Irish And The AFL

Replying To togoutlads:  "Another 4 great young players gone today, including our future midfield anchor for Galway. So, so disappointing. Congratulations AFL, hope you enjoy all the benefits! You're welcome. What else can we do for ye? I've another 15 years of coaching to put into some future greats here, I'll let you know when they're ready for cherry picking. G'day."
Whatever about lads or indeed girls wishing to move, the GAA should certainly not be facilitating the scouts and coaches. And by no means ought anyone in GAA be benefitting personally from this. I think that was one of Mickey Harte's objections too,

In any professional sport where teams recruit from amateur ranks - NFL. MLB. NBA and I assume the AFL vis a vis the Aussie rules schools - there is a financial award for the feeder clubs. GAA clubs see no such benefit.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2598 - 06/09/2023 09:58:04    2503236

Replying To togoutlads:  "Another 4 great young players gone today, including our future midfield anchor for Galway. So, so disappointing. Congratulations AFL, hope you enjoy all the benefits! You're welcome. What else can we do for ye? I've another 15 years of coaching to put into some future greats here, I'll let you know when they're ready for cherry picking. G'day."
Agreed, it is very frustrating. If lads pick rugby or soccer grand. Rugby and soccer clubs and coaches have put time in to them and that's the path the kid chooses best of luck to him.

AFL cherry picking the ready made talent is a much harder pill to swallow. People say it is only a handful but it is generally the elite athletes. AFL picks have likely change the destination of a number of all Irelands.

Would Cork have won more in the naughties with Setanta?
Would Pearse Hanley have been worth a few points to Mayo in those drawn finals?
Mark O'Connor, peak Tommy Walsh in Kerry?
What impact will losing Oisin Mullen have on Mayo?

In a game of inches, losing these guys is huge.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 338 - 06/09/2023 10:02:58    2503238

Replying To dahayeser:  "Agreed, it is very frustrating. If lads pick rugby or soccer grand. Rugby and soccer clubs and coaches have put time in to them and that's the path the kid chooses best of luck to him.

AFL cherry picking the ready made talent is a much harder pill to swallow. People say it is only a handful but it is generally the elite athletes. AFL picks have likely change the destination of a number of all Irelands.

In a game of inches, losing these guys is huge."
Amateur sports people are free agents without contracts etc and can go where they please and to whatever sport they please or get chosen by.
There's FA the GAA can do about it other than give lads Professional contracts which won't happen.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 06/09/2023 10:39:15    2503247

They're only going over to the combine, they haven't been signed by a club. McLaughlin is the most suited of the 4 alright but McElholm in particular and also Corbett I don't think are suited to it at all, can't see them being signed.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 960 - 06/09/2023 10:47:24    2503253

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Whatever about lads or indeed girls wishing to move, the GAA should certainly not be facilitating the scouts and coaches. And by no means ought anyone in GAA be benefitting personally from this. I think that was one of Mickey Harte's objections too,

In any professional sport where teams recruit from amateur ranks - NFL. MLB. NBA and I assume the AFL vis a vis the Aussie rules schools - there is a financial award for the feeder clubs. GAA clubs see no such benefit."
Different organisation with different bodies so its not really feasible.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3516 - 06/09/2023 12:01:21    2503271

You can't stop a professional organisation offering someone a job.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13719 - 06/09/2023 13:48:53    2503300

Replying To dahayeser:  "Agreed, it is very frustrating. If lads pick rugby or soccer grand. Rugby and soccer clubs and coaches have put time in to them and that's the path the kid chooses best of luck to him.

In a game of inches, losing these guys is huge."
Excuses for losing 11 All Ireland finals, number 257: The AFL took some of our best prospects.

Sure if only they had taken some of our bad players we'd be sound.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 07/09/2023 17:21:38    2503458

On a different note, two great finals games on Thursday and Friday. Hopefully two more to come today.

Tough to call a winner at this stage. Even after losing against Collingwood, I still think Melbourne are right up there, but Carlton next weekend will be another big test for them.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 09/09/2023 05:51:12    2503565

Replying To KillingFields:  "Different organisation with different bodies so its not really feasible."
Universities and high schools are not owned by the NFL, NBA etc. Do correct me if i am in error?

