GAA Nonsense

I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking.
Firstly, these are world class performers, and with all due respect to inter County players, on a different level. Yet they can walk out a couple of minutes before the start, (often in an event where they might have less than a minute to nail it ), smile warmly, wave to the crowd, blow kisses, and even throw in a few dance moves. On the way over to the track some if the athletes can be seen laughing and talking to their rivals.
Contrast this with GAA where players brows are furrowed, lads go round roaring aggressively, and any attempt to relax is considered a weak lack of focus. I've heard club managers say "I knew ye were in trouble when I saw ye laughing in the warm up". Give me a break ! If these players are so easily put off, then team psychologists are being paid too much.
Furthermore, after the race the graciousness in defeat is evident, there are warm embraces all round, and win or lose the athletes come smiling to reporters and conduct honest, conversational style interviews. Again in GAA the losers are bitter or its like a wake, and the winners talk in clichés and again are careful not to smile as that would be seen as getting ahead of themselves.
Personally I've been a GAA fan for 40 years, but I think the whole thing is full of its own importance now, and the days of individuality and characters of the game are long gone. Frankly it's boring.
Usain Bolt's tricks and messing and being an entertainer on the start line never impacted his performance.
I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 24/08/2023 16:12:08    2502108

Replying To Rebel2020:  "I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking.
Firstly, these are world class performers, and with all due respect to inter County players, on a different level. Yet they can walk out a couple of minutes before the start, (often in an event where they might have less than a minute to nail it ), smile warmly, wave to the crowd, blow kisses, and even throw in a few dance moves. On the way over to the track some if the athletes can be seen laughing and talking to their rivals.
Contrast this with GAA where players brows are furrowed, lads go round roaring aggressively, and any attempt to relax is considered a weak lack of focus. I've heard club managers say "I knew ye were in trouble when I saw ye laughing in the warm up". Give me a break ! If these players are so easily put off, then team psychologists are being paid too much.
Furthermore, after the race the graciousness in defeat is evident, there are warm embraces all round, and win or lose the athletes come smiling to reporters and conduct honest, conversational style interviews. Again in GAA the losers are bitter or its like a wake, and the winners talk in clichés and again are careful not to smile as that would be seen as getting ahead of themselves.
Personally I've been a GAA fan for 40 years, but I think the whole thing is full of its own importance now, and the days of individuality and characters of the game are long gone. Frankly it's boring.
Usain Bolt's tricks and messing and being an entertainer on the start line never impacted his performance.
I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"
To be fair it's not up to GAA players to entertain during a warm-up or blow kisses to the crowd.
These professional athletes are all trying to add to their public persona which in turn could potentially earn them more income through sponsorship for being the face of products etc.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1927 - 24/08/2023 17:03:11    2502117

Replying To Rebel2020:  "I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking.
I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"
Good post Rebel 2020. You have certainly got us thinking. Will be very interested in the replies..

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 535 - 24/08/2023 17:19:50    2502120

Agree to a point, GAA should be taken seriously to an extent but played for the craic at the same time. For myself in Tyrone I liked the way Mugsy played his football, took it serious with a smile and was up for the craic.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 24/08/2023 21:02:36    2502142

Sounds like you're not a fan of the GAA anymore so. As such, you should stop watching GAA and start watching the athletics full time instead, seeing as it's so fantastic. While you're at it maybe stop creating threads on a predominantly GAA website about all the things you don't like about the GAA.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 24/08/2023 22:59:17    2502160

Interviews from players and managers in GAA, at club and county level are turgid. Now, you hear, 'I know it's a cliche, but...' rattled in the middle of 16 cliches. The obsession with fine margins getting you a win has gone way past the point of absurdity. Dummy teams being named, coached to give interviews that won't fire an opposition team up, not being allowed to play club games for county players and all the other nonsense. I wouldn't mind if it worked, but teams getting relegated out of lower divisions don't seem to be reaping the benefits of this mad culture.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 113 - 25/08/2023 05:22:45    2502166

