"We Pay Fees" - Memorable Comments From The Stands

Read recently that lagered up young lads at Irish schools Rugby games were shouting very Ross O'Carroll-Kelly type abuse from the stands - "Your father works for my father" and "we pay fees" being two that were particularly noted.
See: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/your-father-works-for-my-father-schools-rugby-turning-toxic-in-the-stands-1.4172843

Surreal ... no further comment!

English soccer fans tend to have the best chants; e.g., the one aimed at the premiership soccer player Bobby Zamora was pretty good. Apparently, his shots sometimes went astray, so some gleeful opposing fans used to sing to him, to the tune of the old Italian song, "That's Amore": "When you're up in Row Z / and the ball hits your head / That's Zamora ..." Or Stan Collymore, on returning from treatment for mild schizophrenia, to be met with: "There's only TWO Stan Collymores ..."

Dubs fans aside, I don't recall anything too much from GAA fans, though the repeated encouragement of a Cavan fan in the '80s who kept shouting: "On your bike Faulkner ye big long-legged h**r" was one I remember. I couldn't work out for a minute if he was a fan or not, but he was a fan and was in fact offering encouragement.

I'm sure people will have their own favourite sayings from fans, good and bad ...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 24/02/2020 22:49:59    2269919

Replying To essmac:  "Read recently that lagered up young lads at Irish schools Rugby games were shouting very Ross O'Carroll-Kelly type abuse from the stands - "Your father works for my father" and "we pay fees" being two that were particularly noted.
See: https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/your-father-works-for-my-father-schools-rugby-turning-toxic-in-the-stands-1.4172843

English soccer fans tend to have the best chants; e.g., the one aimed at the premiership soccer player Bobby Zamora was pretty good. Apparently, his shots sometimes went astray, so some gleeful opposing fans used to sing to him, to the tune of the old Italian song, "That's Amore": "When you're up in Row Z / and the ball hits your head / That's Zamora ..." Or Stan Collymore, on returning from treatment for mild schizophrenia, to be met with: "There's only TWO Stan Collymores ..."

Dubs fans aside, I don't recall anything too much from GAA fans, though the repeated encouragement of a Cavan fan in the '80s who kept shouting: "On your bike Faulkner ye big long-legged h**r" was one I remember. I couldn't work out for a minute if he was a fan or not, but he was a fan and was in fact offering encouragement.

I'm sure people will have their own favourite sayings from fans, good and bad ..."
My two favourites: Was brought to a soccer game in Dublin years ago, and one of the strikers, a tall lad, who was either bald or shaved his head, jumped in an effort to head the ball into the net. He made contact with the ball, but hit it badly and it went flying off into the dark night. At this point I heard a perfectly timed shout from the stands: CHALK YOUR CUE, BALDY!

And the second: a mate of mine attended a catholic highschool in Norfolk, Virginia in the US. At football games their school chant was:
WE DON'T SMOKE! WE DON'T DRINK! NOR-FOLK! NOR-FOLK!

That one always makes me smile.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/02/2020 23:28:32    2269933

Tim O Leary's remarks on social media following Mayo's defeat at the weekend could be classed in the category of "memorable comments".

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 25/02/2020 08:30:34    2269956

It's not really a GAA thing. We are usually too engrossed in the games and what's happening on the pitch to be thinking about silly chants.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/02/2020 11:28:02    2270018

Kildare Fan Sunday- Ah here comes the Kerry man(Cox) have you no one within your own county instead of bring lads in from all over the place.

This coming from a county with a Kerry manager and who brought in Seanie Johnson a few years back who had no affiliation with Kildare at all. Kildare having a population of 1/4 mil too.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 25/02/2020 12:02:15    2270031

Replying To s goldrick:  "It's not really a GAA thing. We are usually too engrossed in the games and what's happening on the pitch to be thinking about silly chants."
True. Was more thinking of one-off remarks. A Kerry fan in the 70s was supposed to have said, on seeing a Dublin player miss a catch: "if it'd been a bag of heroin, you'd have caught it!". Of course, that was the time when as a country fan, fed a diet of alarmist stories, you'd have been worried about parking a car in Dublin.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 25/02/2020 13:09:59    2270057

Replying To s goldrick:  "It's not really a GAA thing. We are usually too engrossed in the games and what's happening on the pitch to be thinking about silly chants."
True. Was more thinking of one-off remarks. A Kerry fan in the 70s was supposed to have said, on seeing a Dublin player miss a catch: "if it'd been a bag of heroin, you'd have caught it!". Of course, that was the time when as a country fan, fed a diet of alarmist stories, you'd have been worried about parking a car in Dublin.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 25/02/2020 13:10:03    2270058

2002 Leinster championship Meath v Westmeath in Croke park. 2 ladies and 2 gentlemen in Meath attire in front of us kept standing up every time Meath were on the attack. Aul buck beside us eventually gets fed up and let's a roar out of him "I didn't pay £20 to look at your fat arses now sit down ta f*#k!" They sat for the remainder of the game!

