All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To TheFlaker:  "A couple of the lads on here acting as if Dublin are the only team who thought about how to stop Clifford and now it will be copied. Lads enjoy the win but jaysus don't be talking mince. Sure he was even quieter against Tyrone. If he has the shooting boots on he would have finished with 8 or 9 from play. That's the fine margins we are talking about. He isn't going to shoot the lights out everyday. Talk about over analysis."
A bit like every team thinking about winning an All Ireland, as you know more then most, a lot counties will go out and think about it, but thats different to actually going out and doing it. ;)

Elite players tip the balance like Cluxton! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 06/08/2023 18:25:43    2499271

Replying To TheUsername:  "A bit like every team thinking about winning an All Ireland, as you know more then most, a lot counties will go out and think about it, but thats different to actually going out and doing it. ;)

Elite players tip the balance like Cluxton! :D"
Sorry but you are talking rubbish here. Clifford has had worse games than against you and posters claiming Dublin cracked it is just nonsense. You are only seeing what you want to see. Enjoy the well deserved win without creating a myth.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 06/08/2023 19:01:54    2499277

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Sorry but you are talking rubbish here. Clifford has had worse games than against you and posters claiming Dublin cracked it is just nonsense. You are only seeing what you want to see. Enjoy the well deserved win without creating a myth."
Flaker, I think you have a point when you say Clifford has had worse games. Indeed in his last 6 "knock out" championship games he has averaged under 3 points a game from play(1-14 from 6) so when you suggest Dublin didn't reinvent the wheel by keeping him to 2 from play I agree. Suggesting he could have scored 8 or 9 though, is in your own words "mince". He hasn't the form in knock-out championship to suggest that.
Where Dublin did do a job on him was not letting him drift into space to collect a couple of handy marks which is one of his trade marks! He was never allowed that liberty last week.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 687 - 06/08/2023 19:47:38    2499284

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Sorry but you are talking rubbish here. Clifford has had worse games than against you and posters claiming Dublin cracked it is just nonsense. You are only seeing what you want to see. Enjoy the well deserved win without creating a myth."
To be honest, you were on the Dublin forum in Spring saying how Cluxton returning was going to undermine the Dublin Squad this year, it doesn't matter what you think to be honest, your knowledge and analysis of the game isn't great, consistently poor and ultimately irrelevant.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 06/08/2023 20:40:33    2499295

Replying To TheUsername:  "To be honest, you were on the Dublin forum in Spring saying how Cluxton returning was going to undermine the Dublin Squad this year, it doesn't matter what you think to be honest, your knowledge and analysis of the game isn't great, consistently poor and ultimately irrelevant."
Lol consistently poor? Name another time. Also straight after the game I congratulated Dublin, said I was wrong about the Cluxton thing and said I was delighted for Dessie Farrell. Which I genuinely am. But again please point out where I am consistently wrong.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 06/08/2023 22:19:39    2499315

Replying To sligo joe:  "Flaker, I think you have a point when you say Clifford has had worse games. Indeed in his last 6 "knock out" championship games he has averaged under 3 points a game from play(1-14 from 6) so when you suggest Dublin didn't reinvent the wheel by keeping him to 2 from play I agree. Suggesting he could have scored 8 or 9 though, is in your own words "mince". He hasn't the form in knock-out championship to suggest that.
Where Dublin did do a job on him was not letting him drift into space to collect a couple of handy marks which is one of his trade marks! He was never allowed that liberty last week."
I think a few teams will have learned how do deal with him a bit better after this year tbh.

Look, he is a super player so we dont need people getting over protective about it when people comment on him, but as you say, 1-14 from play in 6 knockout games this year shows he is not super human after all.
I wasnt actually aware of that stat tbh.

Cutting the supply to him is the key - and people under estimate the positioning sense on Mick Fitz on him during the final. DC will win most one on ones, but positioning yourself and cutting the supply is the key imo.

Also, posters claiming that the rain affects his game - nonsense - for a player proclaimed to be the Greatest of ALL Time, to suffer when it rains.... ah here... rubbish.

A GOAT should be just that - no matter what the weather.... I think the myth of him ALREADY being the Goat, has been dispelled, for the moment at least.

Anyway, not sure why this topic has become all about DC - deflecting from their teams performance imo, and this is the problem with this Kerry team - seems to be ALL about DC....

