That 1982 Final

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thanks for the kind words mes, but you've just got to look at RTÉ and TG4s coverage of old matches on telly over the last 6-7 weeks it's all kerry games where we've lost bar 1 that we won, look it's what the people want and that's fair enough coz we're the top dogs and all, but how many games have they shown of dublin losing? 0 maybe 1.

Also iv seen some crazy stuff the last 10 years or so that can only be explained by bias from reffs (not all) but a few.

I think some refs got to like reffing kerry games now coz if they made a mistake or a few mistakes in 1 of our games once its against us then sure it's only kerry nobody will say anything and if we say anything then we're whinging so it's lose lose for us."
Like I said it does no harm for yous to watch. You're used to it.

Kerry have lost more big games than any other county, Dubs and Cork up there too but Kerry are top dogs at losing big games too.

Bound to be reflected in the TV showings.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 04/05/2020 22:34:36    2277511

Don't think refs are eager to "get Kerry", I've seen them get some soft decisions over about 20 years but equally they have been rode as many so it evens out.

However I would agree that most counties love seeing Kerry lose as they have won so much down through the years.

It's the same for a lot of teams seeing Meath beaten year in year out, we've made out fair share of rivals... Louth 2010, Kerry 01, Mayo 96 and that's before we even start with the Dubs

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 05/05/2020 00:04:00    2277516

Replying To MesAmis:  "Like I said it does no harm for yous to watch. You're used to it.

Kerry have lost more big games than any other county, Dubs and Cork up there too but Kerry are top dogs at losing big games too.

Bound to be reflected in the TV showings."
Sure if course we've lost big games that's sport.

But we've won quite a few as well mes which isn't being reflected, where is the ballance? and it's just fueling the next generation of reffs to be biased against us.

Sure any new reffs looking at all the joy of the kerry defeats and subconsciously their thinking this is great for the country.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2020 07:51:03    2277520

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure if course we've lost big games that's sport.

But we've won quite a few as well mes which isn't being reflected, where is the ballance? and it's just fueling the next generation of reffs to be biased against us.

Sure any new reffs looking at all the joy of the kerry defeats and subconsciously their thinking this is great for the country."
Yous have a good few alright, just not in the last decade, but they showed that one which was nice.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 05/05/2020 10:39:13    2277527

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure if course we've lost big games that's sport.

Sure any new reffs looking at all the joy of the kerry defeats and subconsciously their thinking this is great for the country."
I think you're being unfair to suggest that referees are biased against Kerry, or indeed any other county. Of course Kerry have suffered from some borderline or even questionable decisions over the years, some of which may have cost them dearly, but many counties could say the same. I think all referees try to be fair to both sides but inevitably they wil make mistakes from time to time - don't we all - and occasionally these mistakes can have a major influence on the outcome of a game. Personally, I would say that the two most obvious examples of teams suffering from such mistakes were Louth in the 2010 Leinster final and (less obviously) Mayo in the 2014 semi-final replay in Limerick. That's just my opinion, as a neutral observer in both instances, but I wouldn't for a moment suggest that the referee was biased against either Louth or Mayo. They simply made mistakes that unfortunately had very serious consequences.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 543 - 05/05/2020 10:47:13    2277528

I hear you. They're definitely biased. Look at all the Mayo defeats in big games they've shown. Oh wait.........

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 05/05/2020 11:17:59    2277529

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I hear you. They're definitely biased. Look at all the Mayo defeats in big games they've shown. Oh wait........."
Have they shown many mayo defeats? I know they've shown ye beating us in the league final last year and the 2017 semifinal replay.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2020 14:09:40    2277552

