All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Just wanted to give my opinion on recurring posts here that are being debated. Firstly I thought overall Gough was excellent considering the stakes and the conditions. Should Mccarthy have got the line? Yes he should have but once he didn't book him for that first high challenge it wasn't going to happen.

Secondly Fitzsimmons was very good and has been one of the best defenders in the modern era but people on here are acting as if Clifford didn't get a sniff and he had him in his pocket. He got 2 from play and won a 2 or 3 frees that led to scores. The radar was off and on any other day Clifford kicks the 3 or 4 he missed and suddenly the narrative is Clifford roasts his man and gets player of the year. Very fine margins.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 01/08/2023 10:25:28    2498285

Replying To Sindar:  "You must really hate the Dubs! One thing for sure is that you know absolutely nothing about how to referee a game. Outstanding referee"
I'd say you must be a referee yourself Sindar or you have a great fondness for one… Gough gave all the marginal decisions to Dublin and McCarthy should have been off for persistent fouling…and didn't play the full allotted injury time .. no the sign of an outstanding referee…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2023 10:32:33    2498288

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Tá súil agam nach bhfuil tú ag tabhairt sóirt masla dom!"
Ní bhacaim le sórtachas ná tada dá leithéid! Buillí glana ó chroí na baise…

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1844 - 01/08/2023 10:33:12    2498289

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Well then it's a silly rule… he booked both players but Kerry were penalised because he made a wrong call… Why did he consult the umpire…? Because Fitz asked him to…? Why did he not consult the umpire in the same manner in the first half..? Bad refereeing.. He also gave a free in to Dublin for nothing in the last minute and then blew up before the full injury time was played…. I wonder does he or you know the rules..?"
You started out really trying not to let your bias come through, but now you're just making things up.
Clifford and Fitzsimons were both fouling each other. The replay showed it as clear as day. The ref saw a foul on Clifford, so he stopped the game and awarded a free. The umpire confirmed that Clifford also fouled, the replay showed he pulled back Fitzsimons first. So he awarded a hop ball, absolutely correct.
The last free was for an arm around the neck. It was as obvious a free as you'll get. I haven't seen it questioned by anyone except you.
Time for a refresher of the rule book for you, including the 'silly' rules.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2065 - 01/08/2023 10:44:42    2498296

Replying To Aoife1234:  "Is it time to have a conversation about increasing the length of matches? I know with added time games often end up being de facto 40 minutes or so a half. But should we formalise things and increase halves to 2 x 40? Players will surely have the physical conditioning to do it. And it might help to stretch tight games. Good games in particular seem to go by too quickly. We're 40 minute halves tried previously?"
Are you smoking something…? You want game time increased when 90% of what's on offer is almost impossible to watch…. There wasn't 3 good games the whole year and you want people to be put through another 10 minutes of torture..? There definitely needs to be something done to change the dire quality of entertainment on offer in football but adding time to the length of games is the last thing we need at the moment… unless you fancy an extra 10 minutes asleep..!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2023 10:58:00    2498302

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I'd say you must be a referee yourself Sindar or you have a great fondness for one… Gough gave all the marginal decisions to Dublin and McCarthy should have been off for persistent fouling…and didn't play the full allotted injury time .. no the sign of an outstanding referee…"
I am a ref. Never hid that fact. Club level only. (Not in Roscommon in case anyone is trying to figure me out) Started only when I finished playing which was too late to move up. I wouldn't have had the temperment anyway.

Can't imagine the pressure a ref is under in an AI Final with 80+ thousand 'expreasing' their opinions, other officials in his ear giving information and players testing him to the limit. Add in all the gamesmanship, the pre and post match media and social media which he can't avoid and we may be a little more understanding and appreciative of that level of excellence.
Those refs are at a different level and I've met a few them or been on workshops with them. James Owens is one who stands out. Such a level of calmness on and off the field but will never be forgiven in KK for sending Richie Hogan off in an AI Final.
Conor Lane made an error in 2021 and he was completely vilified after it. The list goes on. Part of the job you can say.

