National Hurling League 2022

Ha,ha I thought same when it happened but wait til we see what is said about limerick posters and complaint..I would like to say I thought ref was pretty decent tonight..what a pity that teams seem to want to take on limerick in every way and then have training sessions for other games in league..I wonder will sponsors be happy??fair play to Wexford for taking all games seriously..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2237 - 05/03/2022 21:28:44    2404003

Did anyone else notice after the dathai Burke incident cork got a 65 but was taken from the 45. Can anyone explain this to me

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 268 - 06/03/2022 11:29:53    2404040

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Did anyone else notice after the dathai Burke incident cork got a 65 but was taken from the 45. Can anyone explain this to me"
Or how his hurley broke so easily. ...

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 06/03/2022 11:51:09    2404045

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Ha,ha I thought same when it happened but wait til we see what is said about limerick posters and complaint..I would like to say I thought ref was pretty decent tonight..what a pity that teams seem to want to take on limerick in every way and then have training sessions for other games in league..I wonder will sponsors be happy??fair play to Wexford for taking all games seriously.."
Not really sure what you're getting at but a basic lack of understanding in human and sport psychology is missing for sure.

All teams are going to try lay down a marker against the reining AI Champions, it's only human nature. It happened us in 18' and I remember rightly your lads tore into us in Pearse Stadium and that is fair enough. You accept it as you're at the top.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 06/03/2022 12:12:18    2404046

Can I ask what cork or Galway got out of the match last night,it lacked anything that will be played in championship..I'm wondering now how cork will treat a semi and possible final to be played 2 weeks out from championship?cork/Wexford in group game means nothing now..I know limerick are up there to be knocked,ive no problem with that..my problem is a lack of intensity in matches against other counties..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2237 - 06/03/2022 14:18:02    2404058

Replying To ahsure.:  "Not really sure what you're getting at but a basic lack of understanding in human and sport psychology is missing for sure.

All teams are going to try lay down a marker against the reining AI Champions, it's only human nature. It happened us in 18' and I remember rightly your lads tore into us in Pearse Stadium and that is fair enough. You accept it as you're at the top."
You're 100% correct. It's the natural way of things

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 06/03/2022 14:38:42    2404059

Discipline a bloody problem again..these fellas now need to get act together..they are going to be got at,it's the modern thing..going to have to learn to live with it..I would now be more worried about pure stupidity..harsh I know but they need words in their ears..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2237 - 06/03/2022 15:47:29    2404069

That second half of Clare v Limerick was poor. Limerick are still scratching around for form. Nash was outstanding again and not too many more. Clare were very solid I thought. They have improved and will improve some more. Some of Byrnes's frees were dire..like hit a short one if your target markers are off . Dont keep blasting wide after wide. Clare were the better side over all. Gillane deserved the second yellow. He should have had a free before he swung back ...Hegarty was very poor. They really need to find some form. The tactics need updating aswell. Can't keep leaving whole sides of the field open hoping the opposition hit wides. Year too soon for Adam English im afraid..got a good point and nothing else.
Kelly was his usual self after a slow start..missed a few easy ones too though.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 06/03/2022 15:51:24    2404073

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Hurling league is nothing more than a pre-season competition now. Of slightly greater importance now than the Walsh Cup and no more than that. Sad that the so called " 2nd most important national. competition in hurling" has been reduced to this but not surprising since the real league is now actually the round robin matches. Wexford and Dublin should be contesting the final. For all other teams it's only for experimentation and seeing if newcomers have the ability to step up to championship level."
I was watching the hurling over yesterday and today, thinking exactly what you've posted here. In fairness crowds are decent but I'd struggle to pay any attention to it because you it's tame stuff and not an accurate reflection of the teams. Malachy clerkin had a very decent article about it on Friday last. The old 1a and 1b (2) was much more competitive and interesting and it was fairer for the smaller team coming up from division 2.

Limerick have zero interest in winning this competition. They've also zero interest in being relegated and zero chance of being relegated. So it really is a pre season competition for them. At least in the old system they may have cared at least a little bit. Offaly were also never going to win a match. It would be much better a 1 b with them laois and antrim in it. The system no doubt suits the bigger teams but the competition has really suffered because of it.