Replying To midlands:  "I think you're being unfair to suggest that referees are biased against Kerry, or indeed any other county. Of course Kerry have suffered from some borderline or even questionable decisions over the years, some of which may have cost them dearly, but many counties could say the same. I think all referees try to be fair to both sides but inevitably they wil make mistakes from time to time - don't we all - and occasionally these mistakes can have a major influence on the outcome of a game. Personally, I would say that the two most obvious examples of teams suffering from such mistakes were Louth in the 2010 Leinster final and (less obviously) Mayo in the 2014 semi-final replay in Limerick. That's just my opinion, as a neutral observer in both instances, but I wouldn't for a moment suggest that the referee was biased against either Louth or Mayo. They simply made mistakes that unfortunately had very serious consequences."
The biggest thing that happened mayo in 2014 was COC and AOS running into each other can't remember too much else, maybe Shane Enright could have got a second yellow but that would have been harsh considering COC wrestled him to the ground for his first yellow.

Louth were definitely unlucky.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2020 14:13:37    2277553

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yous have a good few alright, just not in the last decade, but they showed that one which was nice."
We won 5 in the previous decade mes.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2020 14:14:31    2277554

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The biggest thing that happened mayo in 2014 was COC and AOS running into each other can't remember too much else, maybe Shane Enright could have got a second yellow but that would have been harsh considering COC wrestled him to the ground for his first yellow.

Louth were definitely unlucky."
That's the first time I've seen a suggestion that Enright would have been unlucky to get sent off in that game. Even my Kerry friends (I do have some) acknowledge that he should definitely have walked. The ref got a lot of calls wrong that day and I recall reading a neutral analysis of his decisions which suggested that Kerry benefitted from 80% of those wrong calls. In fairness to that referee, I've seen him in action a few times since and he has improved, whereas the ref of the Louth-Meath game in 2010 seems to have disappeared off the scene completely.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 543 - 05/05/2020 15:29:01    2277558

A 'professional foul' - rare enough in those days - by Bomber Liston on Stephen Darby led directly to the most famous goal in GAA history.
Yet, that foul and its huge significance is never ever mentioned. It has been air-brushed from history!
I can't understand it.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 05/05/2020 15:47:02    2277559

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We won 5 in the previous decade mes."
Good stuff.

That was OK game in 2000 against Galway.

The other 4 finals yous won were poor spectacles and unworthy of repeating. Not Kerry's fault that they were just much better on the day than Cork or Mayo. They were disappointing finals from all but Kerry's pov.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 05/05/2020 18:23:08    2277568

Replying To Aibrean:  "A 'professional foul' - rare enough in those days - by Bomber Liston on Stephen Darby led directly to the most famous goal in GAA history.
Yet, that foul and its huge significance is never ever mentioned. It has been air-brushed from history!
I can't understand it."
So it was Bombers fault then ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/05/2020 19:11:26    2277577

Full game above. Offaly won because they the better team on the day, played to the whistle. No team beats Kerry easy, no team. It made me laugh when I heard some begrudgers saying Dublin won a 'handy' All Ireland in 2011. They hadn't won for 16 years and they beat The Kingdom in the final. The Kingdom no less! Some Kerry supporters think it's their divine right to win every All Ireland. Perhaps they're right but that can make them complacent some years and undo them. But as someone said show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser. You need arrogance to get to the top, I hated losing to Kerry, but loved watching them play football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 05/05/2020 19:58:39    2277584

Replying To MesAmis:  "Good stuff.

That was OK game in 2000 against Galway.

The other 4 finals yous won were poor spectacles and unworthy of repeating. Not Kerry's fault that they were just much better on the day than Cork or Mayo. They were disappointing finals from all but Kerry's pov."
Were they bad finals coz we won mes?

I thought the 09 final was a good final, we only won that by 4 points I think.

The 97 final or the Maurice Fitz final was pretty close,

The 86 final was class and some come back.

But it doesn't have to be a final, we've had some classics with Cork in munster, the munster semifinal replay in 2010 in PUC was an amazing game it had it all including extra time and flaking and everything.

The quarterfinal against Armagh in 06 there are loads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/05/2020 21:02:49    2277589

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Were they bad finals coz we won mes?

