Munster Hurling Championship 2024

Referees will always make mistakes, in all sporting contests, and almost always both teams suffer to some extent. The referees of two recent games involving Waterford seem to be getting most criticism, but I have looked closely at both games and overall I can't see where any team was given a bad deal. In the Waterford-Tipp game much attention was focussd on James Owens' bizaare behaviour on Waterford's penalty, but in reality it probably didn't affect the result as Bennett would most likely have scored a re-taken penalty anyway. Waterford's second goal was much more contentious. Mahony clearly fouled a Tipp defender in the build-up and was rightly booked, but only after Prendergast had scored the goal, so that was a lucky break for Waterford. Tipp's late goal looked suspiciously like a square ball but like Gillane's goal against Clare these are difficult to call in real time. Comments have been made about high tackles on Waterford players by both Tipp and Clare players that weren't dealt with properly, but Cathal Barrett was the victim of a high frontal tackle and no free was awarded, never mind a card. In yesterday's game I honestly felt that the Waterford penalty was very dubious, though it would have looked a stonewall penalty from where the referee was positioned. It looked like Waterford should have got a "65" early on, but they have no basis for disputing the late Clare "65". As I said at the start, every referee, like players, will make mistakes, and will generally make them on both sides.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 555 - 20/05/2024 18:20:59    2545971

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I understand that Limerick Waterford is to be shown live next week but no TV coverage for Clare v Tipperary or GAA coverage for that matter."
GAA Go coverage

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2537 - 20/05/2024 18:26:32    2545975

On leaving Thurles last Sunday evening a strange feeling had set in. Despite just watching this Cork team rip Tipp to pieces and finally look like it's all coming together, it could potentially be our last match this year. So, this weeks thoughts have turned to all the likely scenarios, and what would be our most optimum outcome. Obviously, just getting out of Munster is the goal, but if we do qualify, who would we like to see gone? For me, I honestly don't care who qualifies as long as we do. At this stage Clare must be favorites to qualify, and after that you'd have to slightly fancy Limerick, but I would not be surprised if Waterford go there and get a result.

This Waterford team have been underestimated from the start, and in all honesty, should probably be already qualified. Limerick on the other hand, dare I say it, are starting to look a little bit human again. These lads have been on the road a long time, and have given so much to Limerick hurling, but how many times can you keep going back to the well? Injuries starting to mount up, pressure with the 5-in-a-row, so they must be a bit vulnerable. A draw would not be out of the question in the GG, and this result would be our nightmare scenario..

It will be a strange one for us on Sunday. We'll be shouting for Limerick if they are head to drive it home, and vice versa if Waterford are ahead - We just want a winner!

Lastly, what is going on with Tipp? It was genuinely sad to see the likes of Bonner Maher, and Noel McGrath walking off the field of play after such a hammering. Legends of the game. In all my time watching hurling I never remember Tipp throwing in the towel so easily. Something is not right there, and you'd have to wonder is Cahill the man to take them forward..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 295 - 21/05/2024 08:54:51    2546042

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "On leaving Thurles last Sunday evening a strange feeling had set in. Despite just watching this Cork team rip Tipp to pieces and finally look like it's all coming together, it could potentially be our last match this year. So, this weeks thoughts have turned to all the likely scenarios, and what would be our most optimum outcome. Obviously, just getting out of Munster is the goal, but if we do qualify, who would we like to see gone? For me, I honestly don't care who qualifies as long as we do. At this stage Clare must be favorites to qualify, and after that you'd have to slightly fancy Limerick, but I would not be surprised if Waterford go there and get a result.

This Waterford team have been underestimated from the start, and in all honesty, should probably be already qualified. Limerick on the other hand, dare I say it, are starting to look a little bit human again. These lads have been on the road a long time, and have given so much to Limerick hurling, but how many times can you keep going back to the well? Injuries starting to mount up, pressure with the 5-in-a-row, so they must be a bit vulnerable. A draw would not be out of the question in the GG, and this result would be our nightmare scenario..

It will be a strange one for us on Sunday. We'll be shouting for Limerick if they are head to drive it home, and vice versa if Waterford are ahead - We just want a winner!

