Kilkenny Vs Tipperary AIHF 2014

Cuederocket
Did you know that John Doyle won 8 of his 11 national league medals against the cats

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 19:55:31    1643715

Thurlesblues or whatever your calling yourself now you would give a asprin a headache. You bitterness narrow mind and jealousy of Kilkenny knows no bounds. The simple facts are the Kilkenny team of the last ten years are the greatest of all time win loose or draw the final. And yes I am old enough to remember the 60s and hells kitchen

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 28/08/2014 20:03:47    1643720

Thurlesblue, how many All Irelands have Kilkenny won compared to Tipps. I think ul find that kk are in a league of their own. Cork are our nearest rivals not Tipp. Tipp will never catch us.
Watch him go quiet after the final, like he did in 11, 12 and last year.

mullinr2 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 59 - 28/08/2014 20:24:29    1643727

Dubarra,how do you know thurlesblues or whatever he/she/it is calling itself these days is even from Tipperary.I know a lot of good Tipperary people,and this person,just doesnt fit the bill.Probably somebody with a deep rooted hatred of the county it proclaims to love.It seems to fool most people.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/08/2014 20:30:39    1643731

Ah lads this is ruining the build up, yes this KK team of the last how many years are the greatest to play the game, no one can deny that. As for dominance these kind of things comes in cycles Tipp had it for years back in the 60s KK had it over us for so long. But why are some posters trying to slag us about the greatest team to ever play the game beaten us when there was only a puck of a ball in most of the games, and extra time in some others and we beat tne greatest team in 10 and stopped them for 5 in a row. I for one am very proud at how we competed with this great KK team as if it wasn't for Tipp KK could be going for 8 or 9 in a row

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 28/08/2014 20:41:05    1643735

Number 27 on September 7
Only 7 behind then and gap closing

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 21:04:57    1643749

Dub area
I saw both teams
Tipp team of 60s and current Kk team

In truth Tipp team of 60s was greater
And if back door system was there tipp would have won 5 in a row as they were caught in 63 by Waterford in Munster and had no second chance like the current Kk team in 2012
Do you think current Kk inside back line is as good a shells kitchen? I don't
Do you think Kk forward line is as good as Doyle devanney Mackey McKenna?

I don't think so

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 21:13:14    1643757

No slagging my way realtmo.Why wouldnt you be proud.Tipp is a great county with a great tradition.Ive also commented about how agonisingly close a lot of the losses to Kilkenny have been.Certainly no shame in that.Once you leave it all on the field of play,theres no more you can do.Good luck in the final.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/08/2014 21:28:47    1643767

Mullir2
Wel catch up with ye alright don't worry
As ye only caught up with us in the 90s

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 21:30:01    1643770

Mullinr2
We wouldn't consider 8 all Ireland's a huge gap to close

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 28/08/2014 21:34:36    1643772

Kilkenny won only 1 all Ireland through the backdoor, obviously dosent count for much like Tipps in 2010 so. Anyway this is a new Kilkenny team from say 2006-2011. Yes it is backboned by some from that era but mostly it is made up of new lads. Am not sure lads, is their more pressure on Tipp or Kilkenny going into this final? Remember Tipp havent beaten the cats in a major game since 2010, bringing them to extra time or 1 score means nothing. May as well praise Mayo for being runners up so often. Tipp were meant to bury Kilkenny in 2011 and last year they couldnt beat an injury hit Kilkenny. They still couldnt beat them in the league twice this year after being in good positions (10 pts) in the first game. Shall be interesting come September 7th.

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 28/08/2014 21:45:36    1643778

222 you make some good points. Both Tipp & KK have won the AI through the back door once. I don't see why Tipp's should mean more. It was played into our hands really in 2010 we had nothing to lose.

In my view Kilkenny winning in 2012 was more significant. They had won the previous year in 2011 and got trounced by Galway. They had more of a point to prove.

In 2011 we were so confident in Tipp we would wipe the floor with ye and drive that final nail in but it was all over hype as we blew all away before us in Munster with our tactics. The Dublin game should have been the warning point.

In 2013 despite the KK injuries ye still had a team capable of a big performance and there was no way KK were gonna get beaten by Tipp in their own back yard in championship knock out.

I often wondered if the game was in Thurles would we have beaten ye and I think no we wouldn't have had.Lar going off in that game was probably the turning point Kilkenny played much better after that. I do remember Tipp having a couple of goal chances and missing the resulting 65s. That,s just championship hurling.

