Kildare players won't play for Leinster

hill16no1man

if_in_doubt

can weddings take place on a sunday? i have never heard of it in dublin no funerals or wedding s take place on a sunday as its the sabbath day.
see your atking this as a kildare thing,which is not what im doing at all if these guys were from any county i would say the same,dont get so protective of kildare chill out,im not clondalkin i have no beef with the flourbags i cheered ye on against donegal and likewise in a pub in killarney last saturday,ye are from leinster afterall just like me.as for the hurling the managers selected them players did they not?

I'm not meaning to take this as a Kildare thing at all. I'd still have the same opinions on it were it involving players from other counties not being available.

We're at a time in the year when club competitions are starting up in many counties, we're in the middle of the leagues and college competitions too. I don't see any problem with players looking to take a weekend off for a meaningless game that the vast majority of GAA fans care little about, more so considering the GAA itself evidently doesn't care about the competition either.

Maybe if the GAA scheduled it properly, and marketed and promoted it a bit more and made an actual event out of it then I might think differently.

These three players have genuine reasons for not taking part, even if they came out and just said they wouldn't play because they simply don't care about it either then I'd still agree with their stance.

bennybunny

If-In-Doubt

The answer to all of your questions is yes.

If the GAA put some effort into this competition then I would imagine that Kildare players would be chomping at the bit to play in it. They don't. If the organization don't care then why should players be told they have to care.

As somebody else actually stated, we should actually thank these players as they have created a bit of advertising for the competition. With club games (my own) and the All-Ireland club championship, I had forgotten this was on before this story broke.

For the record, I am actually a fan of the Railway Cup in theory (in practice I went twice when games were held in Cork-years ago). I would be a bigger fan if the GAA made it a bigger competition.

There's another thread on here talking about restructuring the interpros and making mini games out of them. Instead of that I'd prefer the GAA to go with double headers in both codes over one single weekend, with the finals in both codes taking place as a double header the following week.

At least a fresh approach like this might enable the GAA to market it a bit more and do a bit more to help with the calendar and scheduling of games / competitions. If something like that was done then maybe everybody might take it seriously.

The first I heard of the interpros being on this weekend was from this story too. Fair play to the players for taking the chance to promote it.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/02/2013 20:56:26    1334244

Muckross. There was arguably a bigger crowd at dub v kildare obyrne final than would be in atendence at many league matches or all ire qualifiers

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2013 21:05:28    1334254

royaldunne

Muckross. There was arguably a bigger crowd at dub v kildare obyrne final than would be in atendence at many league matches or all ire qualifiers

That was only for the final, the games leading up to the final were poorly attended. Add to that the fact that the top two teams in Leinster who have a good following and it is easy to see that it is not the magical drawing power of the O'Byrne Cup that attracted the crowd

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/02/2013 21:37:13    1334272

Mind your own business. We'll play for who we want when we want.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 14/02/2013 21:52:51    1334280

Lads I think your missing the point, forget about the importance of the competition and think for a minute , all of the other Leinster county players are willing to show up but Kildare feel there to big for such a competition. My god the arrogance of that county is unbelievable. How you all think what there doing is right il never know. And then people wonder why I hate Kildare

Lad your from Clondalkin. You hate everything thats not hanging around a chipper in a pyjamas

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 14/02/2013 21:55:31    1334282

Muckross
Hate to correct you (and we will leave the 2 biggest teams in leinster aside for now)
But the match between meath and louth was a huge crowd in navan terraces as well as stand were well occupied, even the longford meath game in ballymahon was a larger crowd than had been anticipated (anyone who was there will remember the problems of trying to leave it)
so from what i have seen there is always a good crowd and most would rival league matches, now obviously from your point of view mckena cup is not attended well and i guess that might have something to do with style of football been played rather than comp? At least in leinster you can still get a good watchable game, its not the same as 15 lads standing in the square on each side, we all remember the near fatal blow dealt to football by your own county in 11, I mean it had me a meath man shouting for the dubs, that will show you why maybe people have no interest in attending, also the money generated from these comps go to charity so great to see at least leinster teams and supporters still travel in their thousands to see them