And they are all amateurs. Just like the players, they have to earn a crust the following week and go back to their families. Some of them with young kids going to school who have to listen to their dad being unfairly criticised.
I'm not saying refs should be free from criticism but it would be so much better if it was well informed. And I haven't read anything in this forum that could be considered abuse towards refs.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 01/08/2023 11:18:48    2498307

Replying To Sindar:  "I am a ref. Never hid that fact. Club level only. (Not in Roscommon in case anyone is trying to figure me out) Started only when I finished playing which was too late to move up. I wouldn't have had the temperment anyway.

Can't imagine the pressure a ref is under in an AI Final with 80+ thousand 'expreasing' their opinions, other officials in his ear giving information and players testing him to the limit. Add in all the gamesmanship, the pre and post match media and social media which he can't avoid and we may be a little more understanding and appreciative of that level of excellence.
Those refs are at a different level and I've met a few them or been on workshops with them. James Owens is one who stands out. Such a level of calmness on and off the field but will never be forgiven in KK for sending Richie Hogan off in an AI Final.
Conor Lane made an error in 2021 and he was completely vilified after it. The list goes on. Part of the job you can say.

And they are all amateurs. Just like the players, they have to earn a crust the following week and go back to their families. Some of them with young kids going to school who have to listen to their dad being unfairly criticised.
I'm not saying refs should be free from criticism but it would be so much better if it was well informed. And I haven't read anything in this forum that could be considered abuse towards refs."
A good post but one point….. l have issue with you saying referees are the same as players… they get paid to do the job while players don't.. If you are paid to do any job then you deserve criticism if you don't carry out that job properly and I don't think Gough did his properly on Sunday… I do admit the GAA do not make the game any easier for the ref by continually changing the rules but the current President does himself or anyone else any goodby coming out after every game showering complements on the ref regardless of what mess he made…it just sounds pathetic.. hence he gets booed sometimes.. Fair play to you for taking up the job but it doesn't mean you have to agree with every single decision other referees make like your opinion on Gough's display… I like him as a ref but this was not his best day at the office…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2023 12:23:27    2498318

Replying To Sindar:  "I am a ref. Never hid that fact. Club level only. (Not in Roscommon in case anyone is trying to figure me out) Started only when I finished playing which was too late to move up. I wouldn't have had the temperment anyway.

I'm not saying refs should be free from criticism but it would be so much better if it was well informed. And I haven't read anything in this forum that could be considered abuse towards refs."
Really great post. Very well said. Without referees we don't have games.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/08/2023 12:27:50    2498321

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You started out really trying not to let your bias come through, but now you're just making things up.
Clifford and Fitzsimons were both fouling each other. The replay showed it as clear as day. The ref saw a foul on Clifford, so he stopped the game and awarded a free. The umpire confirmed that Clifford also fouled, the replay showed he pulled back Fitzsimons first. So he awarded a hop ball, absolutely correct.
The last free was for an arm around the neck. It was as obvious a free as you'll get. I haven't seen it questioned by anyone except you.
Time for a refresher of the rule book for you, including the 'silly' rules."
The ref made a mistake and should have restarted the game back where he stopped it.., 50/60m out with either a hop ball or Kerry retaining possession.. why were Kerry penalised if both got yellow cards..?The last free was for nothing when you see what was let go previously….and then he blew up early… You and Gough should take up the same refresher course you could swap little stories…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2023 12:32:11    2498322

Replying To CCFabu:  "Not sure if it's been brought up but can you clarify when he booked Costello I think it was for the accidental head contact (or maybe Basquel), stopped the game and booked him, but then he threw the ball up even though Kerry had had possession in defence? I was watching it thinking he's blown for a free to Kerry and booked the Dublin fella harshly enough for an accidental collision, but then when he threw the ball up I didn't understand it at all?

