All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "It's not a bounce unless it comes straight back to his hands. From the rule book

Important Terms and
Definitions - Football
and Hurling
The following list of Definitions of Terms used in the
Playing Rules forms an integral part of these rules.
1. BOUNCE For a player who has caught
the ball to play the ball against
the ground with his hand(s)
and to catch it on return to his
hand(s) again."
The issue being that rule is open to interpretation. He bounced the ball. He may have played it with his boot the second time but he did bounce and and take it back into his hands. That rule needs looking at.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 31/07/2023 11:47:17    2497977

Replying To avonali:  "Fair play Mick. The Kingdom will rise again soon."
Thanks Avon. We will indeed. That I have no doubt and we will be back stronger next year but now it's your time and enjoy.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 31/07/2023 11:53:19    2497983

Replying To Joxer:  "Clifford pushed Fitzy in the back so it was a free out. Similarly Clifford was pulling the jersey off Fitzy's back at the Canal End, clear yellow and free out yet ref yellows both and hops the ball. Crazy decision. Having said that Fitzy proved again why he is the best man marker in the game. I think in the last 3 championship meetings Fitzy has held Clifford to 4 points from play, over 230m of football or thereabouts. He was putting so much pressure on Cliffords shots that Clifford just couldn't get that extra half second to compose himself. Great performance from a 9 times Celtic Cross winner now."
Congrats Joxer but I have to correct you on Clifford/Fiitz. In the last 3 championship games Clifford v Fitz Clifford has scored 9 points from play and 1 from a mark. Now I'm not taking from Mick Fitz at all who is a class defender but yesterday David got the better of him for nearly every ball and got inside him and it was David's poor shooting that let him down yesterday rather than being put off. I just watched game again. Now not taking from Fitz just standing up for my own. No complaints though on game. Fair play Dublin.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 31/07/2023 12:01:33    2497988

Just a word on Dessie Farrell. While I'm very disappointed at yesterday's result I'm glad for Dessie. Dessie took on a tough job. A poison chalice and embraced it with pride and dignity. While it's only my opinion I don't think Dublin would have won the 2020 all ireland under Jim Gavin. The 5 was done and the hunger was stayed but Dessie came in a won it in 2020.Then after being beaten in 2021 by Mayo many denouncing him and when Dubs relegated many sneering and calling for his removal. Hope those people eating humble pie now. Many saying Mannion Cluxton McCaffrey left cos they had no time for Dessie. Yes Cluxton left cos of covid training but McCaffrey had his mind made up in 2019 he was leaving. People forgot that under Jim Gavin, Mannion left before for a year so did McCaffrey so did Rory Ó Carroll and Diarmuid Connolly. No problem there but when they left again it was Dessie s fault (totally wrong). Dessie deserves great great credit and his knockers should accept now they were wrong. Very wrong!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 31/07/2023 12:17:26    2498002

Ahh let them have their double bounce

Sure Kev Mc got away with one behind Joe's back in 2011

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 31/07/2023 12:18:08    2498004

enjoyable final, congrats Dublin. Both teams were excellent. Good ref. yesterday.
Maybe Dubs got a little lucky too, but it was a fair result. On the honouring of 25th
anniversary winners, that should be a 1/2 time gig or just scrap it. Also, we need minor final
or women's final or something better as a curtain raiser.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1676 - 31/07/2023 12:24:04    2498006

Replying To daytona11:  "The issue being that rule is open to interpretation. He bounced the ball. He may have played it with his boot the second time but he did bounce and and take it back into his hands. That rule needs looking at."
How often does this type of thing happen though? Very rarely, don't think it warrants rule changes. There's far more pressing issues that need addressing in regard to the rules than the technicalities surrounding a double hop that happens once in a blue moon.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 31/07/2023 12:24:37    2498007

Sár leirmheas ó Dara Ó Cinnéide ar RnaG ón Ríocht.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 31/07/2023 12:26:13    2498008

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh let them have their double bounce

Sure Kev Mc got away with one behind Joe's back in 2011"
Ach I know, but you have lads posting the rule, and then adding to it to suit a narrative, no where does it say it has to be gathered directly for it to be deemed a hop, no where does it say that if it comes off a part of the body before gathering is it deemed not a hop, show me that in the rule and I will agree wholeheartedly

Anyway enjoy the celebrations you deserve it after such a long spell in the wilderness :)

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1045 - 31/07/2023 12:35:16    2498010

Commiserations to Mick - a great and fair supporter of Kerry GAA and GAA in general and all Kerry supporters on here.

Commiserations also to Kerry players and management and thanks to them for the battle they served up yesterday, it was contest right until the end. Its a sore loss, but that team will be back nothing surer.

