The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To dec:  "So still no answer to how players can keep social distancing while playing a game, we are hearing how the fans in the crowd can stay a safe distance from each other but what about us players? Will we have to sign a form stating we are prepared to take the risk and risk to family members? Absolutely no explanation of how this will work"
Basically if you dont want to play dont play no one is forcing anyone to play. A lot of players have sports induced asthma, a few more compromised immune systems or family members in risk catagory. But no one is forcing anyone to play. Btw there will be no sport anywhere if there is still 2 metre social distancing. Not all players will make themselves available, but no one should stop those who wish to do so.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 06/06/2020 00:25:49    2279981

Would I be right in thinking there will be no provincial or all Ireland club championship this year so? Local club championship only?

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 06/06/2020 10:44:32    2279990

Replying To arock:  "Basically if you dont want to play dont play no one is forcing anyone to play. A lot of players have sports induced asthma, a few more compromised immune systems or family members in risk catagory. But no one is forcing anyone to play. Btw there will be no sport anywhere if there is still 2 metre social distancing. Not all players will make themselves available, but no one should stop those who wish to do so."
Nothing's completely risk free. In the best of times, you could be in a road accident on the way to the game.

The trick is to judge when the risk is low enough to be acceptable to you. For me, that's not yet.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 06/06/2020 10:46:26    2279991

Replying To kiloughter:  "The league option is pretty straight forward if the inter county season resumes in October. Next Spring finish the league from the positions all teams finished in March gone. Absolutely the fairest system and particularly for those teams who have put a lot of effort into the league. Pressure should be made at the next congress to allow this to happen. Also it would mean teams can prepare accordingly for championship 2021 particularly if championship 2020 falls into that year."
Ya that would work, it would only take 2 extra weekends and cancel the finals.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/06/2020 11:04:15    2279995

What's going to happen the national league now? call it on the current league placings? it will affect next years Championship,
looking forward to an old style knockout Championship in October all going well, we'll get the chance to take out Tyrone in Ballybofey.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 06/06/2020 12:56:28    2280003

Replying To green.and.gold:  "Would I be right in thinking there will be no provincial or all Ireland club championship this year so? Local club championship only?"
I presume they will be played in December and after Christmas.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 06/06/2020 12:59:21    2280004

With all the Inter County action packed into October and November there will be a lot of games to broadcast between football and hurling, a lot of games will miss out if it's left to just RTE and Sky. I think TG4 should be allowed show some provincial games. I wonder will counties be allowed to live stream their games that aren't on TV. If the games are behind closed doors that makes it even more important to have as many games as possible available to watch.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 06/06/2020 13:04:01    2280005

Replying To Kerry15:  "With all the Inter County action packed into October and November there will be a lot of games to broadcast between football and hurling, a lot of games will miss out if it's left to just RTE and Sky. I think TG4 should be allowed show some provincial games. I wonder will counties be allowed to live stream their games that aren't on TV. If the games are behind closed doors that makes it even more important to have as many games as possible available to watch."
Great idea.

Would love to see the McDonagh and Chirsity Ring cups in the hurling on TG4 .

Every supporter will want to see their own county play this year but many may not want
to risk attending.

Hope there are more matches on TV to make up for this.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 06/06/2020 13:27:33    2280007

Replying To Kerry15:  "With all the Inter County action packed into October and November there will be a lot of games to broadcast between football and hurling, a lot of games will miss out if it's left to just RTE and Sky. I think TG4 should be allowed show some provincial games. I wonder will counties be allowed to live stream their games that aren't on TV. If the games are behind closed doors that makes it even more important to have as many games as possible available to watch."
I don't know much about this having not worked in media but there might be a limited number of camera/production crews in Ireland. I'm not sure that every channel has their own TG4 and RTE might be using the same outsourced team

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 06/06/2020 14:59:34    2280011

The GAA should be more assertive in trying to get the games back again. Waiting around till October is not an option imho. They should be looking at behind closed doors finish for league in July and August. And a mini championship with spectators in October imho. Croke park holds 80,000, so they could easily have 30K. The Aviva only holds 50K so how can they social distance the fans. It is too small. Also Thurles, Pairc Uí Chaoimh and Clones are all 50K. So they can easily social distance. They should be looking at renting out these to Soccer and Rugby if you ask me.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 06/06/2020 15:09:05    2280012

I bet you will not see the FAI or especially the IRFU kowtowing to any social distancing or Govt regulations. The Horse racing people told the Govt to get lost too- and they did. Example Cheltenham and now Horse racing is back. HRI know they have a business to run.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 06/06/2020 15:25:46    2280013

Replying To galwayford:  "I bet you will not see the FAI or especially the IRFU kowtowing to any social distancing or Govt regulations. The Horse racing people told the Govt to get lost too- and they did. Example Cheltenham and now Horse racing is back. HRI know they have a business to run."
This is the same Cheltenham festival that led to an increase in people getting the virus in the UK ?

Not the example we should be following.

