National Hurling League 2022

Kilkenny will definitely go out to win the league. The 2 week break to championship wont matter to them since their first championship match is vs Westmeath and their second one is Laois, games they should win fairly handy. Not sure though if it is in the interests of any of the other 3 semi finalists to give it the full whack since they'll face quite tough opposition in their first championship match.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 12/03/2022 17:05:10    2405061

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Do posters agree that the round robin now has really changed the attitude of managers towards the league??having to make sure teams are primed for 4 ultra competitive games in the province is huge..league is being used to get players a few games and maybe get them used to the set up..I've a feeling semi finals in league will be better than final.."
Yup, two games are usually better than one anyway.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1940 - 12/03/2022 17:42:05    2405063

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Thank you for seeing things in their proper light. Isn't it great that Croke Park can provide all these great facilities ( along with local community altruism), so that the average fan can pay less than 100 bucks ($$) on All-Ireland final day for a ticket? The biggest sporting day of the year for less than $100! Man, that's a steal.

In baseball, or the Super Bowl even, we do that in the thousands ($$$$). And I mean thousands, as actually getting your hands on a ticket is like... Charlie Bucket stuff. I suppose that's the actual difference when it comes to sorting out the boys ($$) from the men ($$$$); the amateurs versus professionals. But good luck to y'all, and enjoy it (even if you don't turn a penny or two of it).

Don't get me wrong, though; Gaelic games are a tremendous pastime pursuit, imho, but that's it: a splendid leisurely pastime, which you surely must have partaken in yourself at some stage during your free time away from work."
I like baseball in the same way as I like cricket and chess. But they dont get you jumping out of your seat or your pulse racing like hurling. NFL is ok but it's a shame there are all the breaks in it to suit the commercials on telly. Now theres a sport that money has made worse.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 12/03/2022 20:03:18    2405073

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yup, two games are usually better than one anyway."
Depends on the games

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 12/03/2022 20:03:59    2405074

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Thank you for seeing things in their proper light. Isn't it great that Croke Park can provide all these great facilities ( along with local community altruism), so that the average fan can pay less than 100 bucks ($$) on All-Ireland final day for a ticket? The biggest sporting day of the year for less than $100! Man, that's a steal.

In baseball, or the Super Bowl even, we do that in the thousands ($$$$). And I mean thousands, as actually getting your hands on a ticket is like... Charlie Bucket stuff. I suppose that's the actual difference when it comes to sorting out the boys ($$) from the men ($$$$); the amateurs versus professionals. But good luck to y'all, and enjoy it (even if you don't turn a penny or two of it).

Don't get me wrong, though; Gaelic games are a tremendous pastime pursuit, imho, but that's it: a splendid leisurely pastime, which you surely must have partaken in yourself at some stage during your free time away from work."
Baseball is a dying game in the US.

"Nearly a quarter of the US population watched Game Six of the 1980 World Series. Last year's Game Six was viewed by 4.3% of the country."

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 12/03/2022 20:51:48    2405080

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Kilkenny will definitely go out to win the league. The 2 week break to championship wont matter to them since their first championship match is vs Westmeath and their second one is Laois, games they should win fairly handy. Not sure though if it is in the interests of any of the other 3 semi finalists to give it the full whack since they'll face quite tough opposition in their first championship match."
On the other side of the coin; Kilkenny facing Westmeath and Laios in their first 2 games of the Leinster round robin series of games could be a disadvantage (by the way, no disrespect to Westmeath or Laios intended). Especially if they win them games in a canter. Dublin, Galway and Wexford, will have had 2 hard games under their belt by then.
Still, I'm not complaining. Really looking forward to this years Championship, after the last 2 years

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 12/03/2022 21:12:49    2405082

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The closer we are getting to championship, the more I'm beginning to re-assess things. I can see a 'surprise' happening in Round 1 in Munster, in that I believe that Tipperary will prevail over Waterford, even though the Blaa-baas are at home. Everyone is talking about Waterford and rightly so, especially with Tim Burke back and Mikey Kiely going a bomb (he's some detail, and I'd hate to have to be the man to mark him), but do you know what? That's exactly when Waterford fall flat on their backsides, when they're expected to do something; Waterford could very well revert back to default mode, and prove themselves to exactly be... Waterford.

