Dublins Demise

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal.

But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really.

I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals.

I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2.

Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship.

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."
Firstly can I begin by saying I got a lot of enjoyment out of watching Dublin play their unique brand of football over the years, that was then this is now.

Your take on adversities may be well documented mo cara and I'll take your word on that, not that it matters a lot though, at the end of the day it's venial .I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear.

You say, "we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful".- very true, then show your gratitude, especially to the people who lent you their support, be grateful for small mercies like relegation just accept it, no brave face required, to be brutally honest and by your own admission when you say, "Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands" you simply can't accept probable relegation, Dublin's success over the years was your fix to keep your ego massaged, your already justifying Dublin's drop to div.2 when you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments.

I posted here a few years ago that it was only a matter of time before snobbery and belittling became part and parcel of the amateur gaa organization, I was wrong though, it was already established.

Above anyone else, you do care about the threat of relegation that is blatantly obvious, ego and all that, .

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 28/02/2022 21:13:26    2403129

Replying To supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal.

But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really.

I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals.

I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2.

Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship.

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."
To be honest people dont really care as much as you guys like to think they do

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 01/03/2022 11:52:44    2403204

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

Firstly can I begin by saying I got a lot of enjoyment out of watching Dublin play their unique brand of football over the years, that was then this is now.

Your take on adversities may be well documented mo cara and I'll take your word on that, not that it matters a lot though, at the end of the day it's venial .I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear.

You say, "we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful".- very true, then show your gratitude, especially to the people who lent you their support, be grateful for small mercies like relegation just accept it, no brave face required, to be brutally honest and by your own admission when you say, "Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands" you simply can't accept probable relegation, Dublin's success over the years was your fix to keep your ego massaged, your already justifying Dublin's drop to div.2 when you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments.

I posted here a few years ago that it was only a matter of time before snobbery and belittling became part and parcel of the amateur gaa organization, I was wrong though, it was already established.

Above anyone else, you do care about the threat of relegation that is blatantly obvious, ego and all that, .
."]Thank you for the kind and genuine opening disclaimer to your post.

I agree all of our opinion are venial and arbitrary as they dont lead to direct outcome, but we are on GAA message board so the sentiment is a bit nonsensical to be honest.

My take on yesterdays game is broadly what i wrote to Joxer, but i deconstruct far more and chain to former performances incrementally to the start of the league in the Dublin thread. Adversity in my view is fairly irelervent, its reaction to adversity that is key.

Some of the points you make a chara are a bit nonsensical, showing gratitude - i dont understand what measure you are weighing in this regard, supporting club, county underage and Senior team, win or loose its a year in year out thing - unflinching really, so whether its win or more likl loose there is no wavering in support of the team or expressing gratitude as you frame it. Im not sure what you mean about others who supported the team - from outside, if you would like a thank you - thank you, however prodful or ego motivated that need is!, i think the contributed to a lot of joy around the country and evolved the game so i see the relation as reciprocal.

I should just accept relegation? I have, that the point im making, im not to bothered byit, in fact i think it will be a bit of fun. You may of the importance its significant, personally i dont and i think it will be a bit of fun and im all for embracing and accepting is as you suggest, we are on board together there!

I dont understand the point you are making about there being more medals in Div 2 if Dublin get relegated, there will be, thats a fact. What you can Ego, others may call pride, i think its ok to be proud of our achievements as you say they are Bourne of "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments." - what earned should not easily be forgotten. You have to accept a bit of begrudgery and projection around that and that is the spirit in which i take from your post. Perhaps im wrong, because you seem a bit caught between admiring Dublin and wanting to maximise their current difficulties and significant. As you say though regardless as opinions are venial and arbitory as they dont lead to direct outcome and ultimately irrelevant.

