarrassed! Poor thing.

Higgins, Moran, O'Connor, Donaghy and in general the intensity and quality of the tackling really impressed me today. If Moran can keep fit he can be one of the best mids in the Country. Poor Higgins is a sublime footballer but he was a one man army in the Mayo FB line, Cafferkey wasn't at the races at all.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 30/08/2014 21:28:48    1644932

This was started as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

davittsman
Mayo

Mayo v Kerry

Well done Kerry, but I think Mayo will be grateful if it's Dublin that makes it to the AI Final. They'll show just how bad this supposedly talented Kerry team are, might even give them a 20 + point drubbing

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 30/08/2014 21:29:10    1644933

Nothing but credit and praise to both sides after those two games. Sensational.

Great entertainment, Thats what our games are about!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/08/2014 21:30:19    1644935

Kerry will push Dublin or Donegal in the final, kerry were the only team who pushed Dublin all the way last year.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 30/08/2014 21:31:23    1644939

davittsman
Mayo

Mayo v Kerry

Well done Kerry, but I think Mayo will be grateful if it's Dublin that makes it to the AI Final. They'll show just how bad this supposedly talented Kerry team are, might even give them a 20 + point drubbing

What would that say for Mayo ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/08/2014 21:32:10    1644943

First of all commiserations to mayo, I don't believe this is the end of the road for this batch of players, not by a long way, people are being reactionary here, secondly congratulations to Kerry, ye have done us so proud, given all our injuries and the inexperience of a lot of players, thirdly Fitzmaurice, what a tactician and cian o neill, take a bow, what fitness levels and fourthly I think it's disgraceful and petty the rubbish a lot of posters on here have written, pathetic, fair dues to the Mayo posters, such class and magnanimous in defeat. ciarrai abu.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 30/08/2014 21:35:12    1644950

Only saw ordinary time as I had a local club game to go to but I thoroughly enjoyed what I saw. I thought the referee got a couple of things wrong but I would prefer his style of refereeing to most other referees.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 30/08/2014 21:35:55    1644953

Kerry midfield were super, moran defo motm, brillant game, though game had everything, thanks to the 2 teams!!!!

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 30/08/2014 21:47:35    1644962

Excellent game. Thought the refereeing decisions favored Kerry, however Kerry just about deserved to win. If this was an Ulster championship there would be a media outcry looking for bans.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 30/08/2014 21:50:52    1644968