However, while I don't think that Waterford will recover from that blow, I also believe that Tipperary won't make it out of Munster, on very tight margins, in spite of this heroic win over Waterford (well, as in far as Tipperary beating Waterford in hurling can ever be considered either heroic or a surprise).

So, my three picks to come out of Munster and in this order are: 1. Cork, which I have criticised a lot, perhaps even maligned (mea culpa); 2. Limerick, and 3. Clare.

It's just a gut feeling. But, my hunches have been so right over so many years as regards hurling. I've made quite a few bucks from the bookies over the years on hurling. I fall flat when it arrives to Gaelic football though, as I always seem to get deluded into plumping for Kerry."
Sure we'll show up and give it a shot anyway. If we fall on our backsides I'll support Limerick as Cork have enough until the middle of this century. I think Tadgh De Burca will get the call up also to play right along side his name sake Tim Burke. May be even in his shirt.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2672 - 12/03/2022 21:19:10    2405083

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Do posters agree that the round robin now has really changed the attitude of managers towards the league??having to make sure teams are primed for 4 ultra competitive games in the province is huge..league is being used to get players a few games and maybe get them used to the set up..I've a feeling semi finals in league will be better than final.."
Absolutely it has changed the dynamics, there's essentially 2 league phases in the year now and the 2nd is obviously far more significant.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 12/03/2022 21:20:00    2405084

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "On the other side of the coin; Kilkenny facing Westmeath and Laios in their first 2 games of the Leinster round robin series of games could be a disadvantage (by the way, no disrespect to Westmeath or Laios intended). Especially if they win them games in a canter. Dublin, Galway and Wexford, will have had 2 hard games under their belt by then.
Still, I'm not complaining. Really looking forward to this years Championship, after the last 2 years"
"Dublin, Galway and Wexford, will have had 2 hard games under their belt by then"

Correction, I should have said at least 1.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 12/03/2022 21:53:50    2405093

Replying To Canuck:  "Sure we'll show up and give it a shot anyway. If we fall on our backsides I'll support Limerick as Cork have enough until the middle of this century. I think Tadgh De Burca will get the call up also to play right along side his name sake Tim Burke. May be even in his shirt."
Yeah! Sure tog out and turn up, anyway. That's usually a big help. Actually, I have rooted for Waterford for years; actually would have preferred to see ye winning over Limerick two years ago.

This year? First preference, see Limerick do the 3-in-a-row (and that's mainly to see the begrudgers shut up: not that many in fairness, but a high % seem to be from both Galway & Wexford). The fans from the big three seem to have a certain decorum about them, where their annoyance/begrudgry is more veiled (we do have certain exceptions though; hint an English rock).

But, if Waterford were to deny Limerick the three-in-a-row, in an AIF, that might be for me, the perfect AI hurling championship.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1940 - 13/03/2022 10:34:49    2405108

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "On the other side of the coin; Kilkenny facing Westmeath and Laios in their first 2 games of the Leinster round robin series of games could be a disadvantage (by the way, no disrespect to Westmeath or Laios intended). Especially if they win them games in a canter. Dublin, Galway and Wexford, will have had 2 hard games under their belt by then.
Still, I'm not complaining. Really looking forward to this years Championship, after the last 2 years"
Definitely looking forward to it too. Not sure if having easier games 1st is an advantage or disadvantage. I think playing Galway 1st will be good for both us and Galway in one way. With us both having new managers it will give both counties a better idea of where we are really at. One way yourselves playing Westmeath and Laois first might be a disadvantage also is that the weaker county/counties tend to do better in the earlier games as they generally have smaller squads and cant rotate lads or cover injuries as well as the stronger counties. In case it goes down to scoring difference again.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 13/03/2022 10:48:53    2405109

Replying To Canuck:  "Sure we'll show up and give it a shot anyway. If we fall on our backsides I'll support Limerick as Cork have enough until the middle of this century. I think Tadgh De Burca will get the call up also to play right along side his name sake Tim Burke. May be even in his shirt."
I think your post will be lost on Donald Trump, sorry Young, Canuck.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 13/03/2022 10:50:07    2405110

With the way Wexford are going at the moment, what are peoples' opinion on their Paddy Power odds of 25/1 for the All Ireland?

