The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To KillingFields:  "Rugby here can just follow template for games that's in place in Australia and New Zealand
They weren't slagging the gaa."
That's not really a fair comparison. Australia hasn't been affected as badly as Europe and NZ is pretty much back to normal.

In England, rugby league will start again soon, but only in the top division. Below that, there is a plan to return from the end of August which is not widely supported either by the (largely) part time players or the clubs. I know a lad who's a plumber and his employers have told him they don't want him to play as he needs to go into customers' houses to do his job. He's 33 - he knows which side his bread's buttered.

The clubs have no TV commitments to fulfil. There's no gate money as things stand, though in three months' time, who knows? Testing costs £5000 and has to be done weekly. And then there's the issue of someone testing positive - what happens then? Is the game off? Is it rearranged? If so, when? The schedule already has no gaps in it. Six clubs out of 25 voted for resumption a couple of weeks ago.

All these points are relevant to the GAA.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 12/06/2020 10:03:19    2280479

Replying To lionofludesch:  "That's not really a fair comparison. Australia hasn't been affected as badly as Europe and NZ is pretty much back to normal.

In England, rugby league will start again soon, but only in the top division. Below that, there is a plan to return from the end of August which is not widely supported either by the (largely) part time players or the clubs. I know a lad who's a plumber and his employers have told him they don't want him to play as he needs to go into customers' houses to do his job. He's 33 - he knows which side his bread's buttered.

The clubs have no TV commitments to fulfil. There's no gate money as things stand, though in three months' time, who knows? Testing costs £5000 and has to be done weekly. And then there's the issue of someone testing positive - what happens then? Is the game off? Is it rearranged? If so, when? The schedule already has no gaps in it. Six clubs out of 25 voted for resumption a couple of weeks ago.

All these points are relevant to the GAA."
I think the GAA are right to be slow back. Hopefully by the time games come round we will be in the kind of place the Aussies and NZ are now

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 12/06/2020 11:20:14    2280495

Replying To Breezy:  "I think the GAA are right to be slow back. Hopefully by the time games come round we will be in the kind of place the Aussies and NZ are now"
That would be tomorrow.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/06/2020 13:26:02    2280506

This might take a few years to have an impact but it's looking like working from home will now become fairly regular for office workers. I think this could have a positive impact on the club game because more fellas will be staying in their locality or move back.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 12/06/2020 19:17:29    2280531

Replying To Morty:  "This might take a few years to have an impact but it's looking like working from home will now become fairly regular for office workers. I think this could have a positive impact on the club game because more fellas will be staying in their locality or move back."
Every cloud has a silver lining I guess. I'm glad this horrible Virus will at least help something.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 12/06/2020 22:45:23    2280557

Will the AI football series run into December this year?

monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 13/06/2020 14:43:56    2280650

Replying To monaghanman99:  "Will the AI football series run into December this year?"
Not for Monaghan )

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 13/06/2020 16:59:33    2280673

The upside of this virus is the possibility it will be the catalyst for change in the way we work. If businesses grasp the nettle and look at making this a more permanent thing then everyone wins.
Companies no longer need to spend the huge sums involved in leasing large premises to accommodate staff. Workers don't need to spend hours commuting and so the roads are quieter for those who must travel. The environment might even benefit in that respect.
In every crisis there is an opportunity to learn and adapt to be better and there is a very real opportunity here to improve the way we do things.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 13/06/2020 18:11:46    2280681

A bit of a rise today with 46 cases. I wonder will those who were queuing at pennys result in another rise in a few weeks.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 13/06/2020 18:40:21    2280688

Replying To Yourjoking:  "Not for Monaghan )"
God that's hilarious honestly I'm in a hoop here

monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 13/06/2020 18:55:57    2280693

Replying To FoolsGold:  "A bit of a rise today with 46 cases. I wonder will those who were queuing at pennys result in another rise in a few weeks."
Or the 6,000 who marched recently & were packed in around Ballsbridge, with a blind eye turned by our Govt, Media & Gardai. Quite ironic the Taoiseach telling us what we can & cannot do, when he broke the guidelines himself & as reported in some media outlets today, his special advisor broke the 2km rules twice driving from Dublin to Galway.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 13/06/2020 19:41:44    2280701

Replying To FoolsGold:  "A bit of a rise today with 46 cases. I wonder will those who were queuing at pennys result in another rise in a few weeks."
22 of the 46 confirmed cases today were samples that were taken on Monday and Tuesday, and should ordinarily have been reported on Thursday and Friday.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/06/2020 20:11:15    2280705

Replying To greysoil:  "22 of the 46 confirmed cases today were samples that were taken on Monday and Tuesday, and should ordinarily have been reported on Thursday and Friday."
Doesn't really make a difference really they are from the last week, still low but some people are acting reckless so hopefully doesn't keep rising

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 13/06/2020 21:40:35    2280729

Replying To Tod:  "Doesn't really make a difference really they are from the last week, still low but some people are acting reckless so hopefully doesn't keep rising"
Keep rising? Going by the weekly number of cases we have half the number of cases in ROI than last week.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 13/06/2020 22:58:40    2280740

Replying To Morty:  "This might take a few years to have an impact but it's looking like working from home will now become fairly regular for office workers. I think this could have a positive impact on the club game because more fellas will be staying in their locality or move back."
hopefully as many villages and clubs are gonna need all the help they can get with smaller families and all that

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 13/06/2020 23:03:29    2280742

Replying To Tod:  "Doesn't really make a difference really they are from the last week, still low but some people are acting reckless so hopefully doesn't keep rising"
Agree.
Was quoting directly from the press conference this evening & should have made clear, that they were not my words.
I was in a supermarket yesterday & for a moment I thought that I had imagined the whole pandemic - I was the only person with a mask & social distancing was being ignored entirely.
It was like one of those surreal dreams where you turned up at an event without clothes on, except in this instance I was the one who was covered & not one other person in a large supermarket had bothered.
So for anyone reading this, please wear masks in enclosed areas, I am doing my best to protect you.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 13/06/2020 23:09:34    2280743

Replying To greysoil:  "Agree.
Was quoting directly from the press conference this evening & should have made clear, that they were not my words.
I was in a supermarket yesterday & for a moment I thought that I had imagined the whole pandemic - I was the only person with a mask & social distancing was being ignored entirely.
It was like one of those surreal dreams where you turned up at an event without clothes on, except in this instance I was the one who was covered & not one other person in a large supermarket had bothered.
So for anyone reading this, please wear masks in enclosed areas, I am doing my best to protect you."
Its the same everywhere, and id say about 80% of gaa clubs are back in close contact training utterly reckless for an amateur sport

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 13/06/2020 23:34:10    2280745

Replying To The_analyser:  "Keep rising? Going by the weekly number of cases we have half the number of cases in ROI than last week."
Rising as in the last few days, but still at a good level

Tod (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 14/06/2020 00:26:28    2280748

Replying To greysoil:  "Agree.
So for anyone reading this, please wear masks in enclosed areas, I am doing my best to protect you."
Down my local supermarket everyone has already gotten too lazy to walk around you rather than cutting right in front of your face to save 2 seconds walking.
And the one that really cracks me up is people taking down the mask to have a chat when they bump into a friend down the shops.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 14/06/2020 09:11:40    2280757

Replying To monaghanman99:  "God that's hilarious honestly I'm in a hoop here"
Ah cmon, its kinda funny coz Monaghan are a very good team.
Now if it was one of the weaker counties like Antrim, Louth or Galway say it would be a cheap shot.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 14/06/2020 13:59:12    2280785