Admin: Please ban Snufalufagus from posting

TheRoad

Well if anyone has to go next it has to be the awful Ulsterman.Many of his posts are to do with irish history/the Ulster question (and not much Gaa).
P.S.I hope the admin makes Ballboys ban a permanent one.

Agree with this too. Hes the same on the soccer board

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/01/2012 21:26:42    1090169

I have a feeling he will be doing his own vanishing act around mid august this year anyway.
Where is it you hide out when the dubs are flopping snuf? Personally I would have a little more respect for you as a poster if you didnt do a houdini every time the dubs get tonked out of the championship.
Wait for it this year lads, it is coming.

Ya but no one can beat Thurlesblues when it comes by hiding away when his team are beat

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 08/01/2012 15:14:15    1090272

Banning would be very harsh! But snuf has got very hard to listen to since we won the All Ireland! He/she did put his/her nose out but in fairness took a lot of stick when we were not doing well. As a long time viewer, an occasional poster, i think snuf is ok bar the recent trend of ruining every thread he/she posts in! Snuffs sign-off is childish but hardly has it ever been offensive!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 08/01/2012 16:33:48    1090310

Banning these peolple is probably a bit ott, why doesn't the admin just not let any offensive posts through. The poster will then realise that their offensive, if they are being offensive, posts are not worth typing and stop

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 08/01/2012 16:56:27    1090328

I would strongly agree that he/she be thrown out, ive been visiting this main forum less and less because Snuff's comments can be such a joke, a lot of people ive talked to feel the same

Byrne (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 08/01/2012 17:19:13    1090342

Never seen her contribute properly to a GAA debate on here without the usual "paymaster general" rubbish. But i stopped reading her mosts along time ago.

Agree she seems to carve attention and had the same thought about wicklu when i seen this thread.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 08/01/2012 17:58:55    1090375

I had the same thoughts myself snuff is sitting off somewhere now delighted wit all the attention he`s getting. i`ll agree he`s not insulting but his posts are repetitive and boring and usually totally off the point being discussed. he comes in with little remarks deliberately aimed at winding people up and 95% of the time doesnt try engage in a proper debate. I usually only post on the wexford page but like to read the intelligent debates that go on here which you rarely get on the wexford page, debates that snuffy deliberately and frequently ruins

theanylist (Wexford) - Posts: 151 - 08/01/2012 20:39:10    1090498

I think most Kerry posters have kept fairly quiet and have been respectful to Dublins victory in the 2011 championship.

I have to say though that the constant wind up posts & slagging off on the kerry page fron this lad is a disgrace.

I know its a long time since Dublin last won Sam but you should win with a little grace....

Roll on the Summer......

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 08/01/2012 20:52:08    1090510

We are all Snuff

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 08/01/2012 21:02:05    1090514

AS a person who has suffered odioum from Snuf when one endeavours to be positive on H/S I say that a retraining programme should be set up for posters who do not conform to the normal poosting rules. Dhorse, The Road Galway should be the first to be retrained.
Long live our simple Cavan way of life

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 08/01/2012 21:29:11    1090535

Whoooaa,where did that come from?Just because I think almost everything you say is silly dosent mean I should be banned.Debate is what these forums are for.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/01/2012 21:40:44    1090545

My initial reaction to the first post was yes . . . someone thinks the same about Snuff as I do.

However, having read the subsequent posts and on reflection it would be wrong to ban/censor someone just for being irritating, boring, sanctimonious, childish and ruining nearly every post they comment on.

KerryLondoner (Kerry) - Posts: 41 - 09/01/2012 08:27:16    1090573

i propose ban tomsmith

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 09/01/2012 09:26:42    1090582

I'm in agreement with ruanua, the fact that snuf has yet to comment on this thread leads me to think that he may well be behind it. Lets be honest he's not backwards about coming forwards, he'd love the confrontation but has been uncharacteristically quiet.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 09/01/2012 09:31:00    1090584

Astonishing that after 73 replies, Snuf has not commented on this thread but as a lot of you suspect, that's probably because he/she started it in the first place under this 'Wicklu' username.

Historically, a lot of Snuf's posts were written based on fake premises purely designed to gauge a reaction, usually of the negative kind presumably. The typical nature of these posts is proclaiming all culchies to be Dublin haters (& all you other Dub posters will have to bow your head & acknowledge that that's simply not true, bar the spiteful few)

I recall another typical example is proclaiming that all culchies assumed the Dubs would run rampant on the pitch after the AI when not one of us implied anything of the sort and we are supposedly disappointed when they didn't

The opening post of this thread is equally as discriminate and reaction-seeking as any of Snuf's post with the syntax tidied up a bit, so ye may well be correct in thinking it's Snuf in disguise. But if I were an administrator and could see different user names coming in from the same IP address, I would block them anyway as dual identities should not be permitted.

Be all of that as it may, this isn't our call. If I were an administrator on this board, I would not allow any of Snuf's trolling comments to come through. But I'm not an administrator & neither are the vast majority of you. I can't stand his posts either so I just don't read them & I just don't reply to them. That's not hard to do.

Time for people to get thick-skinned and deal with it, we all know every discussion forum on the web has some number of tossers on it who annoy people who take it very seriously, but it takes all types to make the world go round.

