Dublins Demise

Dublin will be back when the bee hits the window. Though I will have to admit that Jim Gavin was a super manager as under him they were untouchable.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 20/02/2022 21:18:46    2401461

Replying To essmac:  "All nonsense, over-reaction stuff; Dublin will be serious contenders for Sam."
I agree with you. A number of new players who will fit in eventually. Early games in atrocious conditions. Like the Kerry team of the 70's and 80's the former management stayed with all the established players until they were drained. This Dublin squad is in a much sounder position than Kerry was.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 20/02/2022 21:44:48    2401472

Like a few Dubs this drop off in performances has been coming since early 2021 after the covid All-Ireland. At the moment things are so disjointed and so all over the place that it's hard to know what to make of them. The last evening was just another display of misplaced passes, incorrect shots taken on, desperate wides and overall the work rate (although up a bit) wasn't where it needs to be. There are plenty of logical explanations given for the drop off in previous posts of which we are all well aware. You just have to hope as a Dublin fan at this point that Dessie and his management team have some sort of grand plan to pull all this in line when it counts. Do I have that faith? Not particularly but it's kinda all we are left with otherwise we're looking at best case stumbling into a semi-final before being taken out by whoever we meet.

I will say though that I think the stalwarts in the current squad have done more than enough to earn our patience and trust though. Especially after what they have given us over the last number of years. They owe us nothing whatsoever. You would still have to hope that come the cut and thrust of championship that fierce competitors like Fenton, KK, Con, Jimmy MC, Cooper, Small and Co will put the shoulder to the wheel and right the ship.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 21/02/2022 09:05:25    2401486

Dublin have played this keep ball type game for the past ten years. Only now the difference is teams aren't afraid to go at them and it has them flustered. And teams are dropping balls in on the square too, which they seemed to forget to do previously

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 21/02/2022 10:05:22    2401499

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Dublin have played this keep ball type game for the past ten years. Only now the difference is teams aren't afraid to go at them and it has them flustered. And teams are dropping balls in on the square too, which they seemed to forget to do previously"
That's some trick, winning 8/11 All Ireland's by playing keep ball....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 21/02/2022 10:28:01    2401511

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That's some trick, winning 8/11 All Ireland's by playing keep ball...."
It puts the fear of god into everyone - apparently. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 21/02/2022 10:59:14    2401527

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "Dublin have played this keep ball type game for the past ten years. Only now the difference is teams aren't afraid to go at them and it has them flustered. And teams are dropping balls in on the square too, which they seemed to forget to do previously"
If they played keep ball correctly for the last month they would not be bottom of the league, ?,

Hard work when you have not got the ball is a good place to start,,

Heffo (Dublin) - Posts: 76 - 21/02/2022 11:01:54    2401528

10 years to overcome a fear?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1421 - 21/02/2022 11:36:16    2401541

Special team and will always have a special place in my heart stopping Mayo year after year to land the major.

Can't help but feel this thread may be a tad premature though, no AI was ever won in February.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1582 - 21/02/2022 11:57:40    2401548

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "4 losses on the bounce in league and championship.
Talking about having to rebuild but had more 2021 championship starters out last night than their opponents.
Kicking wides to beat the band and coughing up goals at a rate not seem for 10 years.

Manager says they are learning- evidence is that they aren't.
They should have been able to win last night, but the reason they can't win isn't down to player's ability.

For me it's poor tactics and a collapse of their famed high standards. The players have gone back to their standards of 15 years ago."
Dublin were a good and athletic team over the years. Their time has come and gone. I expect Mayo to be our main challengers for Sam Maguire this year.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 21/02/2022 12:11:26    2401557

