NFL DIV 2 Predictions

Allianz Football League Division 2 round 1
Clare v Offaly, Cusack Park, Ennis, 2pm - call me biased but I think Offaly are very consistent under John Maughan andthe bounce from u20 AI win should get Offaly off to a win, be it away in Ennis. Offaly 1-14, Clare 0-13
Galway v Meath, Pearse Stadium, 2pm - a trick game for Galway at home, how are Meath after the winter - Galway 1-12 Meath 0-12
Roscommon v Cork, Dr Hyde Park, 2pm - Roscommon will have a bounce with Pearses doing so well but are without their players - Cork are a team that just need to deliver - a win here - Cork 2-12 Roscommon 1-11
Derry V Down , Owenbeg (Saturday) - the hardest game to call possibly - Derry 0-15 Down 0-14

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1035 - 28/01/2022 12:36:14    2396847

Offaly by 3
Meath 3
Ross 2
Derry 4

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 850 - 28/01/2022 14:29:15    2396862

Ros are missing a sizeable contingent of players from both Pearses (senior all ireland semi final) and Faithleachs (intermediate all ireland semi final). Would love to get the win over Cork but I just can't see us winning unfortunately. I think Cork will be too strong unfortunately even though they'll have no Finbarrs players either. I'm still very excited for the game and look forward to seeing some of our young lads getting valuable experience in what will be an extremely tough division 2 campaign. Fingers crossed I'm proven wrong though. Finally all the best to both Pearses and Faithleachs in their respective All Ireland semi finals. I've no doubt they'll do our wonderful county proud.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 105 - 28/01/2022 19:12:26    2396896

Replying To ComainRos:  "Ros are missing a sizeable contingent of players from both Pearses (senior all ireland semi final) and Faithleachs (intermediate all ireland semi final). Would love to get the win over Cork but I just can't see us winning unfortunately. I think Cork will be too strong unfortunately even though they'll have no Finbarrs players either. I'm still very excited for the game and look forward to seeing some of our young lads getting valuable experience in what will be an extremely tough division 2 campaign. Fingers crossed I'm proven wrong though. Finally all the best to both Pearses and Faithleachs in their respective All Ireland semi finals. I've no doubt they'll do our wonderful county proud."
Had Roscommon down to win narrowly this weekend but with the news coming through that Roscommon have since lost a key player to injury probably swings a tight contest in favour of Cork.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 28/01/2022 19:52:52    2396903

Replying To ComainRos:  "Ros are missing a sizeable contingent of players from both Pearses (senior all ireland semi final) and Faithleachs (intermediate all ireland semi final). Would love to get the win over Cork but I just can't see us winning unfortunately. I think Cork will be too strong unfortunately even though they'll have no Finbarrs players either. I'm still very excited for the game and look forward to seeing some of our young lads getting valuable experience in what will be an extremely tough division 2 campaign. Fingers crossed I'm proven wrong though. Finally all the best to both Pearses and Faithleachs in their respective All Ireland semi finals. I've no doubt they'll do our wonderful county proud."
Also looking forward to this one. First time in Hyde Park also for me. I hope your prediction is correct though I think you might be codding us with it! The fact that ye are missing so many gives us a chance for sure. However, one cannot say whether Cork are relatively 'strong' or not. There is new management in place. There are 60 lads in training and after last year's debacle, nobody knows what is the best 26 for matches yet. There's a squad picked tomorrow minus Barrs players (Ian Maguire is only guaranteed squad member from them). We'll see how it goes. We will learn something about ourselves. Also would love to get the win. Hope ye don't end up scoring 4-30 against us again like ye did a few years back!

For the other games. Offaly are definitely going very well and people are thinking Clare are favourites to go down. Clare in Ennis though are very hard to beat. They are used to Division 2 now. Think they might win this very narrowly.

I would say Derry might win comfortably enough at home. Galway to beat Meath at home.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/01/2022 09:11:50    2396916

Clare by one
Down Derry draw
Galway by three
Cork by six

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 29/01/2022 09:27:12    2396918

There's a buzz about Derry at the minute and with the Kilcoo contingent out can see a 3 or 4 point Derry win,Galway should be too strong for a Meath team missing a few also Galway missing some important players but fancy Galway at home by a couple of points,Roscommon missing a lot of players bit of unrest in the camp also rumoured hard to know what Cork will bring do hard to call but will favour Cork,Offaly on a buzz as well at the moment but fancy Clare here almost full squad to choose from with a strong bench and with home advantage Clare by 3 or 4.

