All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Just a point, in all 9 all ireland wins by the lads they have never lost a game, no back door or defeats in groups or round Robins, some record, like that's Kerry's second loss this championship.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 687 - 30/07/2023 18:53:43    2497796

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Just about to sink a pint of plain in Murrays on O'Connell St after a disappointing afternoon, Well done Dublin, undoubtedly shaded it and deserved the win.

Enjoy the celebrations and all the very best"
Thanks Gerry.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 30/07/2023 18:54:31    2497798

Replying To waynoI:  "Clifford is amazing, but he absolutely fell asunder last 20."
Let the tackle where he thought he was getting a free and a yellow card to his opponent but instead a throw in and yellow card to him as well, get inside his head. And I agree with the ref insofar as the tv picked it up.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 30/07/2023 18:55:17    2497799

Replying To Saynothing:  "Second bounce didn't hit the ground, it h hit his foot. Good goal."
Kerry goal in AI Final 2023.

Pretty obvious foul and free out on first seeing it on TV.

I've watched it a few times on replay, and seen nothing to change that opinion.

It bounced a second successive time, and he then tipped it up with his foot.

I freezeframed it with the ball on the ground before the chip up.

The chip-up after the second bounce was done with his right foot, and his right foot was furthest away from the ball as it bounced for the second time.

See freezeframe here. Remember, he chips it up with his right foot. This is the point when the ball hits the ground for the second time. Look where his right foot is:

https://omertagaa.blogspot.com/2023/07/kerry-goal-in-ai-final-2023.html

Nowhere near the ball.

The chip-up came after.

Did it quickly and skilfully, and knew what he was doing.

But the foul had already been committed.

GAA rule is very simple: "You may not bounce the ball twice in a row."

The foul is not negated by having the presence of mind to chip it up into your hand after the second bounce.

No goal, and free out.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 243 - 30/07/2023 18:57:40    2497801

I agree David Clifford was well below par - took shots that he was never going to get & missed scores that he would have gotten on other days.. Paudie on the other had a great game. Important to remember that these lads have recently lost their mother and the emotions of this on a big day like today can impact in ways most of us cannot comprehend.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 30/07/2023 18:59:15    2497802

Replying To endgame:  "David Clifford though got a lot of chances off Fitzsimons. Clifford just didn't take those chances like he normally would. He could have had 5 or 6 from play. I'd give man of the match to Paul Mannion. I thought James McCarthy was poor today and was indeed lucky to stay on. He seemed to carry the weight of going for the ninth medal on his shoulders because he has been excellent for the Dubs in other games. Dublin just had a bit more composure down the closing stretch of the game and deserved the win.Separately, I didn't know that a player can bounce the ball twice if they play the ball with the foot rather than the hand off the second bounce. That needs to be clarified because I'd have my doubts about it."
Maurice Deegan clarified it at half time on BBC. Legitimate goal. No infringement

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 30/07/2023 19:01:55    2497803

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Wow that's some criticism of Clifford by a Galway poster..it didn't go for him today but it definitely wasn't for want of trying..it didn't go great either for Costello or o Callaghan."
What has the poster's county got to do with it? Would it be more valid coming from someone from Fermanagh or Kildare? It's a personal opinion, not one representing Galway.
I disagree with him by the way. Clifford did some very good things today, but he tried a few shots on the last 20 minutes which weren't really on in the conditions and missed a few more he'd normally get.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2065 - 30/07/2023 19:03:35    2497804

This win buys the GAA some time. But the problems of Leinster and Munster remain, too one sided both Kerry and Dubs win all the time. And lack of wins for Connacht teams. GAA badly needs a Connacht team to win this competition in my view.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 30/07/2023 19:04:05    2497805

First off congratulations to Dublin. You have paid me for the little break I'm on so it will be a freebie. Backed them since we went out. Clifford wasn't near what everyone thought he would be today. That been said today felt like end of era the last big bang.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2023 19:11:22    2497807

