2023 WEXFORD FOOTBALL C SHIP

Replying To grassroots01:  "Embarrassing- winning 4th or 5th grade competition and you'd think it was senior they won."
Ha ha why would anyone be embarrassed after winning any age or grade and celebrating .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 184 - 23/10/2023 14:11:12    2509865

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Definitely should be celebrated but herring other town team, pathetic"
I haven't seen this video and didn't know anything about it until you mentioned it so won't pass comment on it.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 23/10/2023 14:31:18    2509876

Replying To grassroots01:  "Embarrassing- winning 4th or 5th grade competition and you'd think it was senior they won."
Sounds a bit bitter. For some lads it's the equivalent of winning a senior and probably have trained just as hard as any team.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 173 - 23/10/2023 14:45:02    2509881

Croke park are looking for input from all counties and clubs to format a table. Of how much any team county or club can celebrate after wining a championshop .
Intercouny wins all irelands and provincials will be decided by their respective county board as age groups and completion varies. Ambitious counties may not want to celebrate provinsionals as it shoes mediocrity.
Leagues don't count as only secondary competitions and should nt be celebrated as such.
It's up to any club whether the reward hurlers more than footballers but be careful not to to upfront zbiut it you need to be mindful of the downtrodden.
U12 depending on grade soft drink and peanuts crisps for players with allergies . Maybe a trip to local amenity fo kids teans that win higher grades .
U14 much the same as above only McDonald's for higher grades
U16s gets trickier clubhouse party no alcohol though officially,bowling or cinema or the higher grades
U18s a minefield. Party in somones House where Liberal parents allow girls and alcohol present but under strict supervision.
U21 very tricky as u18s might be in the panel again party in hotel ,clubhouse or lounge with u18s togged out with bibs so they can be Monitored. Higher grades a trip away if sponsors willing to contribute .
Junior b junior a and junior .
1 2 or 3 nights out depending on if its 1st 2nd or 3rd team . No leinster championship so ya can go for it bit
Don't celebrate too much as its embarrassing to win really at this level.
IntermediateA intermediate and senior
Have a night maybe 2 as leinster is the following weekend . And you don't want to be embarrassing the whole county now by getting well beaten . Sure what would we do on here or have to complain about if ye done well .
Feel free to add any opinions suggestions on above
Only serious contributers now please .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 184 - 23/10/2023 14:47:40    2509882

Replying To WexMurph:  "Sounds a bit bitter. For some lads it's the equivalent of winning a senior and probably have trained just as hard as any team."
Oh I agree it should be celebrated by the players and the club as to win any county final is a huge achievement - it's their twitter account and social media that are an embarrassment.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 23/10/2023 14:59:33    2509887

Replying To grassroots01:  "Oh I agree it should be celebrated by the players and the club as to win any county final is a huge achievement - it's their twitter account and social media that are an embarrassment."
Agree with you, hopefully club will come out and apologize to both teams they making fun off,

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 442 - 23/10/2023 15:50:47    2509898

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Definitely should be celebrated but herring other town team, pathetic"
All the same down there anyway arnt they? Half them probably be playing for a different club again next year.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 23/10/2023 16:01:12    2509905

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Ya I say it was them, I didn't see that tweet,"
Its actually still on there twitter page if you scroll down to the start of the match, the first tweet. Still cant believe it!!

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 23/10/2023 16:04:08    2509907

Replying To FootballRising:  "Gorey were victims of unfortunate timing with a stag do on, 10 players missing from the co. Final, would have been a different story one suspects if those players were available"
ah, that explains a lot

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2849 - 23/10/2023 16:10:36    2509908

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Its actually still on there twitter page if you scroll down to the start of the match, the first tweet. Still cant believe it!!"
Name and put up a photo of an opposition player before the match that's "a legend in his own mind"

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 23/10/2023 16:17:17    2509913

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Presume this is the same town team that their first tweet of the final at the weekend they were in was to say that the opposition were all the match and they the sheep would be lonely where they were from. A disgraceful tweet."
ah chill out, its called banter, and most of us with a sence of humour [and know the lad who posted it and his wit] thought it was amusing, god i say your some fun on a night out!!!!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2849 - 23/10/2023 16:17:37    2509915

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Its just a case of year on year sure Fethard won Intermediate last year and Adamstown got to the final, we've struggled in Senior for years and we've actually became more competitive the last few years, I actually wouldn't be shocked if Lomans got to the final Kilmacud are undoubtedly favourites for Leinster but I'd expect Lomans to beat the Longford champions and them against Naas or Summerhill of Meath would be a 50/50 for me, also when you look how clubs like Kilcoo, Ballygunner and Cuala further back have done the fortunes of 1 club don't always reflect the county at that time."
I would agree, it is in fact almost the opposite now in football. Either Shels or Castletown I would say would fancy their chances now in Leinster as long as they could avoid Dublin. Shels don't have that one marque forward that would have made all the difference - looking at who got the scores yesterday - it was the county hurler playing corner forward who got the most. For club football the top two and it now looks as if Kilanerin may be getting there, are as good and well managed as any teams in Leinster. We now need to get out of Div4

