Minor Championship 2020

Division 1 semi finals now set. Colmcilles look to be strong favourites unless Dunshaughlin threw yesterday's game a small bit. Good win for Dunboyne against Duleek who had drew with Summerhill and were fancied to beat them. Colmcilles vs Dunboyne and Dunshaughlin vs Summerhill the semi finals. In Division 2 Kilbride beating Walterstown, NOM and Simonstown in the group is some achievement.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1459 - 27/08/2020 12:23:34    2289345

Dunboyne done very well to make the division 1 semi finals, they have improved every year as a team and I wouldn't rule them out making a championship final beating Colmcilles the Best team in Meath along the way.

MeathGaa2004 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 28/08/2020 22:49:57    2289582

The four teams who reached last years Division 1 & 2 finals make up this years Division 1 semi fInalists. And there is a good chance both last year finalists (Summerhill & St. Colmcilles) could meet in the final. Well done to Dunboyne on reaching the semi and they will be some team if they beat Colmcilles.
However I would still think that both Cilles and Dunshaughlin will win their semi finals.
The Div 2 championship is really intriguing with Kilbride and Killary Emmets in the semi finals, Kilbride looking for another big scalp after beating all 3 big Navan clubs, it will be some achievement for them if they can beat Donaghmore/Ashbourne and reach the final. The O' Mahony's would be favourites to win their semifinal, maybe settling up a repeat of the earlier round game between themselves and Kilbride which went Kilbrides way by one point.
It is a pity that no spectators are allowed to attend especially for those two smaller clubs who are doing so well.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 29/08/2020 06:43:58    2289607

Kilbride playing very well this year and deservingly topping their group with 3 wins from 3. They beat three very good sides their most notable win against O Mahonys in Navan. It is a great achievement for them as they are a small parish but they are expanding every year and gaining more numbers being close to the Dublin border. I would give Kilbride a great chance of beating Ashbourne in the semi finals as they have home advantage and if they made a final a great chance too. I think they will be playing O Mahonys in the final and they will be very confident after their one point victory in the group stage. The other team they could be playing are Killary Emmets a team they bet comfortably in the U 16 semi final last year. They would be confident of beating them too but they are all tough games for Kilbride and that will make them relish it More. Kilbride are my favorites to win division 2 this year but as we all know predictions don't always work out.

MeathGaa2004 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 29/08/2020 13:19:41    2289652

Kells very poor in the championship this year, they weren't in any of the games and never showed any character or fight. I know it's their first time being in division 1 throughout the grade but I'm still very shocked on how poor they were in every game. I would have expected them to be better as they were brilliant last year in winning the U 16 division 2 league. They were brushing teams aside last year and winning games against good clubs. This year they couldn't just settle in the higher division and their confidence was shattered after their first hammering against Duleek at home a game they were tipped to win. They were so poor against Dunboyne I know it was in Dunboyne but Kells bet them in the division 2 final last year, there was no Excuse for them in this game. The last game against Summerhill was a dead rubber as there was nothing to play for them, I thought they were a bit better but their problem is conceding too many goals and finding it hard to get any attacking rhythm going up front. They are in the shield now against Ratoath in Ratoath a game I don't fancy them in as they lost to them earlier in the year in the spring league and especially with the way they are accounting themselves recently.

MeathGaa2004 (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 29/08/2020 14:07:55    2289661

Cillies v dunboyne live on Meath gaa Facebook Friday evening.

bearindsquare (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 08/09/2020 20:50:05    2291202

Replying To bearindsquare:  "Cillies v dunboyne live on Meath gaa Facebook Friday evening."
Could be very one sided, Cilles are a machine at this age group, while dunboyne have struggled in finals in the past. The big stage doesn't favour them. Fair play to Meath GAA though, good to see them treating the competition so well.

Greengiant99 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 08/09/2020 22:07:16    2291219

Replying To Greengiant99:  "Could be very one sided, Cilles are a machine at this age group, while dunboyne have struggled in finals in the past. The big stage doesn't favour them. Fair play to Meath GAA though, good to see them treating the competition so well."
Agree this will be incredibly one sided . Cilles will be away to strong for Dunboyne. May make for embarrassing TV watching as this Cilles team have dominated Meath football at this level from U12 up.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 09/09/2020 00:41:45    2291236

Replying To Greengiant99:  "Could be very one sided, Cilles are a machine at this age group, while dunboyne have struggled in finals in the past. The big stage doesn't favour them. Fair play to Meath GAA though, good to see them treating the competition so well."
Yeah I'd agree with you there can't see dunboyne getting near them, hopefully they have Saturdays game too should be a bit more competitive

bearindsquare (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 09/09/2020 00:58:19    2291237

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Agree this will be incredibly one sided . Cilles will be away to strong for Dunboyne. May make for embarrassing TV watching as this Cilles team have dominated Meath football at this level from U12 up."
Dunboyne will love to read that coming from a Colmcilles man.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 09/09/2020 10:34:32    2291257

Replying To jackhackett:  "Dunboyne will love to read that coming from a Colmcilles man."
Not a Cilles man but I have seen their team give my club some trimmings with this team and they are excellent, and always have been. Can't see Dunboyne getting anywhere close to them

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 09/09/2020 17:42:41    2291333

Other semi final should be closer, but I think Dunshaughlin should have more than enough for Summerhill and will beat them comfortably. Seem to be great at racking up big scores without depending on getting goals.

