Dublins Demise

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Multiply Dublin by two! :)"
We need more money. How are we supposed to keep paying this army of dieticians. nutritionalists, physios, psychiatrists, psychologists, virologists, epidemiologists, cardiologists and whatever you're having yourself, that we supposedly have? Besides, the gold plated shower heads in the dressing rooms could do with a polishing. Send funds now. Dial-a-Dub at 1800-RUBADUB-6900 and donate whatever you have.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/03/2022 12:01:28    2403426

League form has been poor but they will be fine. I expect them to be very competitive come championship time.

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 02/03/2022 12:03:57    2403427

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To systematic:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal.

But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really.

I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals.

I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2.

Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship.

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."
Firstly can I begin by saying I got a lot of enjoyment out of watching Dublin play their unique brand of football over the years, that was then this is now.

Your take on adversities may be well documented mo cara and I'll take your word on that, not that it matters a lot though, at the end of the day it's venial .I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear.

You say, "we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful".- very true, then show your gratitude, especially to the people who lent you their support, be grateful for small mercies like relegation just accept it, no brave face required, to be brutally honest and by your own admission when you say, "Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands" you simply can't accept probable relegation, Dublin's success over the years was your fix to keep your ego massaged, your already justifying Dublin's drop to div.2 when you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments.

I posted here a few years ago that it was only a matter of time before snobbery and belittling became part and parcel of the amateur gaa organization, I was wrong though, it was already established.

Above anyone else, you do care about the threat of relegation that is blatantly obvious, ego and all that, .
."]Thank you for the kind and genuine opening disclaimer to your post.

I agree all of our opinion are venial and arbitrary as they dont lead to direct outcome, but we are on GAA message board so the sentiment is a bit nonsensical to be honest.

My take on yesterdays game is broadly what i wrote to Joxer, but i deconstruct far more and chain to former performances incrementally to the start of the league in the Dublin thread. Adversity in my view is fairly irelervent, its reaction to adversity that is key.

Some of the points you make a chara are a bit nonsensical, showing gratitude - i dont understand what measure you are weighing in this regard, supporting club, county underage and Senior team, win or loose its a year in year out thing - unflinching really, so whether its win or more likl loose there is no wavering in support of the team or expressing gratitude as you frame it. Im not sure what you mean about others who supported the team - from outside, if you would like a thank you - thank you, however prodful or ego motivated that need is!, i think the contributed to a lot of joy around the country and evolved the game so i see the relation as reciprocal.

I should just accept relegation? I have, that the point im making, im not to bothered byit, in fact i think it will be a bit of fun. You may of the importance its significant, personally i dont and i think it will be a bit of fun and im all for embracing and accepting is as you suggest, we are on board together there!

I dont understand the point you are making about there being more medals in Div 2 if Dublin get relegated, there will be, thats a fact. What you can Ego, others may call pride, i think its ok to be proud of our achievements as you say they are Bourne of "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments." - what earned should not easily be forgotten. You have to accept a bit of begrudgery and projection around that and that is the spirit in which i take from your post. Perhaps im wrong, because you seem a bit caught between admiring Dublin and wanting to maximise their current difficulties and significant. As you say though regardless as opinions are venial and arbitory as they dont lead to direct outcome and ultimately irrelevant.

As for snobbery and belittling - i think you are being nonsensical as well - if im looking forward to Div 2 and have accepted it, i dont see how snobbery, id really love a trip down the pairc, up to Newry, down to Clare or Galway its exciting - i cant remember thelast time we played Clare or Down in a game in anger - i find that exciting, no more then playing you guys down in PL a few years ago after not playing in a long time. You dont live in my head, so ultimately you dont know whether im bothered by relegation or not or whether i couldn't give a flyer and ive no interest in convincing you. From that point of view, your view is subjective, but likely inaccurate. all i can tell you is im looking forward to it if or when it comes to pass for the diversity in trips and games, if we are down there for five years i might feel differently, but practically i dont believe that to be the case.