In football dublin are rebuilding and they certainly don't want to get relegated but because of a slightly bigger depth of teams they run a real risk now. That overall fear of relegation and real chance that it could happen makes it much more competitive. Winning the thing is very secondary to not being relegated.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 698 - 06/03/2022 16:44:20    2404081

Is it panic button time? To be honest I think it might be. Now look I think it's great experience for a few of the non established players to get a decent hard fought game under the belt rather than a walkover game. One thing I'll say is that it looked like the game was going against us but the lads found a way to dig in. I know Byrnes missed frees near the end but he was super in general play I thought. Only for him there wouldn't have been fight back.
In general we are making hard work of things. Our scoring has been extremely poor up until now so hopefully that will continue to improve.
Looking a small bit further ahead. In 5 weeks' time we play high flying cork and less than a week later its waterford. I know it's only the league but both teams have serious form and have built decent size squads.
On form we are in a serious battle for that 3rd position. In order to be some way in charge of our own destiny we have to get at least 2 points from either of those games or we could end up in the mother and father of all battles against clare in ennis hoping to get through. At the moment it feels like a tall order. It feels like the lads are forcing it a bit.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 366 - 06/03/2022 16:47:07    2404084

Same old same old. Antrim just don't know how to win. They are not psychologically strong enough at the top level sadly. You would have thought with a man advantage they would have took the game by the scruff. Another hard luck story. Until they learn how to mentally hurl they are going nowhere.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9717 - 06/03/2022 17:30:19    2404097

Replying To Mads:  "Is it panic button time? To be honest I think it might be. Now look I think it's great experience for a few of the non established players to get a decent hard fought game under the belt rather than a walkover game. One thing I'll say is that it looked like the game was going against us but the lads found a way to dig in. I know Byrnes missed frees near the end but he was super in general play I thought. Only for him there wouldn't have been fight back.
In general we are making hard work of things. Our scoring has been extremely poor up until now so hopefully that will continue to improve.
Looking a small bit further ahead. In 5 weeks' time we play high flying cork and less than a week later its waterford. I know it's only the league but both teams have serious form and have built decent size squads.
On form we are in a serious battle for that 3rd position. In order to be some way in charge of our own destiny we have to get at least 2 points from either of those games or we could end up in the mother and father of all battles against clare in ennis hoping to get through. At the moment it feels like a tall order. It feels like the lads are forcing it a bit."
I'd agree with that Mads. This year might just be abit of a down year for Limerick but we ll wait and see. Kiely and Co have a knack of getting things right. We can only comment on what we observe and Hegarty was bad today. Expecting a flick up in a ruck..and just off the pace. He ll come good but himself and Morrissey are running out of time.
Cork and Waterford look a good bit ahead at age moment but they ll have 2 extra games possibly which might not be what they need. The league is too close to championship and its as simple as that.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 06/03/2022 18:32:50    2404116

Replying To bloodyban:  "That second half of Clare v Limerick was poor. Limerick are still scratching around for form. Nash was outstanding again and not too many more. Clare were very solid I thought. They have improved and will improve some more. Some of Byrnes's frees were dire..like hit a short one if your target markers are off . Dont keep blasting wide after wide. Clare were the better side over all. Gillane deserved the second yellow. He should have had a free before he swung back ...Hegarty was very poor. They really need to find some form. The tactics need updating aswell. Can't keep leaving whole sides of the field open hoping the opposition hit wides. Year too soon for Adam English im afraid..got a good point and nothing else.
Kelly was his usual self after a slow start..missed a few easy ones too though."
Dunno, think you're being harsh on Adam English. Peter Casey would have struggled with the awful ball our full forward line were getting.
English was doing a lot of running, making space for a good pass in but was ignored or else the pass went to a Clare hand. Not much a corner forward can do in those circumstances.

We were poor in total apart from the back 3.
Thought our Full back line were very good.
Ritchie English was excellent but apart from that Clare found it way too easy to work the ball from their half back line. They dominated our half forwards and had the game for the taking but couldn't put us away so a draw despite everything is a decent result..
Just hoping we're doing very heavy training at the moment to explain our lethargy otherwise we're in big trouble.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1067 - 06/03/2022 18:38:54    2404119

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Same old same old. Antrim just don't know how to win. They are not psychologically strong enough at the top level sadly. You would have thought with a man advantage they would have took the game by the scruff. Another hard luck story. Until they learn how to mentally hurl they are going nowhere."
Antrim really should have gotten something from that game. I didn't think Neil McManus would score that free near the end and he didn't. The top free takers don't miss them pressure ones.
Hard to see really where Antrim are going which is a a shame.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1924 - 06/03/2022 21:02:13    2404148

