Kildare players won't play for Leinster

It was also stated in the Independent that a number of Connaught players contacted were unavailable...but again, no big deal !!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 22/02/2013 13:52:26    1337825

Kildare lads just one last question; do any of you think it was wrong of Kildare not to let there players play for Leinster? I'm just interested to know do you all think it was the right thing to do?

Mayor Quimby: Mmm, I guess we're not gonna find anything.

Otto: Well how we gonna get outta here?

Homer: We'll dig our way out!

Wiggum: No, no, dig up, stupid!

Clondalkindub just one last question; do you think it was wrong of the press to report this as Kildare players not being allowed to play for Leinster when quite clearly that wasn't the case? I'm just interested to know if you think it was the right thing to do?

Anyways, sure why look at the facts of the story when you can just continue to peddle your own agenda.

Or else just digging away a deeper hole for yourself, no skin off our backs.

Just remember to dig up...

hill16no1man

clondalkin this has been proved that kildare did allow their players to play ,it was just yet again lazy journalism il informing the public unfortunalty it happens everyday just not proved as much

There's a difference between lazy journalism and just plain old bad journalism though I'd say, sure what do you expect from British controlled papers. A few journalists are really letting themselves down when it comes to GAA coverage.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 22/02/2013 14:38:39    1337852

This still going on?

The Railway cup will have come and gone and this will be rumbling on with nothing achieved at the end of it.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 22/02/2013 15:58:18    1337934

So not one Kildare player from there panel was available to play? Is that right? I'm just asking cause I haven't been on much the last few days and I'm not reading back over 11 pages and can they play this Sunday? Listen I don't hate Kildare I just see them as our rivals so I like giving you guys a bit of stick which you love giving back (I lol at the girl in pyjama's outside the chipper joke) but you should take it as a compliment cause if you weren't I wouldn't be slagging yous at all.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2013 16:21:34    1337957

clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3183

Lads I think your missing the point, forget about the importance of the competition and think for a minute , all of the other Leinster county players are willing to show up but Kildare feel there to big for such a competition. My god the arrogance of that county is unbelievable. How you all think what there doing is right il never know. And then people wonder why I hate Kildare

So now all of a sudden you Don't hate kildare

You're something else

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 22/02/2013 16:41:05    1337972

Kildare players were not available on both weekends for personal reasons which were explained to Pat Gilroy.

As expected, no Kildare players were involved with Leinster yesterday, although Gilroy insisted he was satisfied with their reasons for missing out.

"None of the five we spoke to were available - for different reasons - over these two weekends. The reasons were bona fide," he explained.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaa/bernard-brings-out-sunday-best-29077854.html

The assumption that they were forbidden from playing was just plain wrong and the posters on here and reporters and GAA administrators who pushed this should hold their hands up and admit it. You're happy to say you were slagging but what is the excuse of the official GAA website, or the GAA president or the sports editor of the Sunday Independent who were equally as happy to but the boot in. As I said I think it exposed the agenda a number of these people or publications have with McGeeney and Kildare which regardless what you think of the county just isn't right.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/02/2013 16:53:05    1337979

I don't hate Kildare I just like you lot the least.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2013 19:13:37    1338062

Dub supporter in foot in mouth shocker. Hate away, the more you hate the better we like it, shows you care.

fixxer (Kildare) - Posts: 202 - 22/02/2013 20:30:25    1338106

Hate away, the more you hate the better we like it, shows you care.

I think he said that already!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/02/2013 21:13:50    1338117

I see there's no Carlow or Wexford players in the Leinster squad now.

No Armagh or Antrim players in the Ulster squad either.

While in Munster four counties are understandably boycotting the inter pro series this year.

Must be only a matter of time before those who were so vocal about the lack of Kildare players involved last year log on to spout bile about the eight counties not represented this time around...

Anyways, hopefully none of the four lads pick up knocks or anything, slightly surprised Cribben is there considering he was only playing with Maynooth yesterday.

If it wasn't for the article on the main page I don't think I would have actually known the games were on this weekend, kudos to the GAA marketing department on that one.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 14/02/2014 16:41:26    1546160

if_in_doubt

If it wasn't for the article on the main page I don't think I would have actually known the games were on this weekend, kudos to the GAA marketing department on that one.