Another guy SOS - doenst score enough from play, so keep these 2 relatively quiet and you have more than half way there.

Next year will be very interesting.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 07/08/2023 11:03:11    2499345

Replying To TheUsername:  "A bit like every team thinking about winning an All Ireland, as you know more then most, a lot counties will go out and think about it, but thats different to actually going out and doing it. ;)

Elite players tip the balance like Cluxton! :D"
Handy wedge from GAA (most on per capita and absolute basis) tips the balance as well as fundamentally changing things. Like 1 in 80s, 1 in 90s, 0 in 2000/10 then 9 in 13. :D, :D, :D

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 07/08/2023 12:07:58    2499356

Replying To Fionn:  "I think a few teams will have learned how do deal with him a bit better after this year tbh.

Look, he is a super player so we dont need people getting over protective about it when people comment on him, but as you say, 1-14 from play in 6 knockout games this year shows he is not super human after all.
I wasnt actually aware of that stat tbh.

Cutting the supply to him is the key - and people under estimate the positioning sense on Mick Fitz on him during the final. DC will win most one on ones, but positioning yourself and cutting the supply is the key imo.

Also, posters claiming that the rain affects his game - nonsense - for a player proclaimed to be the Greatest of ALL Time, to suffer when it rains.... ah here... rubbish.

A GOAT should be just that - no matter what the weather.... I think the myth of him ALREADY being the Goat, has been dispelled, for the moment at least.

Anyway, not sure why this topic has become all about DC - deflecting from their teams performance imo, and this is the problem with this Kerry team - seems to be ALL about DC....

Another guy SOS - doenst score enough from play, so keep these 2 relatively quiet and you have more than half way there.

Next year will be very interesting....."
Great post Fionn. The same is true of Dublin. Take James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton and Mick Fitzsimons out of it and Dublin are not the same force. Father Time is well on his way to taking those three truly great players out and Father Time is the one opponent you can't beat. This is now an aging Dublin team whose best players and leaders are all thirty and over. As you say next year will be very interesting. I'm already looking forward to it.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 07/08/2023 12:39:28    2499363

Replying To cavanman47:  "But it's not a myth. How can it be??

The money started pouring into Dublin GAA in 2004.

Since then they've dominated Leinster like never before, caught up with Kerry, Tyrone, etc. and stayed ahead of them, won an unprecedented 6 in a row, changed pretty much their entire squad (bar the 3 9-time winners) and still stayed at the top.

Take Kerry, the next best, in contrast and look how long their transition took. 8 years between the last win of the Gooch, Donaghy, O'Sheas team and the first of Clifford's.

Money has got Dublin to where they are, kept them there, and will continue to keep them there indefinitely."
LOL. The class of 2011 were well developed by 2004. The stars of that 2011 team were aged
Cluxton 29
Alan Brogan 29
Bernard Brogan 27
Paul Flynn 25
Diarmuid Connolly 24
Kevin Mac 25
Cian O'Sullivan 24
Ger Brennan 26

To state that these players, who were hammered by 17 points just two years previously by Kerry, somehow turned into the greatest team of all time as a result of extra funding in 2004 is one of the most ridiculous suggestions that I've ever seen posted and this forum and I'm here since the very early days.

Sure maybe the hurlers get no money so. Dublin could easily have lost 4 of those 6. Dublin didn't "catch up" with Kerry and Tyrone. Both countys lost golden generations as Dublin were rising. This happens every decade or so. Kerry are on the rise now. Granted Dublin had the sting of a dying wasp this year but our squad is aging. Yes we've witnessed the greatest squad to ever play the game but the backbone of that squad was developed well before Sean Kelly signed off on extra funding for developing the game in the fast growing population of the capital.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 07/08/2023 21:02:51    2499429

