Stop favouring the Dubs! - Leinster & Central.

Always like

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 16:49:58    1576064

Feckin iPhone, always liked Tullamore, good pubs!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 16:51:27    1576065

Feckin iPhone, always liked Tullamore, good pubs!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 16:52:12    1576067

Jaysus that iPhone of yours has some stutter realdub! Ye Tullamore is good, one of my favourites aswell, they've done great work on their stadium down there, puts plenty of other counties to shame.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/04/2014 17:01:00    1576070

Leinster Council want the Dubs happy, they will never admit to that but that is the scenario

Hear say and unfounded rubbish.

Believe me Jim when I say I wish it was, in the past I've had reason to deal with Leinster and Central Council over funding and grants for the development of my home club, hours spent in Portlaoise and Croke Park negotiating loans and filling forms and the importance of Dublin was clear to be seen. Between 1999 and 2001 I spent manys an hour pleading for funds and grants, Meath were flying at time and yet the officials in Portlaoise would state, "ah we still need the Dubs, we'd be lost without them they keep us alive" I was shocked and duly told said persons what I thought of them, ignoring the hundreds of thousands of pounds that Meath, Kildare & Offaly supporters in particular put through Leinster Council from 1996 to 2001 with huge gates, ignoring the three game saga of Meath & Kildare in '97 which made huge gates. No matter what lull Dublin ever go into and what high counties like Meath or Kildare may have those in command will still say "we need the Dubs" and they want the Dubs happy. That is still the opinion that resonates around the corridors of Portlaoise, it hasn't changed and won't for some time

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 17:06:37    1576072

Richie

who is on the Leinster Council? Where do they come from and how do they get on it?

Of course the Leinster Council would not ignore the wishes of 11 of their County Boards!

The question needs to be answered as to why the country County boards aren't doing anything.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 16/04/2014 17:29:02    1576083

Richieq

The question I've asked is yet to be answered for some reason so I'll ask again, why do the 30 odd County boards not do anything about it when it's clearly in their power?

It is not in their power, Leinster Council for years now have rebuked any suggestions about venue changes for Dublin or anyone else, money dictates not common sense or fairness. They have ignored Meath for years about getting games into Navan and that was well before the health & safety crowd raised concerns and ultimately shut half of it down, Leinster Council want the Dubs happy, they will never admit to that but that is the scenario and those that get promoted into Leinster Council soon change their tune from fighting for their counties interests and realise what side their bread is buttered on and the importance of the big blue cash cow, just the way it is so don't be thinking counties can change this, they can't not at present anyway
----
You've given two reasons there, for financial reasons and to 'keep dubs happy'. Which is it? Do you seriously think that the decision makers, non-Dubs, give a monkeys what the rabble on Hill 16 think? Not a chance. The motivation is money. You know it, I know it and they know it. No point in you dressing it up as them trying to plamas the mass hordes of marauding dubs just to suit your agenda. The fact of the matter is that dubs are not happy to be playing all championship games in Croker. Show me a poster on here who says otherwise. Also we are potentially only talking about 2 games a year here aren't we? Round 1 and semi of LSFC. All other championship games will be in HQ (Dublin's home ground) anyway will they not?? This year so far we have travelled to Westmeath twice, Derry and Omagh. We'll be in Portlaoise on Saturday for the U21s. That's just the footballers!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/04/2014 18:29:03    1576110

Lol @ Htaem

Lol @ Htaem

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/04/2014 18:52:03    1576121

Richieq

The question I've asked is yet to be answered for some reason so I'll ask again, why do the 30 odd County boards not do anything about it when it's clearly in their power?

It is not in their power, Leinster Council for years now have rebuked any suggestions about venue changes for Dublin or anyone else, money dictates not common sense or fairness. They have ignored Meath for years about getting games into Navan and that was well before the health & safety crowd raised concerns and ultimately shut half of it down, Leinster Council want the Dubs happy, they will never admit to that but that is the scenario and those that get promoted into Leinster Council soon change their tune from fighting for their counties interests and realise what side their bread is buttered on and the importance of the big blue cash cow, just the way it is so don't be thinking counties can change this, they can't not at present anyway
----
You've given two reasons there, for financial reasons and to 'keep dubs happy'. Which is it? Do you seriously think that the decision makers, non-Dubs, give a monkeys what the rabble on Hill 16 think? Not a chance. The motivation is money. You know it, I know it and they know it. No point in you dressing it up as them trying to plamas the mass hordes of marauding dubs just to suit your agenda. The fact of the matter is that dubs are not happy to be playing all championship games in Croker. Show me a poster on here who says otherwise. Also we are potentially only talking about 2 games a year here aren't we? Round 1 and semi of LSFC. All other championship games will be in HQ (Dublin's home ground) anyway will they not?? This year so far we have travelled to Westmeath twice, Derry and Omagh. We'll be in Portlaoise on Saturday for the U21s. That's just the footballers!

Read my previous post, yes I do think they care that's probably because I was there with some of them and heard them, normally those two factors together lead me to make reasonable assumptions, no agenda here it's my opinion and I've stuck by it, my feelings are more towards your county board I know the feelings of most Dublin fans who wouldn't mind travelling to early championship matches and accept their honesty and candour on the matter

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/04/2014 19:13:55    1576126

Naysayer

The hype is completely justified.

Just like the lack of expectations in Antrim is completely justified.