Replying To endgame:  "David Clifford though got a lot of chances off Fitzsimons. Clifford just didn't take those chances like he normally would. He could have had 5 or 6 from play. I'd give man of the match to Paul Mannion. I thought James McCarthy was poor today and was indeed lucky to stay on. He seemed to carry the weight of going for the ninth medal on his shoulders because he has been excellent for the Dubs in other games. Dublin just had a bit more composure down the closing stretch of the game and deserved the win.Separately, I didn't know that a player can bounce the ball twice if they play the ball with the foot rather than the hand off the second bounce. That needs to be clarified because I'd have my doubts about it."
Yes agree with bounce, the intention of the law is for there to be one bounce not two, but again another poorly written GAA rule. Now if the ref had ruled it the other way there would be no discussion weird.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 30/07/2023 19:15:04    2497808

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "McCarthy hinted at retirement, so did Rock. I would imagine that's it for Cluxton and maybe others. Next year could really be very open. It's up to other counties to make the most of the opportunity.

Dublin have been brilliant but there was an end of an era feel to that."
It will mostly opens the door for Kerry to win back the All Ireland. Derry,Galway,Mayo etc I can't see reaching the final if they are paired with Kerry or Dublin in the Quarter or semi final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 30/07/2023 19:18:49    2497809

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Wow that's some criticism of Clifford by a Galway poster..it didn't go for him today but it definitely wasn't for want of trying..it didn't go great either for Costello or o Callaghan."
Not sure on what my county of origin has anything tondi with it? For all the talk about DC he offered little today other than a lot of coulda, shoulda, woulda's.

Am I wrong?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 30/07/2023 19:19:50    2497810

Replying To WanPintWin:  "What has the poster's county got to do with it? Would it be more valid coming from someone from Fermanagh or Kildare? It's a personal opinion, not one representing Galway.
I disagree with him by the way. Clifford did some very good things today, but he tried a few shots on the last 20 minutes which weren't really on in the conditions and missed a few more he'd normally get."
Fair play bud. I've no problem with disagreement or being shown wrong. Feck it, I'm wrong all the time! But my county?? Weird line of attack.

I'm not wrong today though. :)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 30/07/2023 19:23:38    2497811

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Kerry goal in AI Final 2023.

The chip-up after the second bounce was done with his right foot, and his right foot was furthest away from the ball as it bounced for the second time.

See freezeframe here. Remember, he chips it up with his right foot. This is the point when the ball hits the ground for the second time. Look where his right foot is:

Nowhere near the ball.

The chip-up came after.

The foul is not negated by having the presence of mind to chip it up into your hand after the second bounce.

No goal, and free out."
Two different refs say different so I'll stick with them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 30/07/2023 19:29:09    2497813

Fair play to the Dubs. Proved me wrong. Delighted for Dessie Farrell, made huge calls this year and it worked.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 30/07/2023 19:49:55    2497815

Replying To festinog:  "Couldn't find his kicking boots? He's a full forward on All Ireland Sunday. His brother was more important to Kerry today than he was. His kicking was off, he never passed, total mé féiner out there today."
He passed for Geaney goal, which makes your assessment at least somewhat incorrect.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 30/07/2023 19:52:59    2497816

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Kerry goal in AI Final 2023.

Nowhere near the ball.

The chip-up came after.

No goal, and free out."
The rule is clear... the problem is you don't know the rule...
Bounce is defined in the rules as follows...
"For a player who has caught the ball to play the ball against the ground with his hand(s) and to catch it on return to his hand(s) again"
The fact he tipped it with his foot before it returned to his hand meant that technically it wasn't a 2nd bounce. Maurice Deegan confirmed that also at half time on BBC

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 483 - 30/07/2023 19:55:04    2497817

Another great/memorable speech by our president today. Just when you thought the intro to last weeks presentation couldn't be surpassed.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 511 - 30/07/2023 19:55:56    2497818

Replying To festinog:  "Not sure on what my county of origin has anything tondi with it? For all the talk about DC he offered little today other than a lot of coulda, shoulda, woulda's.

Am I wrong?"
I think you've suggested that Clifford didn't deliver on expectations on the big day, and that characteristic is supposedly Galway's calling card as a county, especially in the opinions of southern hurling mafia types.

Limerick folk are 'new money' in this area of 'stellar mentality' since 2018, so a lot of them just can't help themselves in conveying a sense of authority on such matters.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 30/07/2023 20:04:08    2497819

Well done Dublin, everyone along the cork side of the Cork-Kerry border are especially happy for you :D

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 269 - 30/07/2023 20:04:28    2497820