All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Joxer you do like to exaggerate a little.Jack was fouled around the shoulder once a bit rough and once very soft but both frees given.The John Small incident that Fitzmaurice referred to was a sliding tackle by Morley (who got the ball but tackle illegal) and knocked John Small.Free given to Dublin and yellow card issued.Shortly afterwards James McCarthy does a sliding tackle on a Kerry player and knocked Kerry player .Free given to Kerry but NO yellow card issued.Now the Kerry player was nt nearly decapitated and nor was John Small.In fact it was the legs that were hit and not even near the head.Now the reason sliding tackles are dangerous is its possible to break someone s leg but decapitation I really doubt but at least you gave me a laugh Joxer."
Ha, Mick. I exaggerated deliberately to get the laugh. If you read my post in the context of responding to the spam poster Sparky1 (second account of one of the anti-Dub WUMs) you'll see why. I think Jack was caught high twice by Paudi Clifford maybe. I'd have to see it again but looked dangerous. I wouldn't have wanted a player sent off from either team on final day. Both of these counties are used to the rough and tumble.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 10/08/2023 14:38:50    2499904

Replying To Joxer:  "Ha, Mick. I exaggerated deliberately to get the laugh. If you read my post in the context of responding to the spam poster Sparky1 (second account of one of the anti-Dub WUMs) you'll see why. I think Jack was caught high twice by Paudi Clifford maybe. I'd have to see it again but looked dangerous. I wouldn't have wanted a player sent off from either team on final day. Both of these counties are used to the rough and tumble."
You hit, pardon the pun, on a very good point there Joxer.

It was clear that the man in the middle really didnt want to have to send off any player in the All Ireland Final - hence his leniency on some tackles.

Kerry are very well able to dish it out, always have been, similar to Dublin.
I think the match overall was reffed very well, and the result reflected the better team that won.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 10/08/2023 14:57:11    2499910

Replying To Joxer:  "Ha, Mick. I exaggerated deliberately to get the laugh. If you read my post in the context of responding to the spam poster Sparky1 (second account of one of the anti-Dub WUMs) you'll see why. I think Jack was caught high twice by Paudi Clifford maybe. I'd have to see it again but looked dangerous. I wouldn't have wanted a player sent off from either team on final day. Both of these counties are used to the rough and tumble."
I was thinking you were Joxer and had a laugh tbf..Agree I too would nt like to have seen someone sent off unless it was for a decapitation lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 10/08/2023 14:58:05    2499911

Replying To Fionn:  "LOL

John went down very heavily from the throw in last night v Boden.
Many another player would not have got back up and played so well after it.
Tough lad alright.

I dont think he gets enough praise tbh - this year he was very strong throughout the season.
Gets a lot of bad press, but for me, he would be one of those who starts every game without question."
Definitely. He's a rock and every team needs an enforcer. We've had Ger B, Keith Barr, Eamo, Magee, Mullins, McCarthy. John just goes about his business quietly. Picks up too many cards for my liking but it comes with the role. He's on the starting sheet, always.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 10/08/2023 17:30:37    2499963

Replying To Sparky1:  "Hi,after this year's All-Ireland football final,the need for further technologies like a TMO is badly needed.The game itself was entertaining in itself to the end and was decided by a fairly narrow margin.

There was a lot of very dubious decisions made by the referee during the game.

1.James Mc Carthy had at least 5 yellow card offences and received one yellow card.One incident where he elbowed the Kerry player Sean O'Shea,in the jaw and didn't receive a booking.Mind boggling to be honest.Whereas footage on TV clearly shows it warranted at least a yellow card.If a TMO was in place,I'm sure it would have been made more clearer to the referee the nature of this tackle and how dangerous it was.After no action was taken McCarthy repeatly fouled after this incident and received only one booking.

2.Cormac Costello's punch to the midriff of Tom O'Sullivan,which winded the player seriously,may have also warranted more serious action.

3.Colm Basquel's knee high tackle on Shane Ryan early on in the game,which again was highly dangerous and Basquel goes down feinting injury.

The above are only a few incidents where the dark arts are still prevalent in our games and have to be cleared up to protect our players of possible serious injury.Are we now promoting athletism and sheer muscle strength to win games at all costs.Flair players are being driven out of our game because they are not being protected by the referee.

If a TMO was in place guaranteed there would have been sendings off in the game.It would have irradiated a lot of the off the ball incidents,would have made for a cleaner game where football would have been the winner,and would also have been a more entertaining spectacle.Rugby and soccer have moved to newer technologies which have no doubt improved the games with a lot of the foul play eliminated.

This is a serious elephant in the room regarding our games and we have to move with the times to help the referee officiate better and eliminate this foul play which is not attractive in our games.Finally there was a post recently by a former Sunday game analyst praising Dublin's warrior approach to the game.I have no issues at all when playing the game tough and fair,but when it borders on serious foulplay with players getting off with no punishments,this is definitely not within the spirit of the game and should be stamped out.

