Kildare players won't play for Leinster

Waynol that response wasn't a generalization.It was in response to clondslkin and royaldunne .Both self declared Kildare haters.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 13/02/2013 19:48:00    1333686

KELF

Jinxie

Where in my post did I comment or whether or not it should be held? I did say a date clashing with most County Finals was not a good idea !!

Isn't it great that an injury & a wedding gives so many an opportunity to vent their long-held spleen for Kildare.

What are you on about here? Show me one thing that I've said about Kildare here? More generalisation. Seems that if your from Meath then everyone is tarred as the same.
Anybody can go back over any of my posts on this thread and look at them and I Garuntee they will not see anything said about Kildare or any other county.

People like you making comments like that us what is killing this site making out people are saying things that they aren't.

I'm sure when others look back at my posts they will see that you are the one with the problem here Kelf.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 13/02/2013 19:59:48    1333688

Where did all the Kildare hating/bashing come from? I don't understand it, one or 2 of our posters would prefer to dig at them as opposed to Meath???

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 13/02/2013 20:40:01    1333708

Jinxie

Ur a great man for reading whats nor written.

Did I say you were one of the spleen-merchants.

The finger was firmly pointed much earlier in the thread and not at U.

Just hope one lad recovers for the Kerry game & that the other boys enjoy the wedding.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 13/02/2013 20:48:16    1333715

Jinxie

Just hope one lad recovers for the Kerry game & that the other boys enjoy the wedding.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 13/02/2013 20:48:47    1333716

KELF

Jinxie

Your fooling nobody with that rant. Like the majority of your posts towards me, you are making the assumption.
If you wanted to comment about other posters, then it should be directed to them, not included in a post to me. But then again there was a reason for that as usual.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 14/02/2013 09:46:11    1333761

This thread has been everything that's wrong with this forum. The people who have actually tried to talk about the issue have been completely ignored for the purposes of some cheap shots over long-held grievances with other posters. Load of rubbish.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 14/02/2013 10:40:23    1333795

doublehop

I think if you take time to look back over the posts, its very easy to identify where thats happened, but still just tar everyone with the one brush then at the end. One person makes snide comments and then even the person that they made them at are classed in the same group. Exactly whats wrong with this site alright.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 14/02/2013 11:29:18    1333826

seems to be a typical irish attitude again go on the lash at a wedding and its always a credible excuse just like the donegal womens team last year who used it as an excuse that ten of them went to the wedding instead of the match.des bishop programme on irish realtionship with alcohol certainly should be shown

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/02/2013 16:27:51    1334037

seems to be a typical irish attitude again go on the lash at a wedding and its always a credible excuse just like the donegal womens team last year who used it as an excuse that ten of them went to the wedding instead of the match.des bishop programme on irish realtionship with alcohol certainly should be shown

Ehm, you're the one making the assumption that going to a wedding automatically means you're going on the lash. I've heard that some people go to weddings because they want to be there for their friends big day. Even crazier there are some people who don't drink at all who actually get invited to weddings. Crazy huh?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 14/02/2013 18:00:13    1334104

hill16no1man

Genuinely can't get my head around this comment.

Are you trying to imply that because two players are going to be attending a wedding this weekend that they'll use it as an excuse to go on the p*ss?

They're amateur athletes after all, surely if they want to be able to enjoy a friend or family members wedding day and night, without having to worry about getting up early to head to Longford for a meaningless match that very few people will attend then they should be entitled to do so without ridiculous accusations being thrown at them?

A bit pitiful really.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/02/2013 18:23:09    1334117

Some pot kettle black stuff going on hear,
the holier than thou attitude is getting tiresome from some posters, i recall at end of last year a thread been started about highs and lows of year, and completely off topic a certain poster said i was the low of the year for them, that same poster is now trying to stick boot into others for having a opinion, and that is about a county not a individual,
If ya don't like hogansatand then don't post on it, if it doesn't suit your point of view then don't read it, but don't tell others that they can only post comments that you approve of, and then post personal attacks totally irrelevant to topic when it suits yourself.
Rant over

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2013 19:28:15    1334169

royaldunne

Some pot kettle black stuff going on hear,

True enough, there's no need for people to get personal.