As for snobbery and belittling - i think you are being nonsensical as well - if im looking forward to Div 2 and have accepted it, i dont see how snobbery, id really love a trip down the pairc, up to Newry, down to Clare or Galway its exciting - i cant remember thelast time we played Clare or Down in a game in anger - i find that exciting, no more then playing you guys down in PL a few years ago after not playing in a long time. You dont live in my head, so ultimately you dont know whether im bothered by relegation or not or whether i couldn't give a flyer and ive no interest in convincing you. From that point of view, your view is subjective, but likely inaccurate. all i can tell you is im looking forward to it if or when it comes to pass for the diversity in trips and games, if we are down there for five years i might feel differently, but practically i dont believe that to be the case.

I feel like you have been waiting for Dublin to have their come uppence and regress and i sense a disappointment that most Dubs arent loosening their minds. It comes across as bitterness and i think you are using words like pride and belittling to get a less accepting reaction - you're grand! We know we're poor at the moment, we know we are likely to get relegated, we know we will do will in the championship, we know we will be in Div 2 next season - thats fine - lets do it and lets do our thing. To my mind the game isnt about winning or loosing really and both are old friends.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 01/03/2022 13:03:17    2403233

Replying To Thechick:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

To be honest people dont really care as much as you guys like to think they do"]Yet here you are posting in the Dublin Demise thread. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 01/03/2022 13:15:15    2403236

Replying To Joxer:  "Given that you're a Kerry man who has probably posted more on this thread, and most threads on the topic of Dublin, than any Dub, I'm beginning to wonder who is most bothered and by what. You seem continually obsessed with the Dubs KB no matter whether we're picking up strings of trophies or just making up the numbers. There's a term for this, fan boy!! :). Underneath it all KB Dublin's demise concerns you. Who will the proud supporters of the Kingdom, Paidi God rest him, had a name for them, blame if they don't lock hands on Sam this Summer? With the financially doped, population laden, home advantaged Dublin squad not being able to win a game of tiddlywinks at the moment, I hope that JOC and his backroom team have solid excuses at the ready f they're pipped again this year without the Dublin excuse playbook at the ready. The natives will be restless in the Kingdom."
Jox IMO I don't think there is anything wrong with calling out unfairness like yer serious over funding, 90% of yer games at home with reffs working and living and part of clubs in dublin, we also have an advantage being in a province where football isnt very strong, although that has nothing to do with us.

As for Jack O'Connor, I wouldn't worry too much about him, he know exactly what awaits him if he doesn't deliver this year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2022 13:15:53    2403237

Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

I agree all of our opinion are venial and arbitrary as they dont lead to direct outcome, but we are on GAA message board so the sentiment is a bit nonsensical to be honest.

My take on yesterdays game is broadly what i wrote to Joxer, but i deconstruct far more and chain to former performances incrementally to the start of the league in the Dublin thread. Adversity in my view is fairly irelervent, its reaction to adversity that is key.

Some of the points you make a chara are a bit nonsensical, showing gratitude - i dont understand what measure you are weighing in this regard, supporting club, county underage and Senior team, win or loose its a year in year out thing - unflinching really, so whether its win or more likl loose there is no wavering in support of the team or expressing gratitude as you frame it. Im not sure what you mean about others who supported the team - from outside, if you would like a thank you - thank you, however prodful or ego motivated that need is!, i think the contributed to a lot of joy around the country and evolved the game so i see the relation as reciprocal.

I should just accept relegation? I have, that the point im making, im not to bothered byit, in fact i think it will be a bit of fun. You may of the importance its significant, personally i dont and i think it will be a bit of fun and im all for embracing and accepting is as you suggest, we are on board together there!

I dont understand the point you are making about there being more medals in Div 2 if Dublin get relegated, there will be, thats a fact. What you can Ego, others may call pride, i think its ok to be proud of our achievements as you say they are Bourne of "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments." - what earned should not easily be forgotten. You have to accept a bit of begrudgery and projection around that and that is the spirit in which i take from your post. Perhaps im wrong, because you seem a bit caught between admiring Dublin and wanting to maximise their current difficulties and significant. As you say though regardless as opinions are venial and arbitory as they dont lead to direct outcome and ultimately irrelevant.

