Carlow GAA thread

Hon Carla! So close today. Well done.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 92 - 11/05/2024 18:39:52    2544142

Well done on a great battling performance. Hopefully it will be an electric atmosphere next weekend and a good game!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12505 - 11/05/2024 18:58:08    2544147

Second smallest county in Ireland. Five senior clubs. Amazing result. Congratulations. And the Gaa heads in croke Park will bury the result. So they won't have to put money into Carlow Laois Offaly Antrim Westmeath. Lads it's a privilege to see the Carlow Jersey worn with such fight pride honour. Hopefully the sunday game will show more than thirty seconds. Great day for Carlow Gaa.

Brendandoyle (Carlow) - Posts: 5 - 11/05/2024 19:33:49    2544152

What a day! History made. Only the third time ever we played Kilkenny at senior championship level. The first was in 1993. We lost by 18 points.

To give an idea of how far we have come: In 1997, Carlow played the Cats in a Leinster Intermediate final. The GAA had brought back the competition with the idea of giving 'B' counties a chance to play junior and intermediate players from the "traditional" powers.

We felt we had a great chance. We had been building over the decade, in the A Leinster, and this looked like something we could realistically hope to win.

It was a team made up of Mark Mullins, Niall English, Martin Farrell, Pat Coady, Johnny Nevin, Joe Hayden, Johnny Kavanagh, Davy Doyle, Des Murphy and a few other very well known players locally. Mark had transferred back from Cork. Which gave us all a huge lift.

We lost by 13 points and were never in contention. Ollie O'Connor from Freshford scored 2-5. Ollie was a fine player, but he never played senior championship hurling - as far as I know.

So that's how big the gap was. And it hit us straight in the face that day.

After that the wheels fell off the 1990s Carlow hurling chariot and that team kind of broke up. Wicklow beat us by 9 points in the first round the following year.

A number of us who were involved felt that was it: Carlow were doomed to be perennial also rans. We had reached our ceiling.

Things changed in the mid 2000s, with the 2008 Christy Ring win a major turning point - in my view - and now we have hit a new peak.

I am not ashamed to say I cried when I got back into my car outside Doctor Cullen Park today.

Thank you lads. Especially Marty Kavanagh. You absolute legend.

Amazing stuff.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 628 - 11/05/2024 19:47:51    2544159

Replying To novalis:  "Let's start here Carlow people"
Congratulations and well done to everyone associated with Carlow hurling. An outstanding result and some historic achieved by Carlow today. An example to my own county what can be achieved with the right strategy implemented and built upon over time. Hopefully Carlow contine to build on today's achievement while basking in today's glorious result.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1936 - 12/05/2024 10:23:52    2544203

Unbelievable day yesterday. I didn't know how we would approach the game beforehand. Would we be looking at the bigger picture & saying that Wexford next week is the one to aim for & get a trimming from Kilkenny like Antrim did or would we go for it... we certainly went for it... Our lads hurled out of our skins. 5 points down at half time after playing with the wind i was worried. That 2nd half was brilliant. It was great to hear the panic in the Kilkenny crowd near the end. Up to that it was all sure isn't it great ye are running Kilkenny close. A genuine KK man said to me before the game that he hoped it wouldn't be like the beating they gave Antrim but he feared it would be. I must check in with him later. Fair play to Mouse with that last free. Balls of steel. Thanks to our hurlers for one of the best days out ever. I never imagined us getting a result against KK but we fully deserved it. Get the heads right now & bring on Wexford

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 221 - 12/05/2024 10:36:53    2544208

Well done Carlow. Well done.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2154 - 12/05/2024 10:50:48    2544214

Replying To CARPS:  "What a day! History made. Only the third time ever we played Kilkenny at senior championship level. The first was in 1993. We lost by 18 points.

To give an idea of how far we have come: In 1997, Carlow played the Cats in a Leinster Intermediate final. The GAA had brought back the competition with the idea of giving 'B' counties a chance to play junior and intermediate players from the "traditional" powers.

We felt we had a great chance. We had been building over the decade, in the A Leinster, and this looked like something we could realistically hope to win.

It was a team made up of Mark Mullins, Niall English, Martin Farrell, Pat Coady, Johnny Nevin, Joe Hayden, Johnny Kavanagh, Davy Doyle, Des Murphy and a few other very well known players locally. Mark had transferred back from Cork. Which gave us all a huge lift.

We lost by 13 points and were never in contention. Ollie O'Connor from Freshford scored 2-5. Ollie was a fine player, but he never played senior championship hurling - as far as I know.

So that's how big the gap was. And it hit us straight in the face that day.

After that the wheels fell off the 1990s Carlow hurling chariot and that team kind of broke up. Wicklow beat us by 9 points in the first round the following year.

A number of us who were involved felt that was it: Carlow were doomed to be perennial also rans. We had reached our ceiling.

Things changed in the mid 2000s, with the 2008 Christy Ring win a major turning point - in my view - and now we have hit a new peak.

I am not ashamed to say I cried when I got back into my car outside Doctor Cullen Park today.

Thank you lads. Especially Marty Kavanagh. You absolute legend.