I feel like you have been waiting for Dublin to have their come uppence and regress and i sense a disappointment that most Dubs arent loosening their minds. It comes across as bitterness and i think you are using words like pride and belittling to get a less accepting reaction - you're grand! We know we're poor at the moment, we know we are likely to get relegated, we know we will do will in the championship, we know we will be in Div 2 next season - thats fine - lets do it and lets do our thing. To my mind the game isnt about winning or loosing really and both are old friends."]If you had a longer memory you might recall going to Salthill in 2018 (also 2020 and Tuam last year but u probably wouldn't have travelled).

Pure snobbery indeed just looking at current Div 2 teams/locations as a holiday option."]if you read my post again, you will see i mentioned Clare adn Down and not Galway.

Tuam wasn't 2020 its was 20221 - by the way - i wasn't there due to Covid. I was in 18, right under were Jayo lost the head, great home crowd that day - was freezing with a wind blowing in from the Atlantic. was the day after St Patricks Day, Ireland won the six nations the day before beating Enlgand in England and yes i partied my head off in Galway the whole weekend. It was great. I still have vouchers for the hotel i need to use, for the scheduled game that was cancelled the week before (just ahead of a home game with Meath) the first lock down was announced in 2020 in SH.

I honestly make zero apologies for enjoying a good weekend, in a good destination that a match is on - i mean the whole thing is supposed to be fun and i am looking forward to some of the destinations in Div 2, if that snobbery ill own it comfortably. Ive made so many trips to Div 1 teams its boring - so im looking forward to the change. As my Kildare supporting Pal told me in Newbridge in Sun, what is rare is often wonderful."]Didn't dublin play Down above in the league in Newry back in 2016 when Down were in div1?

Did you not go for a nice weekend away?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2022 14:40:11    2403469

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To systematic:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal.

But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really.

I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals.

I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2.

Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship.

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."
Firstly can I begin by saying I got a lot of enjoyment out of watching Dublin play their unique brand of football over the years, that was then this is now.

Your take on adversities may be well documented mo cara and I'll take your word on that, not that it matters a lot though, at the end of the day it's venial .I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear.

You say, "we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful".- very true, then show your gratitude, especially to the people who lent you their support, be grateful for small mercies like relegation just accept it, no brave face required, to be brutally honest and by your own admission when you say, "Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands" you simply can't accept probable relegation, Dublin's success over the years was your fix to keep your ego massaged, your already justifying Dublin's drop to div.2 when you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments.

I posted here a few years ago that it was only a matter of time before snobbery and belittling became part and parcel of the amateur gaa organization, I was wrong though, it was already established.

Above anyone else, you do care about the threat of relegation that is blatantly obvious, ego and all that, .

I agree all of our opinion are venial and arbitrary as they dont lead to direct outcome, but we are on GAA message board so the sentiment is a bit nonsensical to be honest.

My take on yesterdays game is broadly what i wrote to Joxer, but i deconstruct far more and chain to former performances incrementally to the start of the league in the Dublin thread. Adversity in my view is fairly irelervent, its reaction to adversity that is key.

Some of the points you make a chara are a bit nonsensical, showing gratitude - i dont understand what measure you are weighing in this regard, supporting club, county underage and Senior team, win or loose its a year in year out thing - unflinching really, so whether its win or more likl loose there is no wavering in support of the team or expressing gratitude as you frame it. Im not sure what you mean about others who supported the team - from outside, if you would like a thank you - thank you, however prodful or ego motivated that need is!, i think the contributed to a lot of joy around the country and evolved the game so i see the relation as reciprocal.

I should just accept relegation? I have, that the point im making, im not to bothered byit, in fact i think it will be a bit of fun. You may of the importance its significant, personally i dont and i think it will be a bit of fun and im all for embracing and accepting is as you suggest, we are on board together there!

