Dublins Demise

Replying To supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal.

But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really.

I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals.

I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2.

Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship.

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 28/02/2022 11:50:18    2402917

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
My take on our current adversities are well documented in the Dublin thread pal.

But i think everything in context, first world problems really in footballing terms - we've lived through incredible years and you can only be grateful. Reality is we have won 7 of the last 9 All Irelands. In that context relegation - is a non issue really.

I couldn't care less about relegation, in fact if you offered me the same games in Div 1 again next year or a trip down the pairc to play Cork (live on RTE), a jaunt down to Galway or Clare for the weekend or a spin up to Newry id bite your hand off, id also like to play an up and coming Offaly, DIv 1 can be boring year in year out - you get sick of playing Mayo, Tyrone and Kerry etc and making the same trips. Its not going to teach our players much, most of them will be sick of the sight of those teams and already have multiple NFL and All Ireland medals.

I hear people talk about having to take the league seriously, that largely based on with we did in the last decade, but i dont think we even did anything we just had incredible squad. People talk about having to play the top teams - if Dublin go down their will be more All Ireland medals in Div 2 then Div 1, young lads breaking through will get more out of playing aga9inst Jamsie McCarthy, Fenton, King Con, Fitzy and Cooper in training then dogging it down to Castlebar. So i wont even blink in regard to relegation and to be honest the potential fixtures and trips excite me more then Div 1 again. Mayo got relegated in the last two years and got to two All Ireland finals in their relegation year and playing out of Div 2.

Might just be the year for it to with the way the Championship will be next year, we could be in an All Ireland Quarter final on league position in Div2,before a ball is kicked in Leinseter in Championship.

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."
Great post Username very good points made there
I hope Galway will be in div 1 next year
There are signs there in Kildare game ye not far away
How many goal chances di Dublin miss
Hopefully ye stay up and we get to play ye in div 1
or more likely well meet in championship this year
Dublin will get it right at some stage im sure

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 28/02/2022 12:05:30    2402925

Really? You would put Kerry in 4th? Would have us in 2nd behind Tyrone. followed by Dublin then Mayo

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 28/02/2022 12:06:31    2402928

I honestly couldn't care less if we were relegated, be a bit of craic for everyone if we were, people can dance on our graves, the media can write us off and we will do our thing and have a bit of craic in Div 2."
I'm definitely looking forward to away games in D2. It'll be great craic. I know the league and champo can be chalk and cheese but the NFL still serves a purpose. It's important to get a couple of wins, a bit of momentum, a bit of confidence, proof that tactics and new personnel are working. Not sure we've got any of that. Would like to see more of Archer. This lad's going to be something. A Summer team with himself, Con (come back!), Mannion (come back!) in the mix for places would lift the spirits. Let's hope the better weather brings better Dubs.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 28/02/2022 12:51:36    2402948

Replying To Viking66:  "I'd have Kerry in 4th. With nothing much between the top 3 although it's very early to be making predictions really.
1 Tyrone
2 Mayo
3 Dublin
4 Kerry
5 Donegal
6 Galway
Kerry need to beat 1 of the top 3 in a championship game to move up. Something most of this current Kerry team have never done."
I agree with you viking , Kerry are 4th at best, we haven't beaten a div 1 team in the championship since 2019 but the media keep bigging us up on league and Munster form.

I have 0 worries for dublin, I still think theyl win their last 3 games and 4/5 points might even be enough.

What are Monaghan Kildare and Tyrones last 3 games?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2022 12:53:03    2402949

Any truth to the story of Dessie and McCarthy going at it and having to be separated? Something is up when these lads aren't showing the pride and heart when their teammates and county needs them, all differences aside time to put feelings away for now and get stuck in. A small very small piece of me is sad to see the demise so quick but I remember watching all Ireland's not so long ago where the game was never a match so for the good of the GAA and entertainment I'm happy to see it

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 216 - 28/02/2022 13:39:56    2402965

@Joxer agreed the way we are playing ive just accepted Div 2 like i say im actually looking forward to it. I think the value of div 1 football is completely over done, i think particularly for us it serves little value, we could spend 3 years in div 2 and still know Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone inside out - i think its different for other Counties, but for us its a bit of Craic, like it was for Mayo and Donegal. Its the NFL after all - we won it last year with the same group of players, we could be relegated with the same group - cie la vie.