Amazing stuff."
I remember that 97 team, beat wexford in enniscorthy beforehand, mullins was a serious hurler. I don't think olllie o' Connor ever went on to play senior I think he was on that 2nd team for years though.

Yesterday's result was incredible, I've never seen anything like it, I know kilkenny had a red card and missing a few but that's irrelevant really, it was more how carlow played, no fear and with great physicality, there was a moment near the end where macdonald won a ball and nearly broke the kilkenny man in half and I just thought maybe it's on. It makes for a very interesting week next week, nothing is certain, leinster championship is now competitive there are several scenarios that could play out but for Carlow that final game against antrim is the all important one.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1607 - 12/05/2024 11:49:04    2544237

Maith sibh Carlow, fantastic result for ye and for hurling more generally. A testament to the great work and investment Carlow have put into hurling over the past decade or more. Coming from such a small playing base makes the progress you have made all the more remarkable. Keep it going!!!

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 95 - 12/05/2024 11:59:58    2544238

Well done to Carlow. What a competitive competition.
The Yellow Bellies won't relish facing you next week, and I hope our lads can rise themselves to bate Galway.
See youse shortly for what could be a fantastic encounter.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 299 - 12/05/2024 12:03:45    2544239

Fantastic result yesterday. I never thought I'd see the day when we'd come withn 10 points of Kilkenny, not to mind within a whisker of beating them. Full credit to players, management and backroom team who have brought us to this level. Just need to back this up in the Wexford & Antrim games. Minimum target now is to remain in the Leinster Championship.

carlovian (Carlow) - Posts: 16 - 12/05/2024 13:42:36    2544251

A great day for Carlow hurlers yesterday, and a good result for the lesser ranked teams. Well done to all involved in Carlow hurling.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1771 - 12/05/2024 14:18:19    2544265

Well done to the Carlow hurlers who once again gave us a result when nothing was expected. Instead they went at KK and had them not just rattled but lucky to get out with a point from us. With 5 left we looked the more likely to win the game.

Have said before the Carlow hurling Team is what you get when everyone you want involved in a squad is there all pulling together with incredible self motivation to be the very best they can be. In my opionion there is no team in Ireland pound for pound who squeeze as much out of what they have than the Carlow hurlers and have been doing it for the last 15 years.

As someone who doesn't get home to Carlow as much these days I want to say thank you to this squad for days like this where we can walk around with chest out and proud as punch of these men.

Carlow abu

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 296 - 12/05/2024 14:41:56    2544275

Replying To ITSCHOLAR:  "Well done to the Carlow hurlers who once again gave us a result when nothing was expected. Instead they went at KK and had them not just rattled but lucky to get out with a point from us. With 5 left we looked the more likely to win the game.

Have said before the Carlow hurling Team is what you get when everyone you want involved in a squad is there all pulling together with incredible self motivation to be the very best they can be. In my opionion there is no team in Ireland pound for pound who squeeze as much out of what they have than the Carlow hurlers and have been doing it for the last 15 years.

As someone who doesn't get home to Carlow as much these days I want to say thank you to this squad for days like this where we can walk around with chest out and proud as punch of these men.

Carlow abu"
As someone who has been at more battles with Carlow than most I agree totally a proud group of men who fight tooth and nail for their county.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1488 - 12/05/2024 16:01:55    2544293

Some finish thetre. Coming from 8 down. Will go into remaining matches with confidence

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3106 - 12/05/2024 16:43:39    2544304

What a weekend. I put up a message a few weeks ago about how Carlow losing to Wexford by 20+ was our footballers darkest day which I would still maintain. However, if that was our darkest our brightest must have come on Saturday evening, its hard to put into context that draw vs Kilkenny. David vs Goliath type stuff, I am slightly more of a football man myself but would attend hurling and know about the club scene in Carlow. What we did on Saturday is hard to comprehend in some ways if you were to break down - playing numbers, tradition, all - stars, experience etc. Just fantastic and makes you proud to be from Carlow. It also makes you wonder if we took the same attitude as KK and didnt bother with one sport and prefrenced just one how much we could achieve. Obviously thats a separate issue and not one we have but more of how KK do things.

In regards to the footballers I have said time and time again that I believe the manager to be the issue, I understand that sometimes you come up against better teams with better players and lose but as I have said before I think Carlow have a good group at the moment being let down by a very poor manager with other motives. Carlow have beaten Leitrim and drew with Laois both teams promoted, then hammered by Wexford a team who is still div 4 and been there longer than us. That proves we do have the players but we dont have the tactics etc. Fairplay to footballers all the same up and down year but huge character shown and great to stop the flow of defeats vs Laois. Would be expecting Fermanagh to win against all other teams in the group so keeping the score down and then Wicklow game is huge.

