Kilkenny Vs Tipperary AIHF 2014

Said I would leave the dust settle before attempting to post!! I have yet to watch the match but I will in the next 48 hours or so.
What an epic game to be at. Atmosphere was excellent , a great game & few drinks with the KK lads afterwards.
Often you hear of Tipp Kilkenny being a bitter rivalry but its not the case.
Both sets of fans before , during and after the game had so much craic!!
We both understand our counties are something special when they meet in an AI Final and its unbelievable that the 4 finals we have played in have been tooth and nail.
The best game I have ever attended in my 25 years of going to hurling matches.
Rock on 3 weeks time and hopefully we can bring home number 27 on the 27th!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/09/2014 09:52:28    1649933

Well what a fantastic game that was. Absolutely thrilling stuff from start to finish. Nobody will complain about a replay.

But for me, Cody was too slow bringing off Walter Walsh, Shefflin should have been in a lot quicker and probably Tommy Walsh too. But I am delighted it's a replay, cant wait for it already!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 09/09/2014 14:10:55    1650096

I still think Kilkenny will hold the aces going into the replay. So many options on the bench now who can start.

Would not be suprised if Taggy or Shefflin & Padraig Walsh start the next day.

Dont think Water Walsh would start and perhaps but only my view either Fogarty / Holden could be under threat.

Dilemma for Tipp would they start Cahill in place of Bergin perhaps or go with the same 15.

Tipp have more backs than forwards to bring on. I actually heard Conor O Mahoney could be considered a forward. Not many know that he actually plays full forward in club hurling.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/09/2014 15:31:14    1650157

I felt Tipp forwards seemed to find more space rather than Kilkenny. Kilkenny put a lot of high balls in that probably broke 50-50, at times there was two kilkenny men jumping for one ball. Tipp also smothered them out. Do people really think Shefflin would last the pace of last Sunday? I dont think so, perhaps Fogarty from the start.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 09/09/2014 17:26:19    1650242

Good call on O'Mahoney wild pundit, I'd forgotten that he plays full forward for the club. Only problem is that's at intermediate level, if he had 5 - 10 years club at experience at senior grade that would be more valuable.

That said he is a very good hurler who doesn't panic on the ball.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/09/2014 18:58:17    1650282

he actually hurls for my own club Killarney. if he was on the field Sunday he probably would have taken the free that bubbles hit at the end. given that he is normally our long range free taker.

underage he used to play corner forward and midfield thru the years. scored that goal in 2003 munster final replay u.21.

he is very versatile and does not panic that often.

222 if taggy does start in the replay he could add a lot of pace to the forward line which never seemed to get going on Sunday.

it was so strange that tipp won more puck outs than Kilkenny if I remember correctly. will be interesting now that tipp know Hogan is well able to play midfield / centre forward will there be a tactic to stop this the next day. fennelly did not motor at all but when moved to centre field he picked up the pace.

would I be wrong in saying conor fogarty could be on the bench the next day ? I don't think he was in the game as much as kk would have liked but lasted the 70mins.thats my assumption from live game have yet to watch the replay. the missus has taken over the sky box!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/09/2014 21:24:27    1650354

An incredible game of hurling on Sunday. One of the best if not the best All Ireland of all time. Last years 2 Clare and Cork games wwere incredibly entertaining and brought hurling fitness and first touch t a ne level. Sunday's game brought incd=redible standarrds in most aspects of the game. The class scores, the incredible pace, the huge skill level plus the faft that both teams played to their limit in the most sporting game for many many years was fantastic,

What a final few moments also, the free, the strike, the fact that John Bubbles had his arm raised in triumph, the umpire looking for Hawkeye.... all of us waiting for the result... just incredible tension.
Great there was no winner on the day.

I would like to congratulate both sets of players. It was incredible stuff, the most exciting game I have been at. The players deserve every praise for their outstanding display and effort from start to finish. The spirit in which the game was played. It should END the sniping that has gone on - for years - about dark arts etc from Kilkenny. Look at the game again. Not a bad stroke in it. Fantastic stuff.