Ive no hope or expectation for the year in terms of Championship, Desie has always played far to open, man to man, favouring a pocession based style of play he did it with Dublin underage and he did it with NF - what he is doing now with the sneiors is more of the same and his philosophy on what works. He is going to die on that sward in my opinion, hes made a choice to stick with that approach after Mayo last year and hes not going to change we can expect it in the summer, which is when he will die on his sward and i would nt be surprised to see Dec Darcy on the touchline n Div 2 next Jan.

Dessie approach has always led to erratic results, high peaks and low troughs. Exactly what we see with the senior team now, hes not for changing and a s isay he will die on that sword. It might be part of some grand master plan and the whole thing will click - but i cant see it. When you see two of the best players in the country in Howard and fenton not be able to kick the ball to each other over three meters and Dean Rock leave run of the mill free short and begging you know your in trouble. No one is creating options - by that i mean running of the shoulder, in to space or creating over laps, Kilkenny was dancing yesterday and no one showing - its all to telegraphed and poorly managed on the breakdown were we are so vulnerable as dessie plays man to man. so if we continue - ive just written of the summer and it wil be the end of Dessies reign.

For me we still have as good if not better players then anyone - there is definitely more all irelands in this playing group, we should be aiming for an All Ireland title, the fact i don't think we will is down to management approach as opposed to talent, im not getting at Dessie, or looseing the plot over him like others, hes won one, been a great servant underage and as a player - he deserved his shot. But winning or the least building to winning is just the standard here. If you could see building youd say fine and forgive a lot of sins, but its just aimless at the moment and he's running out of road, 2 and half years in. Sad but she's a cruel mistress, Dublin football.

Its not all doom and gloom, we have great players still, weve unearthed a few gems in Gannon and McMahon looked good yesterday. O Dell is a player, hes a year of. I have high hopes for Mark Lavan. Im not as convicned as yourself, on Archer, hes brilliant a dead ball and bearing down on a keeper, but he (like McGarry yesterday) struggles to win his own ball, you have to be able win your own ball as a forward at intercounty. was delighted to see Robbie come back - i think he could be big for us. Who knows Paul may come back next year.

So where im at is I've accepted and am looking forward to Div 2 for all the fun mentioned. Dessie isnt for changing in approach and unless hes a footballing genius (like Gavin) and it all clicks, ive written of the summer and his reign will end. I'll just enjoy it for its merits = hopefully a Leinster in us. We go again next Jan, with some of the young lads blooded and a year on the clock and hopefully, a bit of momentum coming out of Div 2 with someone like Dec playing more in the Dublin of the teens philosphey.

No muss, no fuss, no complaints, we cant be greedy - we've had ridiculous success, ill enjoy the Championship for what it will be win and loose.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 28/02/2022 13:59:26    2402982

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree with you viking , Kerry are 4th at best, we haven't beaten a div 1 team in the championship since 2019 but the media keep bigging us up on league and Munster form.

I have 0 worries for dublin, I still think theyl win their last 3 games and 4/5 points might even be enough.

What are Monaghan Kildare and Tyrones last 3 games?"
Thats not to say you wont be bringing home Sam this year. One good win against any of the top 3 teams in this years championship could be the springboard needed to multiple all Irelands.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12227 - 28/02/2022 14:02:40    2402983

Replying To TheUsername:  "@Joxer agreed the way we are playing ive just accepted Div 2 like i say im actually looking forward to it. I think the value of div 1 football is completely over done, i think particularly for us it serves little value, we could spend 3 years in div 2 and still know Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone inside out - i think its different for other Counties, but for us its a bit of Craic, like it was for Mayo and Donegal. Its the NFL after all - we won it last year with the same group of players, we could be relegated with the same group - cie la vie.