I dont understand the point you are making about there being more medals in Div 2 if Dublin get relegated, there will be, thats a fact. What you can Ego, others may call pride, i think its ok to be proud of our achievements as you say they are Bourne of "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments." - what earned should not easily be forgotten. You have to accept a bit of begrudgery and projection around that and that is the spirit in which i take from your post. Perhaps im wrong, because you seem a bit caught between admiring Dublin and wanting to maximise their current difficulties and significant. As you say though regardless as opinions are venial and arbitory as they dont lead to direct outcome and ultimately irrelevant.

As for snobbery and belittling - i think you are being nonsensical as well - if im looking forward to Div 2 and have accepted it, i dont see how snobbery, id really love a trip down the pairc, up to Newry, down to Clare or Galway its exciting - i cant remember thelast time we played Clare or Down in a game in anger - i find that exciting, no more then playing you guys down in PL a few years ago after not playing in a long time. You dont live in my head, so ultimately you dont know whether im bothered by relegation or not or whether i couldn't give a flyer and ive no interest in convincing you. From that point of view, your view is subjective, but likely inaccurate. all i can tell you is im looking forward to it if or when it comes to pass for the diversity in trips and games, if we are down there for five years i might feel differently, but practically i dont believe that to be the case.

I feel like you have been waiting for Dublin to have their come uppence and regress and i sense a disappointment that most Dubs arent loosening their minds. It comes across as bitterness and i think you are using words like pride and belittling to get a less accepting reaction - you're grand! We know we're poor at the moment, we know we are likely to get relegated, we know we will do will in the championship, we know we will be in Div 2 next season - thats fine - lets do it and lets do our thing. To my mind the game isnt about winning or loosing really and both are old friends."]If you had a longer memory you might recall going to Salthill in 2018 (also 2020 and Tuam last year but u probably wouldn't have travelled).

Pure snobbery indeed just looking at current Div 2 teams/locations as a holiday option."]if you read my post again, you will see i mentioned Clare adn Down and not Galway.

Tuam wasn't 2020 its was 20221 - by the way - i wasn't there due to Covid. I was in 18, right under were Jayo lost the head, great home crowd that day - was freezing with a wind blowing in from the Atlantic. was the day after St Patricks Day, Ireland won the six nations the day before beating Enlgand in England and yes i partied my head off in Galway the whole weekend. It was great. I still have vouchers for the hotel i need to use, for the scheduled game that was cancelled the week before (just ahead of a home game with Meath) the first lock down was announced in 2020 in SH.

I honestly make zero apologies for enjoying a good weekend, in a good destination that a match is on - i mean the whole thing is supposed to be fun and i am looking forward to some of the destinations in Div 2, if that snobbery ill own it comfortably. Ive made so many trips to Div 1 teams its boring - so im looking forward to the change. As my Kildare supporting Pal told me in Newbridge in Sun, what is rare is often wonderful."].....

Name dropping Galway and accusing me of not being able to read- if you read I did say Tuam was last year. 2020 game (in salthill) was actually played in October, I know, crazy.

More like user yer brain.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 02/03/2022 14:54:40    2403477

Ha ha 8 years ago between games! Cabaste,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 02/03/2022 14:56:40    2403478

Replying To systematic:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=systematic:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

I honestly make zero apologies for enjoying a good weekend, in a good destination that a match is on - i mean the whole thing is supposed to be fun and i am looking forward to some of the destinations in Div 2, if that snobbery ill own it comfortably. Ive made so many trips to Div 1 teams its boring - so im looking forward to the change. As my Kildare supporting Pal told me in Newbridge in Sun, what is rare is often wonderful."].....

Name dropping Galway and accusing me of not being able to read- if you read I did say Tuam was last year. 2020 game (in salthill) was actually played in October, I know, crazy.