Replying To Greengrass:  "Great post Fionn. The same is true of Dublin. Take James McCarthy, Stephen Cluxton and Mick Fitzsimons out of it and Dublin are not the same force. Father Time is well on his way to taking those three truly great players out and Father Time is the one opponent you can't beat. This is now an aging Dublin team whose best players and leaders are all thirty and over. As you say next year will be very interesting. I'm already looking forward to it."
Just a few positives for Dubs going forward. Howard after a winter away and missing the league slowly came back to his best, expect a big season from Brian next year. Murchan's season messed up with injury, again if injury free can hit new heights. Jack, if he stays on(and he seems to be enjoying it) will be getting more than 20mins a game. Lee Gannon, improving all the time, hasn't peaked yet.
Colm Basquel can now throw the shackles off, any doubts he had, surely dispelled. Also Paddy Small and Cormac, getting better year on year.
Bugler will be hungry to make up for missing the final.
As regards McCarthy, Fitzy and Cluxton, maybe they'll stay, I think Fitzsimmons and McCaffrey must find the demands heavy when combined with medical careers.
I do believe that Dublin and indeed Mayo of 4 or 5 years ago have moved back towards the rest but I expect Dublin '24 to be some percentage points stronger than this year's team.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 687 - 07/08/2023 21:02:59    2499430

Hi,after this year's All-Ireland football final,the need for further technologies like a TMO is badly needed.The game itself was entertaining in itself to the end and was decided by a fairly narrow margin.

There was a lot of very dubious decisions made by the referee during the game.

1.James Mc Carthy had at least 5 yellow card offences and received one yellow card.One incident where he elbowed the Kerry player Sean O'Shea,in the jaw and didn't receive a booking.Mind boggling to be honest.Whereas footage on TV clearly shows it warranted at least a yellow card.If a TMO was in place,I'm sure it would have been made more clearer to the referee the nature of this tackle and how dangerous it was.After no action was taken McCarthy repeatly fouled after this incident and received only one booking.

2.Cormac Costello's punch to the midriff of Tom O'Sullivan,which winded the player seriously,may have also warranted more serious action.

3.Colm Basquel's knee high tackle on Shane Ryan early on in the game,which again was highly dangerous and Basquel goes down feinting injury.

The above are only a few incidents where the dark arts are still prevalent in our games and have to be cleared up to protect our players of possible serious injury.Are we now promoting athletism and sheer muscle strength to win games at all costs.Flair players are being driven out of our game because they are not being protected by the referee.

If a TMO was in place guaranteed there would have been sendings off in the game.It would have irradiated a lot of the off the ball incidents,would have made for a cleaner game where football would have been the winner,and would also have been a more entertaining spectacle.Rugby and soccer have moved to newer technologies which have no doubt improved the games with a lot of the foul play eliminated.

This is a serious elephant in the room regarding our games and we have to move with the times to help the referee officiate better and eliminate this foul play which is not attractive in our games.Finally there was a post recently by a former Sunday game analyst praising Dublin's warrior approach to the game.I have no issues at all when playing the game tough and fair,but when it borders on serious foulplay with players getting off with no punishments,this is definitely not within the spirit of the game and should be stamped out.

Regards

Sparky 1

Sparky1 (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 09/08/2023 12:03:13    2499697

Replying To Sparky1:  "Hi,after this year's All-Ireland football final,the need for further technologies like a TMO is badly needed.The game itself was entertaining in itself to the end and was decided by a fairly narrow margin.

1.James Mc Carthy had at least 5 yellow card offences and received one yellow card.One incident where he elbowed the Kerry player Sean O'Shea,in the jaw and didn't receive a booking.Mind boggling to be honest.Whereas footage on TV clearly shows it warranted at least a yellow card.If a TMO was in place,I'm sure it would have been made more clearer to the referee the nature of this tackle and how dangerous it was.After no action was taken McCarthy repeatly fouled after this incident and received only one booking.

2.Cormac Costello's punch to the midriff of Tom O'Sullivan,which winded the player seriously,may have also warranted more serious action.

3.Colm Basquel's knee high tackle on Shane Ryan early on in the game,which again was highly dangerous and Basquel goes down feinting injury.

The above are only a few incidents where the dark arts are still prevalent in our games and have to be cleared up to protect our players of possible serious injury.Are we now promoting athletism and sheer muscle strength to win games at all costs.Flair players are being driven out of our game because they are not being protected by the referee.

If a TMO was in place guaranteed there would have been sendings off in the game.It would have irradiated a lot of the off the ball incidents,would have made for a cleaner game where football would have been the winner,and would also have been a more entertaining spectacle.Rugby and soccer have moved to newer technologies which have no doubt improved the games with a lot of the foul play eliminated.