The stats are incredible - no wide after 44 m ins... Incredible.

Thanks to BOTH sets of players.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 09/09/2014 21:36:31    1650363

O'Mahoney and Cahill would definitely be starting if they hadn't picked up injuries. It's very hard to change a winning team no matter how good the lads who are replacing them are.

O'Mahoney was going really well at wing back and full back before he got injured. Is it any wonder they Tipp forwards are playing so well when they are coming up against Cahill, Curran, O'Brien and O'Mahoney in training.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/09/2014 21:43:37    1650369

Walter Walsh was atrocious. Shefflin is probably not up to the pace of what's required but he couldn't be worse than Walter was, he just couldn't be. The whole bringing Shefflin on with 5 minutes to go lark is becoming a complete sideshow and a distraction to the players on the pitch. 5 minutes isn't worth a damn for any player. He's either ready to play or he's not Brian, time to decide.

The Fennelly brothers were very poor. Earlier in this thread I expressed misgivings about the ability of Colin to goal chances and unfortunately that prophesy came to pass twice on Sunday when he butchered two goal great goal chances. The attempt at a scoop for the first chance was criminally lackadaisical. As we say in Kilkenny, he'd want to shake himself for the replay, and fairly lively too.

I watched the match in full last night and Conor Fogarty got through an amount of work in midfield. Nothing spectacular or glamourous, probably why he doesn't get noticed but he's some grafter. I certainly wouldn't be dropping him because he's not a "big name player".

I wonder how much Richie Hogan's switch to centre forward was tactical and how much was due to his legs going. Richie is not a natural athlete and I think the pace of the match forced him to move to CF. Whatever the reason it worked out almost perfectly for Kilkenny as Hogan put on an exhibition of point scoring and allowed Michael Fennelly to get out of Padraic Maher's shadow. However, would it be too obvious to start Hogan CF the next day? Surely Tipp would be wise to it. I'd predict Hogan and Fennelly to be picked in the same starting positions again but I wouldn't treat that as gospel. It will be the first line up I'll be looking out for the next day.

I thought Joey Holden, without exactly being roasted, was a little bit out of his depth. Even physically, he looked like a minor compared to the rest of the players. Tellingly he was the only Kilkenny back to be withdrawn. I think his place could be under threat for the re

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 09/09/2014 21:51:44    1650376

I think you have to match a fast man with a fast man, Mark Kelly or Fogarty will probably go on Barret the next day. Woudlnt be surprised to see John Power in as well. The Shefflin situation is interesting, 66 minutes was too late to make an impact, I can only assume Cody saw the finish line perhaps and felt he had to put Henry on for the sake of it. Colin Fennelly is a poor finisher, two years ago in the drawn final he missed a sitter as well. Micheal is just a natural midfielder. Conor Fogarty puts in a serious shift and if anything got the better of Woodlock/Mc Grath. Has Tommy Walsh become that bad that he wasn't at least worth 20 mins last Sunday as a half back? Holden struggled no doubt. It's very hard to change the Tipp line up, they were outstanding Sunday, perhaps Mickey Cahill is the only change. Who for though? Geroid Ryan was probably their worst player last Sunday on refection. It's still very hard to call the replay but I just think Tipp are on a mission this year and they will succeed on the 27th. Replays take on a life of their own though.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 10/09/2014 10:22:21    1650443

KK forwards have been at that all year - two or three don't show up on the day but they get through it somehow as even if they don't play well they have contributed with the odd goal. I don't think WW has produced much since the AI in 2012, is it a sign the KK bench is not as deep as it used to be? - perhaps, loads of experience but he didn't get much from the bench last Sunday when they came on. MF I would say will move back to midfield - I think that match will bring him on big time and I think will have a far bigger say in the replay than the last game. The Tipp selection is far easier but where they play on the field is another thing.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 10/09/2014 10:59:05    1650454

