2023 WEXFORD FOOTBALL C SHIP

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Just a general point, not directly related to Sunday:

I reckon that in any match, a referee might make five or six errors in terms of frees awarded or not awarded, or cards not issued. I'm talking genuine errors, not perceived errors as seen by those wearing glasses tinted in one colour or the other.

The losing team (anywhere from 15 to 20 players) will probably have made 30, 40, or even 50 errors, in terms of misplaced passes, bad wides, not tracking their men properly, etc.

Yet when they lose a close match, the focus is always on the relatively small number of errors made by the ref, rather than the relatively large number of errors they've made themselves.

It's always easy to blame somebody else, but sometimes you have to accept it was your own mistakes that cost you the match, and not somebody else's."
Have to agree with most of what you say there. I was talking to a referee last year and he said the best day he goes out he would hope to get only 3 or 4 decisions wrong. he'd hope to get all the big and obvious calls right and that the ones he got wrong would balance out i.e. a couple on either side. a good result for him is knowing that he did nothing to influence the game in that the best team won.
looking and these decisions (and i wasn't at the game) it would appear to me that the referee couldn't be happy with them.
It does sometimes baffle me though as to how certain referees get appointed we have some decent referees in the county and none of them were on duty on any of the finals in the park this weekend. Surely as a player you want the best referees to cover the big games.

bystanderbill (Wexford) - Posts: 27 - 17/10/2023 13:13:54    2508827

This supporter doesn't seem to understand refs can make a mistake or two, looks like it wasn't the first time he was involved in something like this either.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2023/10/16/wexford-underage-board-propose-10-year-ban-on-following-alleged-threats-of-referee/

JT22 (Wexford) - Posts: 31 - 17/10/2023 15:04:48    2508856

Lads, a few things:
1. Referees in Wexford are no world beaters. However, as with most counties they are a similar standard. There are good and bad. In an ideal world all everybody wants is consistency, which is hard to get. Don't feel like we're being hard done by though. I do feel though, we have a lot of good referee's, but like anything overtime they probably get fed up of the abuse, and care less about the job. I'm not going to name names, but some of the top referee's ten years ago, are now terrible, maybe the lack of referee's available has given them more power and protection than previously.
2. Last weekend was a County Final, the biggest games of the year for the majority of people out there. They were going to hit one another, fairly, and unfairly if they can get away with it. This isn't a new trend, anyone that has played has done it, and if you haven't bigger the fool. Yes, players are much stronger and more physical now, so hence the extra danger. Some of the calls re this certain player on social media are mad though. I've seen, and will see lots worse than what he did at the weekend. The same people moaning about this, will also be moaning about mental health and welfare issues of players. The abuse players get now because some of this stuff is on camera, and immediately put on Twitter etc. is crazy. I'm sure he is not proud, but he did what he needed to do to give his team every advantage possible. Without players, that play on the edge our game would be very boring. Did Mattie Forde get much abuse / hardship when playing? If you're talented your going to get the late hits etc.

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 17/10/2023 15:27:02    2508863

Replying To Yellaman:  "I was under pressure for time so i was at the exit ready to leave just at the final whistle.
What did I miss ??"
What I saw and I am not implying that anything abusive was said, was an mentor from Castletown arguing with the fourth official and then making a beeline for the ref as he was walking off the field, he looked as if he was saying words to the referee as he walked off with two Gardai on either side. Its a sad day when we have to have the referee escorted off the field in a senior county final. This was not immediately after the whistle was blown so I assume the ref stopped to shake the hands of some players etc. The image it gives is the opposite that was promised from all the clubs last year after the ref was attacked. I just don't understand it to be honest - game is over, what is to be gained by doing it.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 17/10/2023 17:26:55    2508900

Replying To rossytilidie:  "Lads, a few things:
1. Referees in Wexford are no world beaters. However, as with most counties they are a similar standard. There are good and bad. In an ideal world all everybody wants is consistency, which is hard to get. Don't feel like we're being hard done by though. I do feel though, we have a lot of good referee's, but like anything overtime they probably get fed up of the abuse, and care less about the job. I'm not going to name names, but some of the top referee's ten years ago, are now terrible, maybe the lack of referee's available has given them more power and protection than previously.
2. Last weekend was a County Final, the biggest games of the year for the majority of people out there. They were going to hit one another, fairly, and unfairly if they can get away with it. This isn't a new trend, anyone that has played has done it, and if you haven't bigger the fool. Yes, players are much stronger and more physical now, so hence the extra danger. Some of the calls re this certain player on social media are mad though. I've seen, and will see lots worse than what he did at the weekend. The same people moaning about this, will also be moaning about mental health and welfare issues of players. The abuse players get now because some of this stuff is on camera, and immediately put on Twitter etc. is crazy. I'm sure he is not proud, but he did what he needed to do to give his team every advantage possible. Without players, that play on the edge our game would be very boring. Did Mattie Forde get much abuse / hardship when playing? If you're talented your going to get the late hits etc."
As a neutral its a little annoying that he doesn't play with that intensity for Wexford. I'm not saying he should be playing dirty but he doesn't get stuck in the same for the county.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 17/10/2023 17:38:46    2508903

Between the 2 codes how the Senior championships have been spread out over the last decade.