Ive no hope or expectation for the year in terms of Championship, Desie has always played far to open, man to man, favouring a pocession based style of play he did it with Dublin underage and he did it with NF - what he is doing now with the sneiors is more of the same and his philosophy on what works. He is going to die on that sward in my opinion, hes made a choice to stick with that approach after Mayo last year and hes not going to change we can expect it in the summer, which is when he will die on his sward and i would nt be surprised to see Dec Darcy on the touchline n Div 2 next Jan.

Dessie approach has always led to erratic results, high peaks and low troughs. Exactly what we see with the senior team now, hes not for changing and a s isay he will die on that sword. It might be part of some grand master plan and the whole thing will click - but i cant see it. When you see two of the best players in the country in Howard and fenton not be able to kick the ball to each other over three meters and Dean Rock leave run of the mill free short and begging you know your in trouble. No one is creating options - by that i mean running of the shoulder, in to space or creating over laps, Kilkenny was dancing yesterday and no one showing - its all to telegraphed and poorly managed on the breakdown were we are so vulnerable as dessie plays man to man. so if we continue - ive just written of the summer and it wil be the end of Dessies reign.

For me we still have as good if not better players then anyone - there is definitely more all irelands in this playing group, we should be aiming for an All Ireland title, the fact i don't think we will is down to management approach as opposed to talent, im not getting at Dessie, or looseing the plot over him like others, hes won one, been a great servant underage and as a player - he deserved his shot. But winning or the least building to winning is just the standard here. If you could see building youd say fine and forgive a lot of sins, but its just aimless at the moment and he's running out of road, 2 and half years in. Sad but she's a cruel mistress, Dublin football.

Its not all doom and gloom, we have great players still, weve unearthed a few gems in Gannon and McMahon looked good yesterday. O Dell is a player, hes a year of. I have high hopes for Mark Lavan. Im not as convicned as yourself, on Archer, hes brilliant a dead ball and bearing down on a keeper, but he (like McGarry yesterday) struggles to win his own ball, you have to be able win your own ball as a forward at intercounty. was delighted to see Robbie come back - i think he could be big for us. Who knows Paul may come back next year.

So where im at is I've accepted and am looking forward to Div 2 for all the fun mentioned. Dessie isnt for changing in approach and unless hes a footballing genius (like Gavin) and it all clicks, ive written of the summer and his reign will end. I'll just enjoy it for its merits = hopefully a Leinster in us. We go again next Jan, with some of the young lads blooded and a year on the clock and hopefully, a bit of momentum coming out of Div 2 with someone like Dec playing more in the Dublin of the teens philosphey.

No muss, no fuss, no complaints, we cant be greedy - we've had ridiculous success, ill enjoy the Championship for what it will be win and loose."
The more you say it doesn't bother you that ye could be religated (and you're saying it a lot by the way) the more it looks like you are bothered by it :-)

Anyway I don't think it'll happen Tyrone Donegal and Monaghan don't seem too interested in the league so I'd say ye be fine, not that it bothers you of course.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2022 16:23:44    2403037

Replying To Viking66:  "Thats not to say you wont be bringing home Sam this year. One good win against any of the top 3 teams in this years championship could be the springboard needed to multiple all Irelands."
Íl believe it when I see it viking. To me we're very over rated.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2022 16:24:32    2403038

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Any truth to the story of Dessie and McCarthy going at it and having to be separated? Something is up when these lads aren't showing the pride and heart when their teammates and county needs them, all differences aside time to put feelings away for now and get stuck in. A small very small piece of me is sad to see the demise so quick but I remember watching all Ireland's not so long ago where the game was never a match so for the good of the GAA and entertainment I'm happy to see it"
I think most of Dublin's All-Ireland victories were tight affairs..