The GAA have been cautious but personally I think thats the way to be,

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 06/06/2020 17:34:32    2280024

Replying To carlovia:  "This is the same Cheltenham festival that led to an increase in people getting the virus in the UK ?

Not the example we should be following.

The GAA have been cautious but personally I think thats the way to be,"
Since when has the Taoiseach been the Stiorathoir of the GAA.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 06/06/2020 18:19:15    2280026

Replying To galwayford:  "I bet you will not see the FAI or especially the IRFU kowtowing to any social distancing or Govt regulations. The Horse racing people told the Govt to get lost too- and they did. Example Cheltenham and now Horse racing is back. HRI know they have a business to run."
This is nonsense and your petty slights towards any sports organisation that isnt the GAA is not needed
The FAI and IRFU will very much and have dealt exactly with government regulations and social distancing.
Cheltenham ultimately while having lots of Irish participants was British authorities decision.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 06/06/2020 19:33:15    2280030

Replying To galwayford:  "The GAA should be more assertive in trying to get the games back again. Waiting around till October is not an option imho. They should be looking at behind closed doors finish for league in July and August. And a mini championship with spectators in October imho. Croke park holds 80,000, so they could easily have 30K. The Aviva only holds 50K so how can they social distance the fans. It is too small. Also Thurles, Pairc Uí Chaoimh and Clones are all 50K. So they can easily social distance. They should be looking at renting out these to Soccer and Rugby if you ask me."
So If county games were played in July and august maybe you could tell us when exactly the other 98% of the playing population can look forward to games....you can't expect clubs player to sit around twiddling there thumbs until Oct...t's not all about the county scene..... for once the GAA have done the right thing and ensured that the club player is being catered for 1st...

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 06/06/2020 20:42:11    2280034

Replying To mick2007:  "So If county games were played in July and august maybe you could tell us when exactly the other 98% of the playing population can look forward to games....you can't expect clubs player to sit around twiddling there thumbs until Oct...t's not all about the county scene..... for once the GAA have done the right thing and ensured that the club player is being catered for 1st..."
I don't think the decision is one that was made with the wishes of club players in mind tbh.

The GAA will probably try to sell it as the club game being the priority but they are buying time I would imagine, hoping they will be allowed to have supporters in the stands for IC games by Oct / Nov. There is no chance whatsoever of this in July / Aug

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/06/2020 21:43:31    2280036

Replying To mick2007:  "So If county games were played in July and august maybe you could tell us when exactly the other 98% of the playing population can look forward to games....you can't expect clubs player to sit around twiddling there thumbs until Oct...t's not all about the county scene..... for once the GAA have done the right thing and ensured that the club player is being catered for 1st..."
They can play in July and August. If the gaa wants to change for the better it's time enough for club players to say enough is enough and that they will not put their summer on hold because 35 players per county are playing intercounty games.
And many club adult games continue all summer and have anyway as they have zero relevance on the inter county game anyway

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 06/06/2020 23:07:18    2280038

Many have had friends who died during the lockdown & were unable to go to their funerals, (in many cases they had to decide which family members were allowed into the church & graveyard), many minded family members with an underlying condition & elderly parents, many obeyed all the guidelines, many lost their job, many watched a family member on the direct frontline, contract the virus & get very ill & today many have now given up after today's protests around the country. Scenes of mass crowds shoulder to shoulder on all the national media outlets & Gardai just standing by, in fact quoted as saying it was well organised & not a bleat from our politicians, why did we go through all the lockdown making many sacrifices, when it was all blatantly abused today. If the politicians, media & Gardai have no issue about today's mass gatherings, the GAA might as well bang away & do what they want now. The current "Govt." have absolutely zero legitimacy after the Keelings issue & today's mass gatherings, everyone will now start doing as they wish. I feel sorry for all the frontline staff, the CMO & all those who lost loved ones & couldn't have the traditional grieving process. Listening to the minister for health talking out of both sides of his mouth is stomach churning. We need another election, we seem to have one rule for some & another rule for others. I wouldn't be surprised to see all organisations & businesses do as they wish now as we have never being all in this together. The possible obstacle for the GAA is the insurance issue, the insurance vultures are going to clean up & screw everybody again, all whilst the Govt. turn a blind eye.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 06/06/2020 23:44:24    2280039

I dont care what any other crowd are doing. The GAA are being responsible and doing their bit for the country so fair play to them

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 07/06/2020 01:10:15    2280040

Replying To galwayford:  "The GAA should be more assertive in trying to get the games back again. Waiting around till October is not an option imho. They should be looking at behind closed doors finish for league in July and August. And a mini championship with spectators in October imho. Croke park holds 80,000, so they could easily have 30K. The Aviva only holds 50K so how can they social distance the fans. It is too small. Also Thurles, Pairc Uí Chaoimh and Clones are all 50K. So they can easily social distance. They should be looking at renting out these to Soccer and Rugby if you ask me."
Who cares about county football. The club should come first

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 07/06/2020 02:32:24    2280041