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 23/10/2023 16:50:05    2509925

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "ah chill out, its called banter, and most of us with a sence of humour [and know the lad who posted it and his wit
thought it was amusing, god i say your some fun on a night out!!!!"]Banter?? Ah here are you joking, how is that amusing? I dont mind it a bit of craic to the next lad but doubt anyone from the Alley would see the funny side of it.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 23/10/2023 17:10:54    2509931

Replying To grassroots01:  "Name and put up a photo of an opposition player before the match that's "a legend in his own mind""
Ya pure arrogance from them, anyway they are the most disliked them in Wexford with the carry on

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 442 - 23/10/2023 17:27:12    2509933

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "ah chill out, its called banter, and most of us with a sence of humour [and know the lad who posted it and his wit
thought it was amusing, god i say your some fun on a night out!!!!"]Too many snowflakes around the place these days SMR

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12146 - 23/10/2023 17:36:48    2509936

thought it was amusing, god i say your some fun on a night out!!!!"]Agree 100% banter is the order of the day .
Humour and comedy are subjective . If you dont find something funny more on . Had to have look at tweets to see what they on about . Woukd say it's bsnter fir sure he insulted more of his own than anyone else . Above posts sound like some ones own agenda and bitterness . Most likely rival club to he other team . At least most people know who the tweeter was or is .
I d assume he prob knows some of the lads mentioned or most of them and may be acceptable banter between them .
Know lot of lads from the club all good people with banter being flung endlessly . Don't know anything or seen any video . I d say the 2 or 3 on here doing the triolling were delighted they won in the first place and were straight on to say how well done they did and its great to see their fellow townies doing so well .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 184 - 23/10/2023 20:17:40    2509953

thought it was amusing, god i say your some fun on a night out!!!!"]My missus says I'm great craic on a night out,

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 442 - 23/10/2023 20:24:39    2509955

First time on here since before the weekend and I could reply to several posts, but instead, a few quick points:

- U21 is an adult grade. The fact that somebody set up the competition fixtures/results in the underage section of the Wexford GAA website doesn't change that. The deciding factor is that it's run by the adult CCC, not the Coiste na nÓg one.

- Ballinastragh Gaels/Kilanerin/Tara Rocks are not all the same. Officially, Ballinastragh Gaels is a dual-code Coiste na nÓg amalgamation, approved to play under that name up to and including U18. Kilanerin is an adult football club, whose members are allowed play hurling with Tara Rocks. Tara Rocks is an adult hurling club, whose members are allowed play football with Kilanerin. If entering an U21 competition, it should be done under the name Kilanerin in football, and under the name Tara Rocks in hurling, because officially, there is no Ballinastragh Gaels at U21 level.

- Clonee have never come with a proposal for any sort of similar arrangement with Ferns, St. Pat's, or anyone else near them (e.g. Kilrush/Askamore). It's not a case of them "not being allowed to".

- The fact that you can play Leinster Club Championship at age 17 (or if you've just turned 18 this year), but can't play in Wexford Club Championship at the same age, is not down to "interpretation of the rules". It's down to different rules applying for the different competitions. Both rules are black and white. The Leinster competitions are governed by the general rule book. The Wexford competitions are governed by the Wexford bye-law which was approved for this year.

- You don't have to be involved with the County Board to know what the rules are!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2258 - 23/10/2023 23:03:43    2509966

Your right re rules wecall shoukd kniw them and not take our interpratation of them but just making the point .
I can't understand why it can change through competitions and counties . Same organisation same rules should apply . I m asking maybe from a legal point of view if it was challenged how would it stand up . And yes rules have been challenged legally and over ruled. Be it bye laws add ons to suit counties whatever . I just feel its left to open .
Do u not get my point there is no consistency and not set in stone . Either an u18 born 2005 can play adult or he can't end of . Regardless of county or competition it needs to be countrywide . Is nt age barrier different for ladies competitions who cone under he umbrella of code of practice gaa too .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 184 - 24/10/2023 10:16:11    2509986

Replying To Formertownie:  "Your right re rules wecall shoukd kniw them and not take our interpratation of them but just making the point .
I can't understand why it can change through competitions and counties . Same organisation same rules should apply . I m asking maybe from a legal point of view if it was challenged how would it stand up . And yes rules have been challenged legally and over ruled. Be it bye laws add ons to suit counties whatever . I just feel its left to open .
Do u not get my point there is no consistency and not set in stone . Either an u18 born 2005 can play adult or he can't end of . Regardless of county or competition it needs to be countrywide . Is nt age barrier different for ladies competitions who cone under he umbrella of code of practice gaa too ."
1. Pikeman has explained the situation exactly as it is.

2. It would stand up no problem to challenge because the rules allow each county to make bye laws which deviate from the general rule.

3. In relation to consistency, counties have different rules for different things all of the time, and no rule is ever set in stone. Every rule can be changed so if you believe it needs to be countrywide then bring forward a motion to repeal the regulation which allows counties to decide individually

4. Rules for ladies football or camogie competitions are not under the control of the GAA so therefore are not relevant to this discussion

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 24/10/2023 10:47:46    2509996