Down Manager Alleges Sectarian Abuse

There was more abuse thrown at co Antrim hurlers in Waterford at the weekend too. This needs education by the GAA about what happened in the Troubles.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 28/02/2022 09:54:46    2402873

Replying To galwayford:  "There was more abuse thrown at co Antrim hurlers in Waterford at the weekend too. This needs education by the GAA about what happened in the Troubles."
If the players throwing abuse need educating then there's no hope. Them same players would know more about what's happening over the water and welcoming royals to their towns. If a player takes a red card for listening to ***** fair play.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2025 - 28/02/2022 15:12:15    2403010

Replying To Saynothing:  "If the players throwing abuse need educating then there's no hope. Them same players would know more about what's happening over the water and welcoming royals to their towns. If a player takes a red card for listening to ***** fair play."
100 per cent couldn't agree more but what would you expect.. its been going for years.

Farney1990 (Monaghan) - Posts: 20 - 28/02/2022 17:30:51    2403069

Replying To moc.dna:  "Sledging rife in GAA now at all levels club & County & at underage level. Managers telling lads what to say & who to target, racist, sectarianism, homophobic & just general vile stuff about their parents, sister, girlfriend, siblings who may have serious illness or handicaps or people who committed suicide, it beggars belief, but GAA is now the worst sport for it. Pinching, biting, pulling at ear studs, spitting it's all there. People walk rather than report it as the GAA disciplinary system is a joke. I have seen & heard it all. It happens outside of games as well & is encouraged by many managers to "soften" up lads. You can see the "hard men" on here with their nothing to see, handbags, mans game, part of the rough & tumble, it's accepted now as part of the GAA & the hierarchy turn a blind eye to it as do most refs. They are told not to report it, as it brings bad PR. Watch when a lad scores or misses a score or when a sub comes on, lads straight over pushing, catching them by the throat, shouting abuse in their face, it's not sport & if it is you won't see many staying with it. Why is it that no Inter County player has openly come out as gay bar Donal Og, because they fear that they will be targeted on & off the field. GAA talk the talk on all these things but their Disciplinary System is so pathetic that it means people know they can do as they wish & get away with it. If you want to set standards, impose bans of 2 years or lifetime bans for vile abuse & don't allow any appeals, hefty fines for the clubs or counties involved & points reduction or loss of home games, you won't be long getting rid of the cowardly **** mouthpieces then. Unfortunately nothing will change, a top official will come out & say it's unacceptable & they are going to take action, but nothing will ever happen. It's a stain on the Association & is visible on TV every w'end. Sportsmanship & respect is dead in the GAA."
I agree with you 100%. If a player is poked, prodded and blackguarded all day long he is supposed to just take it and if he retaliates he gets put off and his tormentor stays on, despite match officials often seeing what's going down from the word go.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 28/02/2022 20:37:29    2403123

Replying To Saynothing:  "If the players throwing abuse need educating then there's no hope. Them same players would know more about what's happening over the water and welcoming royals to their towns. If a player takes a red card for listening to ***** fair play."
What's your view on the abuse given by people from the North to people from the South? Or are you just another one who pretends that doesn't happen?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 01/03/2022 08:17:58    2403138

Replying To oneoff:  "What's your view on the abuse given by people from the North to people from the South? Or are you just another one who pretends that doesn't happen?"
No abuse either way but it needs called out on all sides.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2025 - 01/03/2022 09:45:56    2403158

Replying To oneoff:  "What's your view on the abuse given by people from the North to people from the South? Or are you just another one who pretends that doesn't happen?"
I take it you're also somebody who pretends incidents don't happen? You haven't condemned the incident in discussion once. Just the usual whataboutary. Id like to clarify that abuse of any players background is unacceptable, is it beyond you to say the same?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2406 - 01/03/2022 10:05:37    2403170

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I take it you're also somebody who pretends incidents don't happen? You haven't condemned the incident in discussion once. Just the usual whataboutary. Id like to clarify that abuse of any players background is unacceptable, is it beyond you to say the same?"
I asked the same questions you and other Ulster posters shout about all the time. Everyone else has to provide proof etc yet when it involves an Ulster county everyone's just to take it as fast and if anyone was to dare say otherwise they're anti Ulster

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 06/03/2022 10:37:08    2404033

Replying To tiobraid:  "This seems to have started to become common in the GAA - maybe it always has been. I think if there is evidence provided or mentioned in the referees report then a min of a two year ban or lifetime ban from all GAA activity should suffice as punishment. Can we as a country not get past all this type of stuff? We are a nation who has an All Ireland football chsmpionship named after an Irish Protestant. I for one would love anyone and everyone to play our national sports regardless of religion or nationality - and if they were born on the island of Ireland I couldnt care less if they consider themeselves American. Iranian, Mexican, British or any other nationality. Its time to clamp down hard on this and stamp it out and name and shame these men/women."
Would such ban also apply to Ulster players using the words "free stater" to insult southern players?? And that's not to mention the abuse serving Defence Forces members get from time to time from Ulster teams. All good natured fun until someone says something back - usual story.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 06/03/2022 12:31:50    2404048

Replying To Crinigan:  "Would such ban also apply to Ulster players using the words "free stater" to insult southern players?? And that's not to mention the abuse serving Defence Forces members get from time to time from Ulster teams. All good natured fun until someone says something back - usual story."
The Down manager is originally from Cork.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 06/03/2022 16:19:46    2404078

Replying To oneoff:  "I asked the same questions you and other Ulster posters shout about all the time. Everyone else has to provide proof etc yet when it involves an Ulster county everyone's just to take it as fast and if anyone was to dare say otherwise they're anti Ulster"
Where did I ask you for proof of anything? Deal with what I said and quit the stereotyping. I've condemned any incident north or south. All I asked, was it too much for you to condemn the Antrim and Down incidents and that's your response? You're clearly just trolling if that's all you can come up with.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2406 - 06/03/2022 17:28:20    2404096

Replying To Crinigan:  "Would such ban also apply to Ulster players using the words "free stater" to insult southern players?? And that's not to mention the abuse serving Defence Forces members get from time to time from Ulster teams. All good natured fun until someone says something back - usual story."
Nah the usual story is people like yourself using a thread highlighting a sectarian incident in a match to demonstrate that you show zero support towards a fellow gael because you somehow hold him responsible for something said in an unrelated incident.