Lastly, what is going on with Tipp? It was genuinely sad to see the likes of Bonner Maher, and Noel McGrath walking off the field of play after such a hammering. Legends of the game. In all my time watching hurling I never remember Tipp throwing in the towel so easily. Something is not right there, and you'd have to wonder is Cahill the man to take them forward.."
Yes, Clare are in pole position and it will be tough on Cork, Limerick or Waterford if they lose out - just like Cork last year. Once again it's been a great championship. Even Tipp, who've had a vary disappointing campaign, managed to produce a battling display in Waterford, and who knows, maybe they can do so again against Clare next Sunday, improbable though that seems. I agree, something isn't right with Tipp. They were competitive last year, beating Clare and drawing with Cork and Limerick, and I think the only players missing this year are Seamus Callinan and Seamus Kennedy. It may be the end for Noel McGrath, but again on Sunday he gave us another glimpse of his magic with that sublime pass to Conor Bowe that set up the early goal. Bonner has been a warrior for 15 years but hasn't been quite the same since doing his cruciate in 2019.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 555 - 21/05/2024 10:41:12    2546082

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "On leaving Thurles last Sunday evening a strange feeling had set in. Despite just watching this Cork team rip Tipp to pieces and finally look like it's all coming together, it could potentially be our last match this year. So, this weeks thoughts have turned to all the likely scenarios, and what would be our most optimum outcome. Obviously, just getting out of Munster is the goal, but if we do qualify, who would we like to see gone? For me, I honestly don't care who qualifies as long as we do. At this stage Clare must be favorites to qualify, and after that you'd have to slightly fancy Limerick, but I would not be surprised if Waterford go there and get a result.

Lastly, what is going on with Tipp? It was genuinely sad to see the likes of Bonner Maher, and Noel McGrath walking off the field of play after such a hammering. Legends of the game. In all my time watching hurling I never remember Tipp throwing in the towel so easily. Something is not right there, and you'd have to wonder is Cahill the man to take them forward.."
I had a strange feeling myself on Sunday evening, I was hoping results would go our way and that we would have a safety net of third place secured before our last game but this didn't materialise. Its back to the walls stuff again this week.

I feel that Clare will beat Tipperary (whether Tipperary front up or not) on Sunday. Clare will have too much power and a very strong bench to see off Tipperary.

From a Limerick perspective I am very concerned about Waterford, It think it could be a massive banana skin. Last year they brought chaos and went toe to toe with us and I thought that except for switching off twice defensively for two of the Clare goals they had the beating of Clare last time out which is no mean feat as Clare in Ennis is about a tough a task as you can get. Waterford won't be afraid coming to Limerick.

Limerick will need to perform for the full 75 minutes and not just for 40 as they seem to have been doing a lot this year. We have been exposed by both Clare and Cork who have both managed to create/find space in front of our half back line and run at them. Waterford have ton's of ability to do the same. This is however the first time this year it is do or die for Limerick and I hope that this will focus the minds. I think if Darragh O'Donovan is fit to play (and by all accounts he is), he will be a huge plus for Limerick. He is the engine in the middle, the does all the unseen work covering space and the quality of the balls he delivers to the forwards are always on the money. If he plays and if we can keep 15 on the pitch for the 75 minutes (unlike last year) I think Limerick will shade it by point or two.

The Tipperary players have to take some of the blame for their current predicament I feel. They were the ones that ousted Colm Bonner 1 year into a 3 year term, when he had tried to bring in new faces and they didn't like it. They are now a bit behind the other Munster county's but as we have seen from Limerick, Clare and currently Cork's resurgence, sometimes this can happen far quicker than anyone can imagine.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 66 - 21/05/2024 14:48:46    2546174

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "GAA Go coverage"
Incidentally I don't begrudge Clare any success and would prefer us not to be the ones to have helped knock them out. Ye are taking care of it yere self and strong contenders for silverware.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2702 - 21/05/2024 21:41:12    2546263