It's clear to see that Dublin have rejoined the pack somewhat, but to suggest their total demise would be foolhardy in the extreme. Do Dublin need another League title? No. They'll be looking to reach the end of the league in midtable with a injury free squad approaching full fitness. A first choice Dublin 15 is still a serious proposition for any team. They may not have the same quality supporting cast as before but no team with serious All Ireland aspirations will be taking them lightly.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9190 - 21/02/2022 12:39:48    2401566

so that's it.............that's all it would've took to beat them. lol!!!!!!
Dublin are out of the equation for a while. I'd fear for them that it might get even worse considering where they are at atm and that's before they have even lost the real core of their defence in mc carthy, cooper and Fitzsimons.
there isn't the same players coming in than that's going out and that's testament to just how good that crop of players were, they'll be remembered for a long time to come.
for what its worth I feel they lost a large bit of their soul when they lost Jim and his team. muscle memory brought them through 2020. its the end of a glorious era for football.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 21/02/2022 12:52:18    2401570

It's pretty simple the game is cyclical, once every few generations you have exceptional players or teams. When you are in peak you have to make hay when the sun is shining, no one could argue Dublin did that and for that you have to be immensely proud and grateful.

The alternative is you can have Keegans, O Connors, Morans, Boylars, Mullens, Duncan's exceptional players etc who might not win at all, has the peak been wasted, because it doesn't last forever.

I imagine it's similar to Kerry take Clifford and O Shea they are exceptional players or the players from the minor successes every year that eeks by without an all Ireland will be another year gone when they are arguably peaking.

All that said for those teams and opportunities in the future a big road block has been removed because Dublin now are in a trough, the trick for us to be competitive and hope for a bit of luck and try and maximise what there. But I wonder does that put extra pressure now on other counties, there see,ed a turning of the worm particularly in Mayo after the final last year, Dublin were a big shadow to hide behind as a coping strategy.

Thankfully we didn't blow the boom, we made hay out of our peak when the sun was shining, we didn't waste it, incredible years, that has to sustain us and give us hope in the years ahead, that it's more then possible for this county to produce again and full tilt we're often untouchable.

The big thing though is when you have it, you don't blow the boom.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 21/02/2022 13:48:06    2401594

Replying To theweanling:  "so that's it.............that's all it would've took to beat them. lol!!!!!!
Dublin are out of the equation for a while. I'd fear for them that it might get even worse considering where they are at atm and that's before they have even lost the real core of their defence in mc carthy, cooper and Fitzsimons.
there isn't the same players coming in than that's going out and that's testament to just how good that crop of players were, they'll be remembered for a long time to come.
for what its worth I feel they lost a large bit of their soul when they lost Jim and his team. muscle memory brought them through 2020. its the end of a glorious era for football."
Nothing glorious about it. People said the same thong about hurling when kilkenny were dominating yet the same people then celebrated when other teams began to start beating them. With due respect to the great Dublin team, we were lucky if they had one or two competitive games a season along the way to winning during the mid to late 2010s.
It was too predictable and thankfully it looks like it's waning.
For the record I wouldn't rule them out of winning the title this year.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1757 - 21/02/2022 13:57:27    2401598

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Dublin were a good and athletic team over the years. Their time has come and gone. I expect Mayo to be our main challengers for Sam Maguire this year."
Think you have a way to go before you are up with Mayo as a championship contender. Beating another AI contender in a championship game would be a good start.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12227 - 21/02/2022 14:46:07    2401621

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Dublin were a good and athletic team over the years. Their time has come and gone. I expect Mayo to be our main challengers for Sam Maguire this year."
Kerry4sam21 is not a Kerry poster, he is on the wind up, he is the poster formally known as catch22 and is no friend to Kerry and is only trying to cause trouble.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/02/2022 14:50:04    2401624

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Can't argue with that. It's a mixture of things though. Jim Gavin finishing up, Dessie's brand of football and Tactics, players retiring, players walking away, players that have won everything and haven't got much left in the tank and most importantly - the players coming though and replacing these greats are simply nowhere near good enough.

Hopefully all this split Dublin in 2 nonsense can stop now. This "conveyor belt" of talent simply doesn't exist. We were truly blessed to have a special group of players with one of the most shrewd tactically aware managers the game has ever seen come together at the same time, which created the most decorated team in GAA history.