More like user yer brain."]Not being able to write, on a point of order. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 02/03/2022 15:04:24    2403483

Someone made an absolute bags of quoting a post at some stage. This thread is impossible to follow. Probably not a bad thing to be honest.
On the topic, Dublin are clearly well below the exceptional standards they set over the past decade.
There's a combination of factors, including a drain of experience from the squad, as well as some top quality players who aren't available at the moment. Then of course there's the relatively new management team. A manager who'll get less credit than any manager in history for winning an All-Ireland. :)
With the missing players back, Dublin will be very competitive again of course. I'd be surprised if they're not in the last 4, but I don't see them winning it out. Then again any of the favourites can be beaten on a given day, which is a great thing for football.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2066 - 02/03/2022 15:24:14    2403492

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha 8 years ago between games! Cabaste,"
2016 was 6 years ago not 8 maths not your strong point I see :-)

So you didn't have you weekend away in Newry?

Try Carlingford lough , it's a grand spot.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/03/2022 16:19:57    2403512

TheUsername.

I was somewhat saddened to read some ( not all ) of your reply post to that of mine, I am not going to for want of a better word, belittle either you or myself by trying to find an escape route from what I can only call a maze of misinterpretations, misunderstandings, or auto corrections along the way that went unnoticed. To keep things simple I started by saying "I am not a man of words." By saying that I was actually paying you a complement as you clearly are a man of many words, In hindsight perhaps I should have scrutinized your post of many words, comments, sentences, etc in search of other meanings that I could have made reference to but didn't.

Your own county man and poster here Joxer accepted a post from me that could be interpreted / or misinterpreted depending, so I had the presence of mind to sign off by saying, No offence meant, - Joxer replied saying "No offence taken kid." In hind sight again perhaps I should have signed off by saying, "No offence meant, TheUsername" would that have been acceptable, It's not in my nature to be offensive or insulting to any one or their county especially here on this forum, I have the greatest of respect for Dublin it's people and every other county.

Just when I thought we were sharing a consensus of opinion I was struck a hammer blow that I wasn't expecting.
You say, " I am however that disappointed with your closing remarks which i think are unnecessary" Referencing your username perhaps in hindsight I could have added, No offence meant TheUserfield.
I wish you well Mo Cara, continued success to you and your beloved Dubs

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 02/03/2022 17:28:33    2403529

A lot of people getting snotty on this thread over absolutely nothing, wilful misreads or bad faith interpretations of posts.

The way Dublin are playing they don't deserve Division 1 status, nor are they likely to preserve it. Is this a slap in the face, something to be ashamed of? No. If you're not good enough, you're not good enough. Should Dublin fans be downhearted by the impending relegation? No. Certainly nowhere near as down hearted as they should feel about the prospects of the team in the championship this summer, or the continuing tales of strife in the camp and players stepping away because of it. Should this situation sour the achievements of the last decade? How could it - we were gifted with a team that entertained and came up trumps time and time again. There's nothing but gratitude for that.

But we are where we are. Us Dubs have seen up close the ways in which a team build and gels, knows how to win leagues, knows how to adapt, knows how to get up off the canvas and get over the line, to win championships consecutively. We know what it takes, and if some of us are perceptive enough to have seen over the last 12 months that this group no longer has what it takes to do all these things, then we actually might be right. That's not a slight on any other county. If you're reading that into anything that has been said then you're just see what you want to see. We may well get to an AI SF, but the grá, ingenuity and belief required to go one or two better is no longer evident.

Knock yourselves out by all means. It's been a long time coming. But rest assured it's very easy to discern an objective poster from a wind-up merchant. Looking forward to pastures new next year.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 06/03/2022 20:25:11    2404138

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "A lot of people getting snotty on this thread over absolutely nothing, wilful misreads or bad faith interpretations of posts.

