Attendances

SpadeWork
County: Clare

I'm bringing my brothers (aged 8 and 6) up to the Monaghan v Donegal and Dublin v Derry finals. Will I have to buy them a ticket or could they get in for free?

You would have to buy a €5 ticket for them alright

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 20/04/2014 17:08:25    1577685

Over 24,000 at the hurling semi finals. Great crowd especially when you think 29,000 turned out for Football Semi finals which included Dublin. Majority looks to be Clare supporters who have seen a big change in attendances since the All Ireland. There was only 19,000 at 1st round of championship last year and 70% of that was Cork. I presume the league final will now be played in Semple Stadium... Surely over 25,000 for that

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 20/04/2014 17:34:46    1577699

lukewalsh

your misinformed my friend
20,452 was the attendance for todays semi finals
clare v tipp was always going to bring a big attendance considering its almost a home game for both
nice to see gaelic grounds being utilised

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2014 17:48:13    1577707

Sorry said on radio 24,000

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 20/04/2014 19:30:51    1577746

What was the crowd today?

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 27/04/2014 20:45:24    1580984

lukewalsh96

What was the crowd today?

A little shy of 40,000.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 27/04/2014 20:52:46    1580999

great crowd today in croker considering no advetising at all from the GAA once again
would have to ask why croke park refused to open
section A of hill 16 today
even the isles were full with supporters
and the Gardai were even looking to allow supporters access into section A
whats the point in squashing every last person into one area like cattle
considering the canal end had people spread across it they didnt make them all sit next to each other

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/04/2014 21:45:30    1581072

hill16no1man - Sure even this morning every radio sports section led with Rugby and Soccer with the GAA national league finals shoved on to the third or fourth news item. Not good enough.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 28/04/2014 09:32:42    1581136

Very good point Hill...

Fans around me were also asking Gardaí and Stewards why another section wasn't opened up.

The steward I spoke to during the 1st game was under the impression that another section was to be opened up, and was annoyed himself that it wasn't, as was the young Garda next to him.

Definitely needs to be addresses going forward.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 28/04/2014 09:37:14    1581141

yew_tree

hill16no1man - Sure even this morning every radio sports section led with Rugby and Soccer with the GAA national league finals shoved on to the third or fourth news item. Not good enough.

yeah the mrs told me it was all about munster v toulon
that you wouldnt know the league finals were even played

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2014 09:48:46    1581149

fionn

yeah I seen one of the head security head up to the back wall in section A looking for clearance and all
I wouldnt mind but the security outside the ground had to have everything in order
as the residents had somebody checking every detail over the concerts coming up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/04/2014 09:53:35    1581152

yew_tree

Sure when the GAA cannot even publicise and promote our games then then the media aren't going to be bothered. The big promotional push and PR hype at yesterdays games was all about an American football game at Croke Park in the summer. It's not as if there are any other big events in the GAA calender that you would want to promote to 40,000 people !

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 28/04/2014 10:53:30    1581202

Its pretty amazing to get 39000 people into croke park yesterday with no advertising. Especially for two dead rubber games.

westmeath16 (Westmeath) - Posts: 291 - 28/04/2014 11:16:31    1581227

Was there a big crowd in Thurles today?

doubletree (Dublin) - Posts: 164 - 04/05/2014 20:00:07    1584129

21,601 in Thurles today for league final.
There were over 5,000 in New York with around 2,000 travelling from Mayo.
What was the attendance at the U21 final looked a big Rossie crowd

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 04/05/2014 21:46:05    1584186

How many were at the under 21 final?

Seemed a massive crowd. Fair play to Roscommon they really get behind the 21's every year.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 06/05/2014 21:55:14    1584865

Problem with the U21 Final for Dublin was it was the same day as the Feile so a lot of supporters stuck with the club.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/05/2014 09:51:30    1584892

That has to be the worse excuse ever, how many were at the feile 80 thousand?

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 07/05/2014 10:05:57    1584899

Poor enough crowd in Thurles for the league final, considering the central location and the local rivalry.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 07/05/2014 10:09:38    1584900

knowtherules
County: UK

That has to be the worse excuse ever, how many were at the feile 80 thousand?

9 Divisions with several teams in each takes a lot of volunteers to run itself. As well as parents and kids of course that may have attended the game in Tullamore.

Would defo have taken a bit of support away from the U21s.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/05/2014 10:09:57    1584901