Regards

Sparky 1"
Worst effort at a troll account ever :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 10/08/2023 20:19:49    2499991

Replying To sligo joe:  "Just a few positives for Dubs going forward. Howard after a winter away and missing the league slowly came back to his best, expect a big season from Brian next year. Murchan's season messed up with injury, again if injury free can hit new heights. Jack, if he stays on(and he seems to be enjoying it) will be getting more than 20mins a game. Lee Gannon, improving all the time, hasn't peaked yet.
Colm Basquel can now throw the shackles off, any doubts he had, surely dispelled. Also Paddy Small and Cormac, getting better year on year.
Bugler will be hungry to make up for missing the final.
As regards McCarthy, Fitzy and Cluxton, maybe they'll stay, I think Fitzsimmons and McCaffrey must find the demands heavy when combined with medical careers.
I do believe that Dublin and indeed Mayo of 4 or 5 years ago have moved back towards the rest but I expect Dublin '24 to be some percentage points stronger than this year's team."
I know youth isn't on their side but there must be a temptation for the three players with 9 AI winner medals to stay on and go for the 'perfect 10' . Unlike some other 'sweeper keepers' Cluxton is much more economical , advancing only to intercept over hit passes. Can see him being effective until he is 45. His place kicking, restarts and reassuring presence has a calming effect badly missed in the first half of the 2022 semi final. McCarthy and Fitzsimons had a better year than most , both still making a valuable contribution. Can see Jack, Bugler and Kilkenny being regular starters next year. Of all the senior players I think Dean Rock is the most likely to step away, operating very much on the fringes with Cormac Costello's pace and accuracy putting him in pole position. Having said that Dean was involved in the last two scores to seal the win.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 10/08/2023 22:46:37    2500002

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I was thinking you were Joxer and had a laugh tbf..Agree I too would nt like to have seen someone sent off unless it was for a decapitation lol."
I have to say the only person talking any sense is Ciarrai Mick.Whats more yee should be doing at least 10 in row,biggest population,massive pick,ginormous funding.How can you expect other counties to compete,for example Fermanagh tiny population.Wake up and smell the roses,the game is heavily biast and has been for a long time.And as a neutral watching the game Clifford kicked four wides from scorable positions and Kerry had a total of 9 wides.Kerry didn't take their chances,Dublin did,that's the game in a nutshell.On another point,would it not be great for the game if another county would emerge from the pack and win an all-ireland.This is what the game needs not dominance from traditional counties,we need change to help the weaker counties and this has to start from the top brass down. Disillusioned GAA supporter

Sparky1 (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 10/08/2023 23:41:04    2500005

This thread is getting exhausting and should be retired as the blue bellies are over indulging in getting one over on the rest of the counties and GAA people who differ in outlook from themselves. To be honest the Dubs are getting really irritating and making the rest of us to hope their blue bubble bursts come 2024.

Up4it. (Tyrone) - Posts: 198 - 11/08/2023 09:45:52    2500013

Replying To Sparky1:  "Hi,after this year's All-Ireland football final,the need for further technologies like a TMO is badly needed.The game itself was entertaining in itself to the end and was decided by a fairly narrow margin.

There was a lot of very dubious decisions made by the referee during the game.

1.James Mc Carthy had at least 5 yellow card offences and received one yellow card.One incident where he elbowed the Kerry player Sean O'Shea,in the jaw and didn't receive a booking.Mind boggling to be honest.Whereas footage on TV clearly shows it warranted at least a yellow card.If a TMO was in place,I'm sure it would have been made more clearer to the referee the nature of this tackle and how dangerous it was.After no action was taken McCarthy repeatly fouled after this incident and received only one booking.

2.Cormac Costello's punch to the midriff of Tom O'Sullivan,which winded the player seriously,may have also warranted more serious action.

3.Colm Basquel's knee high tackle on Shane Ryan early on in the game,which again was highly dangerous and Basquel goes down feinting injury.

The above are only a few incidents where the dark arts are still prevalent in our games and have to be cleared up to protect our players of possible serious injury.Are we now promoting athletism and sheer muscle strength to win games at all costs.Flair players are being driven out of our game because they are not being protected by the referee.

If a TMO was in place guaranteed there would have been sendings off in the game.It would have irradiated a lot of the off the ball incidents,would have made for a cleaner game where football would have been the winner,and would also have been a more entertaining spectacle.Rugby and soccer have moved to newer technologies which have no doubt improved the games with a lot of the foul play eliminated.

This is a serious elephant in the room regarding our games and we have to move with the times to help the referee officiate better and eliminate this foul play which is not attractive in our games.Finally there was a post recently by a former Sunday game analyst praising Dublin's warrior approach to the game.I have no issues at all when playing the game tough and fair,but when it borders on serious foulplay with players getting off with no punishments,this is definitely not within the spirit of the game and should be stamped out.