The way Dublin are playing they don't deserve Division 1 status, nor are they likely to preserve it. Is this a slap in the face, something to be ashamed of? No. If you're not good enough, you're not good enough. Should Dublin fans be downhearted by the impending relegation? No. Certainly nowhere near as down hearted as they should feel about the prospects of the team in the championship this summer, or the continuing tales of strife in the camp and players stepping away because of it. Should this situation sour the achievements of the last decade? How could it - we were gifted with a team that entertained and came up trumps time and time again. There's nothing but gratitude for that.

But we are where we are. Us Dubs have seen up close the ways in which a team build and gels, knows how to win leagues, knows how to adapt, knows how to get up off the canvas and get over the line, to win championships consecutively. We know what it takes, and if some of us are perceptive enough to have seen over the last 12 months that this group no longer has what it takes to do all these things, then we actually might be right. That's not a slight on any other county. If you're reading that into anything that has been said then you're just see what you want to see. We may well get to an AI SF, but the grá, ingenuity and belief required to go one or two better is no longer evident.

Knock yourselves out by all means. It's been a long time coming. But rest assured it's very easy to discern an objective poster from a wind-up merchant. Looking forward to pastures new next year."
Gavvygavgav (Dublin, Out of courtesy and 6 in a row Green thumbs below prompted me to reply to your post and the fact that there is an unnecessary void here that's going nowhere fast, however I was part of the Dublin's Demise thread debate.

I started posting here on the HS home page a number of years ago to put it out there the damage that the back door system was doing to the weaker counties, as a result a lot of psychological damage was done to the underage youngsters from u-10 up, some of the stuff I posted here was typed with passion as a result my posts went unnoticed with little or no green thumbs shall we say however I persisted and any available opportunity I got I put it out there that the weakest of the weak counties was merely being used as cannon fodder, in no time at all I became an unpopular poster here and I have no problem with that either after all it's not a popularity contest now is it. Now that the special congress has passed its proposals with flying colours I can clearly see the weakest of the weak counties ceasing to perform as a dual county in 3 to 5 years' time, max. So much for all that stuff.

The Gaelic Athletic Association, as I prefer to call it, is supposed to be a 32 county family and beyond, being respectably able to share and debate issues that is common to us all, one which happens to be " Dublin's Demise" for a start I think it is very premature, admittedly there is 3 or 4 other counties wearing the same favourites tag that once belonged to the Dub's but a tag is just a tag with no glitter shall we say.

When Kerry fell to Dublin in 2011, 2015, 2019 after a replay, no one posted a thread called "Kerry's Demise".
Similarly, when Mayo fell to Donegal in 2012, to the Dub's in 2013, 2016 after a replay and 2017 some by heart breaking scores, no one posted here about the impending Demise of Mayo or Kerry, in particular Mayo, look at both counties today they are one of 3 or 4 four counties that's wearing the favourites tag to win the All Ireland senior football title. If I was a betting man I would put my money on the Dub's to start with contesting this years Leinster final anything after that is a bonus.

I agree with you about the condition of some peoples noses here, personally I find my self with a handkerchief at the ready, just in case.

I wish you well, mo cara, take care and get those Dub's back into shape asap.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 09/03/2022 13:19:10    2404609

- - - after a well-earned rest, normal service has resumed.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 13/03/2022 18:35:05    2405225

Dublin doing my relegation hopes no favours. ;)

Best performance since 2020 final.

On our day…….

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 13/03/2022 18:45:55    2405228

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Dublin not far off. Creating chances but some poor shot selections. Can see a team coming together. A team in transition has to be given time. Now, in the League, is the time for that."
Getting there. Still creating scoring chances and one of the few teams who are not afraid to shoot from distance. A lot of wides but enough are going over. Most other teams are trying to walk it into the net. Donegal were an example of this today, county players unwilling or unable to go for a score from 30 or 40 metres out.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 13/03/2022 18:57:47    2405233

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dublin doing my relegation hopes no favours. ;)

Best performance since 2020 final.

