Monaghan V Kildare

All the mouthing on here about Conor McManus DIVING for free's what game were yous looking at......DUBLIN,KILDARE AND TYRONE FAN'S??????

Everytime the ball was played into him Oliie Lyons was all over him,pushed him in the back for the last free...watched it again this morning FREE ALL DAY.........

Ciaran Fitzpatrick and Emmet Bolton both should of got black cards for the foul on McGuinness.........Bolton tripped him and Fitzpatrick pulled him down............

Monaghan showed GUT'S and Pride last night on a awful night for football and were the best team............

Dublin next Saturday,extra time will test us but 6 days rest and we will be fine.

We have noting to lose,Dublin have everything to lose...........Dangerous game to play in...........a performance like last years Ulster Final and god know's what could happen.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 03/08/2014 11:21:29    1630376

Monaghan will be devoured by the Dubs. No offence but Monaghan are quite slow and cumbersome. I was happy with the amount of times we could take on the man and beat him.

You have a class man inside who was fouled for almost all of the frees he got and I have no problem admitting that but aside from McManus Monaghan would be a long ways off the quarter finals.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 03/08/2014 12:06:38    1630416

It looked to me as if Dessie Mone didn't leave the field of play when he was black carded in the dying moments.

DERBOMBER (Donegal) - Posts: 101 - 03/08/2014 12:18:20    1630429

hardcore
County: Monaghan

We have noting to lose,Dublin have everything to lose...........

Monaghan have an All-Ireland Quarter Final to lose. Same as Dublin buddy.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 03/08/2014 12:20:25    1630431

daytona11 it has been well debated here about the strength of Ulster football. I am of the opinion that Ulster football might not be as strong as it was but to have 3 teams in the last 8 it still shows that even if it has went back a bit it is still the province most likely to produce quarter finalists.

You say that no Ulster team will make the final. That is very possible but the reason for that is that they have a very formidable Dublin outfit in their way.

The thing is Ulster may well only have one semi finalist as well but this is because one Ulster team will be accounted for by another Ulster team while as above Monaghan have to face the force of nature that is Dublin. When you consider that Tyrone are in the top 4 teams in Ulster it is worth noting that it also took another Ulster team to put them out of this years Championship.

Had the draw worked out differently this year you would have been looking at a final of Dublin v one of Armagh, Monaghan or Donegal who in my opinion would beat anything that is left on the other side of the draw.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 03/08/2014 12:21:22    1630433

realman2

1630416 Monaghan will be devoured by the Dubs. No offence but Monaghan are quite slow and cumbersome. I was happy with the amount of times we could take on the man and beat him.

You have a class man inside who was fouled for almost all of the frees he got and I have no problem admitting that but aside from McManus Monaghan would be a long ways off the quarter finals.

How could a team be a long way off the quarter finals when they have made them for the 2nd year in a row ? McManus didn't score from play. Mc Guinness got 1-03 from play. More than one man there. Sign of a good team when one man is stifled another steps up.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/08/2014 12:52:47    1630466

Last night shown that we were the fitter team, in saying that we did great to comeback from what most teams could have lied down to,
Jack McCarron should have been on earlier than he was, was the perfect game for him, great passer and great left foot as he showed with this first touch,

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 03/08/2014 13:18:23    1630489

Fair play to the Monaghan team; in the end little could separate them other than Monaghan's battle-hardned determination and they did show that bit more fitness to get over the line.

Eamonn Callaghan's miss was huge turing point in the game. Is a 7 point lead with 30 minutes to play a bridge too far?? I guess these are the are the "if's, but's & maybes" that every game has.

Yes, another championship game in Croke Park to look forward to.

DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 03/08/2014 13:26:32    1630502

Monaghan lost to a poor Kildare team ? how can a poor Kildare team score 2-14 and 2-11 from play and still be poor ? from what I saw Kildare played well and it was our Hunger that got us back into it, when you's got the two goals we didnt panic, we kept at it and pushed on when Kildare didn't, you's missed your goal chances which you's should have taken , we didn't , that was the difference too ,

otherwise , was Delighted to see Drew Wylie get a point , deserves it , if him or Dessie Mone don't get an All Star or at least come close to it well then I don't know anymore,

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 03/08/2014 13:27:36    1630508

Don't mind Daytona lads. Only surfaces when we lose so he can go on about how poor Kildare are. Enjoyed the game last night despite sitting in a waterfall! Proud of our lads gave it everything for the 90. We have plenty to look forward to with this young team.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 03/08/2014 14:55:46    1630594

Hopefully this young Kildare team will kick on from last night and be back at this stage next year. Some fine players and with a bit of belief and experience could become contenders.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 03/08/2014 15:46:16    1630639

03/08/2014 12:20:25
MesAmis

hardcore
County: Monaghan

We have noting to lose,Dublin have everything to lose...........

Monaghan have an All-Ireland Quarter Final to lose. Same as Dublin buddy.

No No No Buddy........You's have the Sam Maguire to lose and that is everything.........

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 03/08/2014 15:46:18    1630640

hardcore, fair play, you see it your way. We're all a bit biased towards our own team. From what I saw, the 'fouling' on McManus for which frees kept being given looked remarkably similar to the 'tackling' on Alan Smith for which frees weren't....

Anyway, great desire & effort from both teams. When there's that little in it between two teams in those conditions, it's ridiculous to make comments after that desire or fitness told in the end. It's such a cliche. Monaghan took a goal chance in extra time, we didn't. That was the difference and means they deserved their win.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 03/08/2014 16:38:25    1630676

That was the best game I have seen this year, two teams playing the game in the right spirit, showing tremendous effort in atrocious conditions and battling through until the end.

Kildare started well and Monaghan came back at us, then Kildare dragged back a three point lead and led by one with a minute to play only for Monaghan to surge forward and score an equaliser.

Extra time saw tired limbs and players pushing themselves beyond the limits of endurance, and that brilliant Monaghan was just too much for the Kildare lads to pull back .

As a Kildare supporter, I am devastated at losing, but I would like to congratulate Monaghan on their victory, and truly hope you play to your potential against Dublin. Best of luck lads.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 03/08/2014 16:53:02    1630692

Very disappointed, but it was a great game in such poor conditions.
Number of points.
We were naive at times, cost us.
Silly tactics at time, what was the plan that allowed the Monagahn no.4 freedom to accept short kick out and run length of their half before any tackle went in.
Hail Mary shots when col heads would have taken the extra seconds and yards available to set up better option.
But most of all, regardless of what some say, MvManus got frees for tackles that when similar was done to our forwards went unpunished, Why? because he has made a meal of tackles and ref went for it.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 03/08/2014 17:50:37    1630761

Mcmanus this, mansy that, soft frees, diving...... YAWNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, HE IS JUST A CLASS ACT!!

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 03/08/2014 18:13:29    1630795

We obviously have different ideas about class............. no one said he wasn't a good player, just a bit of a diver alongside it.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 03/08/2014 18:45:22    1630824

Well done to Monaghan, a good team, really proud of our lads , Cill Dara Abu

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 03/08/2014 19:01:38    1630838

TheGateKeeper

Just breath on McManus and he gets a free! As for Dessis Moane...

What about Sean? You wont take him down too easy!
Hope ye are getting good entertainment from us,not much happening around Tyrone this weather!

monaghanslasher (Monaghan) - Posts: 2 - 03/08/2014 19:37:24    1630881

Very good game and well done to both teams, Kildare look like a team with a future, learned from the disaster with Meath and rectified their mistakes. Wish I could say the same

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 03/08/2014 19:42:25    1630891