I mentioned on another thread that there is a round of club league fixtures on in Meath this Sunday at the same time as the Leinster game is on in Navan. They seem to be trying to kill this competition off.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 14/02/2014 16:58:03    1546179

don't hear of any ulster men pulling out. this competition has a proud history and as ulstermen all ulster players are proud to represent their province. Not surprising kildare men want to pull out as they have no understanding or affinity with their ancient province..this competition has much more going for it than the nonsense that is the international rules debacle. this competition gets no promotion by the gaa at all...it's place in the calendar is a disgrace, but we in ulster will strive to maintain a great competition that rightly reflects our ancient heritage rather than an inter- county basis where players are representative of an administrative system established by the english to manage the country. counties are not ancient divisions....and thus is a false rivalry...unlike the parish and province which is the authentic division of territory in this country

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 14/02/2014 21:51:10    1546300

Well then thank you England, would be a pretty boring season with four teams! But hey, thanks for the history lesson!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/02/2014 09:51:08    1546318

mayotyroneman

don't hear of any ulster men pulling out. this competition has a proud history and as ulstermen all ulster players are proud to represent their province. Not surprising kildare men want to pull out as they have no understanding or affinity with their ancient province..this competition has much more going for it than the nonsense that is the international rules debacle. this competition gets no promotion by the gaa at all...it's place in the calendar is a disgrace, but we in ulster will strive to maintain a great competition that rightly reflects our ancient heritage rather than an inter- county basis where players are representative of an administrative system established by the english to manage the country. counties are not ancient divisions....and thus is a false rivalry...unlike the parish and province which is the authentic division of territory in this country

Should Cavan players join Leinster seeing as Cavan was a part of the Kingdom of Meath at one stage? It was only under Elizabeth the first that Cavan was transferred to Ulster, so what would you say about that? How far back are we going in history? Or perhaps Meath and Cavan should amalgamate, perhaps called Mevan. Should Louth transfer to Ulster? No sorry, that would only be the northern half of Louth which was in Ulster, so where would that leave the rest of Louth? What is your view on the Ballaghadereen/Mayo/Roscommon situation?

Honestly, the boundaries of provinces and counties have shifted continuously throughout Irish history, depending on the power structures in place at the time. The notion of "four green fields" with set boundaries since sncient times is wrong.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/02/2014 11:54:20    1546356

Imagine picking 6 meath men and putting da game in navan!! You might get a crowd?? Its da sametime as the 1st round of the meath league at the same time !! Crazy...should have been a sat night game

curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 15/02/2014 12:18:55    1546364

Yeah and don't forget not only Cavan was part of kingdom of Meath but Westmeath didn't exist either. We own you , and don't forget it:).
Anyaws heading to see game tomorrow, very odd that gaa put games on in Meath league.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2014 15:42:44    1546428

RD the authorities don't give a damn about this comp. Fair play to ye, it needs support. Will head over myself, a few beers, dinner and catch a game with the Meath in-laws in Navan, worse ways to spend a Sunday.
And as for the history lesson, Kildare is a county since 1297, along with Meath. The 5th province was "midh", from which we got Meath, which consisted of a few of our modern counties. Westmeath was sometime in 1500s, and he remaining was called EastMeath for a while.
Oh yeah, and we gained our independence form the Crown forces in 1922.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 15/02/2014 16:48:55    1546460

To the best of my knowledge the inter provincials or the railway cup competitions was introduced solely for the benefit of players from the so called weaker counties to give them a day out in croke park and a more reasonable chance of winning a bit of silver ware, unfortunately through time it lost direction.
It's fair to say players from those weaker counties would jump at the chance of playing if they got it, - that is.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 15/02/2014 16:53:30    1546463

Jeez, serious trip down memory lane this thread.

Must be seriously cringy for posters who spouted out these allegations to read them now as it must be for the publications and administrators who repeated them. I'll say one thing for McGeeney, everyone had an opinion on him. Being managed by Ryan now and we seem to be getting treated as completely irrelevant again. No column inches, no allegations, no finger-pointing. It's kind of refreshing.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 17/02/2014 20:04:49    1547672