Although at times it's easy to see where they might be coming from when you have certain other posters taking cheap potshots at other counties every chance they get and make wild generalisations in doing so.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/02/2013 19:40:18    1334178

if its not becuase of the drink why cant they go to the wedding enjoy the day and go to play the match the following day like any of the other players who could be working all day saturday and playing the match sunday,i dont drink i go to weddings i dont see why it would stop anybody doing something the following day,do you? its just a bad excuse and the irish attitude to alcohol is to accept it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/02/2013 19:52:34    1334185

hill16no1man

if its not becuase of the drink why cant they go to the wedding enjoy the day and go to play the match the following day like any of the other players who could be working all day saturday and playing the match sunday,i dont drink i go to weddings i dont see why it would stop anybody doing something the following day,do you? its just a bad excuse and the irish attitude to alcohol is to accept it

Is it possible that the wedding is on on Sunday the day of the match?

Is it possible that the wedding might be that of a family member and the two players in question would rather spend the weekend with their family and friends?

Is it possible that the wedding is on somewhere that might be quite a bit away from Longford making it harder to get to the next day?

Or maybe the Leinster team are having a collective training session on Saturday, a reasonable thought, and that as the two lads are unable to attend this they were left out of the squad?

Attending a wedding might have absolutely zero impact on what a person does the next day but that doesn't mean they are obliged to take part in a meaningless game. Just because other players may be busy on the Saturday and still playing doesn't mean that all players should do the same.

What are your thoughts on the hurling teams for the interpros? Leinster is only represented by five counties and the Connacht team is made up solely of Galway players as far as I know. Surely you and others on here must be just as annoyed about this as you are about there being no Kildare players on the football panel.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/02/2013 20:09:46    1334199

if_in_doubt

can weddings take place on a sunday? i have never heard of it in dublin no funerals or wedding s take place on a sunday as its the sabbath day.
see your atking this as a kildare thing,which is not what im doing at all if these guys were from any county i would say the same,dont get so protective of kildare chill out,im not clondalkin i have no beef with the flourbags i cheered ye on against donegal and likewise in a pub in killarney last saturday,ye are from leinster afterall just like me.as for the hurling the managers selected them players did they not?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/02/2013 20:18:51    1334207

It's time to put meaningless competitions like the inter pros & the McKenna/OByrne/Fbd to bed and let county players rest at this time of the year.
There was a time when these competitions had relevance but they don't anymore. As far a county is concerned the league & championship is where the focus should be.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/02/2013 20:24:32    1334214

If-In-Doubt

The answer to all of your questions is yes.

If the GAA put some effort into this competition then I would imagine that Kildare players would be chomping at the bit to play in it. They don't. If the organization don't care then why should players be told they have to care.

As somebody else actually stated, we should actually thank these players as they have created a bit of advertising for the competition. With club games (my own) and the All-Ireland club championship, I had forgotten this was on before this story broke.

For the record, I am actually a fan of the Railway Cup in theory (in practice I went twice when games were held in Cork-years ago). I would be a bigger fan if the GAA made it a bigger competition.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/02/2013 20:39:42    1334229

Muckross that sounds far too much like common sense for the GAA, flogging the players to death and forget the clubs is their way forward

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4628 - 14/02/2013 20:46:30    1334234

the holier than thou attitude is getting tiresome from some posters, i recall at end of last year a thread been started about highs and lows of year, and completely off topic a certain poster said i was the low of the year for them, that same poster is now trying to stick boot into others for having a opinion, and that is about a county not a individual,

Just in case anyone is wondering that is me he is talking about. And like then I stand by everything I said. I have posted on HS for a good few years now but last year every thread involving Kildare both on the mainpage and even the Kildare forum itself was saturated by comments from a number of Meath posters and royaldunne in particular. Coming into work on a Monday after a game and enjoying a chat about the match became impossible. I stand by that.

What's is funny is that even the admins put some manners on a number of posters for continuing this a couple of weeks ago, trying to keep threads on topic and it worked. We've had a good few weeks now where the Div 1 thread or the O'Byrne Cup thread were good discussions. This thread looked like it was going back down that road where comments about the actual topic were ignored and personal slagging matches happened instead and I said that I don't like it. If that makes me 'holier than thou' so be it...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 14/02/2013 20:49:50    1334240