Ban The Hand Pass In Hurling. What Are The Alternatives?

Imo the game is too fast for referee's to detect what is a legitimate hand pass or a throw. I tend to agree with the previous poster that it's better to leave as is. I've not been impressed with changes made in football and I believe too many changes don't help the games. I enjoy the speed at which hurling is played.

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 79 - 08/08/2023 17:29:07    2499601

Imo during every hurling game there are multiple throws. It's very hard for the ref to spot. I think the pass straight from hand should be banned but from the Hurley it could be allowed as in flicking from the hurl to the hand and handpass the b and all without catching it. Football also needs a check on the steps. 4 steps is the rule but some players are taking 7 or 8 no problem that's not being copped especially lads with short strides. Either increase the steps to 5 or clamp down.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3681 - 08/08/2023 17:35:27    2499603

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If the difference between a "throw" and a legitimate "hand pass" is so slight that it cannot be detected and when it was being called up it was often in error means that you either keep it as is - which i favour; or ban it, which will lead to one unholy mess, because anyone who thinks they might have time to use their stick in tight situations played at the pace of the modern game clearly is not watching closely.

It would be interesting to see what the opinion of current players and management is. Not heard any demands for a ban from that quarter,"
As they're being let away with skill less rule breaking they won't want a clampdown

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 08/08/2023 18:41:21    2499607

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "If the difference between a "throw" and a legitimate "hand pass" is so slight that it cannot be detected and when it was being called up it was often in error means that you either keep it as is - which i favour; or ban it, which will lead to one unholy mess, because anyone who thinks they might have time to use their stick in tight situations played at the pace of the modern game clearly is not watching closely.

It would be interesting to see what the opinion of current players and management is. Not heard any demands for a ban from that quarter,"
Wise up man. Do you really think managers and current players would ever want to change anything while they are involved? The game is bigger than those playing the game right now. People calling for change are genuinely concerned about the integrity of the game and they include many ex players. Mangers will blame refs all day before recommending a rule change. All teams are throwing and some are better than others at it so why complain.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 08/08/2023 18:53:34    2499609

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Play the feckin ball out of the ruck on the ground with your big effn stick.
Hurling is meant to be a stick and ball game not a handball game.
Of course refs could be more active in stopping rucks developing by throwing iy in between TWO players as per rule, not 23 as they let happen."
Gone with the flood. A game played that is a game without any teamwork, intelligence or skill. A borefest of aimless belting of the ball around the place . The 1936 All Ireland Final highlights are on lins. Look it up I am a Limerick Man and it is a pure disaster to look at it. Nobody wants the likes of that back or even the turgid slow games of the nineties. Time to move on. The game was never better. Anyway if you changed teams like the present Limerick Team would probably win by more.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 08/08/2023 20:23:50    2499617

Replying To ZUL10:  "Wise up man. Do you really think managers and current players would ever want to change anything while they are involved? The game is bigger than those playing the game right now. People calling for change are genuinely concerned about the integrity of the game and they include many ex players. Mangers will blame refs all day before recommending a rule change. All teams are throwing and some are better than others at it so why complain."
Then in whose interest should the rules be changed?

Are you not subliminally suggesting perhaps that if the rule was changed then teams might have a better chance of beating Limerick?

(And yes, i know Clare beat Limerick even if no-one else recalls that now :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 09/08/2023 10:11:33    2499654

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Then in whose interest should the rules be changed?

Are you not subliminally suggesting perhaps that if the rule was changed then teams might have a better chance of beating Limerick?

