Armagh vs Meath

RD

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 08:49:26    1630299

RD

A pity Reilly doesn't show that drive and hunger more often... I think Tormey was our best player,his attitude,desire and committment is in the mould of old Meath players,we need more like him.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 08:50:45    1630301

I thought Reilly had a really good game. He was the one Meath player who brought the fight to Armagh.

All the bluster from some Meath posters during the week has, as was predicted come to nothing.

You should now have the good grace to suck it up. Meath were out played, out fought and soundly beaten.

It's a bit sad that now the only consolation that you're better than Tyrone.

Well let me tell you that you don't even have that. Even though Tyrone struggled this season they're still way above Meaths level.

Have some dignity lads and bow out gracefully.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 03/08/2014 09:06:04    1630305

Cleatus

Why are you even comparing Meath to Tyrone? I don't care if this team or that team are better than us or not,I am only concerned about what we are doing(or not doing) ourselves..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 10:21:51    1630337

The miracle needed for Meath just never materialised. Apart from a few minutes before half time Armagh bossed Meath and the game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 03/08/2014 10:26:32    1630340

I think Tyrone are in a more comfortable position than Meath today. Tyrone were unfortunate in coming up against both Monaghan and Armagh and hammering Louth meant nothing. Kildare should have beaten Meath only for some poor shooting near the end. It was this win over Kildare that cemented false hope and expectations in the county. If Meath lost to Kildare they may have had a better season.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 03/08/2014 10:36:20    1630344

An excellent question Ziggy.

Perhaps you should direct the question at RD.

He's worked out that all is ok in Meath as you're better than Tyrone and Carlow. Go figure .......

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 03/08/2014 10:37:01    1630345

Ya Armagh dictated the game without really being brilliant.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 10:40:09    1630347

Meath have gone from being the feared and formidable team of the late eighties to a strong team in the nineties to also rans. We are now closer in standard to Westmeath and cavan than we are to Donegal and monaghan. There were two big differences last night ( and I was there). Armagh wanted it more and they had a game plan. Our support is nothinglike it used to be. Embarassing that we were outnumbered by Armagh supporters when we are much closer and it was a huge game for us.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/08/2014 11:15:17    1630372

Oldsam

I was there too,but I can understand why people don't go and watch us play.If some of the players are not gievn 100%,why should fans go?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/08/2014 11:57:05    1630402

Ye I was in the hoganstand myself and there was a very poor Meath crowd there but sure look, I didn't expect many to turn up after the last day. I love supporting Meath and I'll go watch them play as much as I possibly can but not everybody thinks that way, our support would no doubt be far bigger if we were pushing for major silverware, that's just the way it is.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/08/2014 12:12:46    1630423

TheGateKeeper & brend

Listen lads this is my final word on this, I have no intentions of dragging your county down, 10+ years ago Tyrone produced one of the best football teams this country has ever seen, they helped change how football was played and deservedly won everything there was to win a few times over.

But honestly lads, taking pleasure in watching a poor Meath team beaten by the same opposition that ended your summer a few rounds earlier? That is truly pathetic and not becoming of supporters from a county like Tyrone which have watched their county achieve so much, I'm embarrassed for you's lads.

Ps, I'm not talking about all Tyrone fans, just a handful and I'll say no more on the matter.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/08/2014 12:25:16    1630438

Very poor numbers of Meath fans at game, but we better get used to it, apart from the diehards why would the Meath public give up their time and money to watch that? Bigger problem is less and less young lads will want to play GAA within the county, no role models. We are in serious trouble at present, both on and off the field.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 03/08/2014 12:47:04    1630459

Hard to believe Meath had no game plan as to how they were going to approach the blanket defence! They knew exactly what they were coming up against and in the second half just kept repeating the same unsuccessful approach getting turned over and hit on the break! The subs were awful! Were still in the game with 10 to go if they got a goal! Should have went route 1 putting either o'rourke at the edge of the square! Brian Meade taken off when Flanagan and o'rourke were very quiet!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 03/08/2014 12:47:54    1630460

Donegal to me are a mile in front of Meath

With respect SamOnErrigal, It's hardly something worth shouting about. Meath are poor.

They hammered Kildare and their fans got giddy, But judging by the two sides last night, I know which one i reckon will be challenging us in Leinster in the near future, And thats Kildare.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/08/2014 13:17:29    1630487

After today we will be one of 6 teams left that can win SAM!!! this has been a great summer!! 4 wins already, the bandwagon growing every week. Can't wait until next week to see a packed Croke Park.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 03/08/2014 13:30:16    1630514

Yes it's a pity for Kildare, they probably should have taken that game last night in normal time, and that would have brought them on bigtime. As I've being saying over the last couple of years, despite losing to Meath on a couple of occasions, potentially Kildare are superior and will soon overshadow the royal!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/08/2014 13:34:08    1630519

03/08/2014 08:50:45
ziggy320001

RD

A pity Reilly doesn't show that drive and hunger more ofte

Nothinn.. got to do with been played out of best position all year ziggy

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/08/2014 13:49:21    1630530

Htaem, I think some Tyrone fans are just winding you lads up because of Royaldunne.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 03/08/2014 14:07:36    1630546

Reilly got 3 good points but was also a big part of what meath were doing wrong! Held o to the ball too long most of the time that essentially led to turn overs and armagh scores! Snapped at shots wheb they were never on and gave some hospital passes!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 03/08/2014 14:24:05    1630556