Not sure if anything came from it my memory isn't that good even though the match was only yesterday ha, all I remember was it was in the first half as it happened down towards the Canal End"
Lots giving out Gough didn't book Costello for blantant punch of O'Sullivan in stomach but I think he did in fact book him but off camera. RTE commentators say Costello taken off as a precaution of having yellow.
Can anyone confirm he was booked?
He could have had a few cards in reality!!
Saw an article in Joe.ie where Cluxton had to pull him away from jostling O'Sullivan after the Dublin goal in case he was sent off for 2 yellows.
It was hard to see on tv…if he was carded

Snacks18 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 01/08/2023 12:34:44    2498327

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A good post but one point….. l have issue with you saying referees are the same as players… they get paid to do the job while players don't.. If you are paid to do any job then you deserve criticism if you don't carry out that job properly and I don't think Gough did his properly on Sunday… I do admit the GAA do not make the game any easier for the ref by continually changing the rules but the current President does himself or anyone else any goodby coming out after every game showering complements on the ref regardless of what mess he made…it just sounds pathetic.. hence he gets booed sometimes.. Fair play to you for taking up the job but it doesn't mean you have to agree with every single decision other referees make like your opinion on Gough's display… I like him as a ref but this was not his best day at the office…!"
Refs don't get paid. They get their expenses just like the players out of which they have to cover their 4 umpires. No difference.

Everyone has the right to express an opinion of course but you seem to suggest in your posts that Gough favoured the Dubs. Personally, I'd prefer to be called incompetent or blind rather than biased as a ref. It's the worst insult of all because it questions a person's integrity.

Thanks for the appreciation. I enjoy the job. I would have been a woeful Admin and a mediocre coach so reffing keeps me hands on. Mostly an enjoyable experience but you have the odd bad day for one reason or another. The worst is when you know you made a mistake that cost a team the game.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 01/08/2023 13:26:45    2498344

Replying To Joxer:  "The great Pat Spillane's comment when Stephen Cluxton returned to the Dublin panel

"This could come back to haunt me before the end of the summer, but right now I regard Cluxton's return as a joke."

Stephen scored 2 points yesterday which equated to the winning margin. Yesterday's goal from Kerry, which has been debated, is the only goal that Cluxton conceded this year. The joke's on you Pat! :)"
Cluxton is the best keeper I have seen but I too was unsure of his comeback for 2 reasons. Upsetting the other 2 Keepers and his age. Then I saw him misjudge a ball in croke park for one game where he thought it was a point and ran around the goal for quick kickout but the ball hit crossbar and nearly a goal. Also he fluffed a ball v Monaghan so I thought he might be a weakness too. I was wrong. Pat was wrong! But why try use this a cheapshot. Many Dublin friends of mine were very unsure of his comeback and two ex Dublin footballers i spoke to thought it was a bad move. We were all wrong. Enjoy the win Joxer. Why try score points now.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 01/08/2023 13:51:14    2498349

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You started out really trying not to let your bias come through, but now you're just making things up.
Time for a refresher of the rule book for you, including the 'silly' rules."
BBC coverage had Maurice Deegan on who explained in real time why Gough was correct. Pity RTE don't have the same.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 01/08/2023 13:56:34    2498350

Replying To Snacks18:  "Lots giving out Gough didn't book Costello for blantant punch of O'Sullivan in stomach but I think he did in fact book him but off camera. RTE commentators say Costello taken off as a precaution of having yellow.
Can anyone confirm he was booked?
He could have had a few cards in reality!!
Saw an article in Joe.ie where Cluxton had to pull him away from jostling O'Sullivan after the Dublin goal in case he was sent off for 2 yellows.
It was hard to see on tv…if he was carded"
Costello 100% got a yellow.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 01/08/2023 14:02:28    2498353

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Cluxton is the best keeper I have seen but I too was unsure of his comeback for 2 reasons. Upsetting the other 2 Keepers and his age. Then I saw him misjudge a ball in croke park for one game where he thought it was a point and ran around the goal for quick kickout but the ball hit crossbar and nearly a goal. Also he fluffed a ball v Monaghan so I thought he might be a weakness too. I was wrong. Pat was wrong! But why try use this a cheapshot. Many Dublin friends of mine were very unsure of his comeback and two ex Dublin footballers i spoke to thought it was a bad move. We were all wrong. Enjoy the win Joxer. Why try score points now."
It's not a cheap shot Mick. On the contrary Spillane was having a cheap shot at the Dublin management team and disrespecting the greatest goalkeeper to have ever played the game. Spillane was deliberately stirring it up, we all know that, and it's no harm to point out that this came back to haunt him. Cluxton has been magnificent since his return, keeper, scorer, leader. His value to any team should never be called a "joke" especially by somebody who is supposed to be an expert on the game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 01/08/2023 14:04:47    2498355