Greengiant99 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 09/09/2020 20:36:02    2291343

Replying To Greengiant99:  "Other semi final should be closer, but I think Dunshaughlin should have more than enough for Summerhill and will beat them comfortably. Seem to be great at racking up big scores without depending on getting goals."
Still no word on it being streamed unfortunately

bearindsquare (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 10/09/2020 09:51:06    2291382

Replying To bearindsquare:  "Still no word on it being streamed unfortunately"
Could be difficult to do both games unfortunately, probably Dunboyne and Colmcilles having bigger populations had an effect on the game they chose.

Greengiant99 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 10/09/2020 13:14:06    2291409

I see Ballinlough are streaming their game on Saturday. Great to see.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 10/09/2020 15:50:02    2291436

A few predictions for this weekend

Division 1
Cup
St. Colmcilles v Dunboyne - Colmcilles
Summerhill v Dunshaughlin - Dunshaughlin
Shield
Duleek v Skryne - Duleek
Ratoath v Gaeil Colmcille - Ratoath

Division 2
Cup
Killary Emmet's v O'Mahonys - Navan
Kilbride v Don/Ash - Kilbride
Shield
Walterstown v Trim - Walterstown
Simonstown v Senchalstown played last week

Division 3
Cup
Ballinabrackey v St. Mary's - Ballinabrackey
Wolfe Tones v Drumconrath/Meath Hill - Wolfe Tones
Shield
St. Colmcilles 'B' v St. Ultan's/Cortown Gaels - St. Colmcilles 'B'
St. Patrick's v St. Michael's/Nobber - St. Michael's/Nobber

Division 4
Cup
Ballinlough v St. Peter's Dunboyne 'B'- Ballinlough
Bective/Dunsany v Rathkenny/Slane - Bective/Dunsany
Shield
Ratoath 'B' v Moynalvey/Boardsmill - Ratoath 'B'
Kilmainhamwood given a walkover by Na Fianna

Division 5
Cup
Longwood v Dunderry -Dunderry
Blackhall Gaels v Round Towers - Blackhall Gaels
Shield
St. Vincent's/Curraha v Moynalty/Carnaross - St. Vincent's/Curraha
Inny Gaels progress straight through

Division 6
Clann na nGael v Oldcastle - Clann na nGael
Ballivor v Don/Ash 'B'- Ballivor

Greengiant99 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 11/09/2020 14:05:29    2291554

Replying To jackhackett:  "Dunboyne will love to read that coming from a Colmcilles man."
Told you it would be a mismatch and tonight's Minor game was . Cilles in a different League to Dunboyne, different League to everything else, really felt for those poor lads. Cilles won by +21 and it could have been in the 30's if they wanted too

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 11/09/2020 22:34:09    2291630

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Told you it would be a mismatch and tonight's Minor game was . Cilles in a different League to Dunboyne, different League to everything else, really felt for those poor lads. Cilles won by +21 and it could have been in the 30's if they wanted too"
That is as good a club under 17 team as I remember watching (albeit I am young enough). Cilles with magnificent level of skill, brilliant kickpassing style, and also great pace and power. Cilles now need to bring these lads through to senior which they have struggled a bit in the past. Runners up in 14 (Under 18), and 2018. Winners in 2016 (Under 18), 2019 and now in a final this year. They should have a good senior team in 3 or 4 years time

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1459 - 12/09/2020 00:17:43    2291647

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "That is as good a club under 17 team as I remember watching (albeit I am young enough). Cilles with magnificent level of skill, brilliant kickpassing style, and also great pace and power. Cilles now need to bring these lads through to senior which they have struggled a bit in the past. Runners up in 14 (Under 18), and 2018. Winners in 2016 (Under 18), 2019 and now in a final this year. They should have a good senior team in 3 or 4 years time"
There are no guarantees when it comes to winning the Keeghan cup. Now they have made a very good start with their underage, however that will depend on how the players progress and look after themselves (U21 will be better indicator of progression) It will also depend on having good people involved in their adult football. Possibly one of the best minor teams in a number of years have yet to win a Keeghan cup. If I am correct Dun/Ash won a Leinster minor title. The best of luck to all and generally you get the rewards for the effort put in.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 12/09/2020 11:05:15    2291664

Another very one sided game here by the looks of the scoreline. Hopefully Dunshaughlin were resting a few in round 3 so we can at least get a competitive final.

bearindsquare (Meath) - Posts: 47 - 12/09/2020 13:46:59    2291687