As for snobbery and belittling - i think you are being nonsensical as well - if im looking forward to Div 2 and have accepted it, i dont see how snobbery, id really love a trip down the pairc, up to Newry, down to Clare or Galway its exciting - i cant remember thelast time we played Clare or Down in a game in anger - i find that exciting, no more then playing you guys down in PL a few years ago after not playing in a long time. You dont live in my head, so ultimately you dont know whether im bothered by relegation or not or whether i couldn't give a flyer and ive no interest in convincing you. From that point of view, your view is subjective, but likely inaccurate. all i can tell you is im looking forward to it if or when it comes to pass for the diversity in trips and games, if we are down there for five years i might feel differently, but practically i dont believe that to be the case.

I feel like you have been waiting for Dublin to have their come uppence and regress and i sense a disappointment that most Dubs arent loosening their minds. It comes across as bitterness and i think you are using words like pride and belittling to get a less accepting reaction - you're grand! We know we're poor at the moment, we know we are likely to get relegated, we know we will do will in the championship, we know we will be in Div 2 next season - thats fine - lets do it and lets do our thing. To my mind the game isnt about winning or loosing really and both are old friends."]If you're so in need of seeing "the Páirc" why don't you buy a ticket for Ed sheeran!

Galway hasn't moved and you can travel their any weekend now that there is no more lock downs.

You can't remember the last time ye played Clare or Down because you only started following dublin in 2011.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2022 14:26:27    2403255

Replying To Thechick:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

To be honest people dont really care as much as you guys like to think they do"]Yet here you are posting in the Dublin Demise thread. ;)"]Its amusing that's why ,i looked in to see what's the latest "all the rest of ye think about is us" comment .

Thechick (Westmeath) - Posts: 232 - 01/03/2022 14:40:17    2403260

Replying To oneoff:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
It's almost as amazing as how quick the Dubs say "it's only the league" when they're not winning it...."
When you've enough Sams and Celtic Crosses to kit out a few high street jewellers then it is just the league. I still think it has its uses but to a very successful county it's about as important as the O'Byrne Cup in terms of prestige."]But when Dublin were winning it it was very important. Why's that?"]Who said it was very important when Dublin were winning it? Nobody from Dublin that I know of. You got voices in your head there lad?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 01/03/2022 14:42:13    2403261

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jox IMO I don't think there is anything wrong with calling out unfairness like yer serious over funding, 90% of yer games at home with reffs working and living and part of clubs in dublin, we also have an advantage being in a province where football isnt very strong, although that has nothing to do with us.

As for Jack O'Connor, I wouldn't worry too much about him, he know exactly what awaits him if he doesn't deliver this year."
Nothing wrong with calliing out Dublin advantages , but doing it on practically every thread is wrong , its thread spoiling everyone on here knows your views , lord knows you mention it often enough .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 01/03/2022 15:21:45    2403273

Replying To superbluedub:  "Nothing wrong with calliing out Dublin advantages , but doing it on practically every thread is wrong , its thread spoiling everyone on here knows your views , lord knows you mention it often enough ."
Thread spoiling? It was joxer that brought it up and I replied to him, and sure if you don't like what I'm saying then just skip over my posts.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2022 16:17:26    2403285

Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

I feel like you have been waiting for Dublin to have their come uppence and regress and i sense a disappointment that most Dubs arent loosening their minds. It comes across as bitterness and i think you are using words like pride and belittling to get a less accepting reaction - you're grand! We know we're poor at the moment, we know we are likely to get relegated, we know we will do will in the championship, we know we will be in Div 2 next season - thats fine - lets do it and lets do our thing. To my mind the game isnt about winning or loosing really and both are old friends."]If you had a longer memory you might recall going to Salthill in 2018 (also 2020 and Tuam last year but u probably wouldn't have travelled).