Tipp are very unpredictable they can play excellent one day and be down right dire the next. I don't think the Cork game was our best performance of the year in fact Tipp still have to put a complete performance together and on Sep 7th that could be the right time to do it.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 29/08/2014 11:43:53    1643962

I fancy Kilkenny to do it. I think they have more experience on the bench and that could prove vital. I think I read for the Limerick game they had 38 or so All Ireland medals on the line waiting to come on. You can't buy that experience. I also think Kk bringing on Henry will be a bigger boast than Tipp bringing on Kelly. I'd love to see Henry retire with ten. It would be a great thing to look back on in years to come.

Also to answer the question of who's better than who in finals, I think the fact that Tipp havent been competing in finals as often as kk over the last 25 years is probably the only reason they are still ahead on the head to head. There's no doubt in my mind that kk would of wiped the floor with tipp from 06-08. They finished off the great Cork team of the 00's in that period too.

All that nonsense behind, we are in for one hell of a final.

informed (UK) - Posts: 14 - 29/08/2014 14:54:18    1644165

06 & 07 defo as babs was in charge and we were playing 70s style hurling

08 was practically the same team as 09 but with one r two additions.they would have beaten Tipp alright but not wiped the floor with us.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 29/08/2014 15:25:27    1644178

Out of the 73 comments made on this thread so far, 16 have been made by tiobraidArann. just under a quarter. What started out as. or was intended to be, a general discussion about the 2014 AI Hurling Final, has now turned into one eejit spouting continuous nonsense solely to wind people up. I don't mind a bit of banter or argument, but this carry on ruins a good discussion. And there's still eight days go until the AI.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2480 - 29/08/2014 21:55:45    1644426

What nonsense is being spouted cockney cat
Are facts nonsense now ?

tiobraidArann (Tipperary) - Posts: 362 - 30/08/2014 21:16:42    1644902

Its a difficult game to call. Kilkenny had to battle hard to beat Limerick. Cork were really poor and Tipp looked good.
Little doubt that Callanan is a fine hurler and JJ is a yard or so off the pace of a a few years ago. Jackie and Brian Hogan a little older and if Tipp can expose them Tipp will win and win very well. The question for me is the possession that Tipp will have. Will they win clean ball and get time to deliver it to their marquee players the way they like it.

That to me is the conundrum. The second point is that the Kilkenny forwards are not playing well as a unit. Too many are not playing well and are over reliant o Richie Hogan from midfield. Young Walsh was absent for long periods against Limerick as was Kelly and Larkin.

Tipp have the momentum and have regained their confidence. Tipp have fine forwards and Corbett can I think catch fire again. He above all has a lot to prove against Kilkenny.

It will be a good contest. Very hard to call.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 30/08/2014 21:59:44    1644979

Agree with Carlow man, KK forwards not scoring enough to beat Tipp imo, Kilkenny were scoring freely all year but last 10 mins of first Galway game frightened Cody into a way too negative system which has left us struggling for scores.

We were far superior to Dublin in LF but didnt put them away till late in the game and only got 5 scores in second half v Limerick and woud have lost but for a fortuitous goal all because of our ultra defensive system. If we play this way in the final Tipp will pick off points from distance and beat us out the gate.

Arturo.Gatti (Kilkenny) - Posts: 52 - 31/08/2014 21:31:08    1645635

I think Tipp will finally refind their cajones for this one. This game could be over by half time. It is now or never for them against many of the Kilkenny warriors who have long-since assumed legendary status (Shefflin, Tommy Walsh, Brian Hogan, Eoin Larkin, Taggy Fogarty, JJ and Tyrell, as well as Cody himself, and possibly Richie Power, all very close to the final bow). A bridge too far for them, methinks, rather than going out in a blaze of glory. O'Dwyer to get man of the match. End of an amazing era, but many teams are lining up to usher in a new dawn for this wonderful game.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 01/09/2014 10:22:26    1645769

Cork were very poor on the day against us, which I was shocked with, if Cork had of taken their scores, most of them very scoreable especially for this set of Cork forwards they would have beaten us comfortably,but they just didn't convert them, I can assure you that will not happen with kk in the final. Very worried for us at the moment, think kk have that bit extra especially as they showed against limerick, they know how to win games, especially tight ones and especially against Tipp. Kk by 7 or 8

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 01/09/2014 15:40:07    1646129