National Hurling League 2022

Replying To Rockies:  "I definitely stirred up the hornets nest with my posts. Ha ha! I hope that Cork have moved on from last year. Time will tell…Waterford and Cork is first up! I think Cork should win it, and bring first silverware in quite awhile. Austin Gleeson loss will be massive. Hoping for a good game and then the real fun starts."
Rockies,
I can understand persevering with Rob Downey and of course Coleman, Joyce and Mellerick are all fine players. However I would have my doubts about Sean O'Donoghue, on the basis in last years final and both games in '18. But the biggest mystery of all is how is Damien Cahalane still on the panel. He will be 30 years of age in a few months time - a few months older than Declan Hannon- and he has never established himself in any one position. Is he really among the four or five best options for the Full Back Line in a huge hurling county like Cork

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4347 - 01/04/2022 11:25:13    2408815

I cant call this game. Either team could go on a scoring spree and win by 10 points. If it was cship and with a full team I'd probably go for Waterford but I think Cork may beginning to toughen up a small bit. The result wont having a bearing on the Munster cship I'd think but some serious hurlers on both sides. Looking forward to it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/04/2022 12:38:16    2408846

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Rockies,
I can understand persevering with Rob Downey and of course Coleman, Joyce and Mellerick are all fine players. However I would have my doubts about Sean O'Donoghue, on the basis in last years final and both games in '18. But the biggest mystery of all is how is Damien Cahalane still on the panel. He will be 30 years of age in a few months time - a few months older than Declan Hannon- and he has never established himself in any one position. Is he really among the four or five best options for the Full Back Line in a huge hurling county like Cork"
Looks like it. I suspect he will be full back on Saturday. Moving on to all Ireland after that, I suspect Waterford may actually win the whole thing!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 12:39:41    2408847

Replying To tiobraid:  "I cant call this game. Either team could go on a scoring spree and win by 10 points. If it was cship and with a full team I'd probably go for Waterford but I think Cork may beginning to toughen up a small bit. The result wont having a bearing on the Munster cship I'd think but some serious hurlers on both sides. Looking forward to it."
Agree Tiobraid it wont have any influence on what happens in the championship. In fact I was thinking about it in work this morning and I dont think anything has happened in the League that has changed my opinions on where any of the counties are as regards the championship. I still think Limerick are favourites. With Waterford next. And then any of the next 7 counties could do very well or equally do poorly. As regards the final I'm expecting it to be high scoring and entertaining. I dont think individually or collectively the players on either team are going to go full tilt and risk hamstrings, ACLs etc. Even a relatively minor injury that only took 6 weeks to clear up could rule a lad out for the whole of the championship if his team didnt get out of the round Robin. I'm expecting it to be more like a challenge game than a championship one.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12156 - 01/04/2022 12:57:49    2408852

Waterford have more than corrk
Will win this and be a proper challenge for us going forward,unlike others
Cork lucky to avoid Waterford or tipp last yr
Either of whom would have beaten them
Or were they?

Scuba191 (Limerick) - Posts: 17 - 01/04/2022 12:58:57    2408854

Replying To Scuba191:  "Waterford have more than corrk
Or were they?"
Irrelevant at this point. Just conjecture. Waterford have 4 players to come back for championship. They are possibly peaking now at right time, very strong panel,and very difficult to beat in Walsh Park. This May finally be their year. I think Cork will win league on Saturday and will start winning all Ireland's in next few years. This year I don't think so!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 13:16:58    2408861

I'm hoping both teams go as strong as possible..if they do I fancy Waterford to win it..I feel they have a more settled look and for me have the better forwards even without gleeson..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2240 - 01/04/2022 13:21:05    2408862

Replying To Scuba191:  "Waterford have more than corrk
Or were they?"
You are hardly suggesting anything untoward went on? Not too long ago they got relegated from division 1 altogether........

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12156 - 01/04/2022 13:28:11    2408863

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm hoping both teams go as strong as possible..if they do I fancy Waterford to win it..I feel they have a more settled look and for me have the better forwards even without gleeson.."
Look for many subs being introduced. I do think it will be played with intensity. I hear Cork's winning minor team of last year is hit by defections to rugby ! The oval ball game is ramping up especially now as Christians school play both hurling and rugby.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 13:54:48    2408873

Replying To Rockies:  "I definitely stirred up the hornets nest with my posts. Ha ha! I hope that Cork have moved on from last year. Time will tell…Waterford and Cork is first up! I think Cork should win it, and bring first silverware in quite awhile. Austin Gleeson loss will be massive. Hoping for a good game and then the real fun starts."
cork getting carried away again.....the hype is starting again in cork like it did last july and august no better crowd for building up a team......ye were fairly brought back down to earth with a BANG last august but i admire your resilience back again for more punishment.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 01/04/2022 14:23:20    2408887