But like all great teams the dominance comes to an end eventually, and that end usually isn't pretty… so maybe now the bitter obsessed anti-dub doomsday merchants on here who for years harped on about the game being ruined because of Dublin and that Dublin would stroll to 10 in a row can shut up now and accept that they did in fact witness greatness!! The Greatest Team Of All Time!!"
They really were the best of all time, what an era for Dublin and whilst we struggle to compliment greatness in Ireland, it's only now which was always going to be the case, Irish society can give that group the credit they deserve.

As a non Dublin fan I'm glad that period is over, as it's good for the game. Dublin are now beatable but by no means out of the All Ireland race, they'll compete for an All Ireland every season, especially until other Leinster counties get their house in order, but they'll struggle as any team will to match the 6 in a row Dublin era.

To think media, fans and personalities put it all down to finance, it was purely everything coming together at the one time, group of players and management team added of course resources which every All Ireland winning team has always had.

A team never to be matched but it's great to have a competitive football scene back.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 21/02/2022 15:03:34    2401629

No county regardless of resources can win all irelands on a yearly basis and Dublin are no exception. They've had an brillant decade with some of the best players gaelic football have witnessed. Also they had an excellent manager who began the process and subsequent succeeded by an even better manager in Jim Gavin who took it to another level and maintained the standards for 6-7 years before departing. So an immense amount of talent on and off the field has departed. What is surprising is the levels they have now gone to: is this down to missing players who are unavailable or retired - yes but a big bit of it is down to the manager. The players seem to be lost, there seems to be no defensive plan, no game plan and there are players playing club football in Dublin who won't play for him I think this a big part of the problem and if it isn't sorted out, they could be in division 2.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1926 - 21/02/2022 15:15:51    2401633

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "Dubs only hope now is to put a shadow management in place but it wouldn't be the same and can you just imagine, would the Dublin based media slaughter them? Social media gurus out to make a name for themselves?

The talent is still there but Dessie's body language tell me for one that he is part of the problem, maybe the cause if it.

The first half was really entertaining and exciting, now is it my imagination or what but would one have expected Mayo to smell blood when the Dubs were visibly in trouble, and blow them away?

I've been watching GAA a while and I couldn't but acknowledge how well the media delivered the game - I picked up on a few things that might normally be a bit iffy, but no, a night to remember for me and Kerry weren't even playing. Yerra maybe 'tis the scoop of the black stuff I won off Hermit that has me in good form. Maybe I have a soft spot for Maigh Eo too - no matter what, they never didn't play traditional football and maybe tonight being no exception tickles my fancy and I hope Oisin Mullin is rewarded and the likes of Leroy, though not at our expense, and I know that doesn't makes sense but that's just how I feel.

Then again northie Dgal are more used to gale forces so hopefully my joy won't be short lived.

P.S. I love to say it but my gut tells me we are strong favourites to win Sam and Dublin are a prime example and proof that management are a big part of the team, on occasion more than 50% and maybe last night was one of those occasions. Look at it like this - if you swapped management teams around how differently would teams fare? Of course we can never know but it is a fair question - puts you thinking?"
"proof that management are a big part of the team, on occasion more than 50%"

Yeah it's a funny one because all of the "experts" have been telling us for the past decade that it was money and population that created the best team of all time. They seem to have crawled back under their rock at present. Now we're hearing that it was management. I wonder could it have been down to just a brilliant set of hardworking and talented players. But I would write this Dublin team off at you're peril. Playing kids in dreadful conditions in Tralee and pulling the jerseys off them in February is a different prospect to playing a full strength Dublin team in Summer in front of 80,000 at HQ. I think there is a sting left in the Dubs yet.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 21/02/2022 15:19:46    2401635

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry4sam21 is not a Kerry poster, he is on the wind up, he is the poster formally known as catch22 and is no friend to Kerry and is only trying to cause trouble."
You were very quick to log out of that account KB. Fair play to ye. Up the Dubs!! :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 21/02/2022 15:21:34    2401638