And they reward them handsomely for players they take on the drafts.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2598 - 09/09/2023 21:48:55    2503624

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Universities and high schools are not owned by the NFL, NBA etc. Do correct me if i am in error?

And they reward them handsomely for players they take on the drafts."
Does the NFL take basketball players or pick lads from their own sport?
Are you going to ban lads from gaelic games if they sign for an AFL Club without the GAA getting a load of Aus$?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 10/09/2023 12:18:55    2503646

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Universities and high schools are not owned by the NFL, NBA etc. Do correct me if i am in error?

And they reward them handsomely for players they take on the drafts."
They give professional contracts to the players that they sign in the draft that come from the college system, that improves the players to a NFL, NBA standard.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 10/09/2023 16:34:44    2503658

How about everyone is an individual and should be allowed to play whatever sport they see fit when they see fit.

Seems the most fair system instead of everyone telling lads were they should and shouldnt play and making them feel guilty for doing so.

If I was good enough when younger and told "hey do you want to land down to oz for a few years in the sun, nice apartment, heavy wallet and a great lifestyle" i wouldnt be like others on here. I wouldnt have the willpower to say no to that and wouldnt have the strength to get up on my high horse and stay in Ireland for the chance to tog out in the rain before heading down to the same old local for a few.....but each to their own

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 157 - 18/09/2023 11:50:29    2504588

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They give professional contracts to the players that they sign in the draft that come from the college system, that improves the players to a NFL, NBA standard."
The feeder colleges get huge amounts of money from the leagues. That is what myself and others are referring to, Not the individual contracts of people who are indeed perfectly entitled to do as they pleased, but GAA and certainly not GAA members in receipt of money presumably, ought be part of talent spotting for AFL.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2598 - 18/09/2023 14:50:38    2504631

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The feeder colleges get huge amounts of money from the leagues. That is what myself and others are referring to, Not the individual contracts of people who are indeed perfectly entitled to do as they pleased, but GAA and certainly not GAA members in receipt of money presumably, ought be part of talent spotting for AFL."
The colleges don't get money from the leagues. They do alright without it. The NCAA sports get plenty of money from merchandise, attendances and TV deals and players aren't professional. Some college football games can draw crowds of 100,000. Can be better games than the pro games to watch on telly.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 18/09/2023 21:55:43    2504695

i know like english soccar its varies in lot in the different divs but whats the ballpark pay the irish lads are on there

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2848 - 21/09/2023 22:17:08    2505131

I see that Conor McKenna starred with Brisbane Lions , and heading to a Grand final. He won an all Ireland with Tyrone a few years ago, after returning from Oz. Looks like he's on track to emulating Tadhg Kennelly , and best of luck to him!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 218 - 25/09/2023 14:05:45    2505626

Its great to see these lads getting a chance professionally and we should try push for more players to get the chance

leitrimman68 (Leitrim) - Posts: 17 - 25/09/2023 15:28:37    2505657

Replying To Ryanteam:  "I see that Conor McKenna starred with Brisbane Lions , and heading to a Grand final. He won an all Ireland with Tyrone a few years ago, after returning from Oz. Looks like he's on track to emulating Tadhg Kennelly , and best of luck to him!"
Has been very good this season for Brisbane. Great athlete and is a big presence in the back line. Got himself a nice goal the other day too.

Callum Brown played in the other final for GWS. Had a tough day kicking at goal, missed two very scorable set shots, but he's really established himself this season for GWS. and has improved as the season has gone.

TaosHum (Carlow) - Posts: 236 - 25/09/2023 16:09:52    2505670

In Melbourne, got a ticket and everything. Its a public holiday here in Victoria and a great buzz around even with a QLD team playing in the final. I hear it gets crazy altogther if 2 Victoria teams playing.
Should be a good game, Collingwood will win. Have seen a few of their games.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1737 - 28/09/2023 21:15:35    2506164

Replying To StoreysTash:  "In Melbourne, got a ticket and everything. Its a public holiday here in Victoria and a great buzz around even with a QLD team playing in the final. I hear it gets crazy altogther if 2 Victoria teams playing.
Should be a good game, Collingwood will win. Have seen a few of their games."
Pies look good this year ok

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12139 - 29/09/2023 09:21:11    2506194