Replying To Rockies:  "Look for many subs being introduced. I do think it will be played with intensity. I hear Cork's winning minor team of last year is hit by defections to rugby ! The oval ball game is ramping up especially now as Christians school play both hurling and rugby."
Well my old Alme Mater, Ardscoil Ris is dabbling in both those codes plus Soccer, with years

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4347 - 01/04/2022 14:50:42    2408895

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'm hoping both teams go as strong as possible..if they do I fancy Waterford to win it..I feel they have a more settled look and for me have the better forwards even without gleeson.."
I reckon that Cork has more to lose by not winning this league final. Waterford it seems have a more take it or leave it attitude to it.

Waterford won a league title a few years back now, but while it may have boosted their ego and cabinet shelf at the time, it ultimately didn't help in their push to get over the BIG line. I believe that Cahill is looking at a much bigger picture.

Cork? A National title of any kind could bring that security or confidence that's been blatantly missing for nigh on two decades now; another step on their way up.

What neither team needs is a total collapse! I couldn't see it happening to Waterford; they're an experienced crowd and have been knocking on the door for a few solid years now.

Could Cork completely collapse on Sunday??? I doubt it, but wouldn't discount it either. They collapsed calving not too long ago in a more important National final. Plus, Waterford cut through the other erstwhile high-flying league side like a hot knife through butter only a few days ago.

Time will tell. I hope both teams go out and fairly, knock socks of each other in the pursuit of glory.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1941 - 01/04/2022 15:05:23    2408899

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well my old Alme Mater, Ardscoil Ris is dabbling in both those codes plus Soccer, with years"
Yes.. that is happening all over! Cork had 4 or 5 playing for Ireland against Belgium last week. It's an issue more with the urban areas! The attractiveness and lure of playing with Liverpool beats GAA to young people!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 15:10:41    2408902

Replying To munsterchamps:  "cork getting carried away again.....the hype is starting again in cork like it did last july and august no better crowd for building up a team......ye were fairly brought back down to earth with a BANG last august but i admire your resilience back again for more punishment."
"Hope beats eternal in the human breast" ! Like Jake La Motta in Raging Bull, we'll always pick ourselves off the floor. That's the beauty of sport, especially an amateur one. Fair play to all these hurlers, playing for nothing, training like professionals,being criticized incessantly on social media. I take my hat off to all of them!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 15:21:53    2408909

Replying To Rockies:  "Yes.. that is happening all over! Cork had 4 or 5 playing for Ireland against Belgium last week. It's an issue more with the urban areas! The attractiveness and lure of playing with Liverpool beats GAA to young people!"
It's not just attractiveness and lure. Its a lucrative professional career.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12156 - 01/04/2022 15:26:53    2408913

Replying To Viking66:  "It's not just attractiveness and lure. Its a lucrative professional career."
No coincidence that sons of famous GAA players like Seanie Leary, Jimmy Barry Murphy, John Egan and John Meyler gravitated to soccer and rugby in recent years!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 15:30:04    2408914

Very strong Waterford team named. Prunty and lyons both playing. Bennett at full forward. Waterford going all out! Tim O' Mahony for cork is injured! Good game in store.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/04/2022 19:18:01    2408967

Replying To Rockies:  "No coincidence that sons of famous GAA players like Seanie Leary, Jimmy Barry Murphy, John Egan and John Meyler gravitated to soccer and rugby in recent years!"
Yes. And you really couldnt blame them. They have their own futures, kids etc to think about. Same with lads who try AFL. As a supporter obviously I'd prefer to see the top players staying playing hurling and football but me wanting that doesnt put bread on the table in front of their kids in the future.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12156 - 01/04/2022 20:32:52    2408978

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well my old Alme Mater, Ardscoil Ris is dabbling in both those codes plus Soccer, with years"
But they're Limerick lads. You couldn't expect Cork lads to be up to their level.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1941 - 02/04/2022 07:24:56    2408988

Replying To Rockies:  "Yes.. that is happening all over! Cork had 4 or 5 playing for Ireland against Belgium last week. It's an issue more with the urban areas! The attractiveness and lure of playing with Liverpool beats GAA to young people!"
Funny, there was a long article in the Irish Independent a few months back in which rugby people were whinging that Limericks recent successes in Hurling was damaging Munster Rugby. Yet they havr got Danny Fitz's sons in recent years, who were very promising hurlers, as was Connor Murray.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4347 - 02/04/2022 08:58:10    2408999