shocko (Clare) - Posts: 14 - 29/01/2022 11:05:37    2396941

Replying To shocko:  "There's a buzz about Derry at the minute and with the Kilcoo contingent out can see a 3 or 4 point Derry win,Galway should be too strong for a Meath team missing a few also Galway missing some important players but fancy Galway at home by a couple of points,Roscommon missing a lot of players bit of unrest in the camp also rumoured hard to know what Cork will bring do hard to call but will favour Cork,Offaly on a buzz as well at the moment but fancy Clare here almost full squad to choose from with a strong bench and with home advantage Clare by 3 or 4."
Good predictions Shocks. Div 2 was the only division where I got all 4 winning teams correct this weekend. I did miserably as regards the other 3 divisions.

Div 2 is gonna be great craic, I predict. I'd love to see Clare promoted, and there's no reason ye can't do it. There are no world beaters in this division, and a couple of poor (Down) and very poor (Cork) teams. Both of these for the chop, I reckon.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1939 - 30/01/2022 21:05:52    2397324

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Good predictions Shocks. Div 2 was the only division where I got all 4 winning teams correct this weekend. I did miserably as regards the other 3 divisions.

Div 2 is gonna be great craic, I predict. I'd love to see Clare promoted, and there's no reason ye can't do it. There are no world beaters in this division, and a couple of poor (Down) and very poor (Cork) teams. Both of these for the chop, I reckon."
Offally will go down
That's about all you could make a prediction of in division 2

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/01/2022 09:21:07    2397361

Replying To shocko:  "There's a buzz about Derry at the minute and with the Kilcoo contingent out can see a 3 or 4 point Derry win,Galway should be too strong for a Meath team missing a few also Galway missing some important players but fancy Galway at home by a couple of points,Roscommon missing a lot of players bit of unrest in the camp also rumoured hard to know what Cork will bring do hard to call but will favour Cork,Offaly on a buzz as well at the moment but fancy Clare here almost full squad to choose from with a strong bench and with home advantage Clare by 3 or 4."
Unrest in Roscommon camp??players missing due to club football and few injuries.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1063 - 31/01/2022 11:19:28    2397411

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Offally will go down
That's about all you could make a prediction of in division 2"
Hope you are wrong, but it's possible.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 31/01/2022 11:59:26    2397428

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Hope you are wrong, but it's possible."
It's 1/2 in the bookies.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/01/2022 12:28:33    2397439

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "It's 1/2 in the bookies."
Sorry just checked this morning prices it's actually 4/11 offally go down.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/01/2022 12:37:20    2397445

Would love to know what exactly this unrest in the Roscommon camp is that you mentioned?...

Ros13 (Roscommon) - Posts: 109 - 31/01/2022 12:39:11    2397448

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Hope you are wrong, but it's possible."
You from Killeigh village in County Offaly the home of the statue Mick.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/01/2022 12:41:58    2397449

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "You from Killeigh village in County Offaly the home of the statue Mick."
I thought this was just a football column. My reputed address or otherwise, is not relevant.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 31/01/2022 13:06:25    2397459

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Good predictions Shocks. Div 2 was the only division where I got all 4 winning teams correct this weekend. I did miserably as regards the other 3 divisions.

Div 2 is gonna be great craic, I predict. I'd love to see Clare promoted, and there's no reason ye can't do it. There are no world beaters in this division, and a couple of poor (Down) and very poor (Cork) teams. Both of these for the chop, I reckon."
Midtable will be a fine achievement for Clare. Colm Collins deserves great credit for having Clare punching above their weight these last 6 years. Under another manager they would be struggling in Div 3 and nobody would remark about it as its Clare expected level.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3359 - 31/01/2022 13:25:02    2397465

Replying To Ros13:  "Would love to know what exactly this unrest in the Roscommon camp is that you mentioned?..."
Unrest at just been from Roscommon I'd imagine..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 31/01/2022 13:30:04    2397467

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "I thought this was just a football column. My reputed address or otherwise, is not relevant."
OK it's a weird name to use on a gaa forum is all, anyway best of luck to ye but I hope and believe ye won't win a match mainly because we have previous with the tanned spoofer.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/01/2022 13:37:38    2397470

Replying To Ros13:  "Would love to know what exactly this unrest in the Roscommon camp is that you mentioned?..."
Was going on information from a Rossie work colleague as information from different countys is always a good source from a betting point of view.
Obviously I got misinformation or else Cork are very poor.

shocko (Clare) - Posts: 14 - 31/01/2022 14:18:58    2397489