Replying To Joxer:  "A couple of those frees weren't off Mick. But points from play is really all that matters. He was kept to 8 in 3 games. I'll take that any day against one of the best. LOL. I wonder what his championship average is versus his average against Dublin. The pressure may have gotten to him yesterday or Mick got into his head. Lots of people saying that he's carrying Kerry. I don't agree with that. This is a young enough Kerry team and he has another few finals in him."
A few of those frees were indeed from fouls from Fitzsimmons. Clifford has scored 9 points from play and 2 marks v Fitzsimmons in his last 3 championship games. Just google the statistics. David has played 4 championship games v Dublin. 2019 draw (marked by Cooper before red card) and different markers afterwards. David scored 2 points. Replay marked by Mick Fitz he scores 5 points (4 from play). 2022 semi he scored 6 points (3 from play) and a mark. This year 3 points (2 from play). These are facts. Of course I'm backing up my own but I watch game again Clifford burned Mick Fitz on a few occasions but it was his shooting that left him down. David has been marshaller well before but Cork are the team that have held him best. Clifford is being judged by his own high standards. Look at Con who was very quiet and Clifford brilliantly set up a goal s ored two excellent points from play. Fouled for another and set up another few scores. If it was anyone else they say he had a good final and a bit more luck he d have scored 1-8 or 1-9.Clifford won nearly every single ball off Mick and got inside him but his shooting was askew.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 01/08/2023 14:09:45    2498358

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Cluxton is the best keeper I have seen but I too was unsure of his comeback for 2 reasons. Upsetting the other 2 Keepers and his age. Then I saw him misjudge a ball in croke park for one game where he thought it was a point and ran around the goal for quick kickout but the ball hit crossbar and nearly a goal. Also he fluffed a ball v Monaghan so I thought he might be a weakness too. I was wrong. Pat was wrong! But why try use this a cheapshot. Many Dublin friends of mine were very unsure of his comeback and two ex Dublin footballers i spoke to thought it was a bad move. We were all wrong. Enjoy the win Joxer. Why try score points now."
Correct CiarraiMick, small margins, if Cluxtons fluffed ball against Monaghan had have dropped to his left it was a goal. Same with Clifford, small margins, on another day he would have an extra 4 points but not to be.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 01/08/2023 14:10:56    2498359

Replying To sligo joe:  "Not sure if this is covered by the rules but when the referee decided to cancel the Kerry free and throw up the ball should the throw-up be at the off the ball incident or where the ball was when he blew the whistle which was forty metres out the field."
A referee said yesterday that when the ref changed his mind and found both players equally culpable then he should have brought the ball b ack to the original spot and given Kerry an indirect free. Basically Kerry have the ball. Not sure how true this is.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 01/08/2023 14:13:37    2498361

Replying To Sindar:  "Refs don't get paid. They get their expenses just like the players out of which they have to cover their 4 umpires. No difference.

Everyone has the right to express an opinion of course but you seem to suggest in your posts that Gough favoured the Dubs. Personally, I'd prefer to be called incompetent or blind rather than biased as a ref. It's the worst insult of all because it questions a person's integrity.

Thanks for the appreciation. I enjoy the job. I would have been a woeful Admin and a mediocre coach so reffing keeps me hands on. Mostly an enjoyable experience but you have the odd bad day for one reason or another. The worst is when you know you made a mistake that cost a team the game."
There is nothing worse as you say as a biased ref and I think Gough favoured Dublin in the game…. And it must be difficult when a ref knows he made a mistake which cost a team in a big game but it seems to be a lot more difficult for them to come out afterwards and admit their blunders….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 01/08/2023 14:17:25    2498365

In fairness now Mick

Pat was the one to use some language that didn't sit well..

"A joke"

Well yep, jokes on you Pat indeed.

Joxer there had his say on a GAA forum.

Pat on the other hand said as much in the national media for all to share and read

If you're going to put it out, expect a bit of point scoring back

In fact.. go shove it up your **** Pat

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 01/08/2023 14:17:49    2498366