Some of the points you make are valid, but comparing directly to athletics isn't like-for-like in terms of what the athletes are preparing to do.
Gaelic football and hurling are contact sports. Athletics is not. There's a greater sense of going to battle in a contact sport, particularly one where you have a direct marker who's likely to be 'at' you for the whole game.
Athletics are also individual events for the most part, so the emphasis is on the individual character. You're responsible for yourself only. In GAA you're part of a collective, so you're more conscious of letting others down.
Top level soccer or rugby would be better comparisons, where you'll generally see the players very focused before a big game. There's very little messing or tricking around either.
I do agree with your point about enjoying victory at times. There's a real sense of playing it down on GAA, although I do think it has improved. Looking at Limerick and Dublin after this year's All-Ireland wins, was fairly refreshing.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2065 - 25/08/2023 08:40:10    2502169

It's a bit chalk and cheese though. GAA codes are combative, contact, team sports where players are competing for a piece of metal and a name on the roll of honour on the wall of their County Board HQ. You can't compare professional athletes obtaining an education in some of the finest universities in the US, being coached by some of the best in the world, being paid handsomely through appearance money, sponsorship and endorsements with fellas training 2 or 3 nights a week after a day's work and then taking to a pitch on a Sunday all for the love of the game and in the hope that some day they might pick up a medal. Characters in sport in general are a thing of the past whether it be snooker (Higgins, Stevens, Bill W), Tennis (McEnroe, Cash, Agassi), Soccer (Best, Clough, Vinnie Jones), Athletics (Lewis, Thompson, Moses, Phelps…). I think money has made most sports sterile now. There is simply too much cash involved which has brought in a level of hyper-professionalism, personalities have been neutralised, fun and enjoyment are put to the background as it's all about chasing the dime.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 25/08/2023 09:41:21    2502176

You can't compare an individual professional Sport to a team amateur sport.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1683 - 25/08/2023 09:49:41    2502179

Amateur Sport, actually any sport, should be a distraction from life, not someones entire life.

dolfos (Longford) - Posts: 113 - 25/08/2023 10:37:18    2502185

'Bon'- I think you are trying to compare apples with oranges. You are comparing a sport where individuals compete and share the same space as their opponents. You would obviously liked to have seen the Dubs mixing with the Kerry men in the warm up-that would have been good craic (imagine Meath and the Dubs in the 80's together in a warmup!). Now you do make some good points but somewhat spoiled by blowing kisses. I have no problem with guys laughing and having a bit of fun as all folk are different. You do not have to look serious, or indeed entertain the spectators to win a match. I do think however that some managers are a bit over the top. Warmup appear to take as long as the match, something I cannot ever understand and decisions being made relying on a piece of electronics attached to a player which has cost at least one team an AI!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/08/2023 10:37:21    2502186

Several posters are saying you can't compare the two, but surely GAA should be the more light-hearted, less ruthless of the two. No one's livelihood is at stake. And with regards to the GAA being combative etc. , well I would argue it was equally combative in the past, but the game was full of characters and individuality back then. I hate the line "they're not in the business to entertain". IT'S NOT BUSINESS. It's a hobby. Anyways, I'm still waiting for a list of the characters in the game today.

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 25/08/2023 12:57:20    2502218

Our games are tribal warfare in a controlled environment, huge difference, no comparison.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 25/08/2023 14:24:37    2502232

Replying To realdub:  "Our games are tribal warfare in a controlled environment, huge difference, no comparison."
Agree - not sure there is any contact sport is any different to the GAA when it would come to pre game

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 25/08/2023 14:43:19    2502235

Our games are tribal warfare in a controlled environment, huge difference, no comparison.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8530 - 25/08/2023 14:24:37

There is a comparison though and those races for many of those athletes are the deciders of whether they will keep sponsors and/or funding. whether they will be able to stay competing at the top level. yet they are able to be that relaxed. yet if gaa players were seena s being that relaxed they would be criticised.
its the same at many levels of club game and drinking bans etc yet you will see pro athletes not have those kind of bans.