I thought the 09 final was a good final, we only won that by 4 points I think.

The 97 final or the Maurice Fitz final was pretty close,

The 86 final was class and some come back.

But it doesn't have to be a final, we've had some classics with Cork in munster, the munster semifinal replay in 2010 in PUC was an amazing game it had it all including extra time and flaking and everything.

The quarterfinal against Armagh in 06 there are loads."
"Were they bad finals coz we won mes?"

No.

They were poor finals coz they weren't contests.

Similar to Dublin v Tyrone 2018 in more recent times. A poor final from a neutral perspective.

Any Cork/Kerry Munster game since the qualifiers began is of no intestest to anyone outside of Kerry/West Cork so they're hardly going to reshow them. I've watched all of them, and been to quite a few but none of them live in the memory, similar to League games I've found.

Armagh/Kerry in 2006 was a good game, maybe they'll show that, but there's a lot of good games to get through thankfully.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 05/05/2020 21:24:55    2277593

Replying To MesAmis:  ""Were they bad finals coz we won mes?"

No.

They were poor finals coz they weren't contests.

Similar to Dublin v Tyrone 2018 in more recent times. A poor final from a neutral perspective.

Any Cork/Kerry Munster game since the qualifiers began is of no intestest to anyone outside of Kerry/West Cork so they're hardly going to reshow them. I've watched all of them, and been to quite a few but none of them live in the memory, similar to League games I've found.

Armagh/Kerry in 2006 was a good game, maybe they'll show that, but there's a lot of good games to get through thankfully."
That munster semifinal replay in 2010 was an excellent game between the current allireland champions and the allireland champions to be and you say that would be of no interest to anyone?

There were great battles in munster up to 2012 and even 2015 was enthralling.

I watched meath and kildare the last day and I'd have no interest in leinster football. But I enjoyed it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2020 07:55:06    2277606

That munster semifinal replay in 2010 was an excellent game between the current allireland champions and the allireland champions to be and you say that would be of no interest to anyone?

I watched meath and kildare the last day and I'd have no interest in leinster football. But I enjoyed it.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 10670 - 06/05/2020 07:55:06 2277606

It was of no more interest to anyone outside of Kerry/West Cork as your average league game.

There was nothing riding on it, no one gets knocked out of the Championship if they lose.

An entertaining game, I've no doubt, when Cork are good they often are entertaining in the same way that league games are entertaining. But no one outside of Kerry/West Cork really remembers those games anymore coz they just don't matter in the way they used to.

Hopefully they'll show the Kerry/Armagh game from 06 for you, or maybe the Kerry/Dubs game from 07, they were both, if not classics, very enjoyable encounters but a Kerry/Cork game from Munster is of little interest to anyone else.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 06/05/2020 09:46:43    2277613

Replying To MesAmis:  "That munster semifinal replay in 2010 was an excellent game between the current allireland champions and the allireland champions to be and you say that would be of no interest to anyone?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 10670 - 06/05/2020 07:55:06 2277606

It was of no more interest to anyone outside of Kerry/West Cork as your average league game.

There was nothing riding on it, no one gets knocked out of the Championship if they lose.

An entertaining game, I've no doubt, when Cork are good they often are entertaining in the same way that league games are entertaining. But no one outside of Kerry/West Cork really remembers those games anymore coz they just don't matter in the way they used to.

Hopefully they'll show the Kerry/Armagh game from 06 for you, or maybe the Kerry/Dubs game from 07, they were both, if not classics, very enjoyable encounters but a Kerry/Cork game from Munster is of little interest to anyone else."
All right so the criteria for a game worth watching is it has to be knockout, no backdoor?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/05/2020 11:02:36    2277618

Replying To catch22:  "So it was Bombers fault then ?"
Certainly not. Bomber was a great player and made a fantastic contribution to many Kerry wins. But, somehow, that foul - which led DIRECTLY to the goal - has been overlooked. Do you not agree?

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 06/05/2020 12:13:45    2277625