As always there was very little in the game, Kerry were probably the best team last year, but i felt we were the better team yesterday. I think you can over analyse everything at times, sometimes its just that simple. Think we deserved it on the day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 31/07/2023 12:40:33    2498011

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "enjoyable final, congrats Dublin. Both teams were excellent. Good ref. yesterday.
Maybe Dubs got a little lucky too, but it was a fair result. On the honouring of 25th
anniversary winners, that should be a 1/2 time gig or just scrap it. Also, we need minor final
or women's final or something better as a curtain raiser."
Why do the gaa make changes that so many people disagree with. Bring back the minor final on All Ireland Sunday. Gets people in to the stadium and creates an atmosphere early on.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2185 - 31/07/2023 13:38:04    2498032

Replying To endgame:  "Why do the gaa make changes that so many people disagree with. Bring back the minor final on All Ireland Sunday. Gets people in to the stadium and creates an atmosphere early on."
And 90% of the 14,000 Monaghan and Derry people who attended the Minor Final wouldn't gave got tickets!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1462 - 31/07/2023 14:09:26    2498045

Replying To baire:  "After all the medals and AIs these Dublin players have won, more than most counties have won in their history, it's hard to fathom the moaning and baby crying from 'some of them' in the last two or so years, behaving like spoiled children whose toys were taken off them. Then the bawling, navel gazing and bragging after the final whistle yesterday...yuck! Spare a thought for the great footballers and hurlers from other counties who would die happy to have won just once...
No wonder Colm O' Rourke told James McCarthy, after the last time Dublin trounced Meath, to **** Off and retire and give other teams a chance to win."
Absolute garbage. What "moaning" and "baby crying" are you talking about? Unbelievable grit, determination and hard work from an extremely modest bunch of players. They'll never get the recognition they deserve from some people who bear grudges and chew on lemons.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 31/07/2023 14:09:36    2498046

Replying To Rebel2020:  "Maurice Deegan clarified it at half time on BBC. Legitimate goal. No infringement"
Ah good man Maurice. If I were Maurice I'd stay retired.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 31/07/2023 14:41:26    2498059

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Congrats Joxer but I have to correct you on Clifford/Fiitz. In the last 3 championship games Clifford v Fitz Clifford has scored 9 points from play and 1 from a mark. Now I'm not taking from Mick Fitz at all who is a class defender but yesterday David got the better of him for nearly every ball and got inside him and it was David's poor shooting that let him down yesterday rather than being put off. I just watched game again. Now not taking from Fitz just standing up for my own. No complaints though on game. Fair play Dublin."
Thanks Mick. My fault. I had erased last year from my consciousness. I was thinking of the 2 2019 games. Clifford was held to 2 in one of those games and 4 in the other, from play. He got 2 from play yesterday with Fitzy shadowing him. So 8 points from play over 3 games is average from an above average player. I'll have to look back at the game but Fitzy seemed to be at close quarters at all times. The conditions didn't favour shooters yesterday but I'd be interested to get Clifford's view on having Fitzy on him. He was clearly frustrated, pulling jersey off Fitzy in the corner, moaning at the ref. All signs of a player whose marker has him where he wants him. Still an outstanding player no doubt, but the Dubs have done a decent job on him in big games as they did with McManus in the semi, again Fitzy, limiting him to an average 2 pts.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 31/07/2023 14:54:57    2498071

Replying To endgame:  "Why do the gaa make changes that so many people disagree with. Bring back the minor final on All Ireland Sunday. Gets people in to the stadium and creates an atmosphere early on."
There are a number of reasons. I posted a few in the minor football thread a few weeks ago:
- There was often an eerie atmosphere in Croke Park for long stretches of the minor games, until the ground eventually filled up at the end.
- Unless one of the minor teams was also in the senior final, it could often lack the passion from the crowd as very few in attendance had any skin in the game.
- There was also the fact that supporters from the competing minor counties received fewer tickets under the previous structure.
- Having a standalone game enables far more from the counties to attend.
- There was a great crowd and a brilliant atmosphere at the Galway vs Mayo final last year

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2065 - 31/07/2023 15:00:40    2498075

Replying To baire:  "After all the medals and AIs these Dublin players have won, more than most counties have won in their history, it's hard to fathom the moaning and baby crying from 'some of them' in the last two or so years, behaving like spoiled children whose toys were taken off them. Then the bawling, navel gazing and bragging after the final whistle yesterday...yuck! Spare a thought for the great footballers and hurlers from other counties who would die happy to have won just once...
No wonder Colm O' Rourke told James McCarthy, after the last time Dublin trounced Meath, to **** Off and retire and give other teams a chance to win."
Ha ha you have no idea, how much it warms my heart if Colm O Rourke really did say that that to Jamsie.

Mission accomplished captain, mission accomplished. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 31/07/2023 15:07:50    2498081

Replying To Belclare:  "Congrats to Dublin, with Cluxton, Rock, possibly Fitzsimons and Mc Carthy stepping away they are irreplaceable, I'd think Dublin could be waiting a while for another Sam..
Might give the rest of us a chance!"
they already replaced Rock this year, hence why he's retiring at 33...he can't get his place.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1689 - 31/07/2023 15:12:01    2498082

Replying To TheUsername:  "Commiserations to Mick - a great and fair supporter of Kerry GAA and GAA in general and all Kerry supporters on here.

Commiserations also to Kerry players and management and thanks to them for the battle they served up yesterday, it was contest right until the end. Its a sore loss, but that team will be back nothing surer.

As always there was very little in the game, Kerry were probably the best team last year, but i felt we were the better team yesterday. I think you can over analyse everything at times, sometimes its just that simple. Think we deserved it on the day."
Thanks Username and yes I've no complaints at all. A tough battle but Dublin deserving winners and you can see what it meant to them. Enjoy pal.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 31/07/2023 15:12:55    2498083

The woodwork took a pounding yesterday. The posts were getting hit left and right.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 31/07/2023 15:16:39    2498085