Armagh vs Meath

Lockjaw

To be fair,how many Meath supporters have said this? Most of us are worried about this one and would fancy Armagh to win it..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/07/2014 13:47:49    1625839

Aww Ziggy dont worry sour grapes from the Tyrone boys because we beat them in their own back yard. An you are correct has only played in croke park for armagh once before against down in that dv2 league final an was a class act, although have seen him in action at the venue with cross and he really exploits the open spaces I think if we show the intensity of the past two games we can shade this one although any game now is a bonus for us

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 25/07/2014 14:06:58    1625851

ziggy I should have rephrased that and said royaldunne! Maybe he is just being facetious though I'm not sure.

If Meath don't stand up to Armagh in the physical intensity stakes then the result is a foregone conclusion. Armagh lost that wee bit of bite for a few years but with Grimley, and perhaps more importantly McGeeney back on the scene they appear to be returning to their physically intimidating ways.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 25/07/2014 14:07:56    1625852

Lockjaw

Ya,its a tough one alright,I would love of Meath won this and at least get to the last 8,and it would restore some pride after the Dublin game,but two weeks is not long to prepare after a humbling defeat.I hope I am wrong,but surely Armagh will win this.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/07/2014 14:26:37    1625865

Credit Crunch

I would rank Armagh 3rd in Ulster at the moment alright.. I see alot of posters(from my own county),saying "Sure Armagh are a dv3 team" etc etc. Lads the championship is a different kettle of fish,the league means nothing when it comes to champ.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/07/2014 14:28:59    1625867

Exactly ziggy. It always amazes me that some seasoned followers of GAA still look to the league as a barometer for making Championship predictions. Ask Tyrone and Cavan fans about the merits of Armagh's Divsion 3 status for the craic...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 25/07/2014 14:43:33    1625874

I had no fear we would loose to Roscommon... but I would be wary of a backlash from Meath.
They might collapse again or have the game of their lives. That's what makes it interesting.
Remember what Offaly did in the hurling in '98. Just one for them counties at the time ya never had them bet until the Sunday game was over. Meath were always like that too, whether this team is like that or not remains to be seen.
Its funny when a team is used to winning it becomes a habit too. I often saw Cross playing dire but you knew 10 minutes into the second half they'd start to tighten the vicegrips and with 5 minutes to go, would be in control of the game and you'd have no worries.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 25/07/2014 15:22:54    1625882

Referee hasnt been named yet, and there is extra time if it's a draw after 70mins.
Our friend Mr. Patrick Power has them currently looking like it's only the blow of a Ref's whistle seperating them (with apologies to other Meathmen to remind yis of the Bray goal v Dublin):

5/6 Armagh v 6/5 Meath , 15/2 the draw

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 25/07/2014 16:08:56    1625901

Armagh are coming into the game like any team would like to be going into a game of this kind, with momentum and wins under their belt. Meath are trying to overcome a bad performance and a heavy defeat. Realistically this is the crucial challenge for both teams and probably the reason Armagh are being favoured. Meath posters are unsure what to expect after the Leinster Final performance.

Armagh are an unknown as well. They have been pretty poor in the Ulster championship and until this year haven't done well in the qualifiers. You couldn't be sure what to expect or what players to identify as being strong or weak. A lot of the Armagh players are not well known. So yes Meath posters are right to approach this game with a lot of caution.

One thing I wouldn't agree with is that somehow Mick O'Dowd doesn't realize his best team or that there is some confusion over players best positions. Mick O'Dowd is shrewd enough to be Meath manager and doesn't need second guessing. He's been fairly consistent with picking the Meath team anyway. It's up to the players to pick it up are the Leinster Final and show they are better than they showed that day.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 25/07/2014 17:18:04    1625933

ziggy320001

"Credit Crunch

I would rank Armagh 3rd in Ulster at the moment alright.. I see alot of posters(from my own county),saying "Sure Armagh are a dv3 team" etc etc. Lads the championship is a different kettle of fish,the league means nothing when it comes to champ."

You're right, Championship is so much different. In the league Armagh were totally decimated by injuries. At one point we were without Brendan Donaghy, Ciaran McKeever, James Morgan, Paul McKeown, Aaron Kernan and Finnian Moriarity. And that's just in defence. We were also without James Lavery, Kieran Toner and Kevin Dyas. All these players are either certain starters or first team regulars. The surprise wasn't that we went down, rather that it was only the last game when our relegation was confirmed!