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 25/02/2020 15:35:27    2270104

meath v Kildare 2012 put down that umbrella or I will shove it up your h**e

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 25/02/2020 18:43:29    2270159

Replying To The_Fonz:  "2002 Leinster championship Meath v Westmeath in Croke park. 2 ladies and 2 gentlemen in Meath attire in front of us kept standing up every time Meath were on the attack. Aul buck beside us eventually gets fed up and let's a roar out of him "I didn't pay £20 to look at your fat arses now sit down ta f*#k!" They sat for the remainder of the game!"
*2001 I mean

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 25/02/2020 18:47:39    2270160

Replying To essmac:  "Read recently that lagered up young lads at Irish schools Rugby games were shouting very Ross O'Carroll-Kelly type abuse from the stands - "Your father works for my father" and "we pay fees" being two that were particularly noted.

I'm sure people will have their own favourite sayings from fans, good and bad ..."
Great idea for a topic especially funny remarks at games. The oul lads do come out with some quare spakes. "He's useless like his father before him" is one that springs to mind.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 25/02/2020 19:40:40    2270166

this one goes back to the early 70's when the Hyde was just opened, indignant home fan addressing a wayward forward ' he should be shot with a ball of his own shite '.
I was not that indignant home fan !

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 25/02/2020 20:24:01    2270174

Cork were playing Clare in a MH Championship game in Thurles. I was in the Hayes' Hotel before the game enjoying the craic. Went to the toilet. The Cork lads were in the majority. A Clare lad walks in and starts singing The Lovely Rose of Clare. As quick as a flash one of the Cork boys says "Someone get the round up quick". I thought it was fair funny.

Coopers_Helmet (Tipperary) - Posts: 154 - 26/02/2020 01:50:57    2270226

I mistakenly shouted something pretty embarrassing a few weeks ago before I realised how it would sound ...out it came
Now to intro the context ... if you disagreed with a call you might state the call followed by "me arse".... like "ah square ball me arse ref"
So when the ref but his hand up to signal advantage for a foul I thought our team didnt commit I ofcourse instantly employed the system of the bad call followed by "me arse ref" ....leading to me shouting out "hand up" and "me arse ref", so I just got me coat and left !

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 26/02/2020 14:22:23    2270314

Replying To KeshGFC:  "I mistakenly shouted something pretty embarrassing a few weeks ago before I realised how it would sound ...out it came
Now to intro the context ... if you disagreed with a call you might state the call followed by "me arse".... like "ah square ball me arse ref"
So when the ref but his hand up to signal advantage for a foul I thought our team didnt commit I ofcourse instantly employed the system of the bad call followed by "me arse ref" ....leading to me shouting out "hand up" and "me arse ref", so I just got me coat and left !"
fake news

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/02/2020 23:23:18    2270412

Was at a club football game few years back, one of our fellas decided to take a speculative shot from out in the corner, obviously went miles wide and an oul fella beside me roars "too much TV Johnny!!"
Made me giggle.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 27/02/2020 10:41:01    2270451

A friend of mine from Galway (now sadly deceased) told me this one years ago: An overweight full forward called Johnny in a Junior hurling game ambles out to meet the ball which suddenly takes a deflection and takes it away from the Johnny's line of approach, Unable to turn sharply, Johnny slows down and takes a wide circular turn in an attempt to get on the ball, which of course is long cleared before Johnny gets there. A voice from the crowd shouts: "For f**ks sake Johnny, will ya take off the trailer!"nt

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 545 - 27/02/2020 10:53:05    2270457

At a match one time and someone said TAKE HIM off and put no one on

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 441 - 27/02/2020 11:16:21    2270465

Replying To s goldrick:  "fake news"
wish it was

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 27/02/2020 12:53:53    2270478

At a game in New York The Tipp goalie was having a tough day. A Tipp supporter brought his American girlfriend to the game. The girlfriend asks him why does the goalie have 2 sticks. An old timer says "he has one for letting them in and one to puck them out".

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 27/02/2020 14:50:30    2270503