Plus there are those who enjoy Snuf's posts for reasons I can't even begin to fathom, but asking Snuf to be banned is affecting their attraction to this forum too. So if we start requesting bans for posters here & there, we'll end up upsetting many people who interact with whatever poster that's banned & we'll eventually end up pissing each other off a lot and before you know it, bitterness will be the main tone of the forum and trolls aside, none of us want that.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 09/01/2012 10:15:25    1090601

In my humble opinion, I believe Snuff should be allowed post whatever he wants (within reason!) on whatever posts. Such is the peogative of an internet poster

KunAguero....Laochra Gael

KunAguero (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 09/01/2012 10:21:02    1090603

An administrator will read this post first and decide now whether they will post it or not as they have recently gagged me beyond belief! They have allowed a thread to be written calling for me to be banned and allowed lies to be written about me in a most shameful way and have board members post their views on me. I have been condemed and if I therefore am not given a right to reply then that is quite dishonourable of the administrator that drops the axe on this post! Furthermore, for the admins that I believe are getting great joy out of this, they should take note of the two threads on here about me showing overwhelming support for me and my posts!

Anyway, I began work this morning and could not believe it when I seen this thread!

Firstly wicklu, there is little needs to be said about you after I expose you as the most dispicable kind, who stooped so low as to try and rally supporters by telling a lie as to my supposed conduct on a thread of condolence to a deceased Gael. You are dispicable and I am livid to have to bring this up for to clear my name, but anyone who looks back at the thread will notice that I didnt post at all on it as I rarely do on condolence threads for my own reasons! The only ones I recall were for Patrique and it will be seen that I did not sign off on that post of condolence! Im not going to ask you why you lied about something so emotive wicklu, because doing something as dispicable as that is for the lowest of the low and the act of a dishonourable person of which you have now proven to be one! 'MEN' on this forum will not support a person of that nature and that is why the support for me has been overwhelming!

Wicklu was so kind as to state (in a thinly veiled attempt at sounding educated): "If I do not represent the majority, I will gladly concede my right to call for this ban"!! Well done for "conceeding" nothing, and you most certainly dont represent the majority!! Now a worthy opponent and a 'MAN' with honour on the other hand, would fall on his sword having been defeated (especially having told lies in an attempt to disgrace his opponent) and rather would now post a msg on this thread to the admins declaring that this thread has failed miserably and that the person it attempted to discredit should now be restored to 'full flite' status with immediate effect as called for by a landslide majority of posters on here! Furthermore a MAN with honour would apologise for telling lies about a person so the person who was wronged could forgive them and move on!

As for my detractors on this thread (most of whom funnily enough seem to have less than 70 posts each) along with some more seasoned ones should grow a tougher skin! These are the same lads who never called 'STOP' when the abuse was dished out down the years at my county and yet now cry 'God bless us and save us all' at Ol Snuffy on here!!.....To quote my favourite line from MacBeth: "the false face doth hide what the false heart doth know"!
As waynol said here earlier: Until I post something of a "foul and/or abusive language , sectarian , racist , sexist, bullying etc comments" then I have done no wrong!.....and I have never posted comments like that you will all agree!

Hey, I dont know what going to happen to me but I feel a bit like fellow Dublin patriot Padraig Pearse as we both stood for a righteous cause and have suffered at the hands of tyrants, but as Pearse said: "people might not agree with us now, but they will given time"!! I just dont know if I will be spared the firing squad or not after some 13 or so years on here!

Anyway lads to conclude, for those who dont realise: "Live and let live"!!......'Its the internet'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/01/2012 12:15:05    1090649

Snuf, I think you're full of sh*t but a lot of people are, no matter where you go in life so I'm one of the ones who deal with it.

To take a gentlemanly approach, a thick skin is indeed required on the internet as you say but in fairness, if you didn't write material just to annoy people as much as you have (which in my personal opinion contravenes what this forum is supposed to be), then you would never gauge the kind of reactions you do. So look inwardly before spreading that kind of hate you put in your last post, because the kind of reaction you complain about is usually born from you throwing the first punch. Don't start crying when someone hits back.

And if the admins are upsetting you by gagging you as you say they are, then all I can suggest is tone down your posts a little.

But I'm assuming I'm wasting typing time here as that will never happen, is it fair to say that just wouldn't be you? To each their own I s'pose.

For the record, I'm all for Admins refusing to publish material from anyone that's intended to offend or annoy, but I would never call for someone to be banned outright. There's a real lack of liberty in that, particularly on the internet where so many get to vent or exercise a freedom of speech with ease

Le Craoi Agus Lamh

Gigoer

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 09/01/2012 12:50:26    1090674

So look inwardly before spreading that kind of hate you put in your last post, because the kind of reaction you complain about is usually born from you throwing the first punch. Don't start crying when someone hits back.
--------------------------------------------------
gig lad,

Where is the 'hate' in my post? Your as 'sensational' as the wicklu lad!.......Furthermore, Ol Snuffy has always proclaimed to be a 'stout defender' of his county and that doesnt involve throwing the first punch!!

Methinks, somebody is stamping his feet a little because Ol Snuffy has proven in good order that he cant be put down!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/01/2012 13:08:29    1090684

I wouldn't call for anyone to be banned, but in the context of this thread I will say that I think every poster should contribute in a genuine, positive and constructive manner, at least some of the time. There are no perfect posters on here and there is always room for wumming and banter etc as it gets people talking but there has to be a balance in every poster. In my time here there are 3 major posters who almost never contribute in a constructive, positive fashion and I really don't think this should be encouraged.

Nobody should be banned unless they get repeatedly offensive, but some posters definitely "jump the shark" and their schtick just becomes repetitive and tiresome and I'm sure the admins get sick of trawling throught the same post over a number of years.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 09/01/2012 13:15:19    1090691