FearCeatharlach (Carlow) - Posts: 13 - 13/05/2024 09:04:57    2544403

Replying To FearCeatharlach:  "What a weekend. I put up a message a few weeks ago about how Carlow losing to Wexford by 20+ was our footballers darkest day which I would still maintain. However, if that was our darkest our brightest must have come on Saturday evening, its hard to put into context that draw vs Kilkenny. David vs Goliath type stuff, I am slightly more of a football man myself but would attend hurling and know about the club scene in Carlow. What we did on Saturday is hard to comprehend in some ways if you were to break down - playing numbers, tradition, all - stars, experience etc. Just fantastic and makes you proud to be from Carlow. It also makes you wonder if we took the same attitude as KK and didnt bother with one sport and prefrenced just one how much we could achieve. Obviously thats a separate issue and not one we have but more of how KK do things.

In regards to the footballers I have said time and time again that I believe the manager to be the issue, I understand that sometimes you come up against better teams with better players and lose but as I have said before I think Carlow have a good group at the moment being let down by a very poor manager with other motives. Carlow have beaten Leitrim and drew with Laois both teams promoted, then hammered by Wexford a team who is still div 4 and been there longer than us. That proves we do have the players but we dont have the tactics etc. Fairplay to footballers all the same up and down year but huge character shown and great to stop the flow of defeats vs Laois. Would be expecting Fermanagh to win against all other teams in the group so keeping the score down and then Wicklow game is huge."
I don't think you can read too much into the results between any of us in div4 and the bottom half of div 3 tbh. Any of the teams can beat any of the others on any given day.
I watched your hurling minors play Antrim it was good to see some lads from non traditional Carlow hurling clubs playing. Hopefully the game really takes off now in Carlow Town.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12505 - 13/05/2024 09:53:32    2544415

Replying To FearCeatharlach:  "What a weekend. I put up a message a few weeks ago about how Carlow losing to Wexford by 20+ was our footballers darkest day which I would still maintain. However, if that was our darkest our brightest must have come on Saturday evening, its hard to put into context that draw vs Kilkenny. David vs Goliath type stuff, I am slightly more of a football man myself but would attend hurling and know about the club scene in Carlow. What we did on Saturday is hard to comprehend in some ways if you were to break down - playing numbers, tradition, all - stars, experience etc. Just fantastic and makes you proud to be from Carlow. It also makes you wonder if we took the same attitude as KK and didnt bother with one sport and prefrenced just one how much we could achieve. Obviously thats a separate issue and not one we have but more of how KK do things.

In regards to the footballers I have said time and time again that I believe the manager to be the issue, I understand that sometimes you come up against better teams with better players and lose but as I have said before I think Carlow have a good group at the moment being let down by a very poor manager with other motives. Carlow have beaten Leitrim and drew with Laois both teams promoted, then hammered by Wexford a team who is still div 4 and been there longer than us. That proves we do have the players but we dont have the tactics etc. Fairplay to footballers all the same up and down year but huge character shown and great to stop the flow of defeats vs Laois. Would be expecting Fermanagh to win against all other teams in the group so keeping the score down and then Wicklow game is huge."
Bit unfair on Carew who has had to rebuild the whole squad from the Poacher era. I think Darragh is the only survivor from those glory days.

I thought we would be beat out the gate on Sunday but the players responded well to the Wexford collapse and played very well. Carew has to get credit for this if he's getting the blame for the Wexford match.

The team looks very fast when going forward and this result should bring them on.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1518 - 13/05/2024 10:33:34    2544426

Congratulations on a fantastic weekend. We've had hard times in Wexford but I can't imagine what it's been like for Carlow hurling followers. You think a day like that will never come.

We'd have respect for you anyway given MLR against oulart a few years back. Not to mention you frightening the life out of us in the qualifiers in 13/14 in Wexford park.

Looking forward to the trip up this weekend.

I'm sure we won't be taking anything for granted. Only our best will do and rightly so

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2819 - 13/05/2024 10:52:58    2544434

Because I don't live in the county anymore, I'm not up to speed with what's happening in the club scene, so.

Personally, I wouldn't entirely blame the football management entirely, hot and cold performances is not always the managements' fault to some extent yes but as they say it takes two hands to clap. Yesterday's performance against Laois is an example in that no one saw that result coming, in any other game being down 0-08 going into injury time it would have been curtains as they say but yesterday's performance was a total contradiction of how Carlow senior footballers perform when their backs are against the wall.

However, the preparation for yesterday's game may have been a bit different in that management may have realized that their own back's was against the wall so a new intense approach was very much different, if that is true then the same approach is needed for Carlow's next game.

Carlow hurlers magnificent performance against the mighty Cat's.

There is in my view no comparison in the consistency between the senior footballers and senior hurlers, down through the years irrespective of what manager the hurlers had they always played with fire in their bellies and tons of teamwork. I will be honest in saying I didn't see that result coming but I should have on the Sunday game last night it was quietly suggested that KK being reduced to 14 players, and they were short 3 or 4 regulars didn't help but I don't buy into that at all, we've all seen teams at a numerical disadvantage going from strength to strength psychologically and overcoming the odds.

Carlow hurlers approach to all games is consistent although sometimes through little or no fault of their own not always victorious, in a way yesterday was a victory.

PS. Coincidentally the hurlers scored 0-23 and the footballers scored 2-17 (0-23) both draw games. Good omen hopefully.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2918 - 13/05/2024 11:20:25    2544439