Good point in yesterday's Daily Mail - did Cody send out a message that the game was won by putting on Henry, thus relaxing the KK lads & motivating the Tipps ? Henry came on when we were in trouble v Limk, that - or when we're 10 up with 2mins to go - is when you make that move, not when only 4 ahead of a very good team with 5+ to go.
Cody rarely does gestures or sentiment, I'm surprised he did so when he did last Sunday.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 10/09/2014 11:27:19    1650479

He probably had it in his head that Shefflin would come off and tag on a few more. I for one thought it was the nail in the coffin. Kilkenny last 2 r 3 points came from free's and Tipp were holding out at the back and clearing a lot of ball.

I don't think Cody knew the game was won he has won many an all-ireland and is wise enough to know it can swing either way with a puck of a ball.

If the game is in the balance mid way through the second half expect Henry to come on with 20 to go and that could be the difference. If he don't start that is.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 10/09/2014 14:36:49    1650620

An fear donn, who made that point in the daily mail? It's one of the most ridiculous theories I've ever heard. A few minutes to go, 2 or 3 points up, Tipp coming like a stream train, "it's alright lads, we can relax, Henry's after coming on, match must be won" Honest to God, where do these lads get their ideas from?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 10/09/2014 20:59:58    1650769

Ballydalane is it true KK came home after the match ?

Two of the tipp boys I know told me they were waiting in the players lounge and KK never turned up. All the WAGS & GFs had to to scoot it away cos they went straight to the bus.

Just shows how serious Cody is about this replay.

Feeling we'll see a phenomenal Kilkenny performance of old in the replay.

I know people will say that you dont get a second bite at Kilkenny but Dublin did it after a replay last year.

Have a bad feeling about this replay though already!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/09/2014 12:17:29    1650897

ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

1650769 An fear donn, who made that point in the daily mail? It's one of the most ridiculous theories I've ever heard. A few minutes to go, 2 or 3 points up, Tipp coming like a stream train, "it's alright lads, we can relax, Henry's after coming on, match must be won" Honest to God, where do these lads get their ideas from?

I agree ballydalane, too little between them with too much time left v too good an opponent. But how do we know what the Tipp lads - or the KKs for that matter - read into it ?

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 11/09/2014 13:21:40    1650936

lots of posters on this site were saying that JJ Delaney had the measure of Seamie Callanan
5 points from play by Callanan would suggest the other way around to me

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 11/09/2014 14:11:36    1650956

Ballydalane is it true KK came home after the match ?

Two of the tipp boys I know told me they were waiting in the players lounge and KK never turned up. All the WAGS & GFs had to to scoot it away cos they went straight to the bus.

Just shows how serious Cody is about this replay.

Feeling we'll see a phenomenal Kilkenny performance of old in the replay.

I know people will say that you dont get a second bite at Kilkenny but Dublin did it after a replay last year.

Have a bad feeling about this replay though already!!!!

Im going for a 9 point win for tipp this time wild pundit
I wouldn't be one bit worried about the replay

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 11/09/2014 14:12:58    1650958

if Tipp are level with KK with 20 minutes to go Tipp will win by 9 points
I also expect Mickey Cahill to start and he will completely close down Richie Hogan

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 11/09/2014 14:14:30    1650959

I still think Kilkenny will hold the aces going into the replay. So many options on the bench now who can start.

Would not be suprised if Taggy or Shefflin & Padraig Walsh start the next day.

Dont think Water Walsh would start and perhaps but only my view either Fogarty / Holden could be under threat.

Dilemma for Tipp would they start Cahill in place of Bergin perhaps or go with the same 15.

Tipp have more backs than forwards to bring on. I actually heard Conor O Mahoney could be considered a forward. Not many know that he actually plays full forward in club hurling.

Cahill will start but not for Bergin Wildpundit
also think have more forwards on the bench than KK
also Cody right not to bring Henry in he hasn't the legs anymore

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 11/09/2014 14:21:16    1650963