Shels 5
Rapps/Starlights 3
Oulart 2
Martins 2
Gorey 2
Castletown 2
Ferns 1
Gusserane 1
St James 1
St Annes 1

and if you narrowed to last 5 years

Shels 3
Rapps/ Starlights 2
Castletown 2
Martins 1
Ferns 1
Gorey 1

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 17/10/2023 18:29:38    2508924

has he been sent off much in the past?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 17/10/2023 22:19:02    2508951

Replying To zinny:  "What I saw and I am not implying that anything abusive was said, was an mentor from Castletown arguing with the fourth official and then making a beeline for the ref as he was walking off the field, he looked as if he was saying words to the referee as he walked off with two Gardai on either side. Its a sad day when we have to have the referee escorted off the field in a senior county final. This was not immediately after the whistle was blown so I assume the ref stopped to shake the hands of some players etc. The image it gives is the opposite that was promised from all the clubs last year after the ref was attacked. I just don't understand it to be honest - game is over, what is to be gained by doing it."
Nothing. Nothing to be gained during the match either. A referee who would change his decision based on what a player or mentor had to say shouldn't be refereeing in the 1st place.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 18/10/2023 10:30:26    2508980

Now that the championship is ran off it's time to revert back to alternate weeks or two weeks at a time. U21 semi finals still to be played in both codes, hard to know when they will giving Goreys commitment in Leinster.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 173 - 18/10/2023 15:52:31    2509083

Replying To Viking66:  "Nothing. Nothing to be gained during the match either. A referee who would change his decision based on what a player or mentor had to say shouldn't be refereeing in the 1st place."
I was listening to the AIL club scene podcast the other day and they were talking about how a game, I think that was played up North someplace had come down to a last minute penalty however the winning team had got the penalty in the opponents 22. The ref was given backchat, marched the ball up about 15meters and then got some more at which point he brough the ball up to just over the halfway line. They then elected to go for the posts, put it over and won by a point. Now the ref clearly brough the ball up further than what he should have but I have no doubt that the team won't be mouthing off to refs going forward. Perhaps the solution is make mouthing to make the resulting free to always become a kickable one.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 18/10/2023 16:02:07    2509086

Replying To WexMurph:  "Now that the championship is ran off it's time to revert back to alternate weeks or two weeks at a time. U21 semi finals still to be played in both codes, hard to know when they will giving Goreys commitment in Leinster."
Fixtures for the football semi-finals have been sent out already, and Gorey are not involved.

I know they're not involved in the hurling either. They lost the first match (in the round that determines eight teams for Premier and eight teams for Roinn 1), and then gave a walkover in what should have been their Roinn 1 quarter-final.

So Gorey being in two Leinster competitions doesn't affect either U21 competition here anyway.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2258 - 18/10/2023 16:13:31    2509090

Replying To WexMurph:  "Now that the championship is ran off it's time to revert back to alternate weeks or two weeks at a time. U21 semi finals still to be played in both codes, hard to know when they will giving Goreys commitment in Leinster."
I still prefer the split season myself. The hurling in particular was of a better standard than it used to be when the championship was alternate weeks.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 18/10/2023 17:18:07    2509109

Replying To Viking66:  "I still prefer the split season myself. The hurling in particular was of a better standard than it used to be when the championship was alternate weeks."
was in a pub in wexford town at weekend at table next to me 9 or 10 of them in it , i gathered from the conversation they were from 3 clubs, hurling was their main chat, everyone of them loved the split season , not 1 was against it

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2850 - 18/10/2023 17:55:18    2509122

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Between the 2 codes how the Senior championships have been spread out over the last decade.

Shels 5
Rapps/Starlights 3
Oulart 2
Martins 2
Gorey 2
Castletown 2
Ferns 1
Gusserane 1
St James 1
St Annes 1

and if you narrowed to last 5 years

Shels 3
Rapps/ Starlights 2
Castletown 2
Martins 1
Ferns 1
Gorey 1"
Very interesting
I wonder if somebody had the information (and time of course) available, what would the breakdown be of knockout championship wins be in both senior chamoionships in those time frames.
That would be interesting to see.

hurlin101 (Wexford) - Posts: 104 - 18/10/2023 18:09:24    2509125

Replying To Viking66:  "I still prefer the split season myself. The hurling in particular was of a better standard than it used to be when the championship was alternate weeks."
Wouldn't agree with that myself, I was at a good few senior hurling games and I thought the standard was particularly poor although the weather contributed to that too.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 173 - 18/10/2023 18:53:39    2509136

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Fixtures for the football semi-finals have been sent out already, and Gorey are not involved.

I know they're not involved in the hurling either. They lost the first match (in the round that determines eight teams for Premier and eight teams for Roinn 1), and then gave a walkover in what should have been their Roinn 1 quarter-final.

So Gorey being in two Leinster competitions doesn't affect either U21 competition here anyway."
What are the draws for the football and who is playing who, thought Gorey were through but didn't Ballinstragh beat them in the quarter final

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 173 - 18/10/2023 22:19:52    2509155

Has yer man from shels been sent off many times?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 19/10/2023 09:31:40    2509168

Replying To WexMurph:  "What are the draws for the football and who is playing who, thought Gorey were through but didn't Ballinstragh beat them in the quarter final"
Ballinastraw Gaels vs St Martins and Sarsfields Vs Castletown in premier

btwex90 (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 19/10/2023 10:22:49    2509175

Replying To gahfan:  "Has yer man from shels been sent off many times?"
Not really. Though he has good Senior intercounty Football and Hurling experience so I'm sure is well versed in the dark arts at this stage! But he wouldn't be someone I'd consider a dirty player in general.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 19/10/2023 10:36:42    2509182

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "was in a pub in wexford town at weekend at table next to me 9 or 10 of them in it , i gathered from the conversation they were from 3 clubs, hurling was their main chat, everyone of them loved the split season , not 1 was against it"
Any local clubs players I've spoken and they are all from dual clubs much prefer current structure too

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 19/10/2023 10:52:00    2509185