This Dublin team won a treble last year and have won 2 of the last 3 All Ireland titles

They are playing in their 4th National final since 2011

Hype is going to happen... because that's what comes with outstanding performance

Jimbodub, hard to argue with any of that but the hype has been present for an awful lot longer than the last 3 years and up until then it always grew to fever pitch before a massive fall.

Perhaps now that Dublin have had success, and I don't argue that they are a fine team, they may go on to dominate but just having been here many times before forgive me if I draw my own conclusions.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 16/04/2014 20:50:40    1576157

So Richie just to be clear about this. You had some meetings over a decade ago in Portlaoise with the Leinster Council, not the DCB, where somebody expressed an interest in 'keeping the dubs happy'. I presume the dubs are the DCB in this case. Just to reiterate, we are probably talking about two championship games a year here and potentially against weaker Leinster teams in the early rounds. Do you agree? Ironically, given the option, these Leinster teams would probably express a preference to play in Croker, for financial and other reasons. Bearing this in mind just what are the Leinster Council doing at the moment to 'keep the dubs happy'?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/04/2014 21:19:14    1576170

Look I would expect Dublin to go to the likes of Laois and win,but it would be great for the GAA,if the Dubs had to travel too..In these towns there would be excitement and it would bring a bit of money into the towns,plus people wouldn't be able to moan if the Dubs were winning games...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 17/04/2014 09:57:05    1576216

As an avid Dublin supporter for over 30 years, I can honestly say that playing outside Croke Park is something the majority of genuine Dublin fans love. I was in Cork in 1983 as a ten year, old don't remember a whole lot about it except as the years have gone by listening to my family reminiscing about it is mighty. I have travelled up and down the country to league games. From bad days like being beaten by Sligo in 1996 to omagh last sunday week it just is great. Meeting different people, chatting about previous battles etc. etc. that is what really matters. I remember in 1995 playing two games in Navan against Laois and Louth, again great days. Who will ever forget Thurles in 2001.
The problem is that Dublin are the GAA's cash-cow, that is true no fault of their own. They bring the crowds and sell the merchandise etc. etc. This always gathers momentum when Dublin are doing well, get them out of croke park, handicap them per Colm O' Rourke etc, play the league final in Clones. Really whatever they want to do we as a county will deal with it. Honestly I believe if the Dubs were not successful there wouldn't be a mention of any of this. What about commending Dublin GAA people on putting terrific structures in place over the last 10 years that has cultured and developed a whole raft of players that are now representing the senior team. It might serve contributors in the media the face facts and reflect on the reasons that their own counties are either underperforming or not competing.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 17/04/2014 10:36:40    1576233

All in the past Naysayer

It wasn't hype that faulted the Dubs

It was a lack of quality players / managers.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/04/2014 10:37:06    1576235

The title of this thread should be: 'Stop savouring the Dubs'!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/04/2014 11:00:41    1576245

Now now Snuf, don't be promoting cannibalism!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/04/2014 11:25:57    1576256

Adamski
As an avid Dublin supporter for over 30 years, I can honestly say that playing outside Croke Park is something the majority of genuine Dublin fans love.

Im sure they do. However, the question remains, would they love it if it were a quarter final match to say donegal, in donegal, and they lost after a few questionable calls from the ref? How about having to do that every year? Therein lies the difference. I enjoy heading up to dublin, particularly to play dublin, there is a great atmosphere. However, that doesnt mean I should have to do that every time the two counties meet. Id ask dublin fans to take off their dublin hat for a second and consider this in terms of what is good for the game. All this rubbish about money etc, are we actually seeing any difference from all this extra money? If the game isnt going professional, then what is the requirement for all this cash? Their own wages? I would love to see some figures around what playing every game in croke park is making compared to picking a neutral venue. At what price are we selling the fairness of our game? Id imagine putting on a few concerts would more than cover the difference. I hate this idea where they value a few pound over what is a core principle in sport - fairness.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/04/2014 11:48:39    1576266

The Master. Don't understand your points. Totally irrelevant. It is not Dublin's decision to play in Croke Park. Bad calls by referees are entirely not part of the argument or thread. If there is an issue with Dublin playing in Croke Park then maybe the other counties should petition the GAA to have them taken out of there. I would love nothing more than to go down to Castlebar in August and play and beat Mayo. Are you talking about the hurlers as well or are they okay to stay in Croker as they are not winning All-Irelands. You will find that the best teams win because they are the best. Look at last year's final, Mayo lose was absolutely nothing to do with the venue of the game. Put Dublin on the road and we will embrace it as a new challenge and get on with it and win, lose or draw we will never moan.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 17/04/2014 12:23:34    1576283

Jimbodub I would make Dublin favourites this year based on recent form. It is a hell of an achievement to win back to back All Ireland's and they look as likely as anyone has in recent years. If they achieve this I will applaud them but I just feel that there will be a few big obstacles for them to overcome this summer to achieve it. If you were to give me a free bet on market odds I would put it on them, however if you were to give me evens on someone else I would take someone else.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 17/04/2014 12:30:53    1576287

Again though Master why aren't the other 30 odd county boards happy with the current situation?

That is really the serious question that isn't being answered by anyone here despite them calling for the Dubs to be put out of Croker. The power to do just that is in the hands of the county boards but yet they do nothing.

Seems strange that..................

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 17/04/2014 12:34:32    1576292