The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To dec:  "Horan is a hypocrite of the highest order, a few weeks ago he went on prime time TV on a Sunday night and said while social distancing is in place there would in no way be football or hurling this year, now as the R number is rising rapidly and we are at risk of a second wave heading into winter he is asking can more crowds gather to pay in for club championship matches, what a turnaround, money talks, not only is he now happy for all activity to take place even though social distancing is never more important as now, he is begging the government to allow bigger crowds mingle at matches, and dont kid yourselves this is down to money and nothing else, i hope the government tell him where to go"
You are right. In the beginning, he quite rightly said that there would be no GAA activities considered while social distancing was in place but he has completely changed his tune. I assume that pressure was applied to roll back on the restrictions as the masses were looking for a roadmap and for GAA grounds to be opened up. It certainly appears now as though there are serious concerns with regard to an intercounty championship going ahead in October. Plus there is a number of clubs who are stopping activity due to the outbreaks which doesn't bode well for the club championship in counties. With the R rate in the region of 1.8, it was ill advised for him to go on radio this morning and look for more spectators at games even if they are outside. There is a lot of vocal shouting at matches which is one of the main way the virus spreads.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 17/07/2020 14:25:14    2284326

There has now been 1560 posts on the virus here. Most but not all living in cuckoo land. Sport may start up but will never finish except it is last man/woman standing. Mortuaries will need to be built quickly and enough of refrigerated trucks available for the bodies . This is true world wide. Many leaders have abdicated their responsibility and now prefer to hide the fatalities. The reasons are political, money and general lack of leadership ability.
Unfortunately too much of the world looks to behaviour and leadership in the U.S. That country is completely off the tracks due to lack of leadership and also in fairness a big part of the populis who would believe if told the sun rises in the west. A friend who works in the hospitality business told me all her customers are Americans. The border is closed? Thousands have come into Canada through British Columbia on the pretence they are going to Alaska and have stayed. A wall is needed.
With regards our sport. It is a devastating loss to our mental well being and enjoyment but common sense needs to prevail. Talks of a second wave is a joke. It is here because the first wave never really finished.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/07/2020 15:21:58    2284329

Replying To FoolsGold:  "You said fans would pack into the pubs. No guantee pubs will be open in October. The flu season will be starting then so could be a right mess"
i hope the publicans in ireland dont read this and you saying there pubs may still be not open in october...)

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 17/07/2020 15:33:54    2284330

It's sad to think that there's a possibility we might not see an AMATEUR sporting tournament proceed because of it being supposedly financially troublesome despite the work of thousands of volunteers nationwide that Horan mentioned yesterday.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 17/07/2020 15:37:24    2284331

Replying To arock:  "It is embarresing, when health officials are seriously considering going back to phase 2 the president of the GAA is speaking, well hopefully for himself. Absurd."
Could be worse.

Boris could be in charge.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 17/07/2020 16:01:36    2284332

Pubs are indoors and with the Irish drinking culture can become packed, just a bit different than allowing 500 attend outdoor gaa match where social distancing would be respected unlike a pub when some one has too many to drink will be invade your space.

John Horan is right to call for 500 to at least to attend GAA games. All the doctors in the press news conferences over the last numbers of weeks told us it was positivity % from testing, hospital admissions and ICU numbers gives a more accurate idea of how things are going than any R Rate number that can shoot up due to one isolated cluster outbreak.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/07/2020 17:03:01    2284334

One reason I quit posting is my post getting edited for no good reason. My post above said "The president of the GAA is all over the place unabashed". Is this anything that should be removed. A lot worse has been said and about him.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/07/2020 17:03:01    2284335

This is a free country. Within reason you can do what you like.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 17/07/2020 17:22:26    2284337

Looks like the second wave had started on this thread already!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 17/07/2020 17:24:00    2284338

Replying To Yondu:  "Pubs are indoors and with the Irish drinking culture can become packed, just a bit different than allowing 500 attend outdoor gaa match where social distancing would be respected unlike a pub when some one has too many to drink will be invade your space.

John Horan is right to call for 500 to at least to attend GAA games. All the doctors in the press news conferences over the last numbers of weeks told us it was positivity % from testing, hospital admissions and ICU numbers gives a more accurate idea of how things are going than any R Rate number that can shoot up due to one isolated cluster outbreak."
Social distancing will be observed, give me a break, that is one thing that won't be observed not at the matches iv seen, the traditional rows between supporters!! Horan is a joke and and embarrassment and totally wrapped up in his own world otherwise he would never have come out with this statement today

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 17/07/2020 17:51:07    2284339

Replying To Tod:  "Social distancing will be observed, give me a break, that is one thing that won't be observed not at the matches iv seen, the traditional rows between supporters!! Horan is a joke and and embarrassment and totally wrapped up in his own world otherwise he would never have come out with this statement today"
Looking at the daily figures 34 today, we are in the same position now as the original lock down, hopefully we won't return to full lockdown, but phase 2 may happen which would mean an end to all gaa activity, probably wiser for John horan to call a halt to all activity so the gaa can do their bit to stop the spread instead of trying to add to it

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 17/07/2020 18:07:43    2284340

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "It's sad to think that there's a possibility we might not see an AMATEUR sporting tournament proceed because of it being supposedly financially troublesome despite the work of thousands of volunteers nationwide that Horan mentioned yesterday."
Ah come on..Nothing is free in this world....clubs don't run on air. Insurance, utilities, equipment etc.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 17/07/2020 18:24:29    2284341

Replying To Tod:  "Social distancing will be observed, give me a break, that is one thing that won't be observed not at the matches iv seen, the traditional rows between supporters!! Horan is a joke and and embarrassment and totally wrapped up in his own world otherwise he would never have come out with this statement today"
You don't know the GAA community well very if you don't think supporters during this virus would have compliance to follow set rules.