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Same old same old. Antrim just don't know how to win. They are not psychologically strong enough at the top level sadly. You would have thought with a man advantage they would have took the game by the scruff. Another hard luck story. Until they learn how to mentally hurl they are going nowhere."
Anyone who's watched Antrim as long as we have will not be the least surprised. Even a draw would have seen us probably stay up and we threw it away against 14 men. Cheddar's done us yet again.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 465 - 06/03/2022 21:54:45    2404159

Some positive aspects for Tipp during the game and probably the first time we have seen what the Tipp team will look like after all the old brigade have gone. Some unreal scores at different periods. The team will be built around Maher and Forde at 6 and 11. We would have hoped to include John McGrath at 14 on that list but he has a real battle on his hands now to justify his place on the panel. Good to see the like of Bowe, Kehoe and Morris playing together as they are the future.
However, we still have the same issues at full back, left corner back and midfield in particular and are as far away as ever to sorting those out. Its a shame O'Mara isnt around as he'd be a huge player for us also - and will be in the future. Himself and Connolly with Ronan Maher could end up being an excellent half back line.

Outside of that, Waterford have yet again run the legs off us and have shown they are both far superior in terms of fitness and speed. Fitness being the biggest concern right now. On current form its hard to see Tipp getting out of Munster and as I said previously I expect Waterford to get a little bit closer to Limerick this year as Cahill has built an excleent panel of players - so often players come in that don't weaken the team one bit.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/03/2022 11:57:47    2404218

If I was a Limerick supporter I'd be a small bit but only a small more concerned about their league form compared to last year, in 2021 even though they looked unconvincing early on in the league they still produced a statement performance against Cork to remind everyone who is top of the three, I taught that might happen yesterday with the selection of 12 former or current all stars plus the 3 emerging u20 stars and no obvious starter in the subs, they are still strong favourites for the all ireland with Waterford and Cork joint 2nd in my view. Games on Saturday evening we're odd, hard to fathom how poor Dublin were while Cork and Galway had no cut to it although you could understand the headspace of the Galway players not been 100% following the awful news about Paul Shefflin. Laois and Antrim was probably the game of the weekend followed by Clare/Limerick although the standard did drop in Ennis in the final 20 mins the excitement remained.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 07/03/2022 12:37:42    2404230

Replying To wexico15:  "If I was a Limerick supporter I'd be a small bit but only a small more concerned about their league form compared to last year, in 2021 even though they looked unconvincing early on in the league they still produced a statement performance against Cork to remind everyone who is top of the three, I taught that might happen yesterday with the selection of 12 former or current all stars plus the 3 emerging u20 stars and no obvious starter in the subs, they are still strong favourites for the all ireland with Waterford and Cork joint 2nd in my view. Games on Saturday evening we're odd, hard to fathom how poor Dublin were while Cork and Galway had no cut to it although you could understand the headspace of the Galway players not been 100% following the awful news about Paul Shefflin. Laois and Antrim was probably the game of the weekend followed by Clare/Limerick although the standard did drop in Ennis in the final 20 mins the excitement remained."
Dublin were missing a half dozen championship starters but the main difference was Kilkenny were up to near championship intensity as they usually are coming to the end of the League. Their lads were a split second faster to the tackle, block, breaking balls etc.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12147 - 07/03/2022 13:24:08    2404255

Antrim are surely better prepared for facing Offaly given they come from the much easier 1b group and had some close matches.

Also Offaly hammered everyone in div 2 last year so not sure of the point in sending them back down. Might need to rejig the format to be more like football maybe?

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 254 - 07/03/2022 13:28:35    2404260

Replying To Viking66:  "Dublin were missing a half dozen championship starters but the main difference was Kilkenny were up to near championship intensity as they usually are coming to the end of the League. Their lads were a split second faster to the tackle, block, breaking balls etc."
We're they missing that many? O'Donnell is an absolutely massive loss, to me that's like Tipp without Paidi Maher when he was at his peak but as Shane Dowling (very good pundit btw) mentioned last night that 12 of there outfield players have started all 4 league games and O'Donnell not crying off would have made it 13. I do think they were to bad to be true on Saturday, there playing each other in Parnell on May 14 or 15 I'd be shocked if it was as 1 sided towards either team.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 07/03/2022 14:01:36    2404276