Pure snobbery indeed just looking at current Div 2 teams/locations as a holiday option.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 01/03/2022 17:36:12    2403305

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thread spoiling? It was joxer that brought it up and I replied to him, and sure if you don't like what I'm saying then just skip over my posts."
Always somebody else's fault KN, eh?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 01/03/2022 19:27:32    2403319

TheUsername.

- I get the impression I'm wasting your time, I choose the route of anonymity because that's the only route this forum offers therefore facial expressions and body language is a no, no, so reading between the lines ( pun not intended )this is the only option.

- I'm not really a man of words so I'll respond to your post the best way I can, my question to you was, ".I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear." Your apparent answer was, " Adversity in my view is fairly irelervent, its reaction to adversity that is key." Where was the reaction. ?

- You were born into a county of a greater God than some, I think that's worth a grain of gratitude; however I wouldn't change mine for all the silver in Queensland, Mozambique or wherever they get it.

- If some of my posts are nonsensical so too are a some of others including your own mo cara, that's the nature of the forum it caters for a type of nonsense that borders on the ridiculous and sometimes worse.

- By support from others I was referring to was that of AIG, Mitsubishi, Ballygowan, Curtesy cars from Toyota. Begrudge no, envy maybe a little. I am not looking for thanks as I had nothing to do with it.

- You continue to bring Relegation into play, and what it might be like in div.2 surely it's giving you a lot of grief, I still think it's ego related.

- Correction, it was yourself that brought the medals in div.2 into play, not me I just made the obvious comment on them and I stand by that, you are misquoting or misinterpreting my post. you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" I say, Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments.

- Snobbery and belitteling is freely available in every walk of life, the gaa has it's own share, in fact it's part of this forum, don't you agree.

- No I haven't been waiting for Dublin to have their comeuppance and regress, that's not in my way of thinking, in fact I wish them a well.

- Finally, can I suggest you reapply for posting rights here on H S, in the TheUsername field and select, areyouwindingmeup.com, just a thought.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 01/03/2022 19:51:07    2403325

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
It's almost as amazing as how quick the Dubs say "it's only the league" when they're not winning it...."
When you've enough Sams and Celtic Crosses to kit out a few high street jewellers then it is just the league. I still think it has its uses but to a very successful county it's about as important as the O'Byrne Cup in terms of prestige."]But when Dublin were winning it it was very important. Why's that?"]Who said it was very important when Dublin were winning it? Nobody from Dublin that I know of. You got voices in your head there lad?"]Joxer.

Those high street jewellers that you supply with Medals, Cups etc, have now for their own reasons switched trading, - they are now trading as Pawn shops.

No offence meant Mo Cara.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 02/03/2022 10:53:27    2403404

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=oneoff:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
When you've enough Sams and Celtic Crosses to kit out a few high street jewellers then it is just the league. I still think it has its uses but to a very successful county it's about as important as the O'Byrne Cup in terms of prestige."]But when Dublin were winning it it was very important. Why's that?"]Who said it was very important when Dublin were winning it? Nobody from Dublin that I know of. You got voices in your head there lad?"]Joxer.

Those high street jewellers that you supply with Medals, Cups etc, have now for their own reasons switched trading, - they are now trading as Pawn shops.

No offence meant Mo Cara."]None taken kid.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/03/2022 11:17:42    2403409

Multiply Dublin by two! :)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9190 - 02/03/2022 11:29:13    2403413

Replying To supersub15:  "TheUsername.

- I get the impression I'm wasting your time, I choose the route of anonymity because that's the only route this forum offers therefore facial expressions and body language is a no, no, so reading between the lines ( pun not intended )this is the only option.

- I'm not really a man of words so I'll respond to your post the best way I can, my question to you was, ".I would like to read your take on yesterday's adversity in St. Conleths Park, it was clearly on display unless the cameras were sabotaged, but where was the reliance of yesteryear." Your apparent answer was, " Adversity in my view is fairly irelervent, its reaction to adversity that is key." Where was the reaction. ?