If this was a southern player receiving the same abuse I wouldnt be on here calling it anything other than what it is, a disgrace to the game. Any reason why you and others can't do the same?

Tiobraid, I think this answers your question. Some clearly aren't willing to move on.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2406 - 06/03/2022 18:03:48    2404107

I abhor sectarianism in all its shades. As well, I dislike the use of "northern" and "southern" to define which side of the border Irish people come from. I doubt someone from Muff in County Donegal or a person living in Westport, County Mayo could reasonably be called "southern"?

Hopefully, one day soon we will have a united Republic of Ireland , free from interfering outsiders. Assuredly then, we can say with confidence
Muineacháin in the north, Cill Dara, in the east, Corcaigh in the south and Gaillimh in the west.

Aontroim abú!

ballagoballa (UK) - Posts: 49 - 06/03/2022 19:12:57    2404126

All good natured? Hardly!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/03/2022 09:17:47    2404176

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Nah the usual story is people like yourself using a thread highlighting a sectarian incident in a match to demonstrate that you show zero support towards a fellow gael because you somehow hold him responsible for something said in an unrelated incident.

If this was a southern player receiving the same abuse I wouldnt be on here calling it anything other than what it is, a disgrace to the game. Any reason why you and others can't do the same?

Tiobraid, I think this answers your question. Some clearly aren't willing to move on."
It's very related actually. The likes of you and Ulsterman will shout from the roof tops when these alterations are made, and that's what they are as much as you try and claim otherwise, but have nothing to say when it's the other way around.

There's an example in another thread of how other "gaels" are treated by their fellow Ulster men when it come to religion. Unsurprisingly the ones who make the most noise were nowhere to be seen when that was brought up.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 07/03/2022 14:10:34    2404280

Replying To oneoff:  "It's very related actually. The likes of you and Ulsterman will shout from the roof tops when these alterations are made, and that's what they are as much as you try and claim otherwise, but have nothing to say when it's the other way around.

There's an example in another thread of how other "gaels" are treated by their fellow Ulster men when it come to religion. Unsurprisingly the ones who make the most noise were nowhere to be seen when that was brought up."
Are you reading my posts or are you still just branding me with others? I've condemned incidents across the board in the last few days on here. You've decided to ignore them to suit your silly rants.

I haven't a clue about the thread you're talking about, im not on here every day nor do i read every thread. Find it and I'll give you my take on it no bother but it'll likely be a waste of time considering your attitude.

While you're busy accusing others of double standards, I've yet to see a post from you condemning the Antrim or Down incidents, still too much?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2406 - 07/03/2022 16:36:44    2404325

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Are you reading my posts or are you still just branding me with others? I've condemned incidents across the board in the last few days on here. You've decided to ignore them to suit your silly rants.

I haven't a clue about the thread you're talking about, im not on here every day nor do i read every thread. Find it and I'll give you my take on it no bother but it'll likely be a waste of time considering your attitude.

While you're busy accusing others of double standards, I've yet to see a post from you condemning the Antrim or Down incidents, still too much?"
Alleged incidents. Again unless you've information confirming then please feel free to share it with us?

Here you go...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/gaa-player-quits-over-sectarian-abuse-1.952335

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 07/03/2022 17:10:20    2404333

Replying To oneoff:  "Alleged incidents. Again unless you've information confirming then please feel free to share it with us?

Here you go...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/gaa-player-quits-over-sectarian-abuse-1.952335"
Awk it's only alleged so it's all grand. Would you have the same attitude if it was racism? Child abuse? Murder? No evidence so it didn't happen and don't expect any support from you? Good to know.

Go back and check my post from Friday on the 'Time to take a stand' thread, I've already gave my opinion on that horrible case. You also know that because you responded to it yourself so I'm not sure why you're posting it again.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2406 - 07/03/2022 17:34:47    2404342

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Awk it's only alleged so it's all grand. Would you have the same attitude if it was racism? Child abuse? Murder? No evidence so it didn't happen and don't expect any support from you? Good to know.

Go back and check my post from Friday on the 'Time to take a stand' thread, I've already gave my opinion on that horrible case. You also know that because you responded to it yourself so I'm not sure why you're posting it again."
Now who's bringing up unrelated things?
Do you or do you not have information about these claims to prove they happened? Because you and other Ulster posters are very fast to look for "proof" when it's happening the other way around.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1387 - 07/03/2022 20:30:55    2404363

Replying To oneoff:  "Now who's bringing up unrelated things?
Do you or do you not have information about these claims to prove they happened? Because you and other Ulster posters are very fast to look for "proof" when it's happening the other way around."
Me? Where did I ask for proof of anything? It seems beyond you to address me as an individual and what I said as opposed to whatever anyone else said who happen to come from Ulster.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2406 - 08/03/2022 09:57:37    2404389