The only up side from all this was that players who wouldn't have received game time in the league, were thrown into the deep end and are now really important players for the team, namely Aaron Findon and Michael Murray. Findon is progressing really well in midfield and looks the part. Michael Murray totally blanked out Darren McCurry when we beat Tyrone. So the league served it's purpose in that respect. I think it's also been a motivation that we have used to push on in the Championship and show that we are better than what we showed in the league with a highly experimental team.

I don't think that the Meath game will be an easy one. We can definitely win it, but so can Meath. They have some top class players and will want to make a statement after last week. Obviously I will say that Armagh will win, but I'm not entirely convinced.

PatrickArmagh (Down) - Posts: 42 - 25/07/2014 17:21:05    1625936

Lockjaw

Agree,and Derry were beaten by Longford!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/07/2014 19:22:01    1625973

former poster

You mention about Mick O'Dowd and players positions etc.But what worries/annoys me most,is the constant changing of players positions In the games themselves.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/07/2014 19:26:01    1625976

ziggy

You mention about Mick O'Dowd and players positions etc.But what worries/annoys me most,is the constant changing of players positions In the games themselves.

Ye that's really starting to annoy me aswell, it's as if we don't have a definite game plan of our own, our game plan seems to be 'change the tactics in every game to try and disrupt the opponent', so in other words we're worrying about them instead of them worrying about us.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/07/2014 19:48:37    1625982

Htaem

Yes,when was the last time Menton played in the same position for the whole match? As an example...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 25/07/2014 20:27:17    1626000

You are reading too much into the Dublin game in my opinion. One game. The decision not to start Meade didn't work but it wouldn't have made enough of a difference even if he did.

90% of the team has remained the same since the Carlow game.

Htaem don't be worrying about cliche's like "gameplans" and "tactics". These phrases are buzzwords. If you have a point to make then go ahead and make it. What do you mean Meath don't have a gameplan or don't have tactics, give examples of this in Kildare and Dublin games please. I think this is a typical overreaction after one loss.

Meath have trained very hard this year and you have to give them the benefit of the doubt. Don't lose perspective because Meath lost one game against the reigning champions. Meath are making progress and the management are doing a very good job.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 25/07/2014 20:31:27    1626004

Former_Poster

I think it's quite flippant to use the term ' a typical overreaction' when posters are asking questions on the back of a 16 point loss to Dublin in the Leinster final, 13 points more than 2 years ago! 16 point loses should never be treated as the norm you know.

As for tactical changes, well from the Kildare game, Keogan was moved from 6 to 2, Meade was dropped in favour of the out of form G. Reilly and Newman looked to be playing on the 40 at times last sunday, also as Ziggy pointed out MOD doesn't seem to know where to play Menton and that's just the stuff I can remember off the top of my head.

don't be worrying about cliche's like "gameplans" and "tactics". These phrases are buzzwords.

Haha now come on, do you actually believe that nonsense, what's the alternative to not having a gameplan? get MOD to send out a team with no plan what so ever? ie play where you's like, do what you's like etc etc

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/07/2014 21:02:54    1626011

I think Paddy Power has it just about right with Armagh slight favourites.

Armagh are playing to a definite system and there players clearly know their roles within that. In Clarke they have the best player on the pitch.

Meath on the other hand don't even know their best 15.

I think most Meath posters accept the fact that this will be a big ask.

There are some posters taking comfort from league draw in Ballybofey. While I was impressed with the Meath midfield that day it's no barometer for this weekend.

However really looking forward to this one should be in the balance going into the last 10.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 25/07/2014 21:55:42    1626029

Totally agree with htaem on this on

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/07/2014 10:32:26    1626382

Uber confident about this match. Meath must start well and play for full 70. No silly positional changes. If we do that I don't think we can be beat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/07/2014 17:02:04    1626610

Had this debate with Former_Poster prior to the Leinster final. Nonsense to suggest that Meath (and Dublin) get by through grit and determination and all them other cliches people regurgitate and don't discuss match by match gameplans. They didn't even do that under Boylan...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/07/2014 17:30:31    1626634