NFL Division 1

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Lucky against Galway, did we not lose that one
One of the things that did happen last night that helped affect the result was when Dessie Ward got a knock having previously man marked Fenton out of it. His influence in the last 10 (20) minutes was a factor"
My point is there was a lot of extra added time and it was there for Monaghan to take. Yes I agree Ward took Fenton completely out of the game. Kilkenny was very quiet too.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 12:54:52    2266313

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Moaning by the Monaghan boys here. It was plain to see how much time was wasted in injury time.. Referee was totally correct"
What are you on about? Most Monaghan people here seem to not have much issue with the time added on. Even Banty said he doesn't have a problem with that.

The biggest bone of contention seems to be the advantage not played, and our own wastefulness - it's not even like it was a great performance by us last night, we left alot of scores out there in the first half, and didn't manage the game well towards the end. Some people are overstating the result a bit to be honest, like the knock on effect it'll have on us. Sure it would have been nice to close out the win and the way it ended was sickening - but at the end of the day it's a league game in early February, and we still have a point to put on the board. We can take positives from it but there's also plenty we can work on aswell. We're well fit to win another couple imo which should keep us safe in Division 1 for another year, and then all eyes are on the Ulster campaign.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 09/02/2020 13:00:32    2266316

Replying To Jackeen:  "What teams would these be pray tell? I know you cant be talking about Mayo!!"
Excellent, if a tad prickly, ripostes from yourself and your team mate Joxer. I would like to point out though, in the interest of fairness, that Maroondiesel is actually from Galway and makes no secret of the fact. I await your heartfelt apologies to all Mayo people worldwide! And just when I was beginning to like you Jackeen after your measured post on that Derry lad who now works for Eir. Tut tut. I trust Maroondiesel is having a little chuckle to himself!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/02/2020 13:08:47    2266318

Replying To Jackeen:  "What teams would these be pray tell? I know you cant be talking about Mayo!!"
Galway in Tralee got 12 minute sin bin and nothing to get the equalizer, do you remember?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/02/2020 13:21:26    2266323

yes up the Tribe, haha

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/02/2020 13:46:09    2266327

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Excellent, if a tad prickly, ripostes from yourself and your team mate Joxer. I would like to point out though, in the interest of fairness, that Maroondiesel is actually from Galway and makes no secret of the fact. I await your heartfelt apologies to all Mayo people worldwide! And just when I was beginning to like you Jackeen after your measured post on that Derry lad who now works for Eir. Tut tut. I trust Maroondiesel is having a little chuckle to himself!"
Giving as good as I get my friend! I unreservedly apologise to all the people of Mayo of course:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 13:50:19    2266328

Replying To Jackeen:  "My point is there was a lot of extra added time and it was there for Monaghan to take. Yes I agree Ward took Fenton completely out of the game. Kilkenny was very quiet too."
Fair enough most of us are not as hung up on the added time as much as not getting an advantage to end the contest. The Dublin fightback has to be taken with that in mind and they also had the aid of a strong, if not the pridicted storm force, wind.
Hope to see ye all in Clones next spring, if not sooner

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/02/2020 13:57:23    2266329

Watched 2 great games on tv between the rugby and the Dublin vs Monaghan, with the reputation Ulster teams have for playing boring football I always found Monaghan a good team to watch. Rory Beggan is a joy to watch he is starting to make a new bench mark for goalkeepers to aspire to that free from the 65 yard line was unreal. Fair play to Dublin for grinding out a draw, that Kevin McManamon has to the most under appreciated footballer in the country got the poachers goal again to get Dublin out of jail, how many times has he being the difference for Dublin in tight games to get them over the line.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 09/02/2020 13:58:07    2266330

Replying To patk:  "What are you on about? Most Monaghan people here seem to not have much issue with the time added on. Even Banty said he doesn't have a problem with that.

The biggest bone of contention seems to be the advantage not played, and our own wastefulness - it's not even like it was a great performance by us last night, we left alot of scores out there in the first half, and didn't manage the game well towards the end. Some people are overstating the result a bit to be honest, like the knock on effect it'll have on us. Sure it would have been nice to close out the win and the way it ended was sickening - but at the end of the day it's a league game in early February, and we still have a point to put on the board. We can take positives from it but there's also plenty we can work on aswell. We're well fit to win another couple imo which should keep us safe in Division 1 for another year, and then all eyes are on the Ulster campaign."
Most people would be right when complaining about the advantage not being allowed to the team on the attack. Referee done same thing on a couple of occasions and stopped play when team with the ball was fouled. It's something that needs to be looked at because there's no penalty for the offender while the attacking team is held up and defending side get back behind the ball.
It'll feel like a loss to Monaghan and not scoring for the last 12 minutes was part of it.
The first half from Monaghan was probably as good as they've played against anyone and a 9 point lead didn't flatter them. Plenty of hope for the rest of the campaign but not the referees fault that they got caught.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 09/02/2020 13:58:26    2266331