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1421 - 28/02/2022 16:25:32    2403040

It's almost as amazing as how quick the Dubs say "it's only the league" when they're not winning it....

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 28/02/2022 16:45:45    2403047

Replying To Ban:  "I think most of Dublin's All-Ireland victories were tight affairs.."
Was a few finals whereby Dublin was there to be beaten but the opposition found ways to lose them.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 28/02/2022 17:11:43    2403056

Replying To oneoff:  "
It's almost as amazing as how quick the Dubs say "it's only the league" when they're not winning it...."
When you've enough Sams and Celtic Crosses to kit out a few high street jewellers then it is just the league. I still think it has its uses but to a very successful county it's about as important as the O'Byrne Cup in terms of prestige.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 28/02/2022 17:16:12    2403059

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Íl believe it when I see it viking. To me we're very over rated."
Given that you're a Kerry man who has probably posted more on this thread, and most threads on the topic of Dublin, than any Dub, I'm beginning to wonder who is most bothered and by what. You seem continually obsessed with the Dubs KB no matter whether we're picking up strings of trophies or just making up the numbers. There's a term for this, fan boy!! :). Underneath it all KB Dublin's demise concerns you. Who will the proud supporters of the Kingdom, Paidi God rest him, had a name for them, blame if they don't lock hands on Sam this Summer? With the financially doped, population laden, home advantaged Dublin squad not being able to win a game of tiddlywinks at the moment, I hope that JOC and his backroom team have solid excuses at the ready f they're pipped again this year without the Dublin excuse playbook at the ready. The natives will be restless in the Kingdom.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 28/02/2022 17:30:24    2403068

@Username. Agree with most of what you're saying there. I've seen Archer a lot, as I know you will have, and I think he's exceptional. He needs supply. He's very young and learning his trade but the raw talent is there, just like Con. You put your finger on the real problem so far under Dessie for me though, that failure to move at pace, with lads running off the shoulder, the trademark under Gavin that tore teams apart. It's not there now. It was for the last 3 to 4mins yesterday when they suddenly broke from the game plan and went for the jugular. We need that from minute 1 to minute 70 in the following games.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 28/02/2022 17:39:50    2403073

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To oneoff:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Its amazing the speed you reduce the apparent problems to its essentials. Quietly belittling shall we say."
It's almost as amazing as how quick the Dubs say "it's only the league" when they're not winning it...."
When you've enough Sams and Celtic Crosses to kit out a few high street jewellers then it is just the league. I still think it has its uses but to a very successful county it's about as important as the O'Byrne Cup in terms of prestige."]But when Dublin were winning it it was very important. Why's that?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 28/02/2022 18:26:26    2403088

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I agree with you viking , Kerry are 4th at best, we haven't beaten a div 1 team in the championship since 2019 but the media keep bigging us up on league and Munster form.

What are Monaghan Kildare and Tyrones last 3 games?"
All well said. Off the back of Kerry's last two Championship defeats, Kerry have it all to prove.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7922 - 28/02/2022 18:39:11    2403096

You are right on next year being the year to be in Div 2 given the new setup but have missed out an important part of the new equation, if the Examiners version of the new setup is accurate.

You wont be in a qtr final but in one of the 4 groups of 4. Dublin could come 6th or 7th in Div 2 next year (unlikely I know) , lose all their Leinster games, lose 2 of their group games but beat the likes of Down or Offaly to come third in the group and be in a prelim qtr final . From where they can win 4 KO games to win Sam!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 28/02/2022 18:54:27    2403103

Replying To oneoff:  "
Really? Go back to my posts when we were winning leagues. And in fact, other counties started taking the league seriously when we were winning them.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 28/02/2022 20:25:00    2403122