Replying To Canuck:  "Incidentally I don't begrudge Clare any success and would prefer us not to be the ones to have helped knock them out. Ye are taking care of it yere self and strong contenders for silverware."
For a while in the 90s when we both had very good teams there was a bit of spite between us but thats long gone I would dearly love Waterford Or Wexford to have success but obviously not if Clare were involved . I hope that by Sunday evening you are still in the championship you did deserve a draw in Ennis on overall balance of play. I hope Davy don't go with a sweeper as Limerick would love this not many teams are as good as they to work the lines so hopefully he has a full cut at it.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 907 - 22/05/2024 08:43:41    2546291

Replying To Canuck:  "Incidentally I don't begrudge Clare any success and would prefer us not to be the ones to have helped knock them out. Ye are taking care of it yere self and strong contenders for silverware."
Fair play Canuck. I do understand your frustrations. The margins are miniscule in Munster and ye have fallen fowl of thos tight margins so far. Cork seem to have 9 lives in many ways. Although they have been superb the last 2 games there have been 3 times they have almost been gone from the championship when Limerick led them by 4 in injury time, when tipperary salvaged a draw in injury time against ye and when we scored in injury time to beat ye. Unfortunately those lifelines have been at your expense. But thats not to say all is lost. I give ye a fair enough chance to rattle Limerick next weekend. You see wht can happen when your season is on the line and Limerick have certain vunerabilities this year that maybe they didnt have in the last few years expecially in the half back line which has been their strongest line up to this year IMO.

I just hope we dont get a Tipperary backlash and can do our own business. I have concerns for the way we played in the second half - only 1 goal scored after 10/15 minutes of the second half is not good enough. Tipperary are a proud county but seem to wilt under the full intensity of championship pace. I just hope we have the energy to take them to that intensity.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2537 - 22/05/2024 09:26:38    2546300

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Fair play Canuck. I do understand your frustrations. The margins are miniscule in Munster and ye have fallen fowl of thos tight margins so far. Cork seem to have 9 lives in many ways. Although they have been superb the last 2 games there have been 3 times they have almost been gone from the championship when Limerick led them by 4 in injury time, when tipperary salvaged a draw in injury time against ye and when we scored in injury time to beat ye. Unfortunately those lifelines have been at your expense. But thats not to say all is lost. I give ye a fair enough chance to rattle Limerick next weekend. You see wht can happen when your season is on the line and Limerick have certain vunerabilities this year that maybe they didnt have in the last few years expecially in the half back line which has been their strongest line up to this year IMO.

I just hope we dont get a Tipperary backlash and can do our own business. I have concerns for the way we played in the second half - only 1 goal scored after 10/15 minutes of the second half is not good enough. Tipperary are a proud county but seem to wilt under the full intensity of championship pace. I just hope we have the energy to take them to that intensity."
Honestly I think Clare will be in the Munster final anyway no matter how the result goes against Tipp because of the head to head with Cork. If there was a miracle and we beat Limerick is the only risk to that but still on yere way to the All Ireland series. It is very confusing really or maybe not.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2702 - 22/05/2024 22:04:47    2546501

And 2 remain.

No team has ever lost 3 in a row Munster finals and while I think it will be close, my head tells me Limerick will have too much for us. Clare have proven me wrong before though and the lack of expectation this year may help us. I am delighted we made the final however while missing Kelly, Taylor and McInerney for either part or all of the league and the likes of Leen (who I expect will start the final), Galvin and Lohan in particular have impressed. I would love to win a Munster championship. 26 years is far far too long given the talent we have had in that time.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2537 - 28/05/2024 15:08:46    2547936

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "And 2 remain.

No team has ever lost 3 in a row Munster finals and while I think it will be close, my head tells me Limerick will have too much for us. Clare have proven me wrong before though and the lack of expectation this year may help us. I am delighted we made the final however while missing Kelly, Taylor and McInerney for either part or all of the league and the likes of Leen (who I expect will start the final), Galvin and Lohan in particular have impressed. I would love to win a Munster championship. 26 years is far far too long given the talent we have had in that time."
Tbh LRH it's absolutely baffling how you haven't won 1. 2018 was probably the one that got away. You shot some wides that day.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12507 - 28/05/2024 15:40:53    2547954

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "And 2 remain.

No team has ever lost 3 in a row Munster finals and while I think it will be close, my head tells me Limerick will have too much for us. Clare have proven me wrong before though and the lack of expectation this year may help us. I am delighted we made the final however while missing Kelly, Taylor and McInerney for either part or all of the league and the likes of Leen (who I expect will start the final), Galvin and Lohan in particular have impressed. I would love to win a Munster championship. 26 years is far far too long given the talent we have had in that time."
Very hard to see us winning we are well capable but those fade outs are baffling and keep us on tender hooks we were lucky to beat Cork & Waterford not too impressive V Tipp either.

You would expect TK to start Davy Mac will be back I doubt R Taylor is anywhere near been fit Hayes will probably come back in our puckout strategy is not of the standard either its mysterious why he kept puckouts away from Duggan last Sunday maybe keeping to orders.

Limerick will be raging favourites but if they lose cant see them being too worried AI is target

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 907 - 28/05/2024 16:40:35    2547973

Replying To Viking66:  "Tbh LRH it's absolutely baffling how you haven't won 1. 2018 was probably the one that got away. You shot some wides that day."
I thought we were cruising at half time in that match and never came out of the dressing room after half time. Cork had a hoodoo over us (bar 2013) back then.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2537 - 28/05/2024 16:44:31    2547974

Replying To clooney:  "Very hard to see us winning we are well capable but those fade outs are baffling and keep us on tender hooks we were lucky to beat Cork & Waterford not too impressive V Tipp either.

You would expect TK to start Davy Mac will be back I doubt R Taylor is anywhere near been fit Hayes will probably come back in our puckout strategy is not of the standard either its mysterious why he kept puckouts away from Duggan last Sunday maybe keeping to orders.

Limerick will be raging favourites but if they lose cant see them being too worried AI is target"
Taylor won't play intercounty this year I understand

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2537 - 28/05/2024 17:45:43    2547989

Replying To Viking66:  "Tbh LRH it's absolutely baffling how you haven't won 1. 2018 was probably the one that got away. You shot some wides that day."
What's baffling about it? Clare weren't good enough to win one and it's as simple as that! And the won they did manage to win in 2013 was steeped in luck. I was delighted that they won it, but a puck of a ball either way and Cork could have won it.

And before fellas start making an issue out of the mention of 'luck', many others teams were steeped in luck to win things over the years too. So, I'm not just singling out Clare!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1972 - 28/05/2024 18:59:58    2548005

Replying To foreveryoung:  "What's baffling about it? Clare weren't good enough to win one and it's as simple as that! And the won they did manage to win in 2013 was steeped in luck. I was delighted that they won it, but a puck of a ball either way and Cork could have won it.

And before fellas start making an issue out of the mention of 'luck', many others teams were steeped in luck to win things over the years too. So, I'm not just singling out Clare!"
Clare were miles better than Cork in the drawn game and the replay that year.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1786 - 28/05/2024 19:11:03    2548010

Replying To foreveryoung:  "What's baffling about it? Clare weren't good enough to win one and it's as simple as that! And the won they did manage to win in 2013 was steeped in luck. I was delighted that they won it, but a puck of a ball either way and Cork could have won it.

And before fellas start making an issue out of the mention of 'luck', many others teams were steeped in luck to win things over the years too. So, I'm not just singling out Clare!"
Lots of counties would love a bit of that luck!

2013 was great year. Not least for our own Leinster and being within 5 minutes of a final.

Clare fully deserved it. Two enthralling games to end a championship that had most things.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2757 - 28/05/2024 19:46:11    2548020

Can't let you away with that. Explain the luck Clare had in 2013?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2537 - 28/05/2024 19:52:33    2548021

I think the team that won the 2013 All Ireland were certainly good enough to win Munster and at least another all Ireland.
Davys tactics and fixation with the sweeper hamstrung them and they never got a chance to kick on and dominate.. They had so much potential but when Kinnerk moved on to Limerick we became the team they could have been.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1073 - 28/05/2024 20:13:03    2548024

Luck plays a big part in any sport for sure!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12507 - 28/05/2024 20:27:18    2548027