- You were born into a county of a greater God than some, I think that's worth a grain of gratitude; however I wouldn't change mine for all the silver in Queensland, Mozambique or wherever they get it.

- If some of my posts are nonsensical so too are a some of others including your own mo cara, that's the nature of the forum it caters for a type of nonsense that borders on the ridiculous and sometimes worse.

- By support from others I was referring to was that of AIG, Mitsubishi, Ballygowan, Curtesy cars from Toyota. Begrudge no, envy maybe a little. I am not looking for thanks as I had nothing to do with it.

- You continue to bring Relegation into play, and what it might be like in div.2 surely it's giving you a lot of grief, I still think it's ego related.

- Correction, it was yourself that brought the medals in div.2 into play, not me I just made the obvious comment on them and I stand by that, you are misquoting or misinterpreting my post. you say, "- if Dublin go down they're will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1" I say, Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments.

- Snobbery and belitteling is freely available in every walk of life, the gaa has it's own share, in fact it's part of this forum, don't you agree.

- No I haven't been waiting for Dublin to have their comeuppance and regress, that's not in my way of thinking, in fact I wish them a well.

- Finally, can I suggest you reapply for posting rights here on H S, in the TheUsername field and select, areyouwindingmeup.com, just a thought."
Thank you for your thoughtful reply. Ill deal with your points from the bottom up. I am a little bit disappointed with your personalised comment at the end, i usually steer clear from posters of that nature and certainly that is a course to consider in this case, my approach would be to play the ball not the man. Yet i will deconstruct perhaps in the finality of our interaction in a sense of good will, certainly on my behalf.

- Thank you for that level of self disclosure, there can be no curiosity in regard to anonymity or how many words you like to use as a man. I would be often endeared to provide receptive response to a request for my thoughts on a game, in fact its flattering to be asked, i am however less inclined to aqueste to your request given the personalised last comment you make, its just not friendly and neighbourly so im less inclined to part with good will. Not to be totally polarised in your request, i often part with my thoughts, such as they are in Dublin thread, so if the like proves unbearable there may be a pathway toward gratification.

- As for major and minor Gods, i revert to your initial comment to me which i think fits, "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

- Commercial relationships indeed are reciprocal, they are a process of give and take, envy is a dangerous sin, i dare say if Dublin was sponsored by Tickets.ie., CIT, Net Watch, Central, Mount Wolsey etc there be many who would envy, again i think its important to be aware rather to covet, im not sure its helping with your perception of snobbery. There are certainly, things i envy in Carlow, no more so space for clubs to grow and develop that is impossible or financially unviable up here.

- I may have misunderstood the topic of our conversation, to my mind you are calling into question my agency cognitively in terms of approach to relegation - believing you know my mind better. if this is not the case i don know what we are discussing - or at least attempting to.

- Thank you for presenting the premise, i think ive been factual in terms of medals - i think we can both accept that. The premise you present is : "Can I humbly suggest, victory's and awards are measured in silver, honour and greatness are measured in "Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments." -my rebuttal to same in one of the premise not being mutually exclusive or as binary as you suggest, i think silver, honour and greatness and Blood, sweat, tears, and disappointments. are not separate entities indeed one does not exist without the other - therefore i find the premise nonsensical.

- I tend not to generalise in terms of groups of and traits r.e: snobbery and belittling, i like to exist in humanity with many different traits, while accept they exist, i find generalisation or stereotype unhelpful, i tend to treat as a fine - so id be reluctant to make generalised statements across communities, some of the greatest friends ive made in GAA have come perceived "bitter rivals" so i find generalisation and stereotypes of traits divisive and unhelpful in the main, like i say i treat as i find.