Replying To essmac:  "Right here goes again -I was censored last time ... so the ref prolongs the game until Dublin equalises and then, with Monaghan on the ball, blows it up. And that after calling play back for a useless free when McManus clean through.
When that happened, I thought it must surely have been a Dublin player that was fouled. I was shocked to see Monaghan then getting the free! Hasn't that ref heard of the advantage rule? And the protocol that you normally let the play go dead to finish a game? Goal conceded was sloppy, but ref had a hand in this result; same as the cod penalty v Tyrone in AI final 2018. Time for the GAA to invest in some rugby referees; our home-grown variety are not up to the job. Too many lads training all year to be knifed by small-town refereeing. Not Dublin's fault of course; but still, very very poor."
Yes I agree with you 100%, if Monaghan had been chasing the draw it would have been blown up a few mins earlier, ridiculous refereeing, the kind of stuff you used to see in Scotland with the free mason contingent of refs against Celtic all the time, absolute disgrace. Monaghan were robbed and I'm no Monaghan fan. Nothing against The ublin players, it's not their fault,
if this had been a big championship game, Mc Manus clean through and he blows up to bring it back for a free on the half way line?? I think we woiuld have had another Sludden or Mayo Mick situation with justification.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 09/02/2020 13:59:09    2266332

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Galway in Tralee got 12 minute sin bin and nothing to get the equalizer, do you remember?"
Yes. Benefiting Kerry. For the second time in 3 games.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 14:17:37    2266336

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Excellent, if a tad prickly, ripostes from yourself and your team mate Joxer. I would like to point out though, in the interest of fairness, that Maroondiesel is actually from Galway and makes no secret of the fact. I await your heartfelt apologies to all Mayo people worldwide! And just when I was beginning to like you Jackeen after your measured post on that Derry lad who now works for Eir. Tut tut. I trust Maroondiesel is having a little chuckle to himself!"
I should have known Llaw. The good people of Mayo wouldn't complain about the Dubs getting a few extra minutes from a ref. Sure we've never needed an extra 3m to beat Mayo :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/02/2020 14:28:17    2266340

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yes I agree with you 100%, if Monaghan had been chasing the draw it would have been blown up a few mins earlier, ridiculous refereeing, the kind of stuff you used to see in Scotland with the free mason contingent of refs against Celtic all the time, absolute disgrace. Monaghan were robbed and I'm no Monaghan fan. Nothing against The ublin players, it's not their fault,
if this had been a big championship game, Mc Manus clean through and he blows up to bring it back for a free on the half way line?? I think we woiuld have had another Sludden or Mayo Mick situation with justification."
if Monaghan had been chasing the draw it would have been blown up a few mins earlier

Pure speculation with no basis in fact.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 14:35:19    2266344

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yes I agree with you 100%, if Monaghan had been chasing the draw it would have been blown up a few mins earlier, ridiculous refereeing, the kind of stuff you used to see in Scotland with the free mason contingent of refs against Celtic all the time, absolute disgrace. Monaghan were robbed and I'm no Monaghan fan. Nothing against The ublin players, it's not their fault,
if this had been a big championship game, Mc Manus clean through and he blows up to bring it back for a free on the half way line?? I think we woiuld have had another Sludden or Mayo Mick situation with justification."
Explain how you know if Monaghan chasing draw game would have been blown up? So not only, according to you, is the ref just no good but he was deliberately part of a conspiracy? You can take your tinfoil hat off. I have no idea where he got 10 mins from I am sure he will justify it but accusing him of basically cheating as well! You are on your own with that.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 09/02/2020 14:36:16    2266345

Replying To Joxer:  "I should have known Llaw. The good people of Mayo wouldn't complain about the Dubs getting a few extra minutes from a ref. Sure we've never needed an extra 3m to beat Mayo :)"
Just a few replays

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 09/02/2020 15:25:10    2266361

Get in tyrone. Some 2nd half.

Smiler21 (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 09/02/2020 15:41:37    2266366

2 points useful; some terrible misplaced balls by Tyrone; some soft frees for Kerry. Overall, points useful, otherwise irrelevant

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 09/02/2020 15:47:56    2266371

Replying To Smiler21:  "Get in tyrone. Some 2nd half."
Of cynicism...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2020 15:51:27    2266377

Another good win for Galway today..great spirt and attitude to come back from 7pts down against the wind in the 2nd half and also finishing the game with 14 men!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 09/02/2020 15:51:51    2266378

Oh my God, what a load of madness. No card on Donegal when Mc Daid was knocked down from the back and seriously injured. A free against Finnerty for not calling a mark. A mark given to Walsh who never asked for it and he had to take a hail Mary shot. The rules are crazy. Also, can you handpass after a mark? Donegal do it. The rules have made a mess out of the game. Galway would be relieved after the Tralee debacle. Both teams must be congratulated for playing in those conditions.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/02/2020 15:52:49    2266379