On our day……."
I told you I had no worries about dublin going down, I knew it wouldn't happen.

Ye'll beat Donegal next Sunday and ye'll beat Monaghan the following week, 6 points will be enough.

Strangely enough it'll be the allireland champions that will be in div2 next year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2022 21:18:53    2405276

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I told you I had no worries about dublin going down, I knew it wouldn't happen.

Ye'll beat Donegal next Sunday and ye'll beat Monaghan the following week, 6 points will be enough.

Strangely enough it'll be the allireland champions that will be in div2 next year."
We're back baby!! No I don't think so KB. I was up in Omagh yesterday and Tyrone were absolutely appalling in that first half. They gave us tonnes of space and didn't compete at all in the middle. I haven't seen such a Tyrone performance in many years. I think we only scored two points in the second half, very poor. Let's see how the next two games go. Costello made a huge difference yesterday. I think we'd be a different animal with Con and Mannion also but at the moment our forwards are limping along. I think any D1 team would have beaten Tyrone yesterday on that performance but they'll be a different prospect in the Summer.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 14/03/2022 10:45:51    2405339

I grimaced when I saw this thread appear, the way I see it Dublin are definitely not as good as they were but they are still well capable of winning the all ireland which at this juncture appears very open this year.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/03/2022 11:12:09    2405341

Could we not just have Dublin v Rest of Ireland in Croke Park on St. Patrick's Day and implement the very logical split which is the viable long-term solution?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7922 - 14/03/2022 12:20:00    2405366

Replying To Joxer:  "We're back baby!! No I don't think so KB. I was up in Omagh yesterday and Tyrone were absolutely appalling in that first half. They gave us tonnes of space and didn't compete at all in the middle. I haven't seen such a Tyrone performance in many years. I think we only scored two points in the second half, very poor. Let's see how the next two games go. Costello made a huge difference yesterday. I think we'd be a different animal with Con and Mannion also but at the moment our forwards are limping along. I think any D1 team would have beaten Tyrone yesterday on that performance but they'll be a different prospect in the Summer."
Couldn't agree more Joxer.

Tyrone were awful yesterday, especially in the first half. I don't mind getting beat by the better team on the day but some Tyrone players were not putting in 100% effort.

McGeary literally didn't run or tackle the whole first half, i'm not sure if he is carrying an injury or what but this year he has been sent off twice and taken off early. McCurry isn't on form, same as McShane. Hampsey was a red card waiting to happen, McKernan was poor.

Peter Harte was playing in the full back line. No one was marking Scully, literally he had the freedom of Healy Park.

Dublin's big players stood up yesterday and it told. They will win both their last two games and stay up.

Tyrone doomed to relegation unless there is a massive change in effort against Mayo next weekend. And they will still probably be looking for favour's in other games.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 14/03/2022 13:05:39    2405373

Replying To Joxer:  "We're back baby!! No I don't think so KB. I was up in Omagh yesterday and Tyrone were absolutely appalling in that first half. They gave us tonnes of space and didn't compete at all in the middle. I haven't seen such a Tyrone performance in many years. I think we only scored two points in the second half, very poor. Let's see how the next two games go. Costello made a huge difference yesterday. I think we'd be a different animal with Con and Mannion also but at the moment our forwards are limping along. I think any D1 team would have beaten Tyrone yesterday on that performance but they'll be a different prospect in the Summer."
Agree on Cormac pal, but it was Robbie McDaid for me who was a key catalyst - very underrated probably given his historic profile and no one replaces Jack and does it better, but i thought he was our best player in 2020 and we missed him last year, he and Murch give us an extra dimension in mobility and line breaking, allowing the forwards space and the overload. That said the back door looks an awful lot safer with Johnny, Fitzy and Davey Byrne gone back out to the corner, shout out for young Murphy as well who looked the part.

Was league Tyrone though as you say, who are very different to Championship Tyrone.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 14/03/2022 13:30:14    2405380