(And yes, i know Clare beat Limerick even if no-one else recalls that now :-)"
In the interests of lads who like the ball pinging aimlessly around back and forwards up and down the pitch. Because that's the old fashioned way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 09/08/2023 10:22:28    2499663

Replying To ZUL10:  "Wise up man. Do you really think managers and current players would ever want to change anything while they are involved? The game is bigger than those playing the game right now. People calling for change are genuinely concerned about the integrity of the game and they include many ex players. Mangers will blame refs all day before recommending a rule change. All teams are throwing and some are better than others at it so why complain."
Can you give examples of this throwing your talking about.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 09/08/2023 14:03:18    2499731

Fully agree with you,the only ones giving out are the pundits who have to make a living and the anti Limerick crowd,the vast majority and talking about the people I meet in my line of work are from across our island aren't talking about it.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 09/08/2023 14:07:50    2499734

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Play the feckin ball out of the ruck on the ground with your big effn stick.
Hurling is meant to be a stick and ball game not a handball game.
Of course refs could be more active in stopping rucks developing by throwing iy in between TWO players as per rule, not 23 as they let happen."
What hurling are you watching,the stick is used so much now,I honestly don't think you know what your on about,what games were better back then Vs now,you could probably pick a couple magic players,as a Limerick man cregan Vs Galway in the 80's,the game now is 30+ skillful hurlers

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 09/08/2023 14:13:22    2499736

Replying To cityman73:  "What hurling are you watching,the stick is used so much now,I honestly don't think you know what your on about,what games were better back then Vs now,you could probably pick a couple magic players,as a Limerick man cregan Vs Galway in the 80's,the game now is 30+ skillful hurlers"
If they're that skilful why do they need to throw the ******* ball?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 09/08/2023 16:33:43    2499781

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Then in whose interest should the rules be changed?

(And yes, i know Clare beat Limerick even if no-one else recalls that now :-)"
In the interest of the future of the game!
Not sure why you brought Limerick into this. My issue is with all teams at every grade. All you need to do is look at Gaelic football and thats where we are headed with hurling. The number of hand passes is increasing year on year and as a skill its simply too easy to execute. Why not just allow the throw altogether? Dont fool ourselves into thinking theres some sort of magic in releasing a small ball in a sling type motion, space or no space.
Anyone who needs to see examples of throws is either blind or burying their head in the sand!

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 09/08/2023 17:20:29    2499790

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "If they're that skilful why do they need to throw the ******* ball?"
If they are fouling the ball ley the Ref will deal and he is a lot nearer the action than you ever were. Anyway they have beaten every opponent they met on the last four finals by an average of just under ten points, so have to be a brilliant team

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 09/08/2023 19:19:10    2499799

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "If they're that skilful why do they need to throw the ******* ball?"
Give us exact examples of the throws you keep talking about?

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 10/08/2023 02:08:42    2499820

Replying To Limerick2018:  "Give us exact examples of the throws you keep talking about?"
Around 20 per game on average.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 10/08/2023 12:45:55    2499879

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Around 20 per game on average."
I watch well over a hundred games a year and have never seen 1 with 20 throws in it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 10/08/2023 14:38:47    2499903

Replying To Viking66:  "I watch well over a hundred games a year and have never seen 1 with 20 throws in it."
I suppose you pretend they're handpasses like the rest of the hurling fraternity

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 10/08/2023 15:14:44    2499914

Most common throw is when a player is under pressure and/or bottled up. His hand comes up, and almost inevitably he can't get the force behind his hand.
Should be clear sight between every ball and hand for me.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 10/08/2023 15:17:48    2499916

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "I suppose you pretend they're handpasses like the rest of the hurling fraternity"
No but I don't sit off 100 yards away and assume they are throws like you seem to. I went to Specsavers. And as I said I see well over 100 hurling games a year and haven't seen 1 yet with 20 obvious throws in it. Maybe as another poster suggested name 1 game with 20 throws in it and state the times these throws took place. And I'll look at it. Until then I think you are talking #####.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 10/08/2023 16:31:48    2499943

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Most common throw is when a player is under pressure and/or bottled up. His hand comes up, and almost inevitably he can't get the force behind his hand.
Should be clear sight between every ball and hand for me."
Often times there is clear separation in those overhead handpasses though. They aren't all throws as some on here seem to be assuming.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 10/08/2023 16:32:48    2499944