- You mention ego and seem seem to have particular leanings form theoretical perspective to a psychoanalytical approach, ill be open minded, i dont think pride nor ego are factors in my case, but in the off chance they are subliminal and in my unconscious subconscious - i will be aware and thank you for the advice in regard to my wellbeing. I would would equally suggest in the same spirt and premise - if you were to look at your position from a Jungian point of view of facades, you present as neutral i.e. the façade - yet it tends to slip or spill in terms of comparison to Dublin and stated envy it apexed in a personal insult. In such a scenario there is a gratification in terms of Dublin decline and as per satisfying same and to find the reaction of the fans upset after years of success, in visiting this page you find a less then upset approach and immediately post to elicit the perceived desired reaction that would sate said gratification, it swhy you have trouble accepting - for want of a bet of word my acceptance of Dublins regression without undue distress. Im not a massive fan of psychoanalysis as an approach, but im speaking in the area of ego psychology you tend to favour. I also find it interesting to you mention grief, you may be familiar with the work of Strobe and Schut 1999 on contempory theory of grief, within the concept facet's at play are a loss orientation and restoration orientation and oscitation to eventually reach reach homeostasis, in that sense its an apt pro you use in regard to despair not existing without hope, perhaps its the hoipe that underpins my acceptance and explains my approach, that i convey in terms of relegation and that seems jarring or unbelievable for you, if i am illustrating that succinctly.

On a final note no you are not wasting my time, i do apologise as my reply yesterday was grammatically poorly constructed - i was very busy - but no disrespect intended. I am however that disappointed with your closing remarks which i think are unnecessary. A wise man once told me, if a debate ends in a personal insult, congratulations you've won. Please do not take offence if i dont reply to any response you make, i tend not to engage with people who personalise debate on the internet, its supposed to be fun and i dont enjoy discussing GAA when things get personalised. But the very best wishes and luck in the months ahead to you and your county.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 02/03/2022 11:39:41    2403418

Replying To systematic:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."

I feel like you have been waiting for Dublin to have their come uppence and regress and i sense a disappointment that most Dubs arent loosening their minds. It comes across as bitterness and i think you are using words like pride and belittling to get a less accepting reaction - you're grand! We know we're poor at the moment, we know we are likely to get relegated, we know we will do will in the championship, we know we will be in Div 2 next season - thats fine - lets do it and lets do our thing. To my mind the game isnt about winning or loosing really and both are old friends."]If you had a longer memory you might recall going to Salthill in 2018 (also 2020 and Tuam last year but u probably wouldn't have travelled).

Pure snobbery indeed just looking at current Div 2 teams/locations as a holiday option."]if you read my post again, you will see i mentioned Clare adn Down and not Galway.

Tuam wasn't 2020 its was 20221 - by the way - i wasn't there due to Covid. I was in 18, right under were Jayo lost the head, great home crowd that day - was freezing with a wind blowing in from the Atlantic. was the day after St Patricks Day, Ireland won the six nations the day before beating Enlgand in England and yes i partied my head off in Galway the whole weekend. It was great. I still have vouchers for the hotel i need to use, for the scheduled game that was cancelled the week before (just ahead of a home game with Meath) the first lock down was announced in 2020 in SH.

I honestly make zero apologies for enjoying a good weekend, in a good destination that a match is on - i mean the whole thing is supposed to be fun and i am looking forward to some of the destinations in Div 2, if that snobbery ill own it comfortably. Ive made so many trips to Div 1 teams its boring - so im looking forward to the change. As my Kildare supporting Pal told me in Newbridge in Sun, what is rare is often wonderful.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 02/03/2022 11:47:52    2403421

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Multiply Dublin by two! :)"
:D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 02/03/2022 11:49:31    2403422

Some off you dubs on here our embarrassing yourselves, One poster starts talking ***** about would be great playing in div 2, bored of playing the same teams etc.
Then his buddies come on saying the same thing because they can't think for themselves christ your like a polical party all saying what the party puts out there like little nodding dogs.

No county board, Management, Players or supporters want to be playing in div 2,3 or 4 everyone wants to be at the top table testing themselves so cut out this ***** talk and looking down on other teams.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 708 - 02/03/2022 11:49:48    2403423