This is a serious elephant in the room regarding our games and we have to move with the times to help the referee officiate better and eliminate this foul play which is not attractive in our games.Finally there was a post recently by a former Sunday game analyst praising Dublin's warrior approach to the game.I have no issues at all when playing the game tough and fair,but when it borders on serious foulplay with players getting off with no punishments,this is definitely not within the spirit of the game and should be stamped out.

Regards

Sparky 1"
Indeed, Kerry would not be used to that sort of roughness,,,,,

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 09/08/2023 12:42:41    2499704

Replying To Sparky1:  "Hi,after this year's All-Ireland football final,the need for further technologies like a TMO is badly needed.The game itself was entertaining in itself to the end and was decided by a fairly narrow margin.

Regards

Sparky 1"
Hmmm. New poster "from Dublin" claiming that 3 Dubs should have been sent off in the AI Final. LOL. Did he not miss any Kerry infringements? Is that you Kingdomboy? Greasy pitch, greasy surface, fast paced intense, physical game. Jack McCaffrey (twice) and John Small were nearly decapitated but as Fitzmaurice himself said, they don't do theatrics in Ballymun.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 09/08/2023 12:59:27    2499712

Replying To Joxer:  "Hmmm. New poster "from Dublin" claiming that 3 Dubs should have been sent off in the AI Final. LOL. Did he not miss any Kerry infringements? Is that you Kingdomboy? Greasy pitch, greasy surface, fast paced intense, physical game. Jack McCaffrey (twice) and John Small were nearly decapitated but as Fitzmaurice himself said, they don't do theatrics in Ballymun."
Exactly - another WUM I suspect - and that was his FIRST post.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 09/08/2023 14:34:18    2499742

Regards

Sparky 1"
Yeah. Sure in big games in Croke Park, a referee, 2 linesmen, a sideline official, 4 umpires, Hawkeye and Hawkeye operators, to help officiate the game, sure why not spend even more money on a TMO and the technology needed for that?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 09/08/2023 14:46:39    2499746

I see nothing has changed here lads!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/08/2023 16:09:20    2499772

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Yeah. Sure in big games in Croke Park, a referee, 2 linesmen, a sideline official, 4 umpires, Hawkeye and Hawkeye operators, to help officiate the game, sure why not spend even more money on a TMO and the technology needed for that?"
Seriously I would be all for a tmo or a video ref but for scores wides 45 s etc and maybe line balls. It would be much cheaper than hawkeye that has failed on a few occasions. Let the ref deal with the players but but a video ref would be great for the tight calls.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 09/08/2023 16:43:21    2499783

Replying To Jackeen:  "I see nothing has changed here lads!"
Up da bleeding Dubs Jackeen!

Plus ça change mon amie!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 09/08/2023 20:37:30    2499808

Replying To Joxer:  "Hmmm. New poster "from Dublin" claiming that 3 Dubs should have been sent off in the AI Final. LOL. Did he not miss any Kerry infringements? Is that you Kingdomboy? Greasy pitch, greasy surface, fast paced intense, physical game. Jack McCaffrey (twice) and John Small were nearly decapitated but as Fitzmaurice himself said, they don't do theatrics in Ballymun."
Joxer you do like to exaggerate a little.Jack was fouled around the shoulder once a bit rough and once very soft but both frees given.The John Small incident that Fitzmaurice referred to was a sliding tackle by Morley (who got the ball but tackle illegal) and knocked John Small.Free given to Dublin and yellow card issued.Shortly afterwards James McCarthy does a sliding tackle on a Kerry player and knocked Kerry player .Free given to Kerry but NO yellow card issued.Now the Kerry player was nt nearly decapitated and nor was John Small.In fact it was the legs that were hit and not even near the head.Now the reason sliding tackles are dangerous is its possible to break someone s leg but decapitation I really doubt but at least you gave me a laugh Joxer.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 10/08/2023 10:51:40    2499846

LOL

John went down very heavily from the throw in last night v Boden.
Many another player would not have got back up and played so well after it.
Tough lad alright.

I dont think he gets enough praise tbh - this year he was very strong throughout the season.
Gets a lot of bad press, but for me, he would be one of those who starts every game without question.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 10/08/2023 14:34:39    2499898