Mayo v's Kerry

fantastic match, it had everything you could hope for. pity about supporters at the end. ref getting a lot of stick but slide tackling went out when i was a chap. the clash of heads could well have cost mayo

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 30/08/2014 19:48:42    1644755

With the carry on of some of the Kerry players you'd expect some of them will be banned for the final.

As for the fans, you don't expect that carry on from them, they'll get a reduced ticket allocation for the final after their display today, pitch invasions and trying to attack Mayo players, it's not what we expect from Kerry fans.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 30/08/2014 19:49:07    1644756

Will the GAA act on the thuggery at the end. Kerry players were causing havoc With their efforts to close out the game with the melee at the end. 3 Armagh players and 2 cavan players got bans with little or no video evidence at the start of the championship. If their is honesty and integrity within the GAA then some of the Kerry players will miss the final. The ref protected 2 of them from bans by giving them yellow cards. I doubt the GAA will do the right thing. Nothing against Kerry as I look forward to finals with the best available teams going man to man. But the rules should be applied fairly and evenly to one and all.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 30/08/2014 19:52:36    1644760

Ref was poor throughout, but congrats to Kerry and tough luck on Mayo, they gave it a huge rattle.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 30/08/2014 19:52:40    1644762

Well the only place pitch invasions are banned by the GAA is Croke Park, it really is a shambles, they bring in rules and don't apply them or they do but only sometimes. The GAA believes most Dublin fans are thugs, they have made that clear. You reap what you sow. If there was mass murder out there somehow it would be Dublins fault.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 30/08/2014 20:00:03    1644771

Former_Poster

Naysayer Mayo running on empty, you have to be having a laugh.

Hadd Mayo not got the exertions of the last two summers behind them they would have wiped the floor with that Kerry team the first day.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 30/08/2014 20:00:13    1644772

Felt David Moran should have got man of the match.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 30/08/2014 20:01:55    1644775

Well done Kerry. Hard luck to Mayo. Kerry had more possession and they did very well with it. Mayo contributed to a very enjoyable game. They made some very silly decisions and wides again were very bad. Some bad refereeing but these things even themselves out over the year. Today, the better team won in my opinion.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/08/2014 20:02:57    1644777

Banbang were you watching the same game as us because they were Mayo fans not Kerry fans

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 30/08/2014 20:03:42    1644779

Feel terrible bad for Mayo. I think the ref didn't help them a lot with crucial bad calls. If it was a penalty then Enright should have walked....right? Two soft frees from very scorable positions to keep Kerry in it at crucial stage. Actually the free given to Donaghy at edge of square wasn't a soft free at all it was an actual terrible call from ref as there was no foul whatsoever committed on Donaghy. Donaghy himself had great game as did O donaghue and David Moran for Kerry. Was a great game for most part.Sad to hear Brolly singling out Mayo players for individual criticism the way he did also. Those lads gave it everything and don't deserve that kind of "analysis".He might have called out Marc O Se for time wasting and Declan O Sullivan for his thuggish behavior at the end ,but I suppose half the players on the pitch were at it by that point.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/08/2014 20:03:44    1644780

Traleenative
I agree

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 30/08/2014 20:05:41    1644783

I thought that today was one of the worst refereeing displays I've ever seen. The referee reffed the game pretty ok for the first 15 mins of the match but after that he was just terrible. Mayo have perfected fouling- they pull opponents by the shoulder to slow them down, tackle with both hands and push without being blatant. They get away with it. Today Kerry did the exact same. And the referee decided not to give any frees to anyone. It was a farce. Kerry won, but because the game was basically a free for all fouling wise there's no way to know if that was a fair result. Worse, because he lets tonnes of fouls go, when he did blow the whistle for a free one team was disgusted by it. It was ridiculous. It was a good game to watch if you know nothing about football, it was exciting, but god it was terrible to watch pulling and dragging and pushing by both teams go unpunished.

Kerry were very cynical at the end of the game. Very cynical. But none of their players deserved within the rules to be red carded.

The Mayo conduct at the end was very poor. A mentor entering the pitch during a row- he must be suspended. And that fan coming in? I hope he's banned for life from attending games. O'Connor's kick deserved a red card, very poor from him.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 30/08/2014 20:08:08    1644788

Moran definatly man of the match, superb from start to finish

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 30/08/2014 20:18:38    1644804

How in the name of god did O'Donoghue get MOTM? Moran was head and shoulders the best player on the field. Kerry by far the better side should have won that game in normal. For Mayo Horan has taken this group as far as they can go the journey started with a lucky extra time win in London and now ended with defeat in extra time limerick.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 30/08/2014 20:18:48    1644805

Bangbang
You need a color blind test

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 30/08/2014 20:19:11    1644806

Ref was poor throughout? Are you having a laugh for the first 60 mins he was very good, let the game go and we got to see a very open entertaing game for that reason... anyway delighted to see mayo beat, there sourness and bad sportsmanship really showed in the end...

HungryMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 30/08/2014 20:23:25    1644812

TirChonaillabu2

See the Dubs are still afraid of Kerry,every Dub is hoping Mayo win because they figure Mayo will flop again in the final.

How wrong you are, I was hoping for a Kerry win actually, sorry to bring down your theory!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/08/2014 20:26:51    1644815

Very disappointed naturally. Another gutsy performance, but the linesman from last week gave us some payback today and that was always a risk. Apart from the scores which neutral posters have highlighted, there were countless cases of Mayo players trying to execute tackles in midfield but finding turnovers impossible, because Kerry players in possession were taking 6 - 9 steps without any sanction from the ref. That said David Moran, was man of the match... Kerry have another great midfielder on their hands there. Best of luck in the final Kerry.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/08/2014 20:27:25    1644816

Some evening, fair play to both teams - outstanding stuff.. Roll on tomorrow

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/08/2014 20:35:45    1644828

Kerry are nothing without the Ulsterman in the team, Donaghy

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 30/08/2014 20:36:15    1644830