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2013 08:48:12    1334296

muckross i think the o byrne cup was great success this year,have to admit was bit sceptical about the structure but it certainly improved the crowds for that competition then the way it was being done with having a shield for loosers.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/02/2013 09:35:37    1334307

Hill16 have to agree, was at 4 games and they were a great success for Jan football. The final was played at a great pace and in a great atmosphere. There is something there that the organisers of Inter-Prov could learn from. But between O'Byrne, league and club Jan/Feb/March is busy enough for amateur lads. Again a fixture prob that those in power just don't give logical consideration to. Hate to see in charge of a work or project scheldue.
I remember as a young under age been brought to see inter-prov, there were always large numbers of under age club teams at them. Why don't clubs not do this much anymore, might give them a kick start. Hold them at a later time in year, include teams representing England, USA etc and hold it every second year or so instead of that bastardised international format which the Aussies couldn't give a toss about anyway.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 15/02/2013 11:29:43    1334366

Also, while on a provincial note, best of luck to Ballymun kickhams (Leinster Champs) tomorrow. Should be a good game.
Is it on tv?

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 15/02/2013 11:41:11    1334373

commander

Also, while on a provincial note, best of luck to Ballymun kickhams (Leinster Champs) tomorrow. Should be a good game.
Is it on tv?

The Semi's were on TG4 last year Live so hopefully they are again

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 15/02/2013 14:28:14    1334490

Kildare folk should look at http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=185713

This is what it should be about

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 15/02/2013 14:28:42    1334491

ballybannongael
County: Down

Kildare folk should look at http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=185713

This is what it should be about

Yeah the two lads should skip the wedding and the third player should make a hastily arranged trip to Lourdes in the hope of recovering from a knock and getting 100% fit by Sunday.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 15/02/2013 14:37:02    1334500

yeah commander as far as i know its on tg4 ,be great to see the mun get through to the final

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/02/2013 14:48:30    1334509

Just saw the Leinster Panel

Only 2 from Meath ???? Were only 2 invited ? Would be very surprised if so.

Why are Keaoghan, Lenehan, Harringtom, Gilsenan & Byrne not included ( Pity young Carroll is injureed or he would have th be there).

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 15/02/2013 19:51:22    1334693

The interprovincials should be scrapped, as should the international rules. I admire players from other counties but would never be able to cheer Bernard Brogan or Ross Munnelly kicking scores. I would also be disgusted to see any player, be it from my own, or from any other county to get injured playing in a pointless competition.

Kildare withdrawing their players annoys Dublin only because Gilroy a Dublin man is the manager.

Kildare withdrawing their players annoys everybody else because if they love to give out about Kildare since Seanie Johnston arrived. People need to drop the sanctimonious bull.

And yes, Kildare are too good for the competition. But so is everybody else. Nobody should have to waste their valuable time with this rubbish.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 15/02/2013 20:33:33    1334709

two great games today high socring and only a point between them, and st bernard comes up trumps for leinster life in the old competition yet it seems

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/02/2013 21:43:41    1335383

When will kildare realise that an interprovincial medal is better than ending their careers with nothing at all.....cos thats the way its going for them!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/02/2013 21:54:16    1335392

Pleanty of drama in the closing stages of both games. 2 good combacks scuppered by an even later comeback.

Hopefully the finals live up to the same levels of excitment.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 18/02/2013 09:13:35    1335410

Another huge game from Bernard and congrats to Leinster on a fine come back
Great to see him playing so well and it's all game time under his belt
Something he had precious little of in 2012 with travelling/injury

He's getting back to his very best and he's a hungry man.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/02/2013 09:46:52    1335419

Beelzedub

Another huge game from Bernard and congrats to Leinster on a fine come back
Great to see him playing so well and it's all game time under his belt
Something he had precious little of in 2012 with travelling/injury

He's getting back to his very best and he's a hungry man.

He's been fairly hungry anytime Ollie Lyons was marking him.....in fact he was starved !

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/02/2013 10:00:20    1335424