Nothing Horan said was a joke. Up until yesterday the GAA was expecting 500 to attend games come July 20th and all plans was put in place for that including online ticketing.

To quote John Fogarty one of our best sport journalists.

"GAA has played it safe, safer than most during this pandemic. It more than played its part in the lockdown. Restricted capacity of 200 shouldn't apply where sports venues can safely accommodate social distancing.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/07/2020 18:54:53    2284344

Replying To dec:  "Looking at the daily figures 34 today, we are in the same position now as the original lock down, hopefully we won't return to full lockdown, but phase 2 may happen which would mean an end to all gaa activity, probably wiser for John horan to call a halt to all activity so the gaa can do their bit to stop the spread instead of trying to add to it"
Blue nose Horan is only worrying about making enough money to pay for Dublin's 60 plus full time coaches which don't come cheap... health is coming a distant 2nd..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 17/07/2020 19:00:16    2284345

Replying To dec:  "Looking at the daily figures 34 today, we are in the same position now as the original lock down, hopefully we won't return to full lockdown, but phase 2 may happen which would mean an end to all gaa activity, probably wiser for John horan to call a halt to all activity so the gaa can do their bit to stop the spread instead of trying to add to it"
40 cases back then may as well have been 500 with the amount of people showing symptoms and waiting for a test.

Right now the testing has ramped up and we have a very good track and trace operation in place to stop any clusters getting out of control as they did in March and April.

For the record

13 counties in the ROI have not had a case in 5+ days and 19 haven't had a case in over 2 days.

To get the R number down there will be a big focus on the 7 counties have had cases in the last 2 days.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/07/2020 19:02:04    2284346

Replying To Yondu:  "You don't know the GAA community well very if you don't think supporters during this virus would have compliance to follow set rules.

Nothing Horan said was a joke. Up until yesterday the GAA was expecting 500 to attend games come July 20th and all plans was put in place for that including online ticketing.

To quote John Fogarty one of our best sport journalists.

"GAA has played it safe, safer than most during this pandemic. It more than played its part in the lockdown. Restricted capacity of 200 shouldn't apply where sports venues can safely accommodate social distancing."
Up until yesterday pubs were expecting to open up next Monday but now can't due to rise in cases and r number so they are doing fairly well to be still allowed have 200, I would argue that I know the gaa quite well as in our area it would be impossible to keep supporters apart especially rival clubs!!

dec (None) - Posts: 269 - 17/07/2020 20:04:26    2284349

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "It's sad to think that there's a possibility we might not see an AMATEUR sporting tournament proceed because of it being supposedly financially troublesome despite the work of thousands of volunteers nationwide that Horan mentioned yesterday."
Sure the gaa is a communist organisation pure and simple, you have 50/60 fellas @ the top getting paid big bucks and thousands and thousands volunteering getting feck all.

Has any of those lads at the top taken pay cuts I wonder.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2020 20:50:40    2284352

People comparing pubs opening with outdoor venues haven't a clue what they are talking about. How can you compare an indoor, confined area with individuals taking drink onboard to an outdoor sporting event. 50 people in a pub or 500 people in a large outdoor space ? I know where I'd prefer to take my chances.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/07/2020 21:05:08    2284354

Replying To dec:  "Up until yesterday pubs were expecting to open up next Monday but now can't due to rise in cases and r number so they are doing fairly well to be still allowed have 200, I would argue that I know the gaa quite well as in our area it would be impossible to keep supporters apart especially rival clubs!!"
Rival clubs it's like you are taking about soccer across the water? They would be doing better by leaving the 500 attendance as it was.

Pubs closed for a while longer I can understand however having them closed increases house parties and that's where the clusters came from recently and drove up the R number

26 posivite cases from 9,500 tests carried out in the last 24 hrs. Two or three week ago with only half the amount of tests done the daily numbers 18 cases a day on average. We are finding more now because we are testing more. Majority of every contact is traced and care/nursing home was re-tested.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 17/07/2020 21:06:20    2284355

Replying To Yondu:  "Pubs are indoors and with the Irish drinking culture can become packed, just a bit different than allowing 500 attend outdoor gaa match where social distancing would be respected unlike a pub when some one has too many to drink will be invade your space.

John Horan is right to call for 500 to at least to attend GAA games. All the doctors in the press news conferences over the last numbers of weeks told us it was positivity % from testing, hospital admissions and ICU numbers gives a more accurate idea of how things are going than any R Rate number that can shoot up due to one isolated cluster outbreak."
Social distancing respected at GAA?
Are you serious?
Watch the live games tonight from Wexford?
Handshakes all round at the end too which I think is meant to be a no go
Great to see the Hurling though

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 17/07/2020 21:38:02    2284358