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 13/03/2022 10:58:37    2405112

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yeah! Sure tog out and turn up, anyway. That's usually a big help. Actually, I have rooted for Waterford for years; actually would have preferred to see ye winning over Limerick two years ago.

This year? First preference, see Limerick do the 3-in-a-row (and that's mainly to see the begrudgers shut up: not that many in fairness, but a high % seem to be from both Galway & Wexford). The fans from the big three seem to have a certain decorum about them, where their annoyance/begrudgry is more veiled (we do have certain exceptions though; hint an English rock).

But, if Waterford were to deny Limerick the three-in-a-row, in an AIF, that might be for me, the perfect AI hurling championship."
I think you are mistaking, as many people do, the extreme attitudes which anonymous keyboard warriors tend to have, with the views of ordinary people in the real world. Just because one or two posters who claim to be from a particular county (and who can say if they are actually from that county anyway) express online a dislike bordering on hatred for another county, does'nt mean that their opinions are in any way reflective of the opinions of the majority of GAA fans in the county they are claiming to be from. People who post on social media or internet forums are more prone to be a little unhinged as is quite evident sometimes in the things they will say.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 13/03/2022 11:54:43    2405118

The Division 2A winner need to be going into a Division 1B featuring teams that are 7th to 11th in the league rankings.
Why not promote the 1B winner and allow them join the top 3 from 1A in the semi-finals? Allow 2nd and 3rd in 1B play-off, with the winner taking on 5th from 1A in a play-off final.
Division 1B has shown before that it can provide the competitive hurling to win an All-Ireland. There should be no fear of it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7909 - 13/03/2022 12:05:02    2405124

Replying To Shocs07:  "With the way Wexford are going at the moment, what are peoples' opinion on their Paddy Power odds of 25/1 for the All Ireland?"
It's hard to say. You have to look at all the teams odds to put Wexford's into context.
For example, PP have Kilkenny at 10/1, Tipp 16/1 and Clare & Dublin at 28/1.
That said, if you fancy Wexford to win Leinster, you might as well have an each way bet on them winning the AI.
You get a third of the odds if your team is runner-up. Plus, if you win Leinster (or Munster) you have only one more game to win (the semi-final) to reach the final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 13/03/2022 12:35:38    2405126

Replying To Shocs07:  "With the way Wexford are going at the moment, what are peoples' opinion on their Paddy Power odds of 25/1 for the All Ireland?"
They are about right with the odds. I'm hoping we do well but deep down I havent a clue. We were never consistent in big games at the best of times. Could play really well out of nowhere or just as easily not turn up.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 13/03/2022 13:01:13    2405128

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "It's hard to say. You have to look at all the teams odds to put Wexford's into context.
For example, PP have Kilkenny at 10/1, Tipp 16/1 and Clare & Dublin at 28/1.
That said, if you fancy Wexford to win Leinster, you might as well have an each way bet on them winning the AI.
You get a third of the odds if your team is runner-up. Plus, if you win Leinster (or Munster) you have only one more game to win (the semi-final) to reach the final."
Can you say with any certainty who will win Leinster though?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 13/03/2022 13:03:33    2405130

Replying To Viking66:  "Can you say with any certainty who will win Leinster though?"
Galway

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2241 - 13/03/2022 16:39:14    2405171

Replying To Viking66:  "Can you say with any certainty who will win Leinster though?"
Both Leinster and Munster are very straightforward this year...
Galway,KK and wex are certs to qualify from Leinster
Clare,Waterford and Cork to qualify from Munster.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2241 - 13/03/2022 16:47:24    2405179