Regards

Sparky 1"
Just as a matter of interest Sparky, did you notice any Kerry player committing even one foul? Something like Shane Ryan's tackle on Shane mcguigan in semi final, perhaps!

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 210 - 11/08/2023 10:10:24    2500014

Replying To realdub:  "Worst effort at a troll account ever :D"
Did you see his 2nd post - ah here.... remember the last poster who was saying about us doing 10 in a row, due to population and funding etc and then disappeared,... looks like we have a phoenix amongst us....

Proceeds to go on about Kerry whilst appearing to be from Dublin... ;o) lol

And Disillusioned - more like Delusional..... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 11/08/2023 10:34:26    2500022

Replying To Sparky1:  "I have to say the only person talking any sense is Ciarrai Mick.Whats more yee should be doing at least 10 in row,biggest population,massive pick,ginormous funding.How can you expect other counties to compete,for example Fermanagh tiny population.Wake up and smell the roses,the game is heavily biast and has been for a long time.And as a neutral watching the game Clifford kicked four wides from scorable positions and Kerry had a total of 9 wides.Kerry didn't take their chances,Dublin did,that's the game in a nutshell.On another point,would it not be great for the game if another county would emerge from the pack and win an all-ireland.This is what the game needs not dominance from traditional counties,we need change to help the weaker counties and this has to start from the top brass down. Disillusioned GAA supporter"
Ah thanks Sparky for the kinds words but I'm afraid I can't repay the compliment as I don't agree with you. Also it's quite obvious you are trying to upset Dub posters while trying to give the impression you are from Kerry while claiming to be neutral. You are a very poor Wum as normally it might take 7 or 8 posts to suss someone but you are obvious from the start and you forgot to tell us what neutral place you are supposed to be from.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 11/08/2023 12:03:41    2500042

Replying To Up4it.:  "This thread is getting exhausting and should be retired as the blue bellies are over indulging in getting one over on the rest of the counties and GAA people who differ in outlook from themselves. To be honest the Dubs are getting really irritating and making the rest of us to hope their blue bubble bursts come 2024."
Another new WUM poster trying to niggle the Dubs. If I was to hazard a guess I'd say that Soarky, this guy and one of our more resident WUMs are very closely related. More accounts than Ansbacher. Keep trying lad.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 11/08/2023 12:30:32    2500051

Replying To Up4it.:  "This thread is getting exhausting and should be retired as the blue bellies are over indulging in getting one over on the rest of the counties and GAA people who differ in outlook from themselves. To be honest the Dubs are getting really irritating and making the rest of us to hope their blue bubble bursts come 2024."
Should try harder :-)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 11/08/2023 14:56:29    2500091

Our bubble burst last year :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 11/08/2023 21:57:52    2500126

Replying To Fionn:  "Did you see his 2nd post - ah here.... remember the last poster who was saying about us doing 10 in a row, due to population and funding etc and then disappeared,... looks like we have a phoenix amongst us....

Proceeds to go on about Kerry whilst appearing to be from Dublin... ;o) lol

And Disillusioned - more like Delusional..... ;o)"
Ah stop will ye :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 11/08/2023 22:00:58    2500127

just shut them up then by tyrone winning the next 3 in a row !!! simple, o wait ye are not good enough! woops sorry

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2850 - 18/08/2023 21:38:10    2501245

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "just shut them up then by tyrone winning the next 3 in a row !!! simple, o wait ye are not good enough! woops sorry"
100 years and counting for Wexford( with a capital W) and the wins ye did have were when London were a top team.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 21/08/2023 13:33:38    2501598

Has Kildare anything better to offer as manager than Glen Ryan? He comes across as being years behind the scene with a defeatist attitude. Perhaps, because he never won much himself.

Honestly, I don't think he's good for the county.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1943 - 24/08/2023 01:45:42    2502003

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Has Kildare anything better to offer as manager than Glen Ryan? He comes across as being years behind the scene with a defeatist attitude. Perhaps, because he never won much himself.

Honestly, I don't think he's good for the county."
He can be an annoying so and so and comes across as a bad loser, but he is well thought of as former outstanding centre half, and his management record is as good or bad as anyone else outside of the obvious ones.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 24/08/2023 10:49:41    2502036

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Has Kildare anything better to offer as manager than Glen Ryan? He comes across as being years behind the scene with a defeatist attitude. Perhaps, because he never won much himself.

Honestly, I don't think he's good for the county."
Does it really matter? Kildare will play second or 3rd fiddle to Dublin for years to come. Dublin will continue to dominate Leinster, pretty much like Celtic rule Scottish football.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 233 - 24/08/2023 21:13:51    2502145