I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking.
I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?
Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 71 - 24/08/2023 16:12:08

Interesting points made. i agree with you in part. it shows how relaxed these athletes are but its not a completely fair comparison. these runners and same with swimmers etc as well. theyve 1 minute or 2/3/4 minutes for there events and its all done. team sports are that it different with games usually far longer

To be fair it's not up to GAA players to entertain during a warm-up or blow kisses to the crowd.
These professional athletes are all trying to add to their public persona which in turn could potentially earn them more income through sponsorship for being the face of products etc.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1831 - 24/08/2023 17:03:11

These athletes know the importance of selling themselves. yes but more could be done by the GAA to add more personality of the players. nothing wrong with that. and it wouldnt mean its gaa players trying to appeal more to sponsors etc

Sounds like you're not a fan of the GAA anymore so. As such, you should stop watching GAA and start watching the athletics full time instead, seeing as it's so fantastic. While you're at it maybe stop creating threads on a predominantly GAA website about all the things you don't like about the GAA.
Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 79 - 24/08/2023 22:59:17

absolute horse****
not a fan of GAA anymore how??

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3523 - 25/08/2023 14:45:34    2502236

I think it's a matter of perception and a little bit of acting. I know several current players who are wild enough lads, only butter wouldn't melt if kids or parents were around. And I know of several things some top players in our current intercounty game got up to that would be deemed wild craic also.
The problem isn't the GAA. It's today's PC nanny state country that we live in. Lads don't want to be themselves in public because of all the nonsense they'd have to listen to if they did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 25/08/2023 15:11:53    2502239

Replying To Rebel2020:  "Several posters are saying you can't compare the two, but surely GAA should be the more light-hearted, less ruthless of the two. No one's livelihood is at stake. And with regards to the GAA being combative etc. , well I would argue it was equally combative in the past, but the game was full of characters and individuality back then. I hate the line "they're not in the business to entertain". IT'S NOT BUSINESS. It's a hobby. Anyways, I'm still waiting for a list of the characters in the game today."
I think most people do relax. Some of the footage after big games this year showed lads talking to each other and clearly having a lot of regard for one another once the battle was done.

The post match interviews can be very dull alright. Too much media training. Managers and CBs terrified that someone will have a Donaghy moment again :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 25/08/2023 15:51:45    2502245

Interesting topic Rebel but every sport is different. Also in individual sports the sports tars try to be more popular re sponser ship etc. On smiling being friendly etc your own county an Roy Keane is always giving out about players being friendly before games. He was the worst offender. My own opinion is gaa is different while some might take it too serious it's the rivalry that makes it exciting. You still have the individuals that play with the smile on their faces like the Canavan s Jack McCaffery and a few others. Also athletics is so different to a team sport like gaa. If I'm faster than my rival unless something bizarre happens I will be him in athletics but in gaa I my opponent might try stuff to negate me. It's hard to be friendly before a game to a guy that going to try negate you. Maybe keepers are the exceptions as neither can determine how good or bad the other will play and I have often seen keepers embrace and have a word or two before a big game.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 25/08/2023 16:30:51    2502252

I agree it's all to serious even at club level now, I remember when playing football was good craic, of course you want your team to win, the great thing in GAA is we can still mix as fans, people need to lighten up a bit and we do miss the characters from the game, I'd love it if players and managers would tell the truth in interviews or else don't bother doing them at all, a load of oul cliched nonsense. sure what good is that to anyone and it's fooling no one either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 25/08/2023 16:43:45    2502255

None of your business what players do. They're putting in their time and effort to try and win primarily, not to entertain you.

Go to the circus or the harlem globetrotters if you want to see all that